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SUMMARY MEDI-CAL ELIGIBILITY* 
Public Assistance Recipient** 
SSI/SSP

Description of Aged 
Blind


Eligible Disabled

Deprivation

Person 

Medically Needy Beneficiary*** 
1.	 Linked to public assistance program 

but not eligible or does not want cash 
grant. 

2.	 Aged, blind, or disabled. 

Medically Indigent Person or Family 

Not linked to a public assistance program but 
who otherwise qualif ies as (1) person 
under 21, (2) adults under 65 in either a 
skilled nursing facility or intermediate care 
facility, (3) women with a verified pregnancy, 

CalWORKs 
California Work Opportunities and Responsibility to Kids 

SSI/SSP–MN 
1931(b) 

(4) nonlinked refugees/entrants in f irst 
8 months of U.S. residency. 

SSI/SSP 
Aged 
Blind 
Disabled 

65 or older 
No age limit 
No age limit 

SSI/SSP–MN 
Aged 
Blind 
Disabled 

65 or older 
No age limit 
No age limit 

Under 21. 

Adult under 65 residing in either a skilled
Age Limits 

Residence 
and 

Citizenship

Personal

Property


Limits 

(This does not 

include 
Business 
Property) 

CalWORKs

Child under 18 and/or 19 if full-time student in high

school or in a vocational program which can be

completed before age 19 or an 18-year-old not

expected to graduate before 19 due to disabilities.

No age limit for parent.


California Residence.

Documentation is required for both citizens and aliens,

in USA lawfully or under the color of law.


SSI/SSP 
Aged 
Blind 
Disabled 

$2,000 
$3,000 

1 person 
couple 

CalWORKs 
The value of personal and real property including 
resources not excluded elsewhere by regulations, 
owned by a CalWORKs family shall not exceed 
$3,000 for an assistance unit with at least one 
member aged 60 or older or disabled, and $2,000 for 
all other assistance units. 

nursing facility or an intermediate care facility, 
1931(b) Same as CalWORKs pregnant woman with a verified pregnancy, 

and refugee entrants in the U.S. less than 
18 months. 

Number of Persons Whose Property Limit Number of Persons Whose 
Property is Considered Property is Considered Property Limit 

1931(b) 1 person ...................... $3,000 6 persons .................... 3,600

1 person ................... $2,000 7 persons .................... 3,750

2 persons .................... 3,000 8 persons .................... 3,900

3 persons .................... 3,150 9 persons .................... 4,050

4 persons .................... 3,300 10 persons .................... 4,200

5 persons .................... 3,450


Community spouse resource allowance when one spouse enters long-term care on or after 
11/1/90 and applies in 2007 is: $101,640. 

California Residence.

Documentation is required for both citizens and aliens, in USA lawfully or under the

color of law.


SSI/SSP 
Aged, Blind, Disabled 

Motor Vehicle One car if used for transportation is exempt regardless 
of value. 

Limits	 CalWORKs 
Exempt if total net market value is under $4,650 for 
applicant. 

1 car exempt—no maximum value. 

SSI/SSP 
Aged, Blind, Disabled 
Home exempt. Other real property with net market 
value of $6,000 or less providing property is producing

Real Property income consistent with its value. 

Limits 
CalWORKs

See comments under Personal Property Limit, above.


Principal residence (PR), including any appertaining buildings and land used as a home, is 
exempt if applicant/beneficiary lives there, temporarily absent, or if he/she is in long-term 
care (LTC) and his/her sibling or adult child lived there for at least one year prior to LTC 
entry and still lives there, if there is a bona fide effort to sell PR, or if there are legal 
obstacles to its sale. If beneficiary is in LTC and the former home is not otherwise exempt, 
it will remain exempt if it is listed for sale. It also will be exempt if the beneficiary has the 
intent to return and declares this in writing. 

Other Nonbusiness Real Property with a net market value of $6,000 or less is exempt if 
utilization requirements are met. 

Spouse for spouseRelative Spouse for spouse. 
Parent for child under 21 living in the home except child with verified need for medicalResponsibility Parent for child. services which do not require parental authorization. 

SSI/SSP 
Aged or disabled $856 maximum living in own home


$1,502 couple

Blind $921 maximum living in own home


$1,729 couple


Need CalWORKs****

Persons                                             Per Month


Standard 1............................................. $ 398

2............................................. 653

3............................................. 808

4............................................. 961

5............................................. 1,094

6............................................. 1,229

7............................................. 1,350

8............................................. 1,473

9............................................. 1,591


10............................................. 1,709


Number of Persons Medi-Cal Monthly 
Maintenance Need 

1 person ............................................................ $ 600


2 persons ............................................................. 750


2 adults ................................................................ 934


3 persons ............................................................. 934


4 persons ............................................................. 1,100


5 persons ............................................................. 1,259


6 persons ............................................................. 1,417


7 persons ............................................................. 1,550


8 persons ............................................................. 1,692


9 persons ............................................................. 1,825


10 persons ............................................................. 1,959


Each additional person .............................................. 14


Long-Term Care......................................................... 35


Beneficiary
Responsible for No share of cost for health care. Net nonexempt income minus maintenance needs equals share-of-cost. Share-of-cost 

Cost of Health Care Copayment may be required. must be paid or obligated before certification for program benefits. 

* Please note that this is a general summary. For exceptions and details, refer to DSS regulations (EAS) and CCR Title 22 regulations.

** This group also includes persons eligible under the Lynch v. Rank (Pickle) court order, persons who are receiving In-Home Supportive Services (IHSS) but not a cash


grant, and persons who are not receiving a grant for administrative reasons.

*** Does not include special programs such as QMB/QWDI, Pregnancy Programs, TMC, 4-month continuing, etc.

**** This column shows the highest of the 4 CalWORKs MAPs.
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