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School Entry Health Examination Requirements Introduction

This CHDP School Handbook is designed to acquaint school staff with the
California school entry health examination requirements. The requirements
detailed in this Handbook were designed to promote the good health of
California's children. The health examination is given at an early age to detect
problems that may interfere with learning. Early identification and treatment are
important because an undetected health problem could hamper a child's progress
in school.

School health examination requirements are specified in the California Health and
Safety Code, excerpts of which are included in the Appendix. The records of
pupils (students) and the inclusion of health information requirements are
specified in the California Code of Regulations, Title 5, Section 432.

The law allows for the health examination to be completed up to 18 months prior
to entry into first grade or within 90 days thereafter. It has been found to be
most effective to collect the health examination forms at kindergarten entry
along with the required immunization records. For this reason schools are
encouraged to include information about the health examination and the “Report
of Health Examination for School Entry” (PM 171A) in the kindergarten
registration packet.

Immunization requirements may be found at the California Department of Health
Services Immunization Branch website (www.dhs.ca.gov/ps/dcdc/izgroup) or
through calling your local health department’s Immunization Assistance Program.
Tuberculosis screening requirements may be found at the California Department
of Health Services (DHS) Tuberculosis Control Branch website
(http://www.dhs.ca.gov/ps/dcdc/TBCB/index.html) or the California Tuberculosis
Controllers Association website (www.ctca.org).

The California Department of Health Services (DHS), Children’s Medical Services
(CMS) Branch, Child Health and Disability Prevention (CHDP) program developed
the CHDP School Handbook. Local CHDP program offices are located in public
health departments. The contact telephone number and address for your local
CHDP program may be found at
http://www.dhs.ca.gov/pcfh/cms/chdp/directory.htm or by calling your local
health department.




First Grade Entry Health Examination Requirements
Public and private schools must do the following:

1. Inform parents or guardians of the State of California law requiring health
examinations for children entering first grade.

2. Give the parent or guardian the "Report of Health Examination for School
Entry" (PM 171 A) to take to their doctor.

When requested, provide parent or guardian with the "Waiver of Health
Examination for School Entry" (PM 171 B). Although the California
Department of Health Services strongly advises that children receive a
health examination, parents may decline the exam for their child.

3. Inform parents or guardians that no-cost health examinations are available
to eligible children through the CHDP program (see page 23 for CHDP
eligibility information). The CHDP program assists families to meet the
first grade entry health examination requirement by linking families with
local CHDP providers to obtain health assessments. Local CHDP programs
work collaboratively with schools to inform and empower families to access
needed health care services.

4. Collect the "Report of Health Examination for School Entry" (PM 171A) or
waiver (PM 171B) from the parents no later than December of the first
grade year. File the PM 171A or PM 171B in the student's health record or
cumulative file as required by California Code of Regulations (CCR), Title 5,
Section 432 (2) (B).

5. Effective January 1, 2005, California Health and Safety Code, Section
124100 was amended to no longer require schools to report data to CHDP
on the number of children receiving health examinations at school entry.
However, school districts and CHDP programs recognize the value of
tracking health examinations and may continue using the Report of Health
Examinations Annual School Report form in this Handbook (page 21)
according to locally established procedures.



Frequently Asked Questions about First Grade
Health Examination Requirements and Procedures

When should schools inform parents or guardians about the required
health examination?

Schools are encouraged to include information about the health
examination and the "Report of Health Examination for School Entry"
(PM 171 A) in the kindergarten registration packet.

The law allows for the health examination to be completed up to 18
months prior to entry into first grade or within 90 days thereafter. It has
been found to be most effective to inform parents and collect the health
examination forms at kindergarten entry.

May public school districts or private schools adopt school policies
which require kindergarten or first-time first grade entrants to submit
proof of a health examination or waiver before admission to school?

Yes. Public school districts and private schools are encouraged to adopt
policies which require proof of health examination or a signed waiver
before admission into kindergarten or first grade.

What are the benefits of adopting a school district (or private school)
policy requiring the examination prior to kindergarten entry or first-
time first grade entry?

A school policy requiring the health examination before kindergarten entry,
or first-time first grade entry benefits school staff, parents, and students
by:

e Ensuring all children entering school receive a health examination to
promote success in school;

. Increasing the number of children who receive the health examination,
resulting in fewer untreated health problems, less illness, and
improved attendance at school;

e Facilitating school staff's ability to collect mandated forms in a timely
fashion;

e Simplifying for parents or guardians the kindergarten and first grade
health entry requirements (California School Immunization Record and
Report of Health Examination) by using the same deadline; and,

e  Ensuring school compliance with the California law requiring health
examinations for children entering first grade.



What is the relationship between the kindergarten immunizations
required for school entry and health examination required for first
grade entry?

Immunizations and health examinations are health requirements for school
entry. These requirements acknowledge the importance of a child’s health
to their success in school.

The immunization requirements are found in the Health and Safety Code
and California Code of Regulations (CCR) and specify the immunizations
necessary for admission in a given public or private elementary or
secondary school, child care center, day nursery, nursery school, family day
care home, or development center. The health examination requirements
for entry into first grade are found in a different section of the Health and
Safety Code and the California Code of Regulations and specify the
components of a health examination and the report form.

Review of the child’s immunization history is included in a complete health
examination. According to the assessment of need for immunizations
based on this history, the child may be given immunizations at the time of
the health examination. Because the law allows for the health examination
to be completed 18 months prior to entry into first grade or up to 90 days
after, immunization requirements and health examination requirements
may be met by collecting health examination forms at the time of
kindergarten entry.

For further information on Immunizations, contact the DHS Immunization
Branch (www.dhs.ca.gov/ps/dcdc/izgroup). For further information on
CHDP health examination requirements, contact your local CHDP program
(http://www.dhs.ca.gov/pcfh/cms/chdp/directory.htm).

When must the health examination be completed?

A health examination must be completed any time between 18 months
before first grade entry through 90 days after entry into first grade.

What is included in the health examination?

Components of the health examination include:
Health and developmental history
Unclothed, complete physical examination
Oral health assessment

Nutrition assessment

Immunizations as appropriate for age
Vision screening

Hearing screening

Screening tests for anemia, lead, urine abnormalities, tuberculosis,
and other problems as needed

. Health education and anticipatory guidance



For children who receive CHDP services, the health care provider is
expected to give an explanation and copy of the results of the health
examination to the parent or guardian and assistance in finding needed
services when the child needs a referral for follow-up medical or dental
care. Contact the local CHDP program for more information.

What immunizations are required for students entering California
public or private schools at any time?

Details of the immunizations and reporting requirements are available
through your local health department’s Immunization Assistance Program,
or through the DHS Immunization Branch website
(www.dhs.ca.gov/ps/dcdc/izgroup). The website provides current
information on California immunization requirements, downloadable forms
and educational materials, and a directory of local Immunization Programs.

Is a tuberculosis test required for admission into elementary school?

Yes, it is in some jurisdictions. Check with your health officer at the local
health department for local requirements. The directory of local
Tuberculosis Controllers can be found at the DHS Tuberculosis Control
Branch website (www.dhs.ca.gov\ps\dcdc\TBCB\index.html) or the
California Tuberculosis Controllers Association website (www.ctca.org).

Where do schools get the "Report of Health Examination for School
Entry" reporting forms?

The reporting form known as the “Report of Health Examination for School
Entry (PM171A)” is available through the Child Health and Disability
Prevention (CHDP) program. Contact the CHDP program office at your local
health department.

In addition, the reporting forms are downloadable from the “Forms and
Publications” section of the California Department of Health Services CHDP
website http://www.dhs.ca.gov/chdp. They are the PM 171A “Report of
Health Examination for School Entry” found at:
http://www.dhs.ca.gov/publications/forms/pdf/pm171a(bi).pdf and PM
171B “Waiver of Health Examination for School Entry” found at
http://www.dhs.ca.gov/publications/forms/pdf/pm171b(bi).pdf




10.

11.

12.

Who provides the health examinations and who signs the examination
report form?

A licensed physician, certified pediatric nurse practitioner or certified
family nurse practitioner performs or supervises the appropriate health
examination screening procedures and completes the Report of Health
Examination for School Entry form documenting that the child has received
the appropriate health screening procedures.

The school entry health examination is provided by the family's usual
source of medical care, including, but not limited to: private doctors,
community clinics, health department clinics, prepaid health plans, military
facilities, and some school districts. Families of children who do not have a
usual source for medical care should contact the local CHDP program for a
referral to a CHDP provider.

What if parents or guardians cannot afford the examination?

Children from low-income families may be eligible for a health examination
at no cost to the family. Children may be eligible to receive CHDP services
at no cost to the family if the child has Medi-Cal insurance or if the child
lives in California, is under 19 years of age, and is from a family with an
income at or below 200 percent of the federal income guidelines. The
CHDP program at your local health department can assist you to find a
health care provider that participates in the CHDP program. Parents or
guardians may obtain the names of CHDP-approved providers from the
local CHDP program. If immunizations are needed, immunizations for
eligible children are included in the CHDP examination. Other children may
receive immunizations at little or no cost to the family through the local
health department's immunization program.

How can schools help children know if they qualify for a health
examination at no cost?

Schools can include information about the CHDP program in kindergarten
and first grade enrollment information packets. When families indicate a
lack of resources for accessing a health examination, schools should
inform families about possible eligibility for the CHDP program and refer
families to the local CHDP program for additional information.

The CHDP program publishes a CHDP income eligibility table annually
which shows the income level and family size. A sample is included in the
Appendix of this Handbook. The "Child Health and Disability Prevention
(CHDP) Eligibility Determination Table" for State-reimbursed examinations
is updated every spring and may be obtained from your local CHDP
program.



13.

14.

15.

16.

The CHDP program at your local health department can assist you to find a
health care provider that participates in the CHDP program. If the child is
not eligible for a State-reimbursed examination, the school nurse or local
CHDP program staff may be able to help locate other resources in the
community to assist families in obtaining the examination.

What is accepted as documentation that a required health examination
has been completed?

The "Report of Health Examination for School Entry" (PM 171A) that has
been signed by a licensed health care provider is the health certification for
school entry.

Can local CHDP programs or school districts design their own version
of the "Report of Health Examination for School Entry" form?

No. California Code of Regulations Title 17, Section 6848 (c) specifies that
the State form (PM 171A) must be used.

Why are the results of health examination not included on the "Report
of Health Examination for School Entry" (PM 171 A), for example the
results of the TB test?

The "Report of Health Examination for School Entry" (PM171A) is to serve as
a record of what was completed at the time of the health examination, not
the findings resulting from that examination. If the parent or guardian
releases the information, the health examiner can document in Part Ill of
the PM 171A conditions found during the examination or after further
evaluation that are of importance to schooling or physical activity.

Can the health examination be waived?

In the interest of the child's own health and school performance, school
personnel should make every effort to assist the family in obtaining a
physical examination for the child. A waiver (PM 171B) signed by the child’s
parents or guardian indicating that they do not want or are unable to obtain
a health examination for their child may be accepted by the school in lieu of
the certificate of health examination. (See Appendix).

The waiver is primarily intended for use for reasons of deeply held personal
beliefs, not as a matter of convenience. According to California law (Health
and Safety Code, Section 124085), if the waiver indicates that the parent or
guardian was unable to obtain the services for the child, the waiver is to
include the reasons why.

If the reason for not obtaining the exam is because parents or guardians

cannot afford it, every effort should be made to help families find resources
to enable them to get the examination.

-7 -



17.

18

19.

When should parents or guardians present the "Report of Health
Examination" to the school?

Parents or guardians should present the “Report of Health Examination”
when registering their child in school. The report of health examination or
a waiver must be presented within 90 days of entry into first grade. Schools
are encouraged, however, to collect this information at or before
kindergarten entry since the report of health examination and report of
immunizations are best completed at the same time.

Can schools/districts exclude children from attending school for failure
to submit the health examination certificate or the waiver?

California law recognizes the importance of health to learning and the
important role of schools in ensuring the health of the child populations
attending school by requiring that children have documentation of a health
screening before the end of first grade. The law does not require exclusion
for failure to submit the health examination report or waiver, but a school
board may establish a more stringent policy in accordance with Section
124105 of the Health and Safety Code. (See the citation of this law in the
Appendix)

Answers to Frequently Asked Questions No. 2 and No. 3 above suggest the
benefits for children, schools, and the community of school/district policies
requiring children entering kindergarten to provide documentation of a
completed health examination.

What if a child repeats kindergarten?

If a “Report of Health Examination” has been submitted, the child does not
need to repeat the examination. Retain the form in the student’s health
record or cumulative file as evidence of the child's health examination at the
time of entry into first grade. If a "Report of Health Examination" is not on
file and the child will be 6 years old before December 2nd of the school year
(the age of first grade entry), the "Report of Health Examination" must be
submitted within 90 days of the start of the school year.



20.

21.

22.

23.

24.

25.

What if a child repeats first grade?

A "Report of Health Examination" should be on file in the child's cumulative
record. If a “Report of Health Examination” has been submitted, the child
does not need to repeat the examination. If the report is not on file, a
report must be submitted within 90 days of the commencement of the
current school term. Retain the form in the student’s health record or
cumulative file as evidence of the child's health examination for the current
school year.

If a child has had a health examination in Head Start or State Preschool
does he/she need another?

If the examination was given within the 18 month period prior to first
grade entry, it will meet the school entry requirements. If it was given
more than 18 months prior to first grade entry, it must be repeated.

Is the first grade entry requirement different for children who attend a
year-around school?

There is no difference. The requirement of 18 months prior to first grade
entry and 90 days after entry applies, regardless of what time of year or
age the child enters first grade.

Is this first grade entry requirement different for children who attend a
charter school or a home school?

There is no difference. The requirement of 18 months prior to first grade
entry and 90 days after entry applies for children attending a charter
school or a home school.

What if a child transfers from another district or state?

A "grace period" of 30 days is allowed for transfer of the child’s record.
When the school receives the child’s record, if the "Report of Health
Examination for School Entry" is included, there is no need to repeat the
examination.

What if a child comes to California from out-of-state or out-of-country
and enters the first grade after the start of school?

The child must meet California school entry requirements. The child must
have completed a health examination either within 18 months before first
grade entry or completed one within 90 days of the date of entry into first
grade in California. A completed form PM171A or PM171B is required.

-9.



26.

27.

28.

Where is a convenient place to record, track, and tally the number of
first grade children's health examinations or waivers on file?

Class rosters can be used to record when pupils have submitted a health
examination record or waiver. The Department of Health Services PM272
CHDP Annual School Report is no longer a legislative mandate. However
the "Report of Health Examinations - - Annual School Report" (included in
this handbook) provides a convenient place to record, track and tally
compliance with the health examination requirement.

The Legislature recognizes the importance of health to learning and the
important role of schools in ensuring the health of students through health
education and the maintenance of minimal health standards. A child’s
health is vital to his or her learning, and health examinations help ensure
that children start school healthy and ready to learn.

Completing the Report of Health Examinations - Annual School Report
assures in the aggregate that children are entering school with evidence of
a health examination. Sending a copy to the local CHDP program invites
CHDP to participate in monitoring how many of the county’s children
receive the health care they need. Contact the local CHDP program for
information on local reporting activities.

What information must be reported each year?

The statewide reporting system using the CHDP Annual School Report
(PM272) ended with the 2004-2005 school year. However, schools are
required to obtain documentation of a child’s health examination for
school entry. Tracking the number of health examinations/waivers and
comparing this number from year to year provides an opportunity to review
school wide and district compliance with the mandatory examinations,
while assuring the maintenance of minimal health standards and the
importance of health to learning.

Contact the local CHDP program for information on local reporting. A
sample reporting form is included in the Appendix of this Handbook.

How should ungraded school students and/or special education
students be reported?

Although there is no requirement for the submission of an Annual School
Report, school district procedures for tracking those children needing to
file a “Report of Health Examination for School Entry” is important. Only
those children who are age six on or before December 2 of the current year
might be included among those children being tracked for completion of
the school entry requirement. (California Education Code, Sections 48000-
48002).

-10 -



29.

30.

Will the public school districts and private schools be reimbursed for
reporting health examination information?

No. Reimbursement is not provided because the statute as of January 1,
2005 has eliminated the requirement to report to the CHDP program in the
local health department.

Where and how long should the child's "Report of Health Examination
for School Entry" (PM 171A) or waiver (PM 171B) be kept?

The child's "Report of Health Examination" (PM 171A) or waiver (PM 171B)
is to be placed in the student's health record or cumulative file so that if
he/she moves, the Report of Health Examination or Waiver will be
transferred with the record/file.

As stated in California Code of Regulations, Title 5, Section 432 (2) (B) the
“Report of Health Examination” or “Report of Waiver” is part of the
"Mandatory Interim Pupil Record" and is maintained for a period of three
years.

-11 -



How Your Local Child Health and Disability Prevention (CHDP) Program
Can Help You

The CHDP program is a health promotion and disease prevention program
serving California’s infants, children and teens. CHDP uses state and federal
funds to reimburse enrolled health care providers for delivering health
assessments and preventive health services to CHDP eligible children.

Local CHDP programs work collaboratively with schools to inform families about
obtaining and utilizing quality health care services. Many local CHDP programs
have educational programs or materials for school boards, parent-teacher
associations, teachers, nurses, or others regarding child health. If you desire
information, assistance, or consultation services, please call your local CHDP
program - local contact information maybe found at the state program website:
www.dhs.ca.gov/chdp/directory.htm .

Call if you need:

e A list of clinics and doctors who provide examinations paid for by CHDP.

e The CHDP eligibility criteria.

e Certificates, waivers, or reporting forms.

e Health requirement information written in English and/or in a foreign
language.

e Information about how many health examinations and waivers your school/
district reported.

e Consultation on matters pertaining to the CHDP requirement or assistance
with health care questions.

e Information about how to contact the local immunization assistance program.

e A list of local health department immunization clinics.

e Resources to make application for health care coverage.

-12 -



School Preparation for the Report of Health Examination Requirements
Calendar of Events

January

Review the statistics for the number of children enrolled in first grade and the
number of children who presented a “Report of Health Examination for School
Entry”, waiver, and neither. Compare the results with data from prior years. Is
the school in compliance with the state law? Consider the reasons why students
are submitting waivers.

Share the information with the local CHDP program. Using the Report of Health
Examinations -- Annual School Report form found in the Appendix of the
Handbook helps assure comparable data year to year.

March

Obtain from the local CHDP program the current materials for pre-registration
packets to be given to parents or guardians of children entering kindergarten and
first grade.

April through August

Collaborate with the local CHDP program and implement strategies to maximize
parent/guardian compliance with the health examination requirements for their
children entering first grade.

Contact the local CHDP program regarding health information packets, press
releases, or assistance including information regarding available CHDP providers
and access to health care.

Inform parents or guardians at time of pre-registration for kindergarten and first
grade about the California law requiring health examination for school entry.

Give parents or guardians the required form "Report of Health Examination for
School Entry" (PM 171A).

Provide parents or guardians information about the CHDP program.
September

Begin collecting the “Report of Health Examination for School Entry” forms.

-13 -



October

Continue collecting health examination forms from parents or guardians.
Review reasons children have not completed their health examination and refer
families for assistance to the local CHDP program when a child is potentially
eligible for CHDP services.

Keep track of the children who have a certificate or waiver on file.

November

Repeat attempts to collect health examination certificates for those first graders
who do not have a health certificate or waiver on file.

December
Keep the deadline of 90 days after first grade entry for all health examination

certificates and waivers to be submitted to the school.

Note: Additional time frames can be established locally to enact shared public
health and educational interests that support school readiness and healthy
children ready to learn.

-14 -



Appendix

First Grade School Entry Health Examination Requirements

Health and Safety Code (as of November 2005)

124085.

On and after July 1, 1976, each child eligible for services under this article shall,
within 90 days after entrance into the first grade, provide a certificate approved
by the department to the school where the child is to enroll documenting that
within the prior 18 months the child has received the appropriate health
screening and evaluation services specified in Section 124040. Waivers signed by
the child’s parents or guardian indicating that they do not want or are unable to
obtain the health screening and evaluation services for their children shall be
accepted by the school in lieu of the certificate. If the waiver indicates that the
parent or guardian was unable to obtain the services for the child, then the
reasons why should be included in the waiver.

124100.

(@) In cooperation with the county child health and disability prevention
program, the governing body of every school district or private school that
has children enrolled in kindergarten shall provide information to the
parents or guardians of all children enrolled in kindergarten of this article
and Section 120475.

(b) Each county child health and disability prevention program shall reimburse
school districts for information provided pursuant to this section. The
Superintendent of Public Instruction may withhold state average daily
attendance funds to any school district for any child for whom a certification
or parental waiver is not obtained as required by Section 124085.

124105.

(@) This section shall be known and may be cited as the "Hughes Children's
Health Enforcement Act."

(b) The Legislature recognizes the importance of health to learning and to a
successful academic career. The Legislature also recognizes the important
role of schools in ensuring the health of pupils through health education and
the maintenance of minimal health standards among the pupil population.
Therefore, it is the intent of the Legislature that schools ensure that pupils
receive a health screening before the end of the first grade.

-15 -



(@)

(d)

(e)

The governing board of each school district shall exclude from school, for
not more than five days, any first grade pupil who has not provided either a
certificate or a waiver, as specified in Section 124085, on or before the 90th
day after the pupil's entrance into the first grade. The exclusion shall
commence with the 91st calendar day after the pupil's entrance into the first
grade, unless school is not in session that day, then the exclusion shall
commence on the next succeeding school day. A child shall not be
excluded under this section if the pupil's parent or guardian provides to the
district either a certificate or a waiver as specified in Section 124085.

The governing board of a school district may exempt any pupil from the
exclusion described in subdivision (c) if, at least twice between the first day
and the 90th day after the pupil's entrance into the first grade, the district
has contacted the pupil's parent or guardian and the parent or guardian
refuses to provide either a certificate or a waiver as specified in Section
124085. The number of exemptions from exclusion granted by a school
district pursuant to this subdivision may not exceed 5 percent of a school
district's first grade enrollment. It is the intent of the Legislature that
exemptions from exclusion be used in extraordinary circumstances,
including, but not limited to, family situations of great dysfunction or
disruption, such as substance abuse by parents or guardians, child abuse, or
child neglect.

It is the intent of the Legislature that, upon a pupil's enrollment in
kindergarten or first grade, the governing board of the school district notify
the pupil's parent or guardian of the obligation to comply with Section
124085 and of the availability for low-income children of free health
screening for up to 18 months prior to entry into first grade through the
Child Health Disabilities Prevention Program.

It is the intent of the Legislature that school districts provide information to
parents regarding the requirements of Section 124085 within the notification
of immunization requirements. Moreover, the Legislature intends that the
information sent to parents encourage parents to obtain health screenings
simultaneously with immunizations.
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REPORT OF HEALTH EXAMINATIONS -- ANNUAL SCHOOL REPORT (Optional)

See instructions on reverse side.

1. School code—public school district or private school 2. Check one 3. School year
Public school district Private school 20 to20

4, Number of schools in district with first grade enroliment | 5. Telephone number

County School District School Code ( )

6. Please provide name of public school district or private school, mailing address (number, street), City, State, and ZIP code in the space
provided below.

[ |

L

7. Physical address (if different from mailing address) City State ZIP code
Total Number of Number of Child r;f;h\::r;alve;‘: 1H;1al;h Examination for Number of Children
Name of School Children Enrolled in | Number of Children try | ) with Neither
(School Districts and Private Agencies | First Grade at Time With Report of Documentation Nor
Reporting More Than One School Must Report Prepared |Health Examination | parent Does Not Parent Unable to Waiver of
Complete Items 10-13 for Each (Columns 10, 11, 12,| for School Entry Want the Obtain the Reason Not Examination
School Reported) 13, and 14) (PM 171 A) On File E Ination E: ination Specified On File
8. 9. 10. 11 12. 13. 14,
15. Total number of schools reporting 16. Total enrolled 17. 18. 19. 20. 21.
first graders

HAVE ALL ITEMS BEEN COMPLETED?

22. | certify that the numbers of children reported above are true numbers and that the parents and
guardians of these children were informed of the requirement for health screening prior to first grade entry,
pursuant to Section 124100, Health and Safety Code.

Print Name Signature Date

23. Name of contact person if different than above 24. Telephone number of contact person,

if different from item 5
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REPORT OF HEALTH EXAMINATIONS ANNUAL SCHOOL REPORT

INSTRUCTIONS

This form is used to report data described in Section 124100 of the Health and Safety Code. The data are a
record at a point in time of the children entering first grade with a report of health examination or waiver.
Using the form makes it possible to compare the results from year to year. The Report of Health
Examinations Annual School Report can be obtained from the CHDP program in your local health
department.

1.

For public school districts and offices of education, enter the two-digit county code, the five-digit
school district code, and seven zeros (0) for the school code. For private schools, enter the two-
digit county code, the five-digit school district code, and the seven-digit school code. Codes for
public school districts and offices of education are listed in the “California Public School Directory.”
Codes for private schools are listed in the “California Private School Directory.” School codes can also
be found at http://www.cde.ca.gov/re/sd/.

Self-explanatory.

Enter the name of each school reporting. If more than seven schools, attach a separate sheet with all
required information.

Enter total first grade enrollment for each school. The SDE Annual Enroliment Data Report (R30)
may be used as a source for this data.

NOTE: Ungraded Schools—Children age six on or before December 2 of any school year are defined as the

equivalent of “children entering first grade.”

Special Education Pupils—If school records indicate a complete examination was received within 18 months

10.

11.

12.

13.

14.

15.
16-21.

22.

23.
24.

of first grade entry, report the child as having a documented examination. See “Ungraded Schools”
above to determine equivalent of first grade entry.

Enter the number of children with a Report of Health Examination for School Entry (PM 171 A) on file.
Children with only documentation signed by the parent or oral confirmation by the parent or
examiner should be reported in item 14.

Enter the number of children with a Waiver of Health Examination for School Entry (PM 171 B) whose
parent(s) indicate they are waiving because they do not want the examination.

Enter the number of children with a Waiver (PM 171 B) whose parent(s) indicate they are waiving
because they cannot obtain the examination.

Enter the number of children with a Waiver (PM 171 B) with no reason or a reason that does not
correspond to items 11 or 12.

Enter the number of children with neither documentation of a health examination, as defined in item
10, above, nor a signed waiver as indicated in items 11-13 above. Include children whose parents
have not responded or refused to submit documentation/waiver, and the children who entered late
and still have 90 days to complete the requirement, etc.

Enter the total number of schools reporting (include schools on any attached sheets).

Enter the total number of children from each column. (Include totals from multiple schools on any
attached sheets, if necessary.) Item 16 should equal the total of items 17, 18, 19, 20, and 21.

Print or type name of individual authorized to submit report on the first line. Their original
signature and date signed must be entered in ink on the signature and date lines.

Print or type the name of contact person, if different from item 22.

Print or type the telephone number of the contact person (from items 22 or 23) if it is different from
the telephone number in item 5.

Provide a copy of the Annual School Report to the CHDP program in the local health department and other
agencies, organizations, or entities according to your local school district policies. If you have any difficulty
completing the form, please contact the local CHDP program.
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CHILD HEALTH AND DISABILITY PREVENTION (CHDP) PROGRAM
ELIGIBILITY DETERMINATION TABLE

The CHDP program is a health promotion and disease prevention program serving
California’s infants, children and teens. CHDP uses state and federal funds to reimburse
enrolled health care providers for delivering health assessments and preventive health
services to CHDP eligible children.

Children under age 21 with Medi-Cal are eligible to receive CHDP periodic health
screenings and preventive health services. Children enrolled in Medi-Cal managed care
plans receive these services through their health care plan. Children enrolled in fee-for-
service Medi-Cal may receive CHDP services provided by CHDP enrolled Medi-Cal
providers.

CHDP provides periodic preventive health services to income eligible children from birth
to 19 years of age who are not in the Medi-Cal program. Children eligible for these
services are in families whose income is at or below 200 percent of the Federal Income
Guidelines.

Note: The income criteria change annually. Updates can be found in the CHDP Online
Archive, March or April of each year.
http://www.dhs.ca.gov/pcfh/cms/onlinearchive/chdppl.htm

The following sample is the CHDP Program Eligibility Determination Table for 2005

Income Eligibility Determination Table, Effective April 1, 2005*

Number of Persons Gross Monthly Gross Annual
Income Income
1 $1,595 $19,140
2 $2,139 $25,660
3 $2,682 $32,180
4 $3,225 $38,700
5 $3,769 $45,220
6 $4,312 $51,740
7 $4,855 $58,260
8 $5,399 $64,780
9 $5,942 $71,300
10 $6,485 $77,820
For each additional
person, add $544 $6,520

*Figures are 200% of the Federal Income Guidelines
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Web Resources

California Department of Health Services

Child Health and Disability Prevention (CHDP) Program in the Children’s Medical
Services Branch (www.dhs.ca.gov/chdp)

e Description of the CHDP program

e Downloadable versions of the Report of Health Examination for School Entry (PM
171 A), and Waiver of Health Examination for School Entry (PM 171 B)

e Directory of local CHDP programs
e Copies of the CHDP School Handbook, and

e Educational/outreach materials for parents, health care providers, and others

Immunization Branch (www.dhs.ca.gov/ps/dcdc/izgroup)

e The latest information on immunization requirements in the State of California

e Downloadable version of the California School Immunization Record (PM 286 B,
3/01)

e Versions of the “Guide to the Requirements of the California School Immunization
Law” written for health care providers, parents, and school staff

e Directory of local Immunization Programs

e Educational materials for parents, health care providers, and others

Tuberculosis Control Branch ( www.dhs.ca.gov/ps/dcdc/TBCB/index.html)

e Links to resources such as the California Tuberculosis Controllers Association

California Department of Education ( www.cde.ca.gov/re/sd/)

. Searchable version of the California School Directory

Legislative Counsel of California (www.leginfo.ca.gov/calaw.html)

e Searchable database of California State Codes
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