Driving Under The Influence (DUI) Programs
The Department of Health Care Services (DHCS), Substance Use Disorder Compliance Division, Driving-Under-the-Influence (DUI) Unit , licenses and performs compliance monitoring on all DUI programs in California. The objectives of the DUI program are to reduce the number of repeat DUI offenses by persons who complete a state-licensed DUI program; and to provide participants an opportunity to address problems related to the use of alcohol and/or other drugs.
DHCS currently licenses DUI programs that provide first- and/or multiple-offender program services throughout California’s 58 counties, with Alpine County’s services provided by neighboring counties.
The Wet Reckless Program:
Persons convicted of a reckless driving offence with a measurable amount of alcohol in their blood, complete a 12-hour DUI alcohol and drug education program.
First Offender Program:
Persons convicted of a first DUI offense will complete one of the following programs, usually determined by their BAC: three-month (30-hour), six-month (44-hour), or nine-month (60-hour) program. Each program requires 12 hours of alcohol and drug education, a minimum of 10 to 44 hours of group counseling, and individual counseling interviews. Additional hours may also be required by the County. You may refer to the California Vehicle Code, Division 11.5, for specific information regarding the BAC level.
Second and subsequent DUI offenders complete 18-month multiple offender programs with 12 hours of alcohol and drug education, 52 hours of group counseling, biweekly individual interviews, and 6 hours of community reentry monitoring. Additional hours may also be required by the County.
30-Month Multiple Offender Programs:
A county may elect to provide 30-month DUI programs for third and subsequent DUI offenders. Program requirements are: 12 hours of alcohol and drug education, 78 hours of group counseling, individual interviews, and up to 300 hours of community service. The county may also require additional services.
These programs are designed to enable participants to consider attitudes and behavior, support positive lifestyle changes, and reduce or eliminate the use of alcohol and/or drugs. Persons convicted of a DUI offence must complete a DUI program licensed by DHCS to maintain or reestablish their driver’s license, however the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) makes the final determination based on the driver’s circumstance and driving history. For specific information regarding your driver’s license, contact DMV’s Mandatory Action Unit at (916) 657-6525.
Effective with the passage of the 2013-2014 Budget Act and associated legislation, the Department of Alcohol and Drug Programs (ADP) no longer exists as of July 1, 2013. All ADP programs and staff, except the Office of Problem Gambling, transferred to the Department of Health Care Services (DHCS).
Some web content available through links below may reference ADP and/or direct you to content from the former ADP website. DHCS is currently working to update all web content.