

State of California—Health and Human Services Agency Department of Health Care Services



EDMUND G. BROWN JR. GOVERNOR

DATE: May 8, 2015

MHSUDS INFORMATION NOTICE NO.: 15-006

- TO: COUNTY BEHAVIORAL HEALTH PROGRAM DIRECTORS COUNTY DRUG & ALCOHOL ADMINISTRATORS COUNTY BEHAVIORAL HEALTH DIRECTOR'S ASSOCIATION CALIFORNIA COUNCIL OF COMMUNITY MENTAL HEALTH AGENCIES COALITION OF ALCOHOL AND DRUG ASSOCIATIONS
- SUBJECT: NEW INITIAL RESIDENTIAL LICENSE AND OUTPATIENT CERTIFICATION APPLICATION

In order to streamline processing times and to provide a more efficient way for individuals to apply for a license to operate a facility that provides 24-hour residential, non-medical services to adults with problems related to substance use disorders (SUD) and/or the voluntary alcohol and other drug (AOD) certification to residential and non-residential programs, the Department of Health Care Services (DHCS) has combined the Initial Licensing Application and the Initial Certification Application into one document, renaming it the Initial Treatment Provider Application (DHCS 6002).

DHCS will begin accepting the new Initial Treatment Provider Application immediately and will continue to accept the Initial Licensing Application and the Initial Certification Application through June 30, 2015. After this date, the Department will only accept the Initial Treatment Provider Application.

Applicants will have the ability to complete the Initial Treatment Provider Application on-line and will have the ability to save the document. In addition, the instructions have been expanded to clearly identify what information is needed to process the application in a timely manner and includes direct links to required forms and relevant external websites.

The biggest change with the application process will be for individuals applying to operate a residential treatment facility. The Department will no longer accept a fire clearance directly from an applicant. Instead, the application includes an area for the applicant to complete the fire authority information, including the capacity for residents, dependent children of residents, and program staff. The Department shall complete the fire clearance form based on the information provided on the Initial Treatment Provider

MHSUDS Information Notice No.: 15-006 May 8, 2015 Page 2

Application and send the fire clearance form directly to the fire authority identified on the application.

Prior to submitting an application to the Department, applicants are encouraged to read the detailed instructions provided as applications not submitted in the proper format will be returned without being reviewed in order to expedite the processing time for all applicants.

Those applicants requesting Drug Medi-Cal (DMC) certification must continue to submit a separate DMC application. The appropriate website links to all DMC application information is reflected in the Initial Treatment Provider Application..

California Code of Regulations, Title 9, Division 4, Chapter 5, Section 10542 requires a license issued by this Department in order to operate a residential alcohol and drug treatment facility. Failure to obtain such a license can result in the assessment of civil penalties in the amount of two hundred dollars (\$200) per day against the operator of such an unlicensed facility.

A copy of this bulletin and the Initial Treatment Provider Application (DHCS 6002) may be accessed through DHCS's website at <u>www.dhcs.ca.gov</u>.

If you have any further questions or concerns, you may contact the SUD Compliance Division's Licensing and Certification Section Officer of the Day at (916) 322-2911.

Sincerely,

Original Signed By

Karen Baylor, Ph.D., LMFT, Deputy Director Mental Health & Substance Use Disorder Services