

# Substance Use Disorder Compliance Division

Driving Under the Influence Section

September 2016

## The Cost of Driving Under the Influence

- Anti-drinking and driving billboards and pamphlets are not over-inflating the cost of a DUI. On average, in California, a DUI will cost you \$10,000.
- When driving under the influence, the driver is putting themselves and others at a higher risk of incurring an injury and/or fatality.
- Someone is injured in a drunk driving incident every 120 seconds. <sup>1</sup>



- Every 51 minutes in America, someone is killed in a drunk driving crash. That equates to 27 people every day.<sup>1</sup>
- In California, drugged driving accounted for 30% of all motor vehicle fatalities in the year 2013.<sup>3</sup>
- DUI offenses may include driving under the influence of an alcoholic beverage, drug, or combined influence of alcohol and drugs. <sup>3</sup>

### Average cost for first time DUI offender in California:

- Tow Truck & Impound Fee: \$500
- Bail Bonds: \$5,000 \$10,000 (pay 10%) •
- Pre-Trial Probation Fee: \$100
- Attorney Fee: \$2,000 \$7,500 (if any
- DUI Court Fine: \$1,500 minimum
- County Restitution Fee: \$250
- SR-22 Insurance: \$300
- Additional County Cost: \$25 150

- DUI Education/Treatment: \$500 minimum
- Sobriety Probation Drug Testing: \$1,500
- Probation Fees: \$1,500
- License DMV Renewal Fees: \$150
- 12 months Ignition Interlock: \$1,000
- Victim Impact Panel: \$35
- Total: \$9,800—15,800 <sup>2</sup>

## California DUI Program Requirements

The objective of DUI Programs is to: (1) reduce the number of repeat DUI offenses by persons who complete a state-licensed DUI program; and (2) provide participants an opportunity to address problems related to the use of alcohol and/or other drugs.\*



Programs	Determination	Education	Group	Face to Face
Wet Reckless	Measurable alcohol in blood	12 Hours	n/a	n/a
3 Month	1st DUI	Minimum 12 hours	Minimum 10 hours	Minimum 3 interviews
6 Month	1st DUI dependent upon BAC	Minimum 12 hours	Minimum 28 hours	Minimum 4 interviews
9 Month	1st DUI dependent upon BAC	Minimum 12 hours	Minimum 44 hours	Minimum 5 interviews
18 Month	2nd and subsequent DUI	12 hours	52 hours	1 face to face interview every other week, 24 minimum
			Reentry 6 hours 1 hour per month	
30 Month	3rd and subsequent DUI	Minimum 12 hours		1 face to face interview every
		Minimum 120 hours Compendium of voluntary community service		other week, 39 minimum

\*Department of Health Care Services (DHCS) licenses and monitors all California DUI programs \*\*Additional requirements vary by county

#### **DUI Program Evolution**

1980

1990

1999

2012

2014

2016

Legislative effort to "get tough" on individuals who drive under the influence began. While laws to increase fines, limit plea-bargaining, provide driver's license restrictions and mandatory jail sentencing became stricter, the need to expand, formalize and standardize DUI program requirements also came into focus.

The state was authorized to license 3 month programs for first time offenders, instead of 12 hours; and 12 month programs were extended to 18 months.

Legislation was passed to order individuals convicted of "wet/reckless" to a DUI education program.

Evaluation of CA DUI programs for reckless offenders and 1st offenders: 3 month program resulted in significant reduction in subsequent DUI incidents in year following program.

The state expanded its focus to include "drugged driving" opposed to "drunk driving" changing the CA Vehicle Code.



DHCS in collaboration with DHCS' DUI Advisory Group members, the Department of Motor Vehicles, Judicial Council of California, Strategic Highway Safety Plan Stakeholders, DUI programs, and County Administrators continue efforts to identify and implement effective program standards and best practices aimed at reducing repeat DUI offenses.