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Section 56

INJURY PREVENTION AND ANTICIPATORY GUIDANCE
- |

RATIONALE

Unintentional injuries remain the leading cause of death and disability among California
children under the age of 13, causing more deaths than all other childhood diseases
combined. In 2006, there were 26,361 children and adolescents hospitalized with
nonfatal injuries.! Every day in California, children die from injuries and many more are
seriously disabled. Beyond the loss of years of potential life, injuries cost society billions
of dollars each year in medical expenses. Motor vehicle related injuries are preventable,
but are among the top causes of death and hospitalization among children under age
20. The Vehicle Occupant Safety Program (VOSP), part of the Epidemiology and
Prevention for Injury Control (EPIC) Branch of the California Department of Public
Health (CDPH) strives to prevent injuries and death to infants and toddlers in California
by increasing the use and correcting misuse of child safety seats, and also aims to
strengthen and expand California’s child passenger safety infrastructure. (See Table
56.1 for California Vehicle Restraint Laws). Because of the increase in injuries related to
bicycles and helmet use, California Vehicle Code, SECTION 1, Section 21212 states
that a properly fitting helmet must be worn when operating or as a passenger on a
bicycle, non-motorized scooter, or skateboard as well as when wearing in-line or roller
skates. In 2007 alone, 1,982 children and adolescents died from injuries in California.
See Table 56.2, Leading Causes of Fatal Injuries in California 2007, by age.

While unintentional injury plays a major role among younger children, intentional injury,
or violence, is the predominant cause of death and disability among adolescents.
Homicide is the leading cause of death for California youth between the ages of 13 and
20 years. Suicide is the fourth leading cause of death among all California youth ages
13 through 20 years.?

Many deaths related to unintentional injury are related to the presence of firearms.
Studies show that hand guns in the home are the primary source that teenagers use to
commit suicide. Because of this, it is vital for health assessment providers to discuss
gun safety in the home, including the dangers of improperly secured or unlocked guns.
The California Child Access Prevention Law imposes criminal liability on adults who
negligently leave firearms accessible to children or otherwise allow children access to
firearms. The presence of unlocked guns in the home increases the risk of both
accidental gun injuries and intentional shootings.® Studies have found that the risk of
suicide increases in homes where guns are kept loaded and /or unlocked.*

! California Department of Statewide Health Planning and Development, Patient Discharge Data 2006.
2 Emergency Preparedness and Injury Control (EPIC) Branch, California Department of Public Health,
2007 Vital Statistics, Death Statistical Master File.
® Cal Penal Code § 12035, 12036; California Civil Code § 1714.3
* United States Secret Service, U.S. Department of Treasury, An Interim Report on the Prevention of
Targeted Violence in Schools 6 (October 2000).
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Table 56.1 California Vehicle Restraint Laws V.C. 27360(a), (c)

Infants — Rear Facing Toddlers* — Forward Pre-School - Booster Older Kids — Safety Belts
Seats Facing Seats Seats**

Newbornto 1 yr ofage 1yrold&and 20Ibsto4  Children over 40 lbs Age 6 and over 60 Ibs

and at least 20 Ibs yrs old or 40 lbs

Always rear facing in Forward facing in back Booster seat in back seat  Sit with back against vehicle
back seat seat Seat back

Recline seat so baby's Shoulder harness snug Use lap and shoulder Knees bend over edge of

head doesn't flop
forward

Seat attached tightly
with vehicle belt

and flat

Seat in an upright
position

Seat is attached tightly

with vehicle belt

belts

Lap belt fits low and snug
across hips

Shoulder belt crosses the
collar-bone and center of
chest

*|t is best to ride rear-facing as long as possible.
**Children should stay in a booster seat until adult belts fit correctly, usually when a child reaches
about 4'9” in height and is between 8 and 12 years of age.

vehicle seat

Lap belt fits low and snug
across hips

Shoulder belt crosses the
collar-bone and center of
chest

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) recommends all
children 12 and under should be in the back seat.

Table 56.2 Leading Causes of Fatal Injuries in California 2009, Ages 0-19

Ages < 1 Ages 1-4 Ages 5-9 Ages 10-14 Ages 15-19
Suffocation Drowning MV Occupant Homicide Homicide
Homicide Homicide MV Unspecified Suicide Suicide

MV Unspecified MV Pedestrian Homicide MV Occupant MV Unspecified
MV_Occupant Pedestrian Other |Drowning MV Unspecified MV Occupant
Drowning MV Occupant MV Pedestrian Drowning Poisoning

MV Pedestrian
MV Bicyclist

MV = Motor Vehicle

Source: Emergency Preparedness and Injury Control (EPIC) Branch, California Department of Public
Health, 2009 Vital Statistics, Death Statistical Master File.
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Section 56

SCREENING REQUIREMENTS

. Assess for risk of unintentional injury through history taking, physical exam, and
identification of any specific environmental risks. See Table 56.3 Examples of
Developmental Stages and Associated Risk for Injury.

o Provide parents with information they need to create a safe play and living area
for children. Ask if there is a gun in the family’s home or in the home where the
child spends time. If so, review gun safety information.
http://kidshealth.org/parent/firstaid_safe/home/qun_safety.html

. Educate parents about what to expect with the development of their child and the
risk of injury associated with the child’'s development. See Table 56.4
Anticipatory Guidance for Childhood Injury Prevention.

o Supplement anticipatory guidance with culturally appropriate and relevant
educational materials.

o Provide youth and adolescents with the information they need to recognize
and respond to hazards and violence in their environment.

CONSIDERATIONS FOR TREATMENT, REFERRAL, AND/OR FOLLOW-UP

o Refer children and families to information and community resources that will
assist them with specific injury prevention needs (such as help in obtaining car
seats or helmets).

0 http://www.cdph.ca.gov/programs/Pages/CPSinCalifornia-VOSP.aspx
http://www.aap.org/healthtopics/carseatsafety.cfm

http://www.nhtsa.qov/

http://www.nhtsa.gov/DOT/NHTSA/Traffic%20Injury%20Control/Articles/A

ssociated%20Files/4StepsFlyer.pdf

O OO

. For children with special health care needs, anticipatory guidance should be
appropriate for the child's developmental stage rather than the chronological age.
Particular attention should be given to the child's behavioral characteristics and
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Section 56

anticipate how these characteristics affect the child's interaction with the
environment and risk of injury.

ANTICIPATORY GUIDANCE RELATED TO INJURY PREVENTION

SUDDEN INFANT DEATH SYNDROME (SIDS)

SIDS is the sudden death of an infant under one year of age which remains unexplained
after a complete postmortem investigation, including autopsy, examination of the death
scene, and review of the clinical history. It is the leading cause of death in infancy
beyond the neonatal period. In 1992, the American Academy of Pediatrics
recommended changing infant’s sleep position from stomach to back to reduce the risk
of SIDS. The program, “Back to Sleep”, has been associated with a significant decrease
in the proportion of infants sleeping in the prone position, as well as a decreased
incidence of SIDS.® In California in 2008, 201 babies died from SIDS. The rate of
deathsedue to SIDS was 36.4 per 100,000 live births, an overall increase of 12.7% from
2007.

Unsafe sleeping practices that contribute to infant deaths due to suffocation include the
presence of stuffed toys, blankets, pillows and crib bumpers in the sleeping area. It is
important that parents and other caregivers use the back sleep position for naps and at
night, and not allow smoking around infants. While sleeping, infants should not be
allowed to overheat. Infants should be dressed in light sleep clothing and the room
should be at a temperature that is comfortable for an adult. A firm sleep surface, such
as a safety-approved crib mattress covered by a fitted sheet should be used.

BICYCLE, SCOOTER, SKATE, AND SKATEBOARD SAFETY

The potential for serious head injuries is greater without the use of a properly fitting
helmet while riding a bicycle, scooter (motorized and non-motorized) or using skates or
skateboards. According to the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC),
there were an estimated 151,024 head injuries treated in hospital emergency rooms due
to bicycles, 18,743 due to skateboards, and 15,622 due to non-motorized scooters in
2004.” According to the California Vehicle Code, Division 11, Rules of the Road,
Chapter 1, Article 4, Section 21212, a person under age 18 shall not operate or be a
passenger of a bicycle, a nonmotorized scooter, or a skateboard without wearing a
properly fitted and fastened bicycle helmet that meets the standards of either the
American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM) or the United States Consumer

®> American Academy of Pediatrics, Task Force on Sudden Infant Death Syndrome. The changing concept
of Sudden Infant Death Syndrome: diagnostic coding shifts, controversies regarding the sleeping
environment, and new variables to consider in reducing risk. Pediatrics. 2005; 116:1245-1255.
http://aappolicy.aappublications.org/cgi/reprint/pediatrics;116/5/1245.pdf

¢ California Department of Public Health Birth Statistical and Death Statistical Master Files, 2008.

"U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission, Washington, D.C. 20207; Www.Cpsc.qov
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Product Safety Commission (CPSC).2 When an appropriate helmet is worn, most of
the impact of a fall or collision will be absorbed by the helmet rather than to the head
and brain. Other protective gear, such as wrist guards, elbow and knee pads can also
reduce the number and severity of injuries. It is important that parents teach their
children to be cognizant of traffic laws while riding bicycles, scooters, skateboards as
well as skating. Observance of traffic laws will also serve as a protection from injuries.
Careful selection of protective gear is a vital aspect of injury prevention. The following
information can be found on the website of the U.S. Consumer Product Safety
Commission at www.CpSc.goV:
e Bicycle helmets manufactured after 1999 must meet the CPSC'’s bicycle helmet
standard.
e A helmet should be both comfortable and snug.
¢ A helmet should fit level on top of the head, not tilted back or pulled too low over
the forehead.
e The chin strap should fit properly.
e The helmet should not block the rider’s vision or hearing.

The following pamphlet, “Which Helmet for Which Activity?” is useful when choosing the
proper helmet:
http://www.cpsc.gov/cpscpub/pubs/349.pdf

WATER SAFETY

In California, the leading cause of death for children ages 1-4 is drowning. Children
need constant supervision around water — whether the water is in a bathtub, a wading
pool, an ornamental fish pond, a swimming pool, a spa, the beach, or a lake. Young
children are especially vulnerable — they can drown in less than 2 inches (6
centimeters) of water. Drowning can happen where you would least expect it — the
sink, the toilet bowl, fountains, buckets, inflatable pools, or small bodies of standing
water around the home, such as ditches filled with rain water. Children should always
be watched closely when they are in or near any water.® The installation of four-sided
fences with self- latching mechanisms that are out reach of children and self- closing
gates around backyard swimming pools serve as a protection for young children. The
fence should be at least 4 feet high and separated from the home. Also, consider
additional barriers such as automatic door locks or alarms to prevent access or notify
you if someone enters the pool area. Floats, balls and other toys should be removed
from the pool and surrounding area immediately after use. The presence of these toys
may encourage children to enter the pool area or lean over the pool and potentially fall
in.

8 http://www.dmv.ca.gov/pubs/vctop/d11/vc21212.htm
® http://kidshealth.org/parent/fitness/safety/water safety.html#a Keeping Kids Safe
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To help prevent water-related injuries, the CDC recommends the following:*°

« Designate a responsible adult to watch young children while in the bath and all
children swimming or playing in or around water. Adults should not be involved in
any other distracting activity (such as reading, playing cards, talking on the
phone, or mowing the lawn) while supervising children.

e Always swim with a buddy. Select swimming sites that have lifeguards whenever
possible.

e Avoid drinking alcohol before or during swimming, boating, or water skiing. Do
not drink alcohol while supervising children.

o Learn to swim. Be aware that the American Academy of Pediatrics does not
recommend swimming classes as the primary means of drowning prevention for
children younger than 4. Constant, careful supervision and barriers such as pool
fencing are necessary even when children have completed swimming classes.

e Learn cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR). In the time it might take for
paramedics to arrive, your CPR skills could make a difference in someone’s life.
CPR performed by bystanders has been shown to improve outcomes in drowning
victims.

« Do not use air-filled or foam toys, such as “water wings”, “noodles”, or inner-
tubes, in place of life jackets (personal flotation devices). These toys are not
designed to keep swimmers safe.

Refer families to the following resources regarding water safety:

http://www.aap.org/healthtopics/watersafety.cfm

http://kidshealth.org/parent/fitness/safety/water safety.html#a Keeping Kids Safe

POISON CONTROL:

Poisonings are very common, occurring in over 2 million people a year, with just over
half of those cases in children under 5 years of age.'* It is important that parents
safeguard their home because everyday household products can be poisonous to
children. Medications and toxic products, such as cleaning solutions, should be kept in

19 Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: http://www.cdc.gov/HomeandRecreationalSafety/Water-
Safety/waterinjuries-factsheet.html CDC Water-Related Injuries Facts

1 American Association of Poison Control Centers 2009 Annual Report.
http://www.aapcc.org/dnn/Portals/0/correctedannualreport. pdf
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locked or childproof cabinets. Parents should be instructed to keep the number to the
Poison Control Center with a list of other emergency numbers by the phone.

The AAP recommends the following poisoning prevention tips for parents:?

e Keep harmful products locked up and out of your child's sight and reach.

e Use safety latches or locks on drawers and cabinets where you keep hazardous
items.

e Take extra care during stressful times.

e Call medicine by its correct name. You do not want to confuse the child by calling
medicine candy.

e Always replace the safety caps immediately after use.

e Never leave alcohol within a child's reach.

e Seek help if your child swallows a substance that is not food. Call the Poison
Help Line or your doctor. Don't make your child vomit.

The following toll-free number can be used to directly connect families to their local
poison control center.

1-800-222-1222
BURNS:

According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), accidental or
intentional injury is a leading cause of death among children 14 years of age and
younger. Burns and fires are the fifth most common causes of accidental death in
children and adults, and account for an estimated 4,000 adult and child deaths per year.
The key to reducing childhood burn injuries is prevention. It is important for parents to
safeguard their homes. This includes:

¢ Installation and maintenance of smoke alarms on every floor and near all rooms
that family members sleep in. Test smoke alarms frequently to make sure they

are working properly. Batteries should be changed at least once a year.

e Periodic checks of electrical plugs and outlets.

2 AAP Parenting Corner -- Tips for Poison Prevention and Treatment:
http://www.healthychildren.org/English/news/Pages/Tips-for-Poison-Prevention-and-Treatment.aspx
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e Having an emergency escape plan. This should be practiced regularly with
children. Identify at least two ways out of every room and identify a central
meeting location outside.

e Cook with care -- never leave food unattended on the stove. Turn handles of pot
and pans inward toward the stove, away from the reach of children.

e Set water heater thermostat to 120 degrees Fahrenheit or lower to prevent burns
from scalding water.

e Keep emergency phone numbers and other pertinent information posted close to
the telephone.

The CDC has tips sheets and other information on childhood injury, including steps that
families can take to protect children at the following link:

www.cdc.gov/safechild

Developmental Stages and Risk for Injury

Childhood injuries occur as a result of a very predictable relationship between the child
and their environment. With each developmental stage, children are at risk for different
types of injuries as shown in Table 56.3. Additional factors influencing the risk for
childhood injury include sex, race, income, urban or rural area, and season.
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Table 56.3 Examples of Developmental Stages and Associated Risk for Injury

Age

Developmental Characteristics

Associated Risk for Injury

Newborn and
Infant

Rapid motor development:
begins grasping and rolling over
unexpectedly

Falls from couches, tables, and beds
Burns from hot liquids
Choking/suffocation

Vehicle occupant injury

Seek social and peer approval
Seek independence

Toddler and Intense curiosity Falls from stairs, play equipment, and
Preschool Highly mobile and active shopping carts
Cannot control impulses Poisoning
Drowning
Vehicle occupant injury
School Age Prove self-worth by performing Bicycle crashes
daring feats Motor-vehicle pedestrian injury
Challenge parents’ rules Street related injuries
Darting-out behavior
Adolescent Experimentation and risk-taking Motor-vehicle occupant injury

Firearms related homicide
Suicide

Source: Emergency Preparedness and Injury Control (EPIC) Branch. California Department of Public

Health, Report No. 4, March 1994

Table 56.4 Anticipatory Guidance for Childhood Injury Prevention'

Age Introduce Message
Birth to Install rear-facing infant safety seat in back
One Month seat of car. Use the car safety seat

Infant car seat
Clean air
Back to Sleep
Falls

EVERY time your child is in the car.

Keep home and car smoke-free. Your baby
should also not be in a room that is moldy
or damaged by mildew.

Know signs of iliness: fever >100.4 F, seizure,
rash, unusual irritability, lethargy, failure
to eat, vomiting, diarrhea, dehydration,
jaundice.

Put baby to sleep on back to reduce SIDS
risk. Use a firm mattress without pillows,
loose blankets, or stuffed toys. NEVER
put your baby on a water bed, bean bag,
or anything that is soft enough to cover
the face and block air to the nose and
mouth.

Do not leave your baby alone in tub, on
changing tables, or chairs; always keep
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Age

Introduce

Message

hand on baby. The only safe places to
leave your baby alone are in the crib or

playpen.

Two to Six
Months

Burns-hot liquids
Choking
Baby walkers
Plastic bags
Bedding

NEVER carry your baby and hot liquids, such
as coffee, or foods at the same time. Your
baby can get burned.

Babies explore their environment by putting
anything and everything into their mouths.
NEVER leave small objects within your
baby's reach. NEVER feed your baby
hard pieces of food such as chunks of raw
carrots, apples, hot dogs, grapes,
peanuts, and popcorn

Do not use a baby walker as your baby may
fall down stairs or pull hot or heavy items
onto self.

Plastic wrappers and bags form a tight seal if
placed over the mouth and nose and may
suffocate your child. Keep them away
from your baby.

Use a firm mattress without pillows, loose
blankets, or soft toys. Place your baby on
his/her back to sleep.

Six to
Twelve
Months

Drowning
Poisoning

Childproof home
Falls
Sun exposure
Car seat
Car safety

NEVER leave your child alone in or near a
bathtub, pail of water, wading or
swimming pool, or any other water, even
for a moment. Drowning can happen in
less than 2 inches of water.

Many ordinary things in your house can be
poisonous to your child. Keep all
household products such as cleaners and
chemicals out of reach of your child. Lock
up all pills, including vitamin, iron, and
prenatal pills. Keep the California Poison
Action Line near telephone:

800-222-1222.

Put safety lock devices on drawers, cabinets,
doors, and electrical plugs. Place your
baby's crib away from windows. Cords
from window blinds and draperies can
strangle your child. Tie cords high and out
of reach. Do not knot cords together.
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Age

Introduce

Message

Use gates on stairways and place window
guards or secure screens on all windows
in your home above the first floor.

Be sure to apply sun screen of at least SPF
15 any time your child is out in the sun.
Switch to a front-facing car seat when your
baby has passed his/her first birthday,
weighs twenty pounds and can sit up by
himself; use at all times and make sure it

is correctly installed.

Do not leave your child alone in the car. Keep
vehicles and their trunks locked. There
are dangers involved with leaving children
in a car; death from excess heat may
occur very quickly in warm weather in a
closed car.

One to
Four
Years

Pedestrian Injury
Firearms
Discipline

Child abuse
Tricycles/bicycles
Falls —Play equipment
Water/pool safety

Do not let child play in driveways or near busy
streets. Always supervise near pets,
mowers, driveways, and streets.

Remove or lock up all guns from places where
children live and play. Keep bullets
separate from guns and use trigger locks
for added safety.

Nonviolent discipline is more effective than
physical discipline. Shaking, hitting, and
spanking are violent and inappropriate
forms of discipline. These methods are
more likely to lead to injury, and also
model violent behavior.

Aggression and violent behavior when dealing
with  family and friends must be
addressed. Children who  witness
violence, even on TV, are more likely to
use violence later.

Children riding tricycles should always wear a
bicycle helmet. California law requires
that all children under 18 years of age
wear helmets when riding bicycles.

Be sure the surface under play equipment is
soft enough to absorb a fall. Grass, sand,
or wood chips work the best.

Never let your child swim alone. Use a life
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Age

Introduce

Message

jacket when around pools and especially
for river, lake, canal, and ocean
swimming.

Five to
Ten Years

Seat belt
Fire safety
Sports safety
Bicycle safety

Correctly use a car seat or booster seat and
seat belt every time your child is in the
car. Children under 6 years or under 60
pounds must be in car seats. Your child
should use a booster seat until the lap
belt can be worn low and flat on the hips
and the shoulder belt can be worn across
the shoulder rather than the face or neck
(usually at about 80 pounds and about 4
feet 9 inches tall).

Install smoke or fire detectors in your home
and develop and practice an escape plan
in case of a fire in the home. Change
smoke detector batteries at least once a
year.

Make sure your child wears all the protective
equipment made for a sport and make
sure the equipment is in good shape.

Enforce bicycle safety rules and always make
sure your child wears a bicycle helmet.

Eleven to
Twenty-
one years

Firearms hazards
Violence
Physical/emotional/sexual
abuse
Suicide
Bicycle and car safety
Alcohol and drug use
Work safety

It is safest if you do not keep guns in the
home. If you do have a gun, be sure to
lock up guns and bullets separately. Use
trigger locks for additional safety. Talk
with your child about the dangers of guns.

Seek help if your child has difficulty dealing
with  conflict (i.e. he/she becomes
aggressively angry or seeks revenge) or if
you are concerned if he/she is in a gang.

Talk with your child about physical, emotional,
and sexual abuse, pointing out that you
are there to help them.

Seek help if your adolescent shows signs of
depression or emotional problems as
indicated by declining school performance
or changes in mood, sleep, or body
weight.

Ensure that your preteen/teen always uses an
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Age

Introduce

Message

approved helmet and always wears a seat
belt.

Discuss the issues regarding alcohol and
other drug use with your child.

Reinforce the importance of wearing
protective gear and following safety
procedures.

i Adapted from “The Injury Prevention Program” (TIPP), a program of the American Academy of Pediatrics
and Bright Futures, Third Edition, 2008. TIPP can be accessed on line at:

http://www.aap.org/family/tippmain.htm
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