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MEDICAL SERVICES (CMS) BRANCH STAFF AND REGIONAL OFFICE
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SUBJECT: LEGISLATIVE CHANGES IN SCHOOL REPORTING REQUIREMENTS
FOR SCHOOL YEAR 2004-2005

Purpose
This program letter provides notification of the changes in legislative authority for

reporting of health examinations of children entering first grade, instructions for local
CHDP programs and their ongoing responsibilities for private and public schools.

Legislative Background

In cooperation with the local CHDP program, the governing body of every public school
district and private school that has children enrolled in kindergarten is required to
provide information to the parents or guardians of all children on the importance of
health to learning and the importance of receiving a health screening before the end of
first grade.

The California Health and Safety (H&S) Code Section 124085 requires each child within
90 days of entrance into the first grade to provide a certificate of health examination
approved by the Department of Health Services to the school where the child is to
enroll. This certificate documents that within the prior 18 months, the child has received
the appropriate health screening and evaluation services. In lieu of such a certificate,
the school can accept a waiver signed by the child’s parents(s) or guardian indicating
that he/she does not want or is unable to obtain a health assessment and evaluation
services.
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Prior to January 1, 2005, the H&S Code Section 124100 required every public school
district and private school in California to report the following information on an annual
basis:

. The total number of children enrolled in first grade.

o The number of children who have had health screening examinations as
evidenced by certificates.

o The number of children whose parents or guardian have given written waivers

that they do not want their children to receive health-screening examinations.

Changes in Legislation

AB2855, Chapter 895, Statutes of 2004 included amendments to the H&S Code Section
124100. The amended H&S Code no longer require every public school district and
private school in California to report data on the number of children receiving health-
screening examinations at school entry. Therefore, public school districts and private
schools are NOT required to submit the CHDP Annual School Report (PM 272) to the
CHDP Program within the local health department and there will be no reimbursement
provided. Private schools and public school districts may continue to gather and share
this information at their discretion.

CHDP Responsibilities

Local CHDP programs continue to have the responsibility to work collaboratively with
schools to inform and empower families about obtaining and utilizing quality health care
services. The activities involved in maintaining a liaison with public and private schools
will help to support school readiness and ensure healthy children ready to learn.

CMS Branch will mail to all County Superintendents of schools, Superintendent of
Elementary School Districts, Health Services Personnel and County Offices of
Education the attached letter “Legislative Changes in School Reporting Requirements
and the CHDP Program”.

CMS Branch is also providing the following to local CHDP programs for distribution to
private schools:

° Letter from the CMS Branch to Private schools.
. One set of Private School mailing labels.

o Local CHDP programs shall copy and distribute the CMS Branch letter to private
school administrators.
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Thank you for your continued efforts to help protect the health of school children and
enable children to be at their best and ready to learn.

Should you have any questions, please contact the Nurse Consultant in your Regional
Office.

Original signed by Marian Dalsey, M.D., M.P.H.

Marian Dalsey, M.D., M.P.H., Acting Chief
Children’s Medical Services Branch

Attachments



State of California-Health and Human Services Agency

o Department of Health Services

Cali
Department of
Pioolth Qonicac

Health Services

SANDRA SHEWRY
Director ARNOLD SCHWARZENEGGER
Governor

January 6, 2005

TO: PRIVATE SCHOOL ADMINISTRATORS

SUBJECT: LEGISLATIVE CHANGES IN SCHOOL REPORTING REQUIREMENTS
AND THE CHILD HEALTH AND DISABILITY PREVENTION (CHDP)
PROGRAM FOR SCHOOL YEAR 2004-2005

Purpose
This letter provides notification of the changes in legislative authority for reporting health

examinations of children entering first grade.

Legislative Background

In cooperation with local CHDP Programs, the governing body of every public school
district and private school that has children enrolled in kindergarten is required to provide
information to the parents or guardians of all children on the importance of health to learning
and the importance of receiving a health screening before the end of first grade.

The California Health and Safety (H&S) Code Section 124085 requires each child within 90
days of entrance into the first grade to provide a health examination certificate approved by
the Department of Health Services to the school where the child is to enroll. This certificate
documents that within the prior 18 months the child has received the appropriate health
screening and evaluation services. In lieu of such a certificate, the school can accept a
waiver signed by the child’s parent(s) or guardian indicating that he/she does not want or is
unable to obtain health assessment and evaluation services.

Prior to January 1, 2005, the H&S Code Section 124100 required every public school district
and private school in California to report the following information on an annual basis.

o The total number of children enrolled in first grade.

. The number of children who have had health screening examinations as indicated by
certificates.

o The number of children whose parents or guardian have given written waivers

that they do not want their children to receive health-screening examinations.
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Changes in Legislation

AB 2855, Chapter 895, Statutes of 2004 included amendments to the H&S Code Section
124100. The H&S Code as amended no longer requires every public school district

and private school in California to report data on the number of children receiving
health-screening examinations at school entry. Therefore, private schools are NOT
required to submit the CHDP Annual School Report (PM 272) to the CHDP Program within
the local health department and there will be no reimbursement provided. Schools may
continue to gather and share this information at their discretion.

Schools are still required to collect the certificate of health examination or waiver and
maintain immunization records. The local CHDP program will continue to facilitate access to
necessary health care.

Thank you for your continued efforts to help protect the health of school children and enable
children to be at their best and ready to learn.

Should you have any questions, please contact the CHDP Program within your local health
department.

Original signed by Marian Dalsey, M.D., M.P.H.

Marian Dalsey, M.D., M.P.H., Acting Chief
Children’s Medical Services Branch

Enclosures
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TO: COUNTY SUPERINTENDENTS OF SCHOOLS, SUPERINTENDENTS
OF ELEMENTARY SCHOOL DISTRICTS, HEALTH SERVICES
PERSONNEL AND COUNTY OFFICES OF EDUCATION

SUBJECT: LEGISLATIVE CHANGES IN SCHOOL REPORTING REQUIREMENTS
AND THE CHILD HEALTH AND DISABILITY PREVENTION (CHDP)
PROGRAM FOR SCHOOL YEAR 2004-2005

Purpose
This letter provides notification of the changes in legislative authority for reporting health

examinations of children entering first grade.

Legislative Background

In cooperation with local CHDP Programs, the governing body of every public school district
and private school that has children enrolled in kindergarten is required to provide information
to the parents or guardians of all children on the importance of health to learning and the
importance of receiving a health screening before the end of first grade.

The California Health and Safety (H&S) Code Section 124085 requires each child within 90
days of entrance into the first grade to provide a certificate of health examination approved by
the Department of Health Services to the school where the child is to enroll. This certificate
documents that within the prior 18 months the child has received the appropriate health
screening and evaluation services. In lieu of such a certificate, the school can accept a
waiver signed by the child’s parent(s) or guardian indicating that he/she does not want or is
unable to obtain health assessment and evaluation services.

Prior to January 1, 2005, the H&S Code Section 124100 required every public school district
and private school in California to report the following information on an annual basis:

o The total number of children enrolled in first grade.
. The number of children who have had health screening examinations as evidenced
by certificates.
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o The number of children whose parents or guardian have given written waivers that
they do not want their children to receive health-screening examinations.

Changes in Legislation

AB 2855, Chapter 895, Statutes of 2004 included amendments to the H&S Code Section
124100. As amended, the H&S code no longer requires every public school district

and private school in California to report data on the number of children receiving
health-screening examinations at school entry. Therefore, public school districts are NOT
required to submit the CHDP Annual School Report (PM 272) to the CHDP Program within
the local health department and there will be no reimbursement provided. School districts
may continue to gather and share this information at their discretion.

The first grade school entry health examination and immunizations are still required.

Thank you for your continued efforts to help protect the health of school children and enable
children to be at their best and ready to learn.

Should you have any questions, please contact the CHDP Program within your local health
department.

Original signed by Marian Dalsey, M.D., M.P.H.

Marian Dalsey, M.D., M.P.H., Acting Chief
Children’s Medical Services Branch

Enclosures



