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These voluntary self-certication instructional review materials offer you a 
one-time opportunity to remove your second violation for exceeding the 
workweek and/or travel time limitations, and will not be offered again in 
the future, unless your WPCS/IHSS provider eligibility is suspended for 
one year and you complete the required re-enrollment process.

If you do not review the materials and submit your completed self- 
certification form to IHO within 14 calendar days from the date of your 
second violation notice, you will be sent a notice confirming your 
second violation along with the California Department of Health Care 
Services (DHCS) Provider’s Right to Dispute form which may be 
submitted  to  IHO  if you   disagree  with  the  violation. 
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A Second Violation 
So, you got a second violation for exceeding workweek and/or travel time 
limitations? Let’s review the workweek and travel time limits to help 
prevent you from incurring future violations. If you were an active provider 
before February 1, 2016, you were mailed Temp 3001 and were 
instructed to complete and submit Provider Workweek and Travel Time 
Agreement Form (DHCS 2255W). If you became a provider after 
February 1, 2016, you received Temp 3001, and you completed the 
updated SOC 846 during the mandatory IHSS Provider Orientation. 
Completion of the updated SOC 846 confirmed your understanding of the 
workweek and travel time limitations required by California law. Not 
following the workweek and travel time limitations will result in violations, 
which may include suspension of your eligibility to be an IHSS/WPCS 
provider for up to one year. 

 
You received this second violation due to one or more of the following 
actions: 

 
• You worked more than 40 hours in a workweek for a recipient without 

your recipient getting approval from IHO when that recipient is 
authorized 40 hours or less in a workweek; 

• You worked more than your recipient’s maximum weekly hours 
without the recipient getting approval from IHO, which caused you to 
work more overtime hours in the month than you normally would;  

• You work for more than one recipient and you worked more than 66 
hours in a workweek; or 

• Your claimed travel time was more than seven (7) hours in a 
workweek. 

 
Whenever you receive a violation, you have ten calendar days from the 
date of the violation notice to complete and submit the Provider’s Right to 
Dispute form to IHO. Once IHO receives the form, it has ten business days 
to review the violation and send you a notice stating the outcome of the 
review. 

 
REMINDER: If you get more than one violation in a single month, it will 
only count as one violation. Once you have received a violation, it will 
remain on your record. However, after one year, if you do not receive 
another violation, the number of violations you have received will be 
reduced by one. As long as you do not receive any additional violations,  
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each year after the last violation, your number of violations will be reduced 
by one. 
 
CAUTION: If you receive a third violation, your WPCS/IHSS provider 
eligibility will be suspended for 90 days. If you receive a fourth violation, 
your WPCS/IHSS provider eligibility will be suspended for one year. When 
your one-year WPCS/IHSS provider ineligibility period ends, you will have to 
complete all of the provider enrollment requirements again, including the 
criminal background check, provider orientation, and all required forms, 
before you may resume providing WPCS/IHSS services. 
 
If you disagree with the IHO’s determination to uphold the third or fourth 
violation, you may request a State review of the violation by the CDSS 
Adult Programs Division’s Appeals Unit. The third and fourth violation 
notices will explain how you may request the state review. 

 
Workweek Limitations 
Remember, the WPCS workweek begins at 12:00 a.m. on Sunday and 
ends at 11:59 p.m. the following Saturday.  It is important that you 
understand the WPCS workweek so that you and your WPCS recipient(s) 
may better track how many authorized hours are planned, how many were 
actually worked, and whether you are eligible for overtime compensation. 

 
The maximum weekly hours are the number of service hours you may work 
for your recipient(s) per workweek. The maximum weekly hours are a 
guideline to help make you aware of how many hours you can work up to 
in a workweek so your recipient(s) can budget his/her authorized service 
hours in the month to ensure all authorized service hours are received. 
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Your recipient may be able to adjust his/her maximum weekly hours, 
without requesting approval from IHO, under the following conditions: 

Adjusting Maximum Weekly Hours 

If you work… Is IHO Approval Needed? 
40 hours or less Yes, if you work more than the 40 hours for yourre 

recipient in a workweek if his/her maximum weekly 
hours are 40 hours or less in a workweek. 

No, if you do not work more than 40 hours for your 
recipient in a workweek if his/her maximum weekly 
hours are 40 hours or less in a workweek. 

OR 
Over 40 hours Yes, if you work more overtime hours than you 

ormallyn  work in a calendar month. 

o, if you do notN  work more overtime hours than you 
ormallyn  work in a calendar month. 

ote: IfN  you are the only provider working for one 
ecipient who doesr  not have any other providers, your 
ecipient can askr  you to work more than his/her 
aximum weekly hours,m  u must work fewer hours in 
nother week(s)a  of the month to stay within the 
ecipient’s authorized monthlyr  hours. 

AND 
For multiple 
recipients 

You may never work more than the combined 
WPCS/IHSS maximum weekly hours of 66. 

Caution: If you work for more than one recipient, 
should not accept additional hours if taking the 
additional hours will result in you going over your 
combined maximum weekly hours of 66. 

you 
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Travel Time Limitations 
If you work for more than one recipient at different locations on the same 
day, you are eligible to be paid for traveling directly between the two 
recipients, regardless of your method of travel (i.e., driving a car, taking 
public transit, walking, and riding a bicycle). The maximum amount of 
travel time providers are allowed to claim during a workweek is 7 hours. 
Keep in mind that travel time does not include the time it takes you to travel 
from your own home to the location where you provide services for a 
recipient or back home after your work is completed. Your time spent 
traveling between recipients’ locations does not count toward your 
maximum weekly hours of 66 or your recipients’ maximum weekly hours 
and is not deducted from any recipient’s monthly authorized hours. 

 
IMPORTANT TIPS: 

 
 If your travel time is going to be more than 7 hours per workweek, 

you will have to rearrange your work schedule with your recipients to 
make sure your claimed travel time is no more than 7 hours per 
workweek. Please contact IHO if you need assistance in rearranging 
your work schedule. 

 
 If you submit a travel claim form with more than 7 hours in a 

workweek, you will get paid for the travel time claimed but you will get 
a violation. 
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Waiver Personal Care Services (WPCS) PROGRAM CERTIFICATION 
FOR INSTRUCTIONAL MATERIAL REVIEW 

 
PROVIDER NAME (FIRST, MIDDLE, LAST) WPCS PROVIDER NUMBER 

 
 

I reviewed the instructional materials provided to me that related to the workweek and travel   
time limitations for WPCS/IHSS providers and I understand the following: 

 
• If I work only for a single recipient, I am restricted to working the recipient’s maximum 

weekly hours not to exceed 70-hours and 45 minutes. 
 

• If I work for multiple recipients, I am restricted to working 66 hours per workweek divided 
among all of the recipients I work for. If I currently work the maximum of 66 hours and 
one of my recipients requests me to work additional hours, I cannot work those additional 
hours unless I make arrangements with my other recipient(s) to reduce hours for him/her 
during that week. 

 

 

 

 

• If I work for multiple recipients on the same day and I travel directly from one of their 
homes to another, I cannot claim more than seven (7) hours of travel time per week. 

• If my recipient requests that I work more hours during a workweek than I am scheduled to 
work and my recipient’s maximum weekly hours are 40 hours or less and those additional 
hours cause me to work more than 40 hours in that workweek, my recipient is responsible 
for contacting IHO to get approval for those additional hour 

• If my recipient requests that I work more hours during a workweek than I am scheduled to 
work and those additional hours cause me to work more overtime during that workweek 
than I normally would, my recipient is responsible for contacting IHO to get approval for 
those additional hours. 

• If I do work additional hours during one week, then I must reduce my work hours in 
another week later within the same month to make sure I do not work more than my 
recipient’s monthly authorized hours. 
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   By reviewing and signing this certification form and submitting it to IHO, I understand: 

 

 

 

 
 

• The second violation I received will be removed from my record. 
• This instructional material review is a one-time option to remove my second 

violation. If I receive another violation later, I will not be given the opportunity to 
review the instructional materials again. 

• If I receive further violations, I could be found ineligible to work and be paid as a 
WPCS/IHSS provider through the WPCS/IHSS Program. 

 
By signing this certification form I am accepting the responsibility to follow the information 
provided by Department of Health Care Services in the instructional materials provided. I 
understand that failure to follow the workweek and travel time limitations may result in my 
ineligibility to work as a WPCS/ IHSS provider. 

 
 

 
 

WPCS Provider’s Signature Date 

 
PLEASE REMOVE THIS NOTIFICATION FROM THE INSTRUCTION MATERIALS PACKET AND MAIL TO IHO: 

 

Department of Health Care Services 
Long-Term Care Division 
1501 Capitol Avenue, MS 4502 
P.O. Box 997437 
Sacramento, CA 95899-7437 
Telephone (916) 552-9105 
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