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NHSP STATS IN BRIEF: 
Through the dedication and 
hard work of our NHSP and 
audiology providers, here is 
what we have been able to 
accomplish in California: 
 
Preliminary data for 2006: 
• 422,370 babies screened as 

inpatients with a 98% 
screening rate.  (Follow up 
data for these babies are 
not yet available.) 

 
Data for 2005:  
• 713 babies were identified 

with hearing loss which 
yielded an incidence rate 
of 1.7/1000.   (1.2/1000 in 
the well baby nursery and 
5.7/1000 in the NICU) 

 
• Of the 713 babies identified 

in 2005, 63% were 
identified by three months 
of age.   

 
• 598 babies (84%) were 

enrolled in the Early Start 
Program and 67% of those 
were enrolled by six 
months of age.   

 
• We had a less than 10% lost 

to follow up rate – one of 
the lowest rates in the 
country!     

 
The NHSP would like to thank 
all of our providers for helping 
us get closer to obtaining the 
1-3-6 goal every year! 

 

 

The California Newborn Hearing Screening 
Program Expands to Universal. 

 
Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger signed into law Assembly Bill 2651, 
expanding the California Newborn Hearing Screening Program (NHSP), 
which is currently mandated in California Children’s Services (CCS) 
approved hospitals and neonatal intensive care units, to all hospitals in 
California with licensed perinatal services effective January 2008.  The 
new law will increase the number of hospitals participating from 180 to 
276.  An estimated 550,000 babies will be screened every year under the 
expanded program; approximately 5,500 of those infants will require a 
diagnostic evaluation with 1,100 babies having hearing loss.  
 

  
 

Is your practice ready for the increased numbers of infants 
expected with the expanded NHSP? 

 
The National Early Hearing Detection and Intervention goals for newborn 
hearing screening and practice patterns for infant audiologic assessment 
emphasize the “1-3-6” goals for screening and follow up.  These are 
defined d as follows: 

• All newborns will be screened for hearing loss by 1 month of age;  
• A diagnostic audiologic evaluation will be completed on all 

newborns who do not pass the initial screening by 3 months of 
age; and  

• Early intervention services will be provided for newborns with 
hearing loss by 6 months of age.  

The 2006 data attest to how well our state complies with the first goal of 
screening by one month of age.  As a program, the 2005 data suggest we 
are doing a fair job of identifying children by three months of age, but 

 
Infant Audiologic 

Assessment –   Are 
You Ready??? 



Test your Pediatric Diagnostic 
Knowledge: 

1.   Air conduction ABR results 
indicating a moderate-severe loss, 
along with absent OAEs and Type 
A tympanograms measured with a 
220 Hz or 226 Hz probe tone is 
indicative of a sensorineural 
hearing loss: 

• True 

• False 

2.   An ABR can be performed on 
an infant with fluid in their ears. 

• True 

• False 

3.   Absent waveforms with ABR 
and present responses in the 
severe range with an ASSR may be 
indicative of auditory neuropathy. 

• True 

• False 

4.   It is not necessary to wait for 
the required 3 month hearing aid 
trial or age of 12 months to refer 
for a cochlear implant evaluation. 

• True 

• False 

 

there is room for improvement   Limited access to appointments with 
pediatric audiologists has impacted the ability to achieve the second goal 
of identification by three months of age.  Another barrier that has been 
identified is a reluctance by audiologists to identify the type of hearing 
loss based on initial diagnostic information without the input of an 
otolaryngologist.   

It is a common scenario for an audiologist, who has performed an initial 
evaluation on infant who did not pass outpatient rescreening,  to refer to 
the Otolaryngologist (ENT) before indicating a type and degree of hearing 
loss, with the recommendation for audiologic assessment after medical 
intervention.  This is reported to the NHSP as a baby with some degree of 
hearing loss, type undetermined.  Often the baby cannot get in to see 
the ENT in a timely manner, thereby delaying the follow up audiology 
evaluation and the confirmation of the type of hearing loss even further.  
In turn, early intervention services can be delayed as many children are 
not eligible for California’s Early Start program without confirmation of a 
sensorineural component. 

If a child has late identified hearing loss because he or she was lost 
between ENT and audiology or there was an excessive amount of time 
between audiology evaluations, there is a plausible risk of liability to the  
audiologist for not initially identifying an underlying sensorineural 
hearing loss. 
 
The 2007 Position Statement from the Joint Committee on Infant Hearing 
(JCIH) clearly states that regardless of the infant’s age, ear-specific 
estimates of type, degree, and configuration of hearing loss should be 
obtained.  Under the California NHSP for an infant to have confirmed 
hearing loss, at a minimum, the type and degree must be identified.  The 
JCIH defines appropriate measures of middle ear function for birth to 6 
months of age as, “Tympanometry using a 1000-Hz probe tone” and 
“bone-conducted tone bursts when indicated.” 
 
The click ABR alone is not enough. 
 
Current standard of practice statements such as the JCIH, the California 
Infant Assessment Guidelines and the American Speech-Language-Hearing 
Association Guidelines for the Audiologic Assessment of Children From 
Birth to 5 Years of Age agree that the evaluation of an infant cannot rely 
on a single test.  At a minimum the battery must contain: 

• Frequency-specific electrophysiologic testing 

• Otoacoustic emission testing 

• A measure of middle ear function 
 
• When appropriate, an auditory neuropathy/dys-synchrony 

evaluation.   
For your own protection and the well-being of infants who refer on 
hearing screenings, please ensure that your infant diagnostic protocol 
is comprehensive, inclusive, and makes use of a crosscheck system of 
evaluation. 

 

Answers: 
1. False.  The absence of bone 
conduction testing and high-
frequency probe-tone use for 
impedance measurements could 
result in a misdiagnosis of 
sensorineural hearing loss when a 
conductive component is present. 
2. True.  An ABR can be performed 
when there is fluid in the middle 
ears.  Fluid can be ruled out by the 
increased latency of the waveforms, 
bone conduction ABR, and a high-
frequency probe-tone tympanogram.  
It is important to continue with 
testing so that early identification 
and referral to Early Start can be 
made. 
3.  False.  ASSR is not considered a 
diagnostic tool for auditory 
neuropathy/auditory dys-synchrony. 
4.  True!  As soon as a diagnosis of a 
severe-profound sensorineural 
hearing loss can be determined, 
referral for the cochlear implant 
evaluation can  be initiated! 


