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Suspend Skilled Nursing Facility Backup Power Requirement

Fact Sheet

Issue Title: Suspend Skilled Nursing Facility (SNF) Backup Power Requirement. The
Department of Health Care Services (DHCS) proposes to suspend the requirement for
SNFs to have an alternative source of power for no fewer than 96 hours during any type of
power outage until the Legislature has appropriated sufficient funds for the express purpose
of providing a rate add-on to SNFs’ Medi-Cal per diem rate for the projected cost of
complying with the new requirement.

Background: Existing law requires SNFs to have an alternative source of power for no
fewer than 96 hours during any type of power outage by January 1, 2026 (Health and Safety
Code (HSC) Section 1418.22). This requirement was established by AB 2511 (Chapter 788,
Statutes of 2022) and then subsequently delayed by SB 1511 (Chapter 42, Statutes of
2024) from January 1, 2024, to January 1, 2026.

The Medi-Cal Long-Term Care Reimbursement Act (Article 3.8 (commencing with
section 14126) of Chapter 7 of Part 3 of Division 9 of the Welfare and Institutions Code
and the California Medicaid State Plan require DHCS to provide a rate add-on to SNFs’
Medi-Cal per diem rate for the projected cost of complying with new requirements.

As of the Fiscal Year 2025-26 Governor’s Budget, DHCS estimated in the Medi-Cal
Local Assistance Estimate (Policy Change 98) that the implementation of this new
requirement was projected to cost $249.6 million ($98.2 million General Fund) in 2025-
26 and $350.4 million ($137.9 million General Fund) in 2026-27. The 2025 May
Revision eliminates funding for the implementation of this new requirement.

Justification for Change: In order to address the state budget shortfall, DHCS
proposes to suspend the requirement for SNFs to have an alternative source of power
for no fewer than 96 hours during any type of power outage until the Legislature has
appropriated sufficient funds for the express purpose of providing a rate add-on to
SNFs’ Medi-Cal per diem rate for the projected cost of complying with the new
requirement (HSC Section 1418.22(f)(2)(A)). SNFs would not need to comply with the
backup power requirements until the first day of the Medi-Cal rate year for which DHCS
publishes a written notice on DHCS’ website that the appropriation has been made to
provide an add-on to the Medi-Cal per diem rate to SNFs for the projected cost of
complying with the requirements of this policy. DHCS would also be authorized to
implement the provision by means of provider bulletins, policy letters, or other similar
instructions, without taking regulatory action (HSC Section 1418.22(f)(2)(B)).

Summary of Arguments in Support:
e The proposed statutory changes prevent SNFs from needing to implement a new
requirement until such time that adequate funding is provided.
e The proposed statutory changes allow DHCS to remain in compliance with the
requirements of the Medi-Cal Long-Term Care Reimbursement Act and


https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/dataandstats/reports/mcestimates/Documents/2024_November_Estimate/N24-Medi-Cal-Local-Assistance-Estimate.pdf

California Medicaid State Plan. Because the California Medicaid State Plan is an
agreement with the federal government for the operation of the Medi-Cal

program, enforcing compliance with the new requirement without providing a rate
add-on would jeopardize federal financial participation for the Medi-Cal program.



