

State of California—Health and Human Services Agency Department of Health Care Services



GAVIN NEWSOM GOVERNOR

August 14, 2020

The Honorable Anthony Portantino, Chair Senate Appropriations Committee State Capitol, Room 3086 Sacramento, CA 95814

Dear Senator Portantino:

ASSEMBLY BILL 2360 (AS AMENDED August 5, 2020) - OPPOSE

The Department of Health Care Services (DHCS) must inform you of its opposition to Assembly Bill (AB) 2360. AB 2360 would require health care service plans (HCSPs), including Knox-Keene licensed Medi-Cal managed care health plans (MCPs), to provide access to a telehealth consultation (e-consult) program for providers (including pediatricians, obstetricians, and primary care providers) who treat children and pregnant and postpartum persons by July 1, 2021.

DHCS recognizes the importance of addressing the mental health concerns of children and pregnant and postpartum persons; however, DHCS must oppose AB 2360 because the bill would create significant administrative burdens for MCPs to develop and implement this type of consultation program, especially for those MCPs that may not already have similar programs or frameworks in place that model the program proposed in the bill. Further, the consultation program would only be available to providers serving children and pregnant and postpartum persons, which would exclude providers who serve other MCP members who may also benefit from this type of consultation program.

Lastly, because DHCS anticipates the bill would increase utilization of mental health services, it would impact managed care rates; given these increased costs, DHCS believes this would be more appropriately addressed in state budget process.

If you have any questions regarding our position, please feel free to contact me at (916) 440-7500.

Honorable Anthony Portantino Page 2 August 14, 2020

Sincerely,

O/S by Carol Gallegos

Carol Gallegos, Deputy Director Legislative & Governmental Affairs Department of Health Care Services

cc: Assembly Member Brian Maienschein, Author Senator Patricia Bates, Vice-Chair Senator Steven Bradford Senator Jerry Hill Senator Brian Jones Senator Connie Leyva Senator Bob Wieckowski