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State of California – Health and Human Services Agency            Department of Health Care Services 

MENTAL HEALTH PROFESSIONAL LICENSING WAIVER REQUEST 

(Please fill-in all boxes below. See page three for completion instructions.) 

1. FULL NAME OF INDIVIDUAL SEEKING PROFESSIONAL LICENSING WAIVER (PLW)
(Include aliases and maiden names):

2. EMAIL ADDRESS FOR INDIVIDUAL SEEKING PLW:

3. HAS THE INDIVIDUAL SEEKING PLW COMPLETED 3000 HOURS OF SUPERVISED
PROFESSIONAL EXPERIENCE?

☐ YES  If yes, number of hours completed: __________ 
☐ NO

4. DOES THE INDIVIDUAL SEEKING PLW HAVE AN APPROVED WAIVER WITH
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH CARE SERVICES (DHCS)?

☐ YES    If yes, go to question seven.
☐ NO If no, continue to question five.

5. TYPE OF WAIVER REQUEST (Please check appropriate box):

☐ WITHIN CALIFORNIA / NOT LICENSE ELIGIBLE PSYCHOLOGIST:
(5-year waiver maximum)

☐ OUT-OF-STATE / LICENSING-EXAMINATION READY: (5-year waiver maximum)
☐ PSYCHOLOGIST
☐ LCSW
☐ LMFT
☐ PCC

6. DATE OF DEGREE OR DATE OF ALL DEGREE REQUIREMENTS MET (Transcript
submission required):

DATE: _________________

IF DEGREE REQUIREMENTS ARE NOT MET, NUMBER OF UNITS COMPLETED:
_______________

7. EMPLOYMENT / INTERNSHIP START DATE (In the position requiring waiver):

[] YES If yes, number of hours completead:
[this box is checked] NO

[] YES If ves. go to question seven.

[]  NO If no, continue to question five.

[] WITHIN CALIFORNIA / NOT LICENSE ELIGIBLE PSYCHOLOGIST: (5-year waiver maximum)

[this box is checked] PSYCHOLOGIST

[] LCSW

[] LMFT

[] PCC



State of California – Health and Human Services Agency            Department of Health Care Services 

MENTAL HEALTH PROFESSIONAL LICENSING WAIVER REQUEST 

8. MENTAL HEALTH PLAN (MHP) OR COUNTY MENTAL HEALTH DEPARTMENT:

9. MHP OR COUNTY MENTAL HEALTH DEPARTMENT CONTACT EMAIL ADDRESS FOR
QUESTIONS & RETURN OF LICENSING WAIVER REQUEST:

10. REQUEST SUBMITTED BY: (Signature – Mental Health Director/Designee)

PRINTED NAME:  

SIGNATURE: _________________________________________ 

DATE:  

FOR STATE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH CARE SERVICES, 
MEDI-CAL BEHAVIORAL HEALTH DIVISION ONLY. DO NOT COMPLETE BELOW. 

1. DATE COMPLETE WAIVER APPLICATION RECEIVED:

2. DATE WAIVER BEGINS:

3. DATE WAIVER ENDS:

4. COMMENTS:
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State of California – Health and Human Services Agency Department of Health Care Services 

MENTAL HEALTH PROFESSIONAL LICENSING WAIVER REQUEST 

This waiver is granted pursuant to Welfare and Institutions Code Section 5751.2 and with the 
stipulation that the MHP/County Mental Health Department and the individual seeking waiver 
assume responsibly for meeting all applicable statutory and regulatory requirements during the 
approved waiver period. 

Approved by:  

Signature: _________________________________________ 

Title:  

Date:  

Privacy Notice: The personal information collected on and with this form is confidential, subject to the 
Department of Health Care Services (DHCS) Notice of Privacy Practices that can be found here: https://
www.dhcs.ca.gov/formsandpubs/laws/priv/Documents/Notice-of-Privacy-Practices-English.pdf. The 
DHCS Behavioral Health Division needs the information to accurately track the waiver history of the 
individual seeking the professional licensing waiver (PLW) and may share it with other agencies, 
contractors, or facilities who need to verify the waiver. DHCS will not use or share the information for 
other purposes except with your permission or as permitted by law. You must provide all information 
requested on this form and provide the supporting documentation. If you do not provide all information 
requested, we cannot provide a PLW. In most cases, the individual(s) to whom this information pertains 
has the right to access it. 
DHCS is authorized to collect this information pursuant to Behavioral Health Information Notice 20-069. 
This privacy notice provided here is required by California Civil Code 1798.17.

Submission: Submit this application and any documentation to DHCS via email at 
MHLicensingWaivers@dhcs.ca.gov or by mail to Behavioral Health MS 2621, P.O Box 997413, 
Sacramento, CA 95899-7413.

Appeal: The MHP, county mental health department, or the individual listed in the application applying 
for a professional licensing waiver may appeal the denial by submitting a written request electronically 
to MHLicensingWaivers@dhcs.ca.gov or by mail to Behavioral Health MS 2621, P.O Box 997413, 
Sacramento, CA 95899-7413.

The written request must be emailed or postmarked within thirty (30) calendar days of receipt of the 
written notice of denial. The written request shall include a statement of fact(s) supporting the 
applicant’s appeal and/or related documentation.

Within thirty (30) calendar days of receipt of the written request for review, the Department shall 
approve or deny the appeal and provide written notification including the reasons for the decision to the 
MHP or county mental health department. The Department’s decision on the appeal shall be final.

The Department shall not process an appeal filed due to an applicant’s error in the application.
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https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=WIC&sectionNum=5751.2.


State of California – Health and Human Services Agency Department of Health Care Services 

MENTAL HEALTH PROFESSIONAL LICENSING WAIVER REQUEST 

MENTAL HEALTH PROFESSIONAL LICENSING WAIVER REQUEST 

Instructions For Completing This Form 

1) Full name of individual seeking professional licensing waiver (PLW), including aliases and
maiden names: DHCS staff need this information, when applicable, to track accurately the
waiver history of the individual seeking PLW.

2) Email address for individual seeking PLW: DHCS staff need this information, when
applicable, to track accurately the waiver history of the individual seeking PLW and to contact
if necessary.

3) Completion of 3000 Hours of Supervised Professional Experience (SPE) by the individual
seeking PLW: The MHP must confirm if the individual seeking waiver has or has not
completed 3000 hours of SPE. If the MHP selects yes, the MHP is attesting the individual
seeking PLW has completed 3000 hours of SPE.

4) Current approved waiver with Department of Health Care Services (DHCS): Indicate if the
applicant seeking PLW currently holds an approved waiver with DHCS.  

5) Type of Waiver Request: Clearly indicate the type of waiver request. To be eligible for the
Out-Of-State / License-Ready category, the individual seeking PLW must be both license-
ready (i.e., have accrued the number of hours of supervised professional experience required
to sit for the licensing examination) and have been recruited from out-of-state. When
submitting a request for an Out-Of-State / License Ready waiver, the MHP must submit a
letter from the appropriate licensing board which states that the individual seeking PLW has
sufficient experience to gain admission to the licensing examination.

6) Date of degree or date of all degree requirements met: Specify the date the individual
seeking PLW received their degree or the date of all degree requirements. If the degree
requirements are not completed, include the number of units completed. Submission of a
current transcript is required.

7) Employment Start Date (In the Position Requiring the Waiver): Specify the date the individual
seeking PLW will start employment in the position requiring a waiver. (Note: PLW request
approvals will not be backdated if a request is submitted after the employment start date.)

8) Mental Health Plan (MHP) or County Mental Health Department: Specify the MHP or County
Mental Health Department submitting the request for PLW. 

9) MHP or County Mental Health Department contact for questions & address for return
licensing waiver request: Include the name and contact information of a MHP or County
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State of California – Health and Human Services Agency Department of Health Care Services 

MENTAL HEALTH PROFESSIONAL LICENSING WAIVER REQUEST 

Mental Health Department contact for any questions or return of the professional licensing 
waiver request. 

10) Request Submitted by (Mental Health Director / Designee): All waiver requests must be
submitted, signed and dated by the MHP or County Mental Health Department director or
director’s designee on file with DHCS.

For additional information on the professional licensing waiver process, see Behavioral Health 
Information Notice No. 20-069. 
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