Acceptable Citizenship and Identity Documents

A new law says *mos*t Medi-Cal applicants and beneficiaries who are U.S. citizens or nationals must show proof of citizenship *and* proof of identity. We can only accept documents that are listed below. If you do not have the *original* document, you must get a **certified** copy from the issuing agency. Photocopies cannot be accepted.

The easiest way for U.S. citizens or nationals to prove citizenship and identity is with **one** of these documents:

- U.S. Passport issued without limitation (expired ones are acceptable)
- Certificate of Naturalization (N-550 or N-570)
- Certificate of U.S. Citizenship (N-560 or N-561)

- OR -

If you do not have one of the documents above, provide...

One citizenship document listed below:

- U.S. Birth Certificate
- Certification of Report of Birth (DS-1350)
- Report of Birth Abroad of a U.S. Citizen (FS-240)
- State Department Certification of Birth (FS-545 or DS-1350)
- ❖ U.S. Citizen Identification Card (I-197 or I-179)
- American Indian Card (1-872)
- Northern Marianas Card (1-873)
- Final adoption decree showing a U.S. place of birth
- Proof of adoption of a child born outside U.S. and in the legal/physical custody of the U.S. citizen parent (IR-3 or IR-4)
- Proof of U.S. civil service employment before June 1, 1976
- ❖ U.S. military service record showing a U.S. place of birth
- U.S. hospital record made at the time of birth *†
- Life, health, or other insurance record * †
- Religious record recorded in the U.S. within 3 months of birth showing U.S. place of birth and birth date or age
- Early school record showing a U.S. place of birth, date of admission, birth date, names and places of birth of parents

- Federal or State census record that shows the applicant's age and U.S. citizenship or place of birth
- Seneca Indian tribal census record *†
- Bureau of Indian Affairs Navajo Indians tribal census record *†
- U.S. State Vital Statistics birth registration notification *†
- ♣ A delayed U.S. public birth record that was recorded more than 5 years after the person's birth *†
- Statement signed by doctor or midwife present at the birth *†
- ❖ Roll of Alaska Natives from the Bureau of Indian Affairs *†
- Admission papers from a nursing or skilled care facility, or other institution that shows a U.S. place of birth *
- Medical record (not an immunization record) *†
 - * Must be dated at least 5 years before your 1st Medi-Cal application and show a U.S. place of birth.
 - † For children under 16, must be created near the time of birth.

You must provide a document as high up on the list as you can.

If you cannot provide any of these citizenship documents...

Ask two adults to fill out and sign an *Affidavit of Citizenship*. Both adults must have proof of their own identity and U.S. citizenship, and only one of them may be related to you.

- AND-

One identity document listed below:

- Driver's license issued by a U.S. State or Territory with a photograph or other identifying information
- School Identification card with a photograph
- U.S. Military I.D. card or draft record
- ❖ Federal, state or local government I.D. card with same identifying information as a driver's license
- U.S. Military dependent identification card
- ❖ A U.S. passport (issued with limitation)
- Certificate of Degree of Indian Blood or other
 U.S. American Indian/Alaska Native Tribal document
- U.S. Coast Guard Merchant Mariner Card

DHCS 0007 (12/07) Page 1 of 2

- Three or more confirming documents, such as employee ID cards, high school or college diplomas, marriage licenses, divorce decrees, and property deeds/titles
- Clinic, doctor, or hospital records for a child under 16
- School, nursery school, or daycare records, including report cards, for a child under 16. The county will verify with the school.
- For people with disabilities who live in a residential care facility, an Affidavit signed by the facility's director or administrator

For a **child under 16** who did not provide an *Affidavit of Citizenship*, you may submit:

- An Affidavit of the child's identity signed by the child's parent, guardian, or caretaker relative with date and place of birth
- A Medi-Cal application or the Healthy Families/Medi-Cal joint application that shows the child's date and place of birth, and is signed by the child's parent, guardian, or caretaker relative.

For a **child under 18**, an Affidavit of the child's identity signed by the child's parent, guardian, or caretaker relative may be used if school ID cards or driver licenses are not available.

Note: Expired identity documents are acceptable proof of identity.

DHCS 0007 (12/07) Page 2 of 2