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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

San Francisco Regional Office .
90 Seventh Street, Suite 5-300 (5W) CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES

San Francisco, CA 94103-6706

DIVISION OF MEDICAID & CHILDREN’'S HEALTH OPERATIONS

0cT 1 2 2012
Toby Douglas, Director
California Department of Health Care Services
P.O. Box 997413, MS 0000
Sacramento, CA 95899-7413

Dear Mr. Douglas:

Enclosed is an approved copy of California State Plan Amendment (SPA) 11-022. SPA 11-022 was submitted to
my office on December 28, 2011 to add freestanding birth center and professional services to the State Plan, as
mandated by Section 2301 of the Affordable Care Act.

The effective date of this SPA is January 1, 2012. Enclosed are the following approved SPA pages that should be
incorporated into your approved State Plan:

Attachment 3.1-A, page 13

Limitations on Attachment 3.1-A, page 32
Attachment 3.1-B, page 11

Limitations on Attachment 3.1-B, page 31
Attachment 4.19-B, page 65

If you have any questions, please contact Kristin Dillon by phone at (415) 744-3579 or by email at
Kristin.Dillon@ecms.hhs.gov.

Sincerely,

S Ly P Z

Gloria Nagle, Ph.D., MPA
Associate Regional Administrator
Division of Medicaid & Children’s Health Operations

Enclosure
ce: Christopher Resler, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services

Christopher Thompson, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
Kathyryn Waje, California Department of Health Care Services
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SBRVICES
HBALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION

FORM APPROVED
OMB NO. 0938-0193

| TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF

STATE PLAN MATERIAL

FOR: HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION

1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER: 2. STATE
11-022 California

3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE XIX OF THE
__SOCIAL SECURITY ACT (MEDICAID)

TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR
HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION .
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

4, PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE
Qctober 1, 2011

5. TYPE OF PLAN MATERIAL (Check One):

[CJNEW STATE PLAN

] AMENDMENT TO BE CONSIDERED AS NEW PLAN

AMENDMENT

COMPLETE BLOCKS 6 THRU 10 IF THIS IS AN AMENDMENT (Separate Transmittal for each amendment)

6. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION:

Affordable Care Act, Section 2301

7. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT:
a. FFY 2011-12 $0
b, FFY 2012413 " -’ $0

3. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT:

Attachment 3.1-A, Page 13

Limitattons on Attachment 3.1-A, Page 32

Attachment 3,1-B, Page 11

Limitations on Atlachment 3.1-B, Page 31
Acttachment4to=-FrPaget | Attachment 4.19-B, page 65

9, PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION
OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable):

Attachment 3,1-A, Page 13
Attaclument 3,1-B, Page 11~ »

10, SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT:.

Add alternative birth center services and professional services to the State Plan to comply with Section 2301 of the Affordable Care Act.

11, GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check Oneg);
[[] GOVERNOR’S-OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT
[] COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED

[_INOREPLY RECEIVED}S?IN 45DAYS OF SUBMITTAL

OTHER, AS SPECIFIED:
The Governor's Office does not
wish to review the State Plan Amendment,

12, SIGNATURE OF

i

(3. TYPED NAME({ Y 77 e
Toby Douglas

14. TITLE:
Director

15. DATE SUBMITTED: / C/ /&3 / '/ /

16. RETURN TO:

Department of Health Care Services
Attn: State Plan Coordinator

1501 Capitol Avenue, Suite 71,3.26
P.0. Box 997417

Sacramento, CA 95899-7417

" Associate I'«f;gsgjon;l Adfn,iﬁ_is,t{atdr T

' fav
T M ST

FORM HCFA-179 (07-92)




Attachment 3.1-A

Page 13
State Plan Under Title XIX of the Social Security Act
STATE/TERRITORY: CALIFORNIA
28, _X_ Self-Directed Personal Assistance Services, as described in Supplement 5 to
Attachment 3.1-A.
_X_ Election of Self-Directed Personal Assistance Services: By virtue of this submittal, the
State elects Self-Directed Personal Assistance Services as a State Plan service delivery

option.
No election of Self-Directed Personal Assistance Services: By virtue of this submittal, the
State elects not to add Self-Directed Personal Assistance Services as a State Plan
service delivery option.
29.a  Licensed or otherwise State-approved Alternative Birth Centers
Provided:  [_] No limitations With limitations* [] None licensed or approved
20.b  Licensed or otherwise State-recognized covered professionals providing services in the
Alternative Birth Center.
Provided: |:] No limitations With limitations®
[ ] Not Applicable (there are no licensed or State approved Alternative Birth Centers)
1) Practitioners furnishing mandatory services described in another benefit category and
otherwise covered under the State plan.
2) Other licensed practitioners furnishing prenatal, labor and delivery, or postpartum care
in an aiternative birth center within the scope of practice under State law whose services

are otherwise covered under 42 CFR 440.60.

[] 3) Other health care professionals licensed or otherwise recognized by the State to
provide these birth attendant services.

* Description provided on attachment

TN No. 11-022 ¢
Supersedes - Approval DateOCT 1 2 2012 Effective date: January 1, 2012
TN No. 09-006




STATE PLAN CHART

(Note: This chart is an overview only)

Limitations on Attachment 3.1-A

Page 32
TYPE OF SERVICE PROGRAM COVERAGE* PRIOR AUTHORIZATION OR OTHER
REQUIREMENTS*
29.a Licensed or otherwise State-approved All services permitted under scope of licensure. Must be certified as a Comprehensive Perinatal
Alternative Birth Centers. Chbstetrical and delivery services throughout Services Program provider, or certified within the

pregnancy and through the end of the month
following 60 days after the pregnancy ends.

29.b  Licensed or otherwise State-recognized
covered professionals providing services in
the Alternative Birth Center.

.1 Practitioners furnishing mandatory services
described in another benefit category and
otherwise covered under the State Plan.

b.2  Other licensed practitioners furnishing
prenatal, labor and delivery, or postpartum
care in an alternative birth center within the
scope of practice under State law.

first year of operation.

Physicians, including general practitioners, family
practice physicians, pediatricians, and obstetric-
gynecologists; and certified nurse midwives; as
licensed by the State.

Certified nurse practitioners must be under the
supervision of a physician and licensed by the
State.

*  Prior authorization is not required for emergency services.
** Coverage is limited to medically necessary services.

TN 11-022 Approval date: ocT 1 2 2002
Supersedes
None

Effective date: January 1, 2012
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Attachment 3.1-B
Page 11

State Plan Under Title XIX of the Social Security Act
STATE/TERRITORY: CALIFORNIA

27. X

Self-Directed Personal Assistance Services, as described in Supplement 5 to

“Attachment 3.1-B.

X

Election of Self-Directed Personal Assistance Services: By virtue of this submittal, the
State elects Self-Directed Personal Assistance Services as a State Plan service delivery
option.

No election of Self-Directed Personal Assistance Services: By virtue of this submittal, the
State elects not to add Self-Directed Personal Assistance Services as a State Plan
service delivery option.

28.a  Licensed or otherwise State-approved Alternative Birth Centers

Provided: [ _] No limitations With limitations*

28.b  Licensed or otherwise State-recognized covered professionals providing services in the
Alternative Birth Center.

Provided: D No limitations With limitations*

[] Not Applicable (there are no licensed or State approved Alternative Birth Centers)

1) Practitioners furnishing mandatory services described in another benefit category and
otherwise covered under the State plan.

2) Other licensed practitioners furnishing prenatal, labor and delivery, or postpartum care
in an alternative birth center within the scope of practice under State law whose services
are otherwise covered under 42 CFR 440.60.

3) Other health care professionals licensed or otherwise recognized by the State to
provide these birth attendant services.

* Description provided on attachment

TN No. 11-022

Supersedes

TN No. 09-006

T 1 2 90
Approval Daté()(:T 1 2012 Effective date: January 1, 2012




STATE PLAN CHART

(Note: This chart is an overview only)

Limitations on Attachment 3.1-B
Page 31

TYPE OF SERVICE PROGRAM COVERAGE*

PRIOR AUTHORIZATION OR OTHER

REQUIREMENTS*
28.2 Licensed or otherwise State-approved All services permitted under scope of licensure. Must be certified as a Comprehensive Perinatal
Alternative Birth Centers. Obstetrical and delivery services throughout Services Program provider, or certified within the

pregnancy and through the end of the month
following 60 days after the pregnancy ends.

28.b  Licensed or otherwise State-recognized
covered professionals providing services in
the Alternative Birth Center.

©.1  Practitioners furnishing mandatory services
described in another benefit category and
ctherwise covered under the State Plan.

b.2 Other ticensed practitionars furnishing
prenatal, labor and delivery, or postpartum
care in an aiternative birth center within the
scope of practice under State law.

*

Prior authorization is not required for emergency services.
** Coverage is limited to medically necessary services.

first year of operation.

Physicians, including general practitioners, family
practice, pediatricians, and obstetric-gynecologists;
and certified nurse midwives; as licensed by the
State.

Certified nurse practitioners must be under the
supervision of a physician and licensed by the
State.

TN 11-022 Approval date: ___@er 4 9 angg
Supersedes veso s ey
None

Effective date: January 1, 2012




[ I,

Z‘ZJ—!
=
[
[0
wn

Attachment 4.19-B
Page 65

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
STATE: California

REIMBURSEMENT FOR ALTERNATIVE BIRTH CENTERS AND LICENSED
OR OTHERWISE STATE-RECOGNIZED COVERED PROFESSIONALS
PROVIDING SERVICES IN AN ALTERNATIVE BIRTH CENTER

Alternative Birth Center services described in paragraph 29.a of Attachment
3.1-A and in paragraph 28.a of Attachment 3.1-B of the California State Plan are
reimbursed at the lower of (1) the usual and customary rate, or (2) California
Department of Health Care Services’ (DHCS’) published statewide all-inclusive
rate per delivery.

DHCS' fee schedule was set as of January 1, 2012, and is effective for services
provided on or after that date. The DHCS rates are published on the DHCS
Website at http://files.medi-cal.ca.gov/pubsdoco/rates/rateshome.asp.

The all-inclusive reimbursement rate is updated annually and is based on the
annual published legislative report of average contract rate for general acute care
hospitals with Medi-Cal contracts (as published by the California Medical
Assistance Commission or other entity that may assume this responsibility).

Reimbursement rates for licensed or otherwise State-recognized covered
professionals providing services in an Alternative Birth Center as described in
paragraph 29.b of Attachment 3.1-A and in paragraph 28.b of Attachment 3.1-B
are published on the DHCS Website referenced above.

Except as otherwise provided in the State Plan, State developed fee schedule
rates are the same for both governmental and private providers of Alternative
Birth Center services.

2 SECE
: - Effective Date: January 1, 2012 Approved DatQC? 1 2 2012
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ENCLOSURE

Revised Pages for:
CALIFORNIA MEDICAID STATE PLAN
Under Transmittal of

STATE PLAN AMENDMENT (SPA)

11-022*

All new pages will have this SPA* number identified as the new TN No., so it will not be
repeated for each new insert pages.

Remove Page(s) Insert Page (s)
Attachment 3.1-A, page 13 Attachment 3.1-A, page 13
None Limitations on Attachment 3.1-A, Page 32
Attachment 3.1-B, page 11 Attachment 3.1-B, page 11
None Limitations on Attachment 3.1-B, page 31
None Attachment 4.19-B, page 65
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