DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 601 E. 12th St., Room 355 Kansas City, Missouri 64106



Medicaid and CHIP Operations Group

August 5, 2022

Jacey Cooper Chief Deputy Director, Health Care Programs California Department of Health Care Services P.O. Box 997413, MS 0000 Sacramento, CA 95899-7443

Re: California State Plan Amendment (SPA) 22-0044

Dear Ms. Cooper:

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) reviewed your Medicaid State Plan Amendment (SPA) submitted under transmittal number (TN) California 22-0044. This amendment proposes to expand the list of providers who can prescribe physical therapy to include physicians and other licensed practitioners of the healing arts within their scope of practice under state law, as authorized by federal regulations.

We conducted our review of your submittal according to statutory requirements in Title XIX of the Social Security Act and implementing regulations at 42 CFR 440.130(c) and 42 CFR 440.110(a). This letter is to inform you that California Medicaid SPA 22-0044 was approved on August 5, 2022, with an effective date of July 1, 2022.

If you have any questions, please contact Cheryl Young at 415-744-3598 or via email at Cheryl. Young@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerely,

Ruth Hughes Digitally signed by Ruth Hughes -S Date: 2022.08.05 10:53:57

-S Dat

Ruth A. Hughes, Acting Director Division of Program Operations

cc: Rene Mollow, California Department of Health Care Services (DHCS)
Lisa Murawski, DHCS
Michelle Tamai, DHCS
Angeli Lee, DHCS

TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF	1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER 2. STATE	
STATE PLAN MATERIAL	$\frac{2}{2} = \frac{2}{2} = \frac{0}{0} = \frac{0}{4} = \frac{4}{4} = \frac{CA}{4}$	
FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES	3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE OF THE SOCIAL	
TON. CENTERS FOR MILDICARE & MILDICAID SERVICES	SECURITY ACT XIX XXI	
TO: CENTER DIRECTOR	4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE	
CENTERS FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES	July 1, 2022	
5. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION	6. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT (Amounts in WHOLE dollars)	
42 CFR 440.60 and 42 CFR 440.110(a)	a FFY 2022 \$ 0 b FFY 2023 \$ 0	
7. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT	8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION	
Limitations on Attachment 3.1-A and 3.1-B, Page 16	OR ATTACHMENT (<i>If Applicable</i>) Limitations on Attachment 3.1-A and 3.1-B, Page 16	
9. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT		
To expand the list of providers who can prescribe physical therapy.		
40.00VEDVODIO DE VIEW (0)		
10. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One)		
GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT	OTHER, AS SPECIFIED:	
COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED	Please note: The Governor's Office does not wish to review	
O NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL	the State Plan Amendment.	
11. SIGNATURE OF STATE AGENCY OFFICIAL	5. RETURN TO	
	epartment of Health Care Services	
	tn: Director's Office	
Jacey Cooper	O. Box 997413, MS 0000 cramento, CA 95899-7413	
13. TITLE	aciamento, CA 90099-7410	
State Medicaid Director		
14. DATE SUBMITTED June 23, 2022		
FOR CMS US	E ONLY	
16. DATE RECEIVED 17	7. DATE APPROVED	
June 23, 2022	August 5, 2022	
PLAN APPROVED - ONE		
18. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL	9. SIGNATURE OF APPROVING OFFICIAL Digitally signed by Ruth Hughes -S Date: 2022.08.05 10:54:24 -05'00'	
odly 1, 2022	<i>0</i>	
20. TYPED NAME OF APPROVING OFFICIAL 2	1. TITLE OF APPROVING OFFICIAL	
Ruth A. Hughes	Acting Director, Division of Program Operations	
22. REMARKS		
Box 5: CMS pen and ink change to add federal regulatory citation for phys	cical therapy per email with CA DHCS dated 8/2/22.	

Effective Date: July 1, 2022

TYPE OF SERVICE	PROGRAM COVERAGE**	PRIOR AUTHORIZATION OR OTHER REQUIREMENTS*
Physical therapy is covered for the restoration, maintenance, and acquisition of skills only when prescribed by a physician or other licensed practitioner of the healing arts within their scope of practice. Prescriptions for treatment plans are limited to six months and may be renewed for medical necessity. Outpatient physical therapy provided in a certified rehabilitation center is covered only when billed by the rehabilitation center. In a certified rehabilitation center, one visit in a sixmonth period to evaluate the patient and prepare an extended treatment plan may be provided without authorization.		All physical therapy services are subject to prior authorization.
	Services must be performed by providers who meet the applicable qualification requirements as defined for physical therapy in 42 CFR Section 440.110(a), licensed and within their scope of practice under state law.	
	More than one evaluation visit in a certified rehabilitation center within a six-month period requires prior authorization.	
	an extended treatment plan may be provided	

^{*} Prior authorization is not required for emergency services. **Coverage is limited to medically necessary services.

Effective Date: July 1, 2022

TYPE OF SERVICE	PROGRAM COVERAGE**	PRIOR AUTHORIZATION OR OTHER REQUIREMENTS*
Physical therapy is covered for the restoration, maintenance, and acquisition of skills only when prescribed by a physician or other licensed practitioner of the healing arts within their scope of practice. Prescriptions for treatment plans are limited to six months and may be renewed for medical necessity. Outpatient physical therapy provided in a certified rehabilitation center is covered only when billed by the rehabilitation center. In a certified rehabilitation center, one visit in a sixmonth period to evaluate the patient and prepare an extended treatment plan may be provided without authorization.	·	All physical therapy services are subject to prior authorization.
	practitioner of the healing arts within their scope of practice. Prescriptions for treatment plans are limited to six months and may be renewed for	Services must be performed by providers who meet the applicable qualification requirements as defined for physical therapy in 42 CFR Section 440.110(a), licensed and within their scope of practice under state law.
	More than one evaluation visit in a certified rehabilitation center within a six-month period requires prior authorization.	
	month period to evaluate the patient and prepare an extended treatment plan may be provided	requires prior authorization.

^{*} Prior authorization is not required for emergency services. **Coverage is limited to medically necessary services.