Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Code Sets


California historically has used thousands of local (also known as interim) codes to cover services and supplies. National codes, such as Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) and Healthcare Common Procedural Coding System (HCPCS) typically are more general in nature compared to local codes. Some local codes remain in the Medi-Cal Fee for Service Program and exist to describe services found in specialty programs such as the California Perinatal Services Program, 1115 Waiver, and Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment (EPSDT). California Medicaid Management Information System (CA-MMIS) Division is employing a phased-in approach to complete work converting local codes to national codes.   


Medi-Cal continues to implement local code to national code conversions. Articles, provider manual updates and frequently asked questions on outstanding code conversions, including those recently implemented, are located on the Medi-Cal Provider website shown under "Resources" below.


 HIPAA:  Code Conversion


Last modified on: 6/26/2017 4:43 PM