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                    ALL COUNTY ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICERS  
                    ALL COUNTY MEDI-CAL PROGRAM SPECIALISTS/LIAISONS  
                      
SUBJECT: Outreach Materials for the Reinstatement of Asset Limits  

(REFERENCE: ALL COUNTY WELFARE DIRECTORS LETTER 25-14) 
 
The purpose of this Medi-Cal Eligibility Division Information Letter (MEDIL) is to provide 
counties with information regarding the General Informing Notice and Frequently Asked 
Questions (FAQs) that have been developed by DHCS as part of the Reinstatement of 
Asset Limits outreach efforts. 
 
The Reinstatement of Asset Limits General Information Notice and FAQs will be 
available in the 19 threshold languages: Arabic, Armenian, Cambodian, Cantonese, 
English, Farsi, Hindi, Hmong, Japanese, Korean, Laotian, Mien, Punjabi, Russian, 
Spanish, Tagalog, Thai, Ukrainian, and Vietnamese. Members with an alternate format 
option selected will receive the outreach materials in their preferred format.  
 
The General Information Notice and FAQs will be mailed to all current members who 
are active on Non-MAGI Medi-Cal eligibility at least 45 days before the implementation 
date of January 1, 2026.  
 
County eligibility workers (CEWs) are advised to provide both notices to new applicants 
who meet the Non-MAGI criteria, and are eligible for Non-MAGI Medi-Cal in November 
2025 and December 2025. CEWs should also provide the MC 007 to beneficiaries upon 
request.  
 
 
If you have any questions or if we can provide further information, please send them to 
AssetLimitChanges@dhcs.ca.gov. 
 
 
Sincerely, 
 
 
 
Sarah Crow  

https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/services/medi-cal/eligibility/letters/Documents/25-14.pdf
https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/services/medi-cal/eligibility/Documents/MC007-ENG.pdf


Medi-Cal Eligibility Division Information Letter No.: I 25-23 
Page 2 
September 5, 2025 

 
 

 
 
 
 

Division Chief, Medi-Cal Eligibility  
Department of Health Care Services  
 
Enclosures 
 
 
 



 
 
 
 

California Department of Health Care Services    
Medi-Cal Eligibility Division   
1501 Capitol Avenue | Sacramento, CA | 95899-7413 
MS 4607 | Phone (916) 552-9200 | www.dhcs.ca.gov 

State of California 
Gavin Newsom, Governor 

 

California Health and Human Services Agency 
 

November 2025 

 

Important changes about Medi-Cal asset limits rules 

 

Dear Medi-Cal Member,      

 
A new California law sets a limit on the total amount of assets (property) a person or 
family can have to qualify for Medi-Cal. Starting January 1, 2026, California will count 
assets when determining eligibility for Medi-Cal members and applicants whose 
eligibility is based on being age 65 or older, having a disability, living in a nursing home, 
or being part of a family that is over the income for Medi-Cal using federal tax rules. 
 
The new asset limits are: 

 $130,000 for one person. 
 Plus $65,000 for each additional household member (up to 10 people total). 
 There may be higher asset limits for some married couples and registered 

domestic partners (ask your county office about “Spousal Impoverishment” to see 
if you qualify). 

 
What are assets? 
Assets are things you own that have a monetary value. Assets include: 

 Bank accounts (checking, savings, CD balances) 
 Cash  
 Secondary vehicles and homes (secondary homes meaning homes you own, 

but do not live in) 
 Stocks, bonds, and investment accounts 
 Other financial resources, no matter where those items are located 

 
Assets also include things you own jointly with others. 
 
Some Assets Do Not Count 
Some things you own do not count toward the asset limit, such as: 

 The home you live in  
 One vehicle 
 Household items  
 Certain retirement accounts  

Not all assets count toward the asset limit, but all assets should be reported so the 
county Medi-Cal office can make an official decision. 
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If you have too many counted assets, you may reduce your assets to continue to 
qualify. The MC 007  (https://bit.ly/MC007-ENG) form has more information about what 
counts as an asset and explains how to reduce your excess assets to qualify for Medi-
Cal. Ask your county Medi-Cal office for a copy of the MC 007. 

You do not need to do anything right now. 
If you already have Medi-Cal, you must report your assets when you renew your 
coverage or report any changes on or after January 1, 2026.  
 
However, if you are over the asset limit, you may want to consider spending some of 
your money or transferring countable assets out of your name so you can continue 
receiving coverage. If you do not meet the asset limit at the time of your renewal, you 
may lose your Medi-Cal coverage. 
 
If you have questions or need help, contact your county Medi-Cal office or visit our 
website at https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/Get-Medi-Cal/Pages/asset-limits.aspx. Find your 
county Medi-Cal office information at http://dhcs.ca.gov/COL. For general questions 
about Medi-Cal, call the free Telephone Service Center (TSC) at 1-800-541-5555  
 
Thank you, 
 
Department of Health Care Services  
State of California 

https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/services/medi-cal/eligibility/Documents/MC007-ENG.pdf
https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/services/medi-cal/eligibility/Documents/MC007-ENG.pdf
https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/services/medi-cal/eligibility/Documents/MC007-ENG.pdf
https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/Medi-Cal/Pages/help.aspx#asset
https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/services/medi-cal/Pages/CountyOffices.aspx


 
 

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS 

When will asset limits count? 
Starting January 1, 2026, California will count assets (property) when determining 
eligibility for Medi-Cal members and applicants whose eligibility is based on being age 
65 and older, having a disability, living in a nursing home, or being part of a family that is 
over the income limits for Medi-Cal using federal tax rules. This means that, starting in 
2026, Medi-Cal will ask for information about the things you own, which may change 
your eligibility status. 

What are assets? 
Assets are things you own that have a monetary value. These items include, but are not 
limited to, bank accounts, cash, second vehicles, second homes, and other financial 
resources, no matter where those assets are located. Please see below for examples. 

Examples of Asset Types 

What are asset limits? 
Asset limits are the maximum amount of countable assets you can have and still get or 
stay on Medi-Cal under certain programs. Starting January 1, 2026, the asset limit is 
$130,000 for one person only, and the limit increases by $65,000 for each additional 
family member (10 people maximum). Not all members of your household may be 
included when determining eligibility. For example, if you are living with your adult 
children, they would not be included when determining your family size or your 
countable assets.  

Some married couples and registered domestic partners may have higher asset limits 
(ask your county Medi-Cal office about “Spousal Impoverishment” to see if you qualify). 

Not Countable Countable 

Primary Home (where you live) Second Homes  

Primary Vehicle  Second Vehicles  

Household items (furniture, clothing, etc.) Cash 

Retirement funds (like IRAs), if you are 
receiving the Required Minimum Monthly 

Distribution or periodic payments of interest 
and principal 

Bank Accounts 



Who do the asset limits apply to? 
Asset limits will apply to Medi-Cal members and applicants whose eligibility is based on 
being age 65 or older, having a disability (physical, mental, or developmental), living in a 
nursing home, or being part of a family that is over the income limits for Medi-Cal using 
federal tax rules. 

Why are asset limits being counted? 
California passed a law requiring that asset limits be used in the Medi-Cal eligibility 
determination for certain Medi-Cal programs that are not based on Modified Adjusted 
Gross Income federal tax rules, starting January 1, 2026. 

What do I need to do now? 
You do not need to do anything right now. If you already have Medi-Cal, you must 
report your assets when you renew your coverage on or after January 1, 2026. 

However, if you are over the asset limit, you may want to consider spending some of 
your money or transferring countable assets out of your name so you can continue 
receiving coverage. If you do not meet the asset limit at the time of your renewal, you 
may lose your Medi-Cal coverage. 

Will transferring assets out of my name affect my Medi-Cal?  
For most individuals, giving away or selling their assets does not impact their Medi-Cal 
eligibility.  

If you are living in a nursing home or may need long-term care Medi-Cal in the future, 
assets that you give away in 2025 will NOT affect your Medi-Cal benefits.  

However, after January 1, 2026, giving away your nonexempt (counted) assets for less 
than their value could delay the effective date of your coverage for long-term care Medi-
Cal.  

How can I reduce my countable assets?  
Most individuals can give away or sell their countable assets to bring themselves within 
the asset limit without impacting their Medi-Cal eligibility. 

If you are living in a nursing home or may need long-term care Medi-Cal in the future, 
assets that you give away in 2025 will NOT affect your Medi-Cal benefits. After January 
1, 2026, individuals who want to qualify for long-term care Medi-Cal, and are over the 
asset limit, must spend down their countable assets to qualify. Spending down your 
assets is buying things you want or need to reduce your countable assets.  

Some examples of ways to reduce/spenddown assets include:  

• Pay medical bills (non-reimbursable medical bills)  
• Buy clothes or items for your home 
• Pay rent or your home mortgage 



• Pay educational expenses 
• Make repairs to your home 
• Pay off your auto loan 
• Pay off other debts 

What happens if I need Medi-Cal long-term care (like a nursing facility or 
community-based services) and transfer my assets? 
If you enter a long-term care facility, you are subject to a "look-back" period, which is 
when Medi-Cal looks at transfers of nonexempt (counted) assets you may have made 
within the past 30 months before entering the facility. Depending on the amount of the 
transfer, you may receive a transfer penalty, which could delay your Medi-Cal for long-
term care coverage. 

Transfers made on or after January 1, 2026, will be subject to a look-back period. 
Transfers made on or after January 1, 2024, through December 31, 2025, will NOT be 
included in the look-back period. 

What are the ways a person in long-term care can transfer assets?  
Individuals in long-term care can give away and/or sell non-exempt (countable) assets 
in the following ways without losing Medi-Cal coverage for long-term care services 
under the following conditions:  

• The assets are transferred (given) to the spouse (or to another person who will 
use them to assist the spouse at home). 

• The assets are transferred (given) to a blind or disabled child of the person in the 
facility.  

• The assets are being exchanged for something of equal value. 
Contact your county Medi-Cal office for information on acceptable ways to transfer 
assets to keep your Medi-Cal.  

What if I live in a nursing facility and have a spouse or registered domestic 
partner? 
Married individuals who need Medi-Cal-covered nursing facility care either at home or in 
a facility can split their assets with their spouse/registered domestic partner up to a 
certain amount. Contact your county Medi-Cal office for more information. 

What if I live in a nursing facility and own my own home?  
If you live in a nursing facility and own a home you intend to return to, it is exempt as 
the primary home. The home also continues to be exempt if the Medi-Cal applicant’s or 
member’s spouse/registered domestic partner or dependent relative continues to live in 
it. Additional houses beyond the primary home are counted as an asset. 
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