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NARCOTIC TREATMENT PROGRAM LICENSE APPLICATION 

Narcotic Treatment Programs (NTPs) operating in the State of California are licensed by 
the Department of Health Care Services (DHCS) in accordance with Title 9, California 
Code of Regulations (CCR), Division 4, Chapter 4, Subchapters 1-6. Applicants are 
required to submit an application to include the attached forms and a protocol that 
describes the program’s operational procedures, organizational structure, and treatment 
concepts. Please refer to the “Initial Application Outline and Protocol” for instructions on 
submitting your application package. In addition, your program must meet the 
requirements of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). 

Applications for licensure require a County Recommendation by the appropriate County 
Alcohol and Drug Program Administrator. An application package that does not include 
this document is considered incomplete and will be returned to the applicant. Prior to 
submitting your application and fee to DHCS, it is advised that you provide a copy of 
the proposed protocol to the appropriate County Administrator. 

The fee for processing an NTP license application for Fiscal Year (FY) 2018-2019 is
$4,052. Public Programs are exempt from this fee. The fee must accompany the 
application package to begin review and processing. (Reference California Health and 
Safety Code, Section 11839.3(a)(3). Please submit the completed application package 
and a check payable to the Department of Health Care Services: 

Department of Health Care Services 
Counselor & Medication Assisted Treatment Section, MS 2603
P.O. Box 997413
Sacramento, California 95899-7413 

When the application package is received, it will be reviewed for completeness and 
accuracy. Once staff completes the initial review, you will be sent a notice that details 
any errors or omissions. Further review of the application will cease until a response to 
the deficiency notice is received. When all required materials have been received and 
approved by DHCS, a site inspection will be scheduled. 

Licensed NTPs are assessed an annual license fee as required under provisions of 
the California Health and Safety Code.  The annual licensure fee for NTPs for 
FY 2018-2019 is $1,126 per site plus $35 per treatment slot.

Health and Safety Code, Section 11839.8 requires all partners, officers, directors, and 
10 percent or greater shareholders, or persons proposed to be employed by the 

Substance Use Disorder Compliance Division
Counselor & Medication Assisted Treatment Section, MS 2603

P.O. Box 997413, Sacramento, CA 95899-7413 
Phone: (916) 322-6682      Fax (916) 440-5230

Internet Address: http://www.dhcs.ca.gov/provgovpart/Pages/SUD-ProvPartners.aspx 

http://www.dhcs.ca.gov/individuals/Documents/Narcotic_Treatment_Protocol_Outline_11-3-15.pdf
http://www.dhcs.ca.gov/provgovpart/Pages/SUD-ProvPartners.aspx
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applicant under the authority of subdivision (c) of Section 2401, Business and 
Professions Code (physicians and surgeons) to be fingerprinted. The Department of 
Justice requires that fingerprints be submitted using the LiveScan process. Be sure to 
take the LiveScan Application with you. 

In addition to obtaining licensure approval from DHCS, approval must also be received 
from the U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) and the Substance Abuse and 
Mental Health Service Administration (SAMHSA) before program operations can 
commence. A list of DEA and SAMHSA contacts are attached. Applicants are advised 
to apply to the DEA and SAMHSA at the same time as DHCS. 

https://oag.ca.gov/sites/all/files/agweb/pdfs/fingerprints/forms/BCIA_8016.pdf
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Federal regulations require programs to become accredited by an approved accrediting 
body. SAMHSA approved the following accreditation bodies to conduct accreditation 
surveys for Opioid Treatment Programs under Title 42 of the Code of Federal 
Regulations Part 8 (42 CFR Part 8): 

Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities (CARF)
6951 East Southpoint Road 
Tucson, Arizona 85756 
Telephone: (520) 325-1044 or 888-281-6531 
Fax: (520) 318-1129 
Website: www.carf.org 
Contact: Bettye Harrison ext. 7128 bharrison@carf.org or Jani Greenwald ext.7180 
jgreenwald@carf.org 

Council on Accreditation (COA) 

45 Broadway, 29th Floor 
New York, New York 10006 

Telephone: 212-797-3000 ext. 268 or 866-262-8088 

Fax: 212-797-1428 

Website: www.coanet.org 

Contact: Theres (Terri) Middleton, MSW tmiddleton@coanet.org 

The Joint Commission 
One Renaissance Boulevard 
Oakbrook Terrace, Illinois 60181 
Telephone: (630) 792-5800 
Fax: (630) 792-5005 
Website: www.jointcommision.org 
Contact: Meagan Marx (720) 348-0585, mmarx@jointcommission.org 

http://www.carf.org/
mailto:bharrison@carf.org
mailto:jgreenwald@carf.org
http://www.coanet.org/
mailto:tmiddleton@coanet.org
http://www.jointcommision.org/
mailto:mmarx@jointcommission.org
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DEA Contact Information 

Office of Diversion Control 

Fresno Resident Office 
2444 Main Street, Suite 240 
Fresno, California 93721 
(559) 487-5402

Sacramento District Office 
4328 Watt Avenue 
Sacramento, California 95821 
(916) 480-7250

Oakland Resident Office
1301 Clay Street, Suite 460N
P.O. Box 70310
Oakland, California 94610
(510) 637-5661

San Jose Resident Office 
One North First Street, Suite 405 
San Jose, California 95113 
(408) 282-3403

Riverside District Office 
4470 Olivewood Avenue 
Riverside, California 92501-4155 
(951) 328-6201

Los Angeles Field Division 

255 East Temple Street, 20th Floor 
Los Angeles, California 90012 

(213) 621-6942

San Diego Division 
4560 Viewridge Avenue 
San Diego, California 92123 (858)
616-4412
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SAMHSA Contact Information 

Mary Lou Ojeda 
Public Health Advisor 
Center for Substance Abuse Treatment 
Division of Pharmacologic Therapies 

One Choke Cherry Road, 2nd Floor 1092 
Rockville, Maryland 20857 
Phone: (240) 276-2895 
Fax: (240) 276-2710
Email: mary.ojeda@samhsa.hhs.gov 
www.samhsa.gov 

mailto:mary.ojeda@samhsa.hhs.gov
http://www.samhsa.gov/
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The following laws and regulations are applicable to Narcotic Treatment Programs: 

 California Health and Safety Code, Sections 11839 - 11839.34.

 Title 9, California Code of Regulations, Division 4, Chapter 4,
Sections 9995 - 10425.

 Title 42, Code of Federal Regulations - Part 2--Confidentiality of Alcohol and
Drug Abuse Patient Records.

 Title 42, Code of Federal Regulations - Part 8--Certification of Opioid Treatment
Programs.

 Title 21, Code of Federal Regulations – Part 1300-Drug Enforcement
Administration

Should you have questions or require assistance, please call (916) 322-6682. 
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