Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

MMCD - Seniors & Persons With Disabilities (SPD) 

A federal waiver granted under Section 1115(a) of the Social Security Act permits mandatory enrollment of Medi-Cal only Seniors and Persons with Disabilities into Medi-Cal managed care.  The Waiver allows the Department of Health Care Services to achieve care coordination, better manage chronic conditions, and improve health outcomes.  Mandatory enrollment begins June 2011.

Click here for current information regarding the Regional and Imperial Models Transition – 12/1/14 Implementation


Counties Included in this Change to Medi-Cal

On June 1, 2011, the following counties will begin a 12-month process of welcoming newly enrolled beneficiaries into their managed care plans: Alameda, Contra Costa, Fresno, Kern, Kings, Los Angeles, Madera, Riverside, Sacramento, San Bernardino, San Diego, San Francisco, San Joaquin, Santa Clara, Stanislaus, and Tulare. See Who is excluded from this?    

Aid codes included in this change to Medi-Cal 

Those with one of the following aid codes will be included in this transition into managed care, beginning June 1, 2011: 20, 24, 26, 2E, 2H, 36, 60, 64, 66, 6A, 6C, 6E, 6G, 6H, 6J, 6N, 6P, 6V, 10,14, 16, 1E, 1H.

People not included in this change to Medi-Cal

You will still be considered voluntary, and you will not be mandatorily enrolled into managed care if you belong to one or more of these groups:

  • Dual Eligibles, or those with Medicare   
  • Foster Children
  • Identified as Long Term Care (LTC)   
  • Those with Other Health Insurance   
  • Share of Cost (SOC) Medi-Cal
  • California Children's Services (CCS) - Only CCS members in Alameda, Los Angeles, and San Diego counties will be voluntary; all other CCS members are mandatory for managed care
  • Last modified on: 1/21/2015 2:20 PM