State of California Department of Health Care Services
Health and Human Services Agency

IMPORTANT NOTICE REGARDING THE MEDI-CAL ESTATE RECOVERY
PROGRAM FOR BENEFICIARIES 55 YEARS OF AGE OR OLDER

After a Medi-Cal beneficiary passes away, the Department of Health Care Services (DHCS) may
seek repayment from their estate subject to probate, for Medi-Cal benefits on or after their 55th
birthday. Repayment includes certain fee-for-service and managed care premiums/capitation
payments. Repayment cannot exceed the value of a beneficiary’s estate subject to probate.

DHCS will only pursue repayment if the following apply:

e The Medi-Cal beneficiary received nursing facility services and/or home and community-
based services on or after their 55th birthday* and

e The Medi-Cal beneficiary has real or personal property and/or other assets, as of their date
of death, that will be part of their estate subject to probate

Additionally, DHCS will not pursue repayment if:
e There is a surviving spouse or surviving registered domestic partner
e There is a surviving child who is under 21 years of age

e There is a surviving child (of any age) who is blind or disabled, as defined by the federal Social
Security Act

DHCS will never collect more than either the value of the Medi-Cal beneficiary’s estate subject to
probate or the amount paid by DHCS for Medi-Cal benefits provided to the Medi-Cal beneficiary,
whichever is less. Certain income and resources of American Indians and Alaska Natives are
exempt from estate recovery.

When a Medi-Cal beneficiary passes, the person handling the estate must give written notice of the
death, within 90 days of the date of death, to the Director of DHCS. The notice and a copy of the
death certificate must be submitted online at dhcs.ca.gov/ER or mailed to: Department of Health Care
Services, Estate Recovery Program, MS 4720, P.O. Box 997425, Sacramento, CA 95899-7425. A
phone call or written notice to any other governmental agency does not satisfy this requirement.

Medi-Cal beneficiaries or their authorized representative may submit a Request for Medi-Cal
Expenses Subject to Estate Recovery, form DHCS 4017, once per calendar year for a $5 processing
fee if the beneficiary is 55 years of age or older or a permanent inpatient of a nursing or long-term care
facility. To access this request form, or for further information regarding estate recovery, you may visit
the program’s website at dhcs.ca.gov/ER or contact the program at (916) 650-0590.

Different laws apply to Medi-Cal beneficiaries who died prior to January 1, 2017. Please visit
dhcs.ca.gov/ER for more information.

* The State may collect from Medi-Cal beneficiaries of any age who have been determined
"permanently institutionalized." An individual is determined to be “permanently institutionalized” when
they are an inpatient in a nursing facility, are not expected to return home, and have had the
opportunity for a hearing regarding their “permanently institutionalized” status.
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DHCS 9060 (Revised 04/2022)


https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/services/Pages/EROnlineForms.aspx
https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/services/Pages/EROnlineForms.aspx
https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/services/Pages/EROnlineForms.aspx

	IMPORTANT NOTICE REGARDING THE MEDI-CAL ESTATE RECOVERY PROGRAM FOR BENEFICIARIES 55 YEARS OF AGE OR OLDER
	Please Share This Notice with Family Members

