Webinar for Families and Community Partners

Accessibility

- This presentation will be recorded and posted on DHCS' HACCP webpage:
 - https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/services/HACCP/Pages/HACCP-Events.aspx.
- » American Sign Language (ASL) interpretation available within Webex.
- » Live captions are available in English and Spanish at:
 https://www.streamtext.net/player?event=DHCS HACCP 11 28 2023.

HACCP Overview

- » Authority: Budget Act of 2020 and Budget Act of 2022
 - State-only benefit launched July 1, 2021
 - Expanded eligibility effective January 1, 2023
- » Program Implementation:
 - Based on Fee-For-Service (FFS) Medi-Cal coverage of hearing aid-related benefits for the same age group (under 21 years old)
 - Policies and documents incorporate extensive feedback from California Children's Services (CCS) and pediatric audiology stakeholders
 - Online application portal (https://haccp.dhcs.ca.gov) and program materials available in threshold languages
 - Dedicated support team and provider locator

HACCP Eligibility

- > Children 0-20 years of age
- » Must reside in California
- » Not otherwise eligible for Medi-Cal
 - For children: household income up to 266% of <u>Federal Poverty Level (FPL)</u>
 - For children in County Children's Health Initiative Program (C-CHIP) counties (San Mateo, San Francisco, and Santa Clara): up to 322% of FPL
 - Contact your local <u>County office</u> for more information or <u>apply on-line at</u> Covered California.

HACCP Eligibility (Continued)

- » Not currently enrolled in CCS for a hearing-related condition
 - To learn more about whether your child may be eligible for CCS, please visit https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/services/ccs/Pages/qualify.aspx.
 - CCS eligibility criteria for ear- or mastoid-related conditions:
 California Code of Regulations, Title 22, Section 41518
- » Enrollment requires a valid hearing aid prescription or a referral from a medical provider or hearing professional
 - Includes referrals from newborn or school-based hearing screenings
 - Resource: Provider Referral for Patient Enrollment (DHCS 8482)

HACCP Eligibility (Continued)

» Household income under 600% of the federal poverty level (FPL)

Household Size (Including Parents)	266% FPL (Medi-Cal for Kids)	322% FPL (C-CHIP Counties)	600% FPL (HACCP Maximum)
1	\$38,783/year	\$46,948/year	\$87,480/year
	(\$3,232/month)	(\$3,913/month)	(\$7,290/month)
2	\$52,456/year	\$63,499/year	\$118,320/year
	(\$4,374/month)	(\$5,294/month)	(\$9,860/month)
3	\$66,128/year	\$80,050/year	\$149,160/year
	(\$5,512/month)	(\$6,672/month)	(\$12,430/month)
4	\$79,800/year	\$96,600/year	\$180,000/year
	(\$6,650/month)	(\$8,050/month)	(\$15,000/month)
Each Additional	Add \$13,673/year	Add \$16,551/year	Add \$30,840/year
	(\$1,142/month)	(\$1,382/month)	(\$2,570/month)

HACCP Eligibility (Continued)

Does not have other health coverage for hearing aids and related services

<u>OR</u>

- » Has other health coverage that limits annual benefit for hearing aids to \$1,500 or less
- » Documentation options:
 - Denial of coverage notice from child's health insurance plan
 - Explanation of coverage from child's health insurance plan
 - Attestation of no other health insurance/coverage (see application)

Application and Enrollment Process

- » Apply online at https://haccp.dhcs.ca.gov
- Complete the application form on the HACCP webpage:
 - https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/services/HACCP/Pages/Families/Application-Process.aspx
 - Available in English and Spanish
- Mail or fax your application to HACCP. Please be sure to include all required documentation:
 - Household income
 - Existing health coverage (if any)
 - Hearing aid prescription or provider referral
- Eligibility will be determined within 10 days from receipt of <u>complete</u> application. HACCP will confirm your enrollment status by mail.

HACCP Providers

- » Once enrolled, find a participating provider: https://providerca.maximus.com/
 or
- If your child is already established with a pediatric hearing aid provider, you can ask your current provider whether they are enrolled as a Medi-Cal or CCS provider.
 - Enrolled Fee-For-Service (FFS) Medi-Cal providers may submit claims for covered benefits provided to HACCP clients through the same process they already use for FFS Medi-Cal and CCS.
 - If your provider is not already enrolled in Medi-Cal, they can learn more and apply online: https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/provgovpart/Pages/PAVE.aspx

HACCP Providers (Continued)

- What to bring to your child's first appointment:
 - HACCP ID card
 - Health insurance card(s) if your child has other health coverage
 - Documents from earlier appointments (if any), which may include:
 - Hearing aid prescription signed by your child's otolaryngologist or physician
 - Medical history and examination notes from your child's otolaryngologist, including medical clearance for hearing aids
 - Hearing aid recommendation(s) and audiologic report from your child's previous audiologist
 - Any other documents requested by your child's enrolled provider

HACCP Covered Benefits

- » Hearing aids, including assistive listening devices (ALDs) and surface-worn bone conduction hearing devices (BCHDs)
- » Supplies, including ear molds and hearing aid batteries
- » Medically necessary hearing aid accessories
- » Hearing aid-related audiology and post-evaluation services

» Note: Coverage determinations are based on medical necessity.
There is no cap on medically necessary, HACCP-covered benefits.

HACCP Covered Benefits (Continued)

- » Specific examples include:
 - Hearing aid assessment
 - Hearing aid (monaural, binaural)
 - Electroacoustic analysis (EAA)
 - Real ear measurements
 - Minor hearing aid repairs
- For a more comprehensive list, check DHCS' HACCP Provider Manual at:

https://files.medi-cal.ca.gov/pubsdoco/publications/masters-mtp/part2/hearaccp.pdf.

Treatment Authorization Request (TAR) Process

Medi-Cal and HACCP use TARs to support appropriate use of covered benefits.

- Some benefits always require a TAR for medical necessity, while others only require a TAR after a certain quantity.
 - Hearing aids always require an approved TAR.
 - Ear molds only require a TAR if your child needs more than two ear molds at a time, or more than four ear molds per year.
- » DHCS anticipates responding to most TARs within 30 days of receipt.

TAR Supporting Documentation

- » For <u>new</u> hearing aids, your child's audiologist needs to include these documents when they submit the TAR:
 - Hearing aid prescription from an otolaryngologist (or the attending physician when no otolaryngologist is available in the community)
 - Signed medical history and physical examination by an otolaryngologist
 - Signed audiologic report and hearing aid evaluation
 - Specification of ear to be fitted

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

- My child qualifies for CCS. Should we switch to HACCP?
 No. CCS provides a robust set of hearing aid-related benefits, as well as broader coverage for related services. If your child is enrolled in CCS coverage for a hearing-related condition, they do not qualify for HACCP.
- My child has partial insurance coverage for hearing aids. Do they
 qualify for HACCP?
 Effective January 1, 2023, families may apply for <u>supplemental</u> hearing aidrelated coverage through HACCP. Your provider will bill your insurance first.
- How do I find my insurance plan's explanation of coverage?
 You should have received an explanation of coverage document when you first enrolled in your plan. You can also call your health plan's member services to request they send you a copy.
- My child needs a bone conduction hearing device (BCHD). Are these covered?
 Surface-worn BCHDs are covered when medically necessary. BCHDs require TAR approval.

FAQs (Continued)

- Do parents need to pay out of pocket for HACCP-covered services? No, providers bill HACCP directly for covered benefits, just like they do for Medi-Cal/CCS. *Please note*: If you have partial coverage through a health insurance plan, your provider must bill your insurance first which may also require you to pay your copay/coinsurance, depending on your plan.
- Is authorization needed to see my HACCP-participating audiologist? While certain audiology services do require a TAR, providers may generally submit the TAR either before or after the appointment. As a result, the answer to this question depends on a particular audiologist's billing policies.
- What happens if my child's application for HACCP enrollment is denied? If your child does not qualify for HACCP, you will receive a letter explaining which eligibility criteria were not met, how to request reconsideration of your application if you feel there was a misunderstanding or if your circumstances have changed, and other programs that may help.

Additional Resources

» HACCP Help Center

- Call 1 (833) 774-2227
 - Translators available
 - Video relay, TTY/TTD
- Chat with us online at <u>www.dhcs.ca.gov/HACCP</u>
 - English and Spanish
 - Can upload documents
- Email HACCP@maximus.com



» HACCP Webpage

- Visit <u>www.dhcs.ca.gov/HACCP</u> to learn more or find a provider.
- Apply online for coverage at https://haccp.dhcs.ca.gov.

Upcoming Events

- » HACCP Webinar for Medical Providers & Hearing Professionals
 - Tuesday, December 19, 2023, at 12:00-1:00 p.m.
 - More information and registration link at: www.dhcs.ca.gov/HACCP

Thank you for joining us!

