California Behavioral Health Planning Council

Legislation and Public Policy Committee Agenda

Wednesday, June 18, 2025 1:30 pm to 5:00 pm

DoubleTree Hotel Marina del Rey 13480 Maxella Avenue Marina del Rey, California 90292 Panache III Meeting Room

Zoom Meeting Link

Join by phone: 1-669-900-6833 Meeting ID: 871 5392 9774 Passcode: 126256

	Passcode : 126256	
1:30 pm	Welcome, Introductions and Housekeeping Barbara Mitchell, Chairperson	
1:35 pm	Review and Accept April 2025 Meeting Minutes Barbara Mitchell, Chairperson	Tab 1
1:40 pm	Review of Committee's Updated Legislation Process Maydy Lo, Council Staff	Tab 2
1:45 pm	June 2025 Legislative Positions List and Advocacy Activities Update Maydy Lo, Council Staff	Tab 3
1:50 pm	Assembly Bill 255 (Action Item) Doonya Mahmoud, Legislative Aide, Office of Assemblyme Haney (invited)	Tab 4 ember Matt
2:10 pm	Assembly Bill 1037 (Action Item) Kyle Kennedy, Policy and Strategic Initiatives, Section Manager, Substance Abuse and Control (SAPC) Bureau, Los Angeles County Departmental Health	se Prevention

2:30 pm Break

2:40 pm A Peer Perspective on Assembly Bill 348 Tab 6 (Action Item)

Karen Vicari, JD, Director of Public Policy, Mental Health America of California

If reasonable accommodations are required, please contact the Council at (916) 701-8211 not less than 5 working days prior to the meeting date.

California Behavioral Health Planning Council

3:00 pm	Pending Legislation Discussion (Action Item) Barbara Mitchell, Chairperson, and All LPPC Members	Tab 7
3:45 pm	Break	
3:55 pm	Recovery Housing in California's Public Behavioral Health System Christopher Martin, Policy Director, Housing California	Tab 8
4:25 pm	Behavioral Health Services Act: Housing Interventions Marlies Perez, BHT Project Executive, Department of Health Care Services	Tab 9
4:45 pm	General Public Comment Members of the public can comment on any general item.	
4:50 pm	Meeting Wrap Up & Next Steps	
5:00 pm	Adjourn	

Notice: All agenda items are subject to action. Scheduled times on the agenda are estimates and subject to change.

Public Comment: Limited to a 2-minute maximum to ensure all are heard.

Committee Members

Barbara Mitchell, Chairperson Javier Moreno, Chair-Elect

Amanda Andrews, Karen Baylor, Stephanie Blake, Monica Caffey, Erin Franco, Ian Kemmer, Steve Leoni, Catherine Moore, Noel O'Neill, Liz Oseguera, Sarah Poss, Darlene Prettyman, Danielle Sena, Karrie Sequeira, Daphne Shaw, Deborah Starkey, Tony Vartan, Susan Wilson, Uma Zykofsky