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SUBJECT: Medications for Addiction Treatment (MAT) Services Requirements for
Licensed and/or Certified Substance Use Disorder (SUD) Recovery or
Treatment Facilities

PURPOSE: To require licensed and/or certified SUD recovery or treatment facilities
to offer MAT services directly to clients, or have an effective referral
process in place.

REFERENCE: Senate Bill (SB)184 (Health and Safety Code Sections 11831.1 and
11834.28)

BACKGROUND:

In California, overdose deaths have reached a historic high, totaling 9,617 deaths from
August 2020 through July 2021. All opioid-relat ed deaths, including by prescription,
heroin, and fentanyl, made up 65 percent of the lives lost, and fentanyl was a factor in
more than 50 percent of all drug-related overdose deaths. With the impacts of the
COVID-19 pandemic and the substantial increase of fentanyl related opioid overdoses,
increased access to MAT services is critical for Californians.
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https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=202120220SB184
http://www.dhcs.ca.gov/
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MAT is treatment for a substance use disorder that includes the use of United States
Food and Drug Administration (FDA) approved medications along with counseling and
other support. MAT services may include transportation to MAT providers, identifying an
evidence-based assessment for determining a client's MAT needs and training for staff
about the benefits and risks of MAT. The addition of Section 11831.1 and 11834.28 to
the Health and Safety Code (HSC) would require alcohol or other drug (also known as
substance use disorder (SUD))?! recovery or treatment facilities licensed and/or certified
by the Department of Health Care Services (DHCS) to offer MAT services directly to the
client or have an effective referral process in place.

POLICY:

HSC Sections 11831.1 and 11834.28, require licensed and/or certified SUD recovery or
treatment facilities to comply with the following requirements, no sooner than July 1,
2022:

(a) Offer MAT services directly to clients, or have an effective referral process in
place with narcotic treatment programs (NTP), community health centers, or
other MAT providers such that patients have access to all FDA-approved
medications for SUDs.

(b) An effective referral process shall include an established relationship with a MAT
provider and transportation to appointments for MAT. Providing contact
information for a MAT provider does not meet the requirement of an effective
referral.

(c) SUD recovery or treatment facilities shall implement and maintain a MAT policy
approved by DHCS. The MAT policy shall do all of the following:

(1) Explain how a client receives information about the benefits and risks of
MAT.?

(2) Describe the availability of MAT at the program, if applicable, or the referral
process for MAT.

(3) Identify an evidence-based assessment for determining a client's MAT
needs.

(4) Address administration, storage, and disposal of MAT, if applicable.

(5) Ouitline training for staff about the benefits and risks of MAT.

(6) Outline training for staff on the MAT policy.

1 This BHIN uses “SUD” as preferred clinical terminology, consistent with the current edition of the
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, medical societies, professional organizations,
recovery advocates, and federal guidance regarding the use of non-stigmatizing, person-centered
language.

2 The Client Health Questionnaire and Initial Screening Questions (DHCS 5103) form has been updated
and may be used to document that MAT services was offered directly to the client, or the client was
referred to a MAT provider, as required by HSC Section 11831.1 and 11834.28.



https://obamawhitehouse.archives.gov/sites/whitehouse.gov/files/images/Memo%20-%20Changing%20Federal%20Terminology%20Regrading%20Substance%20Use%20and%20Substance%20Use%20Disorders.pdf
https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/provgovpart/Documents/DHCS-5103.pdf
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COMPLIANCE:

All licensed and/or certified SUD recovery or treatment facilities shall develop and
implement a MAT policy that is in compliance with HSC Section 11831.1(c) and
11834.28(c). The MAT policy must include, at a minimum:

1. Procedures on how a client receives information about the benefits and risks of
MAT (HSC Section 11811.1(c)(1); HSC Section 11834.28(c)(1)). Information
must be specific to each type of medication approved for treating their
SUD(s). This includes:

a. When a client and/or family member will receive information (e.g. at intake,
during treatment, at discharge);

b. Whether the facility will present follow-up information to a client about MAT
if the client initially refuses MAT information about MAT;

c. Who will present MAT information to the clients (e.g. Licensed Practitioner
of the Healing Arts (LPHA), Alcohol and Other Drug (AOD) counselor, other
facility staff);

d. What information will be provided (e.g. pamphlets, websites, contact
information for local providers) that clearly explain the benefits and the
evidence for MAT and the risks with not participating in MAT;

e. What information will be documented when MAT is provided to the client
(e.g. progress notes, informed consent, client denying use of MAT, etc.).

2. Procedures regarding availability of MAT at the facility, if applicable, or referral
process of MAT (HSC Section 11831(c)(2); HSC Section 11834.28(c)(1)). This
includes:

a. If MAT is available at the facility:

i. Eligibility requirements;

ii. All FDA-approved medications available;

iii. Frequency that clients will receive follow-up for their MAT
treatments;
b. If MAT is not available at the facility:

i. Referral locations for each type of medication approved for treating
their SUD(s), including: name, address, phone number, website,
and distance from the facility;

ii.  The minimum number of MAT locations that the facility will refer to;

iii. Procedures for arranging MAT treatment for clients starting MAT,
including but not limited to care coordination agreements or
memorandums of understanding (see below);

iv. Procedures for clients who have established care for MAT prior to
admission;

v. Client transportation to/from MAT locations.
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3. A description of the evidence-based assessment the facility will use for
determining a client’s MAT needs. (HSC Section 11831.1(c)(3); HSC Section
11834.28(c)(3)). This includes:

a. Procedures for selecting an evidence-based assessment;
b. Description of the evidence-based assessment selected by the facility;
c. Process for conducting the assessment, which includes, at minimum;

i. The evidence-based assessment must be performed by an LPHA
or AOD counselor within twenty-four (24) hours of admission;

ii. If the evidence-based assessment is performed by an AOD
counselor, an LPHA acting within the scope of their license or
certificate must review and approve the assessment, and determine
if MAT treatment is medically appropriate for the client no later than
seventy-two (72) hours after admission.

iii. If the evidence-based assessment is performed by an LPHA acting
within the scope of their license or certificate, they must review and
approve the assessment, and determine if MAT treatment is
medically appropriate for the client after performing the
assessment.

d. Any change to the facility’s evidence-based assessment policy and
procedures requires a written notice to DHCS.

4. Procedures regarding administration, storage, and disposal of MAT, if applicable
(HSC Section 11831.1(c)(4); HSC Section 11834.28(c)(4)). This includes:

a. A separate medication policy if MAT is administered, stored, or disposed of
differently than non-MAT medications, or including MAT in current
medication administration, storage, and disposal policies and procedures (if
applicable);

b. If separate policy, medication administration requirements for self-
administration or for LPHA (depending upon the administration route), and
documentation:;

c. If separate policy, storage requirements, including location, accessibility,
inventory, handling, and documentation;

d. If separate policy, medication disposal procedures, including how often,
methods of destruction, and documentation.

5. An outline of the training the facility will provide to staff about benefits and risks of
MAT. Information must be specific to each type of medication offered to clients.
(HSC Section 11831.1(c)(5); HSC Section 11834.28(c)(5)). This includes:

a. Frequency of training (upon hire, quarterly, annual, etc.);
b. Qualifications to conduct training;
c. Staff positions required to receive training;
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d. Documentation of training in personnel files.

6. An outline of the training the facility will provide to staff on the facility’s MAT
policy. (HSC Section 11831.1(c)(6); HSC Section 11834.28(c)(6)). This includes:
a. Frequency of training (upon hire, quarterly, annual, etc.);
b. Qualifications to conduct training;
c. Staff positions required to receive training;
d. Documentation of training in personnel files.

7. A requirement that permits clients to use their preferred MAT medication so long
as the prescriber or MAT provider determines the medication is clinically
beneficial. This includes:

a. Client access to their program shall not be denied because of their use of
FDA-approved medications for the treatment of SUD;

b. Procedures to ensure that clients are not required to change their MAT
medication in order to receive treatment services;

c. Procedures that support clients to continue to receive their preferred MAT
medications;

d. Procedures for facilities to confirm that patients will not be compelled to
taper, discontinue, or abstain from medications provided as part of MAT.

8. Procedures for clients to access methadone. This includes:

a. Procedures to determine the demand of methadone as a preferred MAT
medication;

b. Procedures to determine a sufficient number of NTPs (including NTP
medication units (MU) or NTP mobile units) to meet that demand at the
facility;

c. Procedures to enter into a care coordination agreement or memorandum of
understanding (MOU) with a sufficient number of NTPs (including NTP MU
or NTP mobile units) to meet demand at the facility;

i. The care coordination agreement or memorandum of
understanding must address the following components:
1. Protocol for timely referrals (within 24 hours of request for
MAT);

2. A plan for transportation;

3. A plan for safe storage;

4. A plan for submitting requests for exceptions to take-home
limits, if needed,
Protocols for continuation of MAT; and
Confirming follow-up appointments scheduled prior to
discharge from the SUD facility with transportation arranged

oo
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and sufficient medication available to bridge the care
transition until the scheduled follow-up appointment.

9. Procedures to for clients to access buprenorphine. This includes:
a. If the facility is approved to provide IMS and provides buprenorphine

onsite:
i.

Procedures to determine the demand for buprenorphine as a
preferred MAT medication;

Procedures to provide buprenorphine onsite site by a DEA-X
waivered buprenorphine prescriber who is available to order or
prescribe buprenorphine with sufficient capacity to meet demand
(i.e. employment of, or contracts with prescribers).

b. If the facility is not approved to provide buprenorphine onsite:

Procedures to determine the demand for buprenorphine as a
preferred MAT medication
Procedures to determine a sufficient number of DEA-X waivered
buprenorphine prescribers to meets that demand at the facility;
Procedures to enter into care coordination agreements or MOUs
with DEA-X waivered buprenorphine prescribers.

1. The care coordination agreements or MOUs must address

the following components:
a. Protocol for timely referrals (within 24 hours of

request for MAT) and intake;
A plan for transportation;
A plan for safe storage’
Protocols for continuation of MAT; and
Confirming the follow up appointments scheduled
prior to discharge from the SUD facility with
transportation arranged and sufficient medication to
bridge the care transition until the scheduled follow up
appointment.

©®ooo

Initial applicants for licensed and/or certified SUD recovery or treatment facilities must
submit a MAT policy and supporting documentation with the Initial Treatment Provider
Application (DHCS 6002) for DHCS approval. Guidance on what the MAT policy shall
address are listed under the Compliance section of this BHIN. Applicants pending
licensure and/or certification that submitted an application prior to, must submit a MAT
policy prior to licensure and/or certification for DHCS approval.
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Existing licensed and/or certified SUD facilities must provide a MAT policy to the
assigned DHCS licensing analyst by February 28, 2023 for DHCS review. DHCS will
review the MAT policy, determine compliance, and notify the SUD facility whether the
MAT policy is complete or incomplete. If the MAT policy is determined to be incomplete,
the SUD facility will have the opportunity to submit the missing information and/or
documentation.

Any licensed and/or certified SUD recovery or treatment facility that fails to adhere with
this information notice shall be subject to disciplinary action, including but not limited to
civil penalties, license suspension or revocation beginning July 1, 2023.

DHCS has received funding through Assembly Bill (AB) 179 (Ting, Chapter 249,
Statutes of 2022) for funding in FY 2022/23 and ongoing to be used for expanding MAT
within California’s state-licensed facilities. The funding is intended to:

e Reduce stigma through continued training and technical assistance and
encourage all SUD licensed and/or certified facilities to provide MAT onsite or
have effective referral mechanisms in place.

e Incorporate MAT within SUD and mental health facilities through start-up costs
and bridge funding to start prescribing MAT onsite.

e Provide extensive education and training to providers on MAT services.

e Increase the number of NTP MU.

e Provide start-up costs to NTPs for operating mobile methadone vans.

Additional information regarding associated funding and technical assistance
opportunities will be forthcoming.

RESOURCES:

Medication Assisted Treatment Expansion Project Overview

California Medication Assisted Treatment Expansion Project

Learn more about Medication Assisted Treatment

DHCS Naloxone Distribution Project — distribution of free naloxone to providers, first
responders, and other organizations.

National Harm Reduction Coalition's Opioid Overdose Basics



https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/individuals/Pages/MAT-Expansion-Project.aspx
https://www.californiamat.org/
https://choosechangeca.org/
https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/individuals/Pages/Naloxone_Distribution_Project.aspx
https://harmreduction.org/issues/overdose-prevention/overview/overdose-basics/responding-to-opioid-overdose/
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Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration Opioid Overdose
Prevention Toolkit

TIP 63: Medications for Opioid Use Disorder

Sincerely,

Janelle Ito-Orille, Chief
Licensing and Certification Division


https://store.samhsa.gov/sites/default/files/d7/priv/sma18-4742.pdf
https://store.samhsa.gov/sites/default/files/d7/priv/sma18-4742.pdf
https://store.samhsa.gov/sites/default/files/SAMHSA_Digital_Download/PEP21-02-01-002.pdf

