

# State of California—Health and Human Services Agency Department of Health Care Services



DATE: January 29, 2019

MHSUDS INFORMATION NOTICE NO.: 19-002

TO: COUNTY BEHAVIORAL HEALTH DIRECTORS

**COUNTY DRUG & ALCOHOL ADMINISTRATORS** 

COUNTY BEHAVIORAL HEALTH DIRECTORS ASSOCIATION OF

**CALIFORNIA** 

CALIFORNIA COUNCIL OF COMMUNITY BEHAVIORAL HEALTH

**AGENCIES** 

COALITION OF ALCOHOL AND DRUG ASSOCIATIONS

CALIFORNIA ASSOCIATION OF ALCOHOL & DRUG PROGRAM

EXECUTIVES, INC.

CALIFORNIA ALLIANCE OF CHILD AND FAMILY SERVICES

CALIFORNIA OPIOID MAINTENANCE PROVIDERS CALIFORNIA STATE ASSOCIATION OF COUNTIES

CALIFORNIA CONSORTIUM OF ADDICTION PROGRAMS AND

**PROFESSIONALS** 

SUBJECT: IMPLEMENTATION OF SENATE BILL (SB) 1228

(Chapter 792, Statutes of 2018)

## **PURPOSE**

This Information Notice (IN) notifies and provides guidance to Department of Health Care Services (DHCS) licensed or certified alcohol and/or other drug programs (AOD programs) of the passage of SB 1228, which will go into effect on January 1, 2019.

SB 1228 adds Sections 11831.6 and 11831.7 to the California Health and Safety Code (HSC). Section 11831.6 prohibits licensed and/or certified alcoholism or drug abuse recovery and treatment facilities, owners, partners, directors, employees, and/or shareholders from giving or receiving anything of value for the referral of a person to a substance use disorder (SUD) treatment facility. These prohibitions will become effective on January 1, 2019.

This IN also notifies DHCS licensed and/or certified alcoholism or drug abuse recovery and treatment facilities of the passage of HR 6 on October 24, 2018. Subtitle J of Title VIII of HR 6, entitled "Eliminating Kickbacks in Recovery Act of 2018" adds Section 220

MHSUDS INFORMATION NOTICE NO.: 19-002

January 29, 2019

Page 2

to Title 18 of the US Code. Section 220 imposes criminal penalties of up to \$200,000 and imprisonment for 10 years for any individual who solicits or receives remuneration in return for referring a patient to a recovery home, clinical treatment facility, or laboratory. DHCS licensed and/or certified alcoholism or drug abuse recovery and treatment facilities are encouraged to review this new federal law and its application to their operations.

# **Examples of Conduct that Violates SB 1228**

The following are examples of conduct by licensed or certified AOD programs or counselors that would violate Section 11831.6:

- Soliciting or receiving any remuneration (including any kickback, bribe, or rebate) directly or indirectly, overtly or covertly, in cash or in kind, in return for referring a patient to a licensed and/or certified alcoholism or drug abuse recovery and treatment facility.
- 2) Any form(s) of commission or bonus paid to treatment facilities, owners, partners, directors, employees, and/or shareholders in exchange for a client referral to a licensed and/or certified alcoholism or drug abuse recovery and treatment facility.
- 3) Any form(s) of tangible or intangible compensation provided to a client for referral to a licensed and/or certified alcoholism or drug abuse recovery and treatment facility. This includes recruitment and payments to potential clients at Alcoholics Anonymous meetings, Narcotics Anonymous meetings, and any other recovery meetings.
- 4) Providing remuneration to any call center and/or company in exchange for a client referral.
- 5) Selling potential client information to bidders in order for the bidder to secure a potential client's enrollment at a licensed and/or certified alcoholism or drug abuse recovery and treatment facility.

# **Penalties for Violation of SB 1228**

Section 11831.7 allows DHCS to investigate allegations of violations of Section 11831.6, and, upon finding a violation, permits DHCS to impose the following potential penalties:

- 1. Assessment of a civil penalty of up to \$2,000 against a licensed and/or certified alcoholism or drug abuse recovery and treatment facility for each occurrence of a violation of section 11831.6;
- Suspension of an alcoholism or drug abuse recovery and treatment facility's license or certification;

MHSUDS INFORMATION NOTICE NO.: 19-002

January 29, 2019

Page 3

- 3. Revocation of an alcoholism or drug abuse recovery and treatment facility's license or certification:
- 4. Denial of any new application for licensure for a period of five (5) years from when the applicant is found to have violated HSC 11831.6;
- 5. Denial of an extension of the licensing period;
- 6. Denial of any applications for modification to a license;
- 7. Suspension of the registration or certification of a counselor or;
- 8. Revocation of the registration or certification of a counselor.

Allegations of violations of Section 11831.6 can be submitted to DHCS via e-mail at <a href="mailto:SUDComplaints@dhcs.ca.gov">SUDComplaints@dhcs.ca.gov</a> or by calling the toll free complaint line at 877-685-8333.

## **RESOURCES**

Senate Bill 1228:

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billTextClient.xhtml?bill\_id=201720180SB1228

### Federal SUPPORT Bill:

https://www.congress.gov/bill/115th-congress/house-bill/6/text?q=%7B%22search%22%3A%5B%22hr+6%22%5D%7D&r=1

#### **DHCS Information Notices:**

https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/formsandpubs/Pages/MHSUDS-Information-Notices.aspx;

Questions pertaining to this IN should be directed to Nicolé Nicholson-Sands, Complaints Section Chief at (916) 345-7584 or Nicole.Nicholson-Sands@dhcs.ca.gov.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Brenda Grealish, Acting Deputy Director Mental Health & Substance Use Disorder Services