Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

​California Proposition 56 (2016)

Proposition 56, passed by the voters in November 2016, increases the excise tax rate on cigarettes and electronic cigarettes, effective April 1, 2017, and other tobacco products effective July 1, 2017. The excise tax increased by $2 from 87 cents to $2.87 per pack of 20 cigarettes on distributors selling cigarettes in California with an equivalent excise tax rate increase on other tobacco products. In accordance with AB 120 (Chapter 22, Statutes of 2017) the Department of Health Care Services (DHCS) shall develop the structure of the supplemental payments. The following supplemental payment programs are  CMS-approved one-year supplemental payment programs in effect for SFY 2017-18.
 
 
Last modified on: 10/9/2018 2:48 PM