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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 
STATE: California 

A. Non-institutional services for governmental and private providers listed in
Supplement 17 of Attachment 4.19-B are reimbursed the same using the
methodology set forth in paragraph (C).

B. The State Agency's rates for non-institutional services listed in Supplement 17
are were posted as of January 1, 2022 and are effective for dates of services on
or after that date. The rates for these services are posted on the Medi-Cal Rates
website at: https://files.medi-cal.ca.gov/rates/rateshome.aspx.

C. The policy of the State Agency is that reimbursement for each of the other types
of care or service listed in Section 1905(a) of the Act that are included in the
program under the plan will be at the lesser of usual charges or the limits
specified in the California Code of Regulations (CCR), Title 22, Division 3,
Chapter 3, Article 7 (commencing with Section 51501) and CCR, Title 17,
Chapter 4, Subchapter 13, Sections 6800-6874, for EPSDT health assessment
services, or as specified by any other means authorized by state law.

1. Establishing payment rates may include the following:

a) The development of an evidentiary base or rate study resulting in the
determination of a proposed rate, which may include pertinent input
from the public.

b) To the extent required by State or Federal law or regulations, the
presentation of the proposed rate at public hearing to gather public
input to the rate determination process.

2. Effective January 1, 2022, the methodology utilized by the State
Agency in establishing payment rates will be as follows:

a) 80 percent of the lowest maximum allowance established by
the federal Medicare program for the same or similar item or
service.

i. The rate described in paragraph C.2.a may be
adjusted to keep the Medi-Cal rate at 80 percent of
the lowest maximum allowance established by the
federal Medicare program, if in calculating the Medi-
Cal rate, the conversion indicator or conversion factor
used to calculate a unit value results in a rate greater
than 80 percent.

June 23, 2022Approval Date: June 23, 2022

https://files.medi-cal.ca.gov/rates/rateshome.aspx.
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 
State: California 

 TN 21-0028
Supersedes
TN: NEW     

Chapter 3, Article 7 (commencing with Section 51501) and CCR, Title 17, 
Chapter 4, Subchapter 13, Sections 6800-6874, for EPSDT health assessment 
services, or as specified by any other means authorized by state law.

1. The methodology utilized by the State Agency in establishing
payment rates will be as follows:

a) The development of an evidentiary base or rate study resulting in
the determination of a proposed rate.

b) To the extent required by State or Federal law or regulations, the
presentation of the proposed rate at public hearing to gather public
input to the rate determination process.

c) The determination of a payment rate based on an evidentiary base,
including pertinent input from the public.

d) The establishment of the payment rate through the State Agency's
adoption of regulations specifying such rate in the CCR, Title 22,
Division 3, Chapter 3, Article 7 (commencing with Section
51501), and CCR, Title 17, Chapter 4, Subchapter 13,
commencing with Section 6868, Schedule of Maximum
Allowances for EPSDT health assessment, or through any other
means authorized by State law.

TN 21-0028 
Supersedes 
TN: 
NEW

Approval Date: September 15,2021 Effective Date: July 1, 2021TN 21-0028 Supersedes 
TN: NEW

Approval Date: September15,2021 Effective Date: July 1, 2021
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State:: California

(e) Notwithstanding any other provisions of this Attachment to the State Plan pertinent to the methods and levels of 
reimbursement to providers, rates may be adjusted when required by state statute provided that applicable requirements 
of 42 CFR Part 447 are met.

Ef fective

(f) (1) In addition, at the beginning of each fiscal year, for the current fiscal year, the director shall establish a monthly schedule of anticipated 
total payments and anticipated payments for categories of services, according to the categories established in the Governor's Budget. 
The schedule will be revised quarterly. The director shall report actual total payments and payments for the categories of services 
monthly to the Director of Finance and to the Joint Legislative Budget Committee.

Approval

(2) At any time during the fiscal year, if the director has reason to believe that the total cost of 
the program will exceed available funds, the director may, first modify the method or amount 
of payment for services provided that no amount shall be reduced more than 10 percent 
and no modification will conflict with federal law. At any time during the fiscal year, if the 
total amounts paid since the beginning of the fiscal year exceed by 10 percent the amounts 
scheduled, the director shall immediately institute such  modification.

(3) At any time during the fiscal year, if the total amount paid for any category of service in the 
Governor's Budget exceeds by 10 percent the amounts scheduled for that category of service 
(other than services for which the method or amount of payment is prescribed by the United 
States Secretary of Health and Human Services pursuant to Title XIX of the federal Social 
Social Security Act), the director shall modify the method or amount of payment for such 
category of service to assure that the total amount paid for such category of service in the 
fiscal year shall be less than 10 percent in excess of the total amount scheduled for the fiscal 
year for that category of service, provided the total cost of the program to the State General 
Fund will not exceed appropriated state general funds. If, on the other hand, the director 
has reason to believe that the total cost of the program to the State General Fund will 
exceed appropriated state general funds, the method or amount of payment may be further 
modified as provided in subparagraph (2).

TN# 87-01 supersedes TN# 82-10
Effective date FEB 1 1987 Approval date FEB  4 1987

In addition, at the beginning of each fiscal year, for the current fiscal year, the director shall establish 
a monthly schedule of anticipated total payments and anticipated payments for categories 
of services, according to the categories established in the Governor's Budget. The 
schedule will be revised quarterly. The director shall report actual total payments and payments 
for the categories of services monthly to the Director of Finance and to the Joint Legislative 
Budget Committee.
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State: Celitfornia

TN #87-01 supersedes TN# 82-10

(4) No modification in method or amount of payment will be made under this paragraph which does 
not meet all applicable requirements of 42 CFR Part 447. An analysis of provider participation, 
and the expected impact of any proposed modification on provider participation, will 
be completed before any modification of payments is made under this paragraph. Where necessary, 
adjustments to proposed or implemented modifications in method or amount of payment 
made under this paragraph will be made, to assure compliance with 42 CFR 447.204.

Effective date: 2/1/87 Approval date: 2/4/87

(5) Before any of the above actions are taken, the director shall consult with the representatives 
of concerned provider groups.

No modification in method or amount of payment will be made under this paragraph which does not meet all applicable requirements of 42 
CFR Part 447. An analysis of provider participation, and the expected impact of any proposed modification on provider participation, will 
be completed before any modification of payments is made under this paragraph. Where adjustments to proposed or implemented modifications 
in method or amount of payment made under this paragraph will be made, to assure compliance with 42 CFR 447.204.

Before any of the above actions are taken, the director shall with representatives 
of concerned provider groups.
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 
STA TE: California 

6) For dates of seNice on or after July 1, 2008, through and including 
February 28, 2009, reimbursement for the foHowing outpatient 
.seNices described on page 1, paragraph (2), otherwise payable in 
accordance with the methods and standards described on page 1, 
paragraph (1), in this Attachment 4.19-8 are reduced by ten 
percent: • 

• Outpatient hospital seNices rendered in and biUed by 
hospital outpatient departments, as described in Attachment 
3.1-A, section 2a. 

• Emergency medical transportation, as described in 
Attachment 3.1-A, section 24a, and in Attachment 3.1-8, 
section 23a. 

• Non-drug seNices provided by a pharmacy, as described in 
Attachment 3.1-A, including but not limited to sections 7c.1 
through 7c.4. 

• Providers and seNices included in Supplement 15 to this 
Attachment. 

The outpatient .provider types and seNices specified below are 
exempt from the ten percent reduction: 

• SeNices provided and billed by Physicians, as described in 
Attachment 3.1-A, section 5a. 

• Services provided and bU1ed by Clinics, as described in 
Attachnlent 3.1-A, section 9. 

• Services provided and billed by Optometrists, as described 
jn Attachment 3.1-A, section 6b. 

• SeNices provided and billed by Dentists, as described in 
Attachment 3.1-A, section 10. 

(7) For dates of service on or.after July 1, 2008, through and including 
November 16, 2008, reimbursement for the foHowing outpatient 
seNices described on page 1, paragraph (2), otherwise payable in 
accordance with the methods and standards described on page 1, 
paragraph (1 ), in this Attachment 4.19-8 are reduced by ten 
percent: 

• Nonemergency medical transportation services, as described in 
Attachment 3.1-A, section 24a, and in Attachment 3.1-8, section 
23a • . 

• Home health services, as described in Attachment 3.1-A, 
section 7 (refer to rates on page 20a in this Attachment). 

TN No 08-00981 OCT 2 71911 
Supersedes Approval Date ___ Effective Date July 1, 2008 
TN# None -

6)

For dates of service on or after July 1, 2008, through 
and including
February 28, 2008, reimbursement 
for the following outpatient
services described 
on page 1, paragraph (2), otherwise payable 
in
accordance with the methods and standards 
described on page 1,
paragraph (1), in this 
Attachment 4.19-B are reduced by ten
percent:

Outpatient hospital services rendered in and billed by hospital outpatient departments, 
as described in Attachment 3 1-A section 2a

Emergency medical transportation, as described in Attachment 3.1-A, 
section 24a, and in Attachment 3.1-B, section 23a.

Services provided and billed by Physicians, as described in Attachment 3.1-A, section 5a.

TN No 08-009B1 Supersedes 
 TN# None

Non-drug services provided by a pharmacy, as described in Attachment 3.1-A, including 
but not limited to sections 7c.1 through 7c.4.

Services provided and billed by Clinics, as described in Attachment 3.1-A, section 9.

Approval Date OCT 27 2011

Services provided and billed by Optometrists, as described in Attachment 3.1-A, 
section 6b.

Effective Date : July 1, 2008

Providers and services included in Supplement 15 to this Attachment.

Services provided and billed by Dentists, as described in Attachment 3.1-A, section 10.

For dates of service on or after July 1, 2008, through and including
February 28, 2008, reimbursement for the 
following outpatient
services described on page 1, paragraph (2), otherwise payable in
accordance with 
the methods and standards described on page 1,
paragraph (1), in this Attachment 4.19-B are reduced by 
ten
percent:

The outpatient provider types and services specified below are exempt 
from the ten percent reduction:

Outpatient hospital services rendered in and billed by as described in Attachment 3 1-A ,section 2a.

TN No 08-009B1 Supersedes 
TN # None

" Nonemergency medical transportation services, as described in Attachment 
3.1-A, section 24a, and in Attachment 3.1-8, section 23a

Approval Date OCT 
27 2011

Emergency medical transportation, as Attachment 3.1-A, section 24a, 
and in Attachment 3.1-B section 23a.

Effective Date July 1, 2008

Services provided and billed by Physicians, as described in Attachment 3.1-A, section 
5a.

" Home health services, as described in Attachment 3.1-A, section 7 (refer 
to rates on page 20a in this Attachment)

" Non-drug services provided by a pharmacy, as described in Attachment 3.1-A, including 
but not limited to sections 7c.1 through 7c.4.

" Services provided and billed by Clinics, as described in Attachment 3.1-A, section 
9.

Providers and services included in Supplement 15 to this Attachment.

" Services provided and billed by Optometrists, as described in Attachment 3.1-A, section 
6b
Services provided and billed by Dentists, as described in Attachment 3.1-A, 
section 10.
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 
STATE: California 

(8) For dates of service on or after March 1, 2009, reimbursement for the following
outpatient services described on page 1, paragraph (2), otherwise payable in
accordance with the methods and standards described on page 1, paragraph
(1), in this Attachment 4.19-B are reduced by one percent:

• Any and all services provided and billed by Physicians and
Clinics to beneficiaries less than age 21, as described in
Attachment 3.1-A, sections 5a and 9.

• Home health services, as described in Attachment 3.1-A,
section 7 (refer to rates on page 20a in this Attachment).

• For dates of service on or after July 1, 2018, the one
percent reduction for home health services, as described
in Attachment 3.1-A, section 7, is terminated and no
longer applicable.

(9) For dates of service on or after March 1, 2009, through and
including May 31, 2011, reimbursement for outpatient services
described on page 1, paragraph (2), otherwise payable in
accordance with the methods and standards described on page 1,
paragraph (1), in this Attachment 4.19-B will be reduced by one
percent. Providers and services subject to this reduction include:

a. Any and all services provided and billed by Physicians and
Clinics to beneficiaries aged 21 and older, as described in
Attachment 3.1-A. sections 5a and 9.

b. Medical transportation (emergency and nonemergency), as
described in Attachment 3.1-A, section 24a, and in Attachment
3.1-B, section 23a.

c. Services provided and billed by Optometrists, as described in
Attachment 3.1-A, section 6b.

d. Services provided and billed by Dentists, as described in
Attachment 3.1-A, section 10.

e. Providers and services included in Supplement 15 of this
Attachment.

(10) For dates of service on or after March 1, 2009, through and
including April 5, 2009, and dates of service on or after January 1,
2011, through and including April 12, 2011, reimbursement for
outpatient hospital services set forth in Attachment 3.1-A, section
2a, rendered in and billed by a hospital outpatient department,
described on page 1, paragraph (2), otherwise payable in
accordance with the methods and standards described on page 1,
paragraph (1), in this Attachment 4.19-B, are reduced by one
percent.

TN No 18-0037 
Supersedes       Approval Date: September 17, 2018     Effective Date: July 1, 2018 
TN # 08-009B1 

For dates of service on or after March 1, 2009, reimbursement 
for the following
outpatient services 
described on page 1, paragraph (2), otherwise 
payable in
accordance with the methods 
and standards described on page 1, paragraph
(1), 
in this Attachment 4.19-B are reduced 
by one percent:

For dates of service on or after March 1, 2009, through 
and
including May 31, 2011, reimbursement 
for outpatient services
described on 
page 1, paragraph (2), otherwise payable in
accordance 
with the methods and standards described 
on page 1,
paragraph (1), in this Attachment 
4.19-B will be reduced by one
percent. 
Providers and services subject to this 
reduction include:

Any and all services provided and billed by Physicians and
Clinics to beneficiaries 
less than age 21, as described in
Attachment 3. 1-A sections 53 
and 9

Home health services, as described in Attachment 3.1-A,
section 7 (refer to rates 
on page 20a in this Attachment).
For dates of service on or after July 1, 2018, the one
percent reduction for home 
health services, as described
in Attachment 3.1-A, section 7, is terminated 
and no
longer applicable.

a. Any and all services provided and billed by Physicians and
Clinics to 
beneficiaries aged 21 and older, as described in
Attachment 3.1-A. 
sections 5a and 9.
b. Medical transportation (emergency and nonemergency), as
described in Attachment 
3.1-A, section 24a, and in Attachment
3 1-B section 23a.

c. Services provided and billed by Optometrists, as described in
Attachment 3. section 
6b.
d. Services provided and billed by Dentists, as described in
Attachment 3.1-A, section 
10.

e. Providers and services included in Supplement 15 of this
Attachment.
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 
STATE: California 

(11) For dates of services on or after March 1, 2009, through and 
including May 31, 2011, reimbursement for non-drug services 
provided by a pharmacy, set forth in Attachment 3.1-A, including but 
not limited to sections 7c.1 through 7c.4, otherwise payable in 
accordance with the methods and standards described on page 1 in 
this Attachment 4.19-8, are reduced by five percent. 

(12) The payment reductions provided in paragraphs (6) and (10) to 
hospital outpatient department services set forfli in Attact,ment 
3.1-A, section 2a, provided and billed by small and rural hospitals, 
as defined in Section 124840 of California's Health and Safety 
Code, will be implemented as follows: 

• For dates of service provided on or after July 1, 2008, through 
and including October 31 , 2008, a ten percent payment 
reduction will apply. 

• For dates of service provided on or after November 1, 2008, 
through and including December 31, 2010, no payment 
reduction will apply. 

• For dates of service provided on or after January 1, 2011, 
through and including April 12, 2011, a one percent payment 
reduction will apply. 

, • For dates of services provided on or after April 13, 2011, no 
payment reduction will apply. 

(13) For dates of service on or after June 1, 2011, reimbursement for the 
following outpatient services will be reduced by ten percent: 

• Any and all services provided and billed by Physicians and 
Clinics to beneficiaries aged 21 and older, as described in 
Attachment 3.1-A, sections Sa and 9. 

• Providers and services included in Supplement 15 of this 
Attachment. 

• Medical transportation (emergency and nonemergency), as 
described in Attachment 3.1-A, section 24a, and in Attachment 
3. 1-8, section 23a. 

• Services provided and billed by Optometrists, as described in 
Attachment 3. 1-A, section 6b. 

• Non-drug services provided by a pharmacy, set forth in 
Attachment 3.1-A, including but not limited to sections 7c.1 
through 7c.4. 

• Dental services, as described in Attachment 3.1-A, section 1 O. 

TN No 11-009 
Supersedes 
TN # 08-00981 

OCT 2 7 2011 
Approval Date ____ Effective Date June 1, 2011 

TN No 11-009 Supersedes 
 TN # _08-009B1

Approval Date: OCT 27 2011 Effective Date: June 1, 2011

(13) For dates of service on or 
after June 1, 2011, reimbursement 
for the
following 
outpatient services 
will be reduced by ten 
percent:

Approval Date OCT 27 
2011

For the dates of service on or after March 1, 2009, through and including May 31, 2011, reimbursement 
for non-drug services provided by a pharmacy, set forth in Attachment 3.1-A, 
including but not limited to sections 7c.1 through 7c.4, otherwise payable in accordance 
with the methods and standards described on page 1 in this Attachment 4.19-8, are 
reduced by five percent.

ﾫ For dates of service provided on or after July 1, 2008, through
and including October 31, 
2008, a ten percent payment
reduction will anplv.

TN No 11-009 Supersedes 
TN # _08-009B1

o For dates of se'rvu;e provided on or after November 1, 2008,
through and including December 
31, 2010, no payment
reduction will apply.

Effective Date June 1, 2011

The payment reductions provided in paragraphs (6) and (10) to hospital outpatient 
department services set forth in Attachment 3.1-A, section 2a, provided 
and billed by small and rural hospitals, as defined in Section 124840 of California's 
Health and Safety Code, will be implemented as follows: " For dates of 
service provided on or after July 1, 2008, through and including October 31 , 2008, 
a ten percent payment reduction will apply. " For dates of service provided on 
or after November 1, 2008, through and including December 31, 2010, no payment 
reduction will apply. " For dates of service provided on or after January 1, 
2011, through and including April 12, 2011, a one percent payment reduction will 
apply. , " For dates of services provided on or after April 13, 2011, no payment 
reduction will apply. (13) For dates of service on or after June 1, 2011, reimbursement 
for the

e For dates of seMce provided on or after January 1, 2011,
through and including April 12, 
2011, a one percent payment
reduction will applv.

ﾫ For dates of services provided on or after April 13, 2011, no
payment 
reduction will apply.

* Any and all services provided and billed by Physicians and
Clinics to beneficiaries aged 
21 and older, as described in
Attachment 3.1-A, sections 5a and 9.
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 
STATE: California 

(14) The payment reductions specified in paragraphs (6) through (13) do not apply to
supplemental payments and only apply to the basic Medi-Cal reimbursement rate.

(15) The payment reductions specified in paragraphs (6) through (13) apply only to those
services described in Attachment 3.1-A entitled, Amount, Duration, and Scope of
Medical and Remedial Care and Service· Provided to the Categorically Needy and
Attachment 3.1-8 entitled, Amount, Duration and Scope of Services Provided
Medically Needy Group(s), which are billed to the Department directly by the
provider that rendered the service.

(16) The payment reductions specified in paragraphs (6) through (13), set forth on
pages 3.1 through 3.4 do not apply to the following provider types and services:

▪ Federally qualified health center services, described in Attachment 3.1-A,
sections 2c and 2d, including those facilities deemed to have federally
qualified health center status pursuant to a waiver under subdivision (a) of
Section 1115 of the federal Social Security Act.

▪ Rural health clinic services, as described in Attachment 3.1-A, section 2b.
▪ Payments to facilities owned or operated by the State Department of Mental

Health for psychology services, as defined in Attachment 3.1-A, section 6d.1
or to the State Department of Developmental Services for targeted case
management services, as defined in Attachment 3.1-A, section 19.

▪ Services provided by local education agencies, as described in Attachment
3.1- A, section 24g, and Attachment 3.1-8, section 23g.

▪ Breast and cervical cancer treatment services, including but not limited
to diagnostic, screening, and treatment services related to breast and
cervical cancer, as described in Attachment 3.1-A, sections 2a and Sa.

▪ Family planning services and supplies, as described in Attachment 3.1-A,
item 4c, provided by the Family Planning, Access, Care, and Treatment
(Family PACT) Program.

▪ Hospice services, as described in Attachment 3.1-A, section 18.
▪ For dates of service on or after January 1, 2022, durable medical equipment

classified as complex rehabilitation technology and complex rehabilitation
technology services, as described in Attachment 3.1-A, sections 2.a - 2.d
under "Outpatient hospital services," and section 7.c under "Medical
supplies, equipment, and appliances suitable for use in the home."

▪ For dates of services on or after July 1, 2022, the following services are
exempt from the payment reductions specified in paragraphs (6) through
(13):

TN. No. 22-0039 
Supersedes  
TN No. 22-0022     Approval Date:  Effective Date:  July 1, 2022 December 16, 2022

The payment reductions specified in paragraphs (6) through (13) do not apply to supplemental 
payments and only apply to the basic Medi-Cal reimbursement rate.

Federally qualified health center services, described in Attachment 3.1-A,
sections 2c and 2d, 
including those facilities deemed to have federally
qualified health center status pursuant 
to a waiver under subdivision (a) of
Section 1115 of the federal Social Security Act.

The payment reductions specified in paragraphs (6) through (13) apply only to those services 
described in Attachment 3.1-A entitled, Amount, Duration, and Scope of Medical and 
Remedial Care and Serviceﾷ Provided to the Categorically Needy and Attachment 3.1-8 
entitled, Amount, Duration and Scope of Services Provided Medically Needy Group(s), 
which are billed to the Department directly by the provider that rendered the service.

Rural health clinic services, as described in Attachment 3.1-A. section 2b.

The payment reductions specified 
in paragraphs (6) through 
(13), set forth on pages 3.1 
through 3.4 do not apply to the 
following provider types and services:

Payments to facilities owned or operated by the State Department of Mental
Health for psychology 
services, as defined in Attachment 3.1-A, section 6d.1
or to the State Department 
of Developmental Services for targeted case
management services, as defined 
in Attachment 3.1-A, section 19.
Services provided by local education agencies, as described in Attachment
3.1- A, section 24g, 
and Attachment 3.1-8, section 23g.

Family planning services and supplies, as described in Attachment 3.1-A,
item 4c, provided by the Family Planning, 
Access, Care, and Treatment
(Family PACT) Program.

Breast and cervical cancer treatment services, including but not limited
to diagnostic, screening, and treatment 
services related to breast and cervical cancer, as described in Attachment 3.1-A, sections 2a and Sa.

Hospice services. as described in Attachment 3.1-A. section 18.

For dates of service on or after January 1, 2022, durable medical equipment
classified as complex 
rehabilitation technology and complex rehabilitation
technology services, as described 
in Attachment 3.1-A, sections 2.a- 2.d
under "Outpatient hospital services," and section 
7.c under "Medical
supplies, equipment, and appliances suitable for use in the home."

For dates of services on or after July 1, 2022, the following services are
exempt 
from the payment reductions specified in paragraphs (6) through
(13):
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• Nurses, including certified nurse-midwives, nurse anesthetists, certified
pediatric nurse practitioners, certified family nurse practitioners, and group
certified pediatric nurse practitioners.

• Alternative Birthing Centers
• Audiologists/hearing aid dispensers
• Respiratory care providers
• Durable Medical Equipment (DME)
• Chronic dialysis clinics
• Emergency medical air transportation services
• Non-emergency medical transportation services
• Doula services
• Community health worker services
• DME and related supplies or accessories, that is a continuous glucose

monitoring system or continuous glucose monitoring system supplies and
accessories

• Physician services and services by other licensed practitioners delivered via
remote patient monitoring (RPM)

• Asthma prevention services
• Dyadic services
• Medication therapy management services
• Clinical laboratory services, that are 2019 novel coronavirus disease

(COVID-19) diagnostic testing or specimen collection services
• Blood Banks
• Occupational Therapy
• Orthotists
• Psychologists
• Medical Social Work or Medical Social Services
• Speech pathologists
• Outpatient heroin detoxification services
• Dispensing opticians
• Optometrists, including optometry groups
• Acupuncturist
• Portable imaging services
• The following primary care or specialty clinics:

• Community clinics
• Free clinics
• Surgical clinics
• Rehabilitation clinics
• Clinics exempt from licensure under Section 1206 of the Health and

Safety Code, including non-hospital county-operated community
clinics.

• Services provided under the California Children’s Services Program and
under the Genetically Handicapped Persons Program

▪ For dates of services on or after January 1, 2023, the following services are
exempt from the payment reductions specified in paragraphs (6) through
(13):

• Podiatrists
• Prosthetists

TN. No. 22-0039 
Supersedes  
TN No. NEW     Approval Date: Effective Date: July 1, 2022 December 16, 2022

Services provided under the California Children�s Services Program and under the Genetically Handicapped Persons Program

For dates of services on or after January 1, 2023, the following services are exempt 
from the payment reductions specified in paragraphs (6) through (13): 
" Podiatrists " Prosthetists
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 
STATE: California 

(17) The effect of the payment reductions in paragraphs (6) through (13) will be
monitored in accordance with the “Fee-For-Service Medi-Cal Program Health Care
Access Monitoring Plan” that is published at

https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/formsandpubs/laws/Pages/Access_Pub_Notice.aspx.

(18) For dates of service on or after April 1, 2012, the payment reductions specified in
paragraph (13), at page 3.3, do not apply to Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic,
and Treatment (EPSDT) services, as described in Attachment 3.1-A, section 4b, when
those services are provided and billed by Pediatric Day Health Care facilities.

(19) For dates of service on or after October 20, 2012, the payment reduction specified in
paragraph (13), set forth on page 3.3, does not apply to audiology services, as
described in Attachment 3.1-A, section 11c (entitled, “Amount, Duration and Scope of

Medical and Remedial Care and Services Provided to the Categorically Needy”), when

those services are provided by a Type C Communication Disorder Center located in
California counties of Alameda, San Benito, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, San Francisco,
and Sonoma. A Type C Communication Disorder Center is an identified team in a
health care provider office or facility capable of providing audiological evaluation,
hearing aid evaluation and speech-language remediation, comprehensive assessment
and aural rehabilitative management to children of all ages.

(20) For dates of service on or after August 31, 2013, the payment reduction specified in
paragraph (13), set forth on page 3.3, will not apply to nonprofit dental pediatric
surgery centers which provide at least 99 percent of their dental procedure under
general anesthesia to children with severe dental disease under the age of 21.

(21) For dates of service on or after December 1, 2013, the payment reduction specified in
paragraph (13), set forth on page 3.3, will not apply to dental pediatric surgery centers
provided that they serve at least 95 percent of their Medi-Cal beneficiaries under the
age of 21.

   TN No 22-0039 
   Supersedes      Approval Date:  Effective Date: July 1, 2022 
   TN No 13-015  

December 16, 2022

https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/formsandpubs/laws/Pages/Access_Pub_Notice.aspx
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 
STATE:  California 

TN No. CA-24-0052  
Supersedes Approval Date: December 13, 2024                      Effective Date: January 1, 2025 
TN No. CA-22-0003        

(22) For dates of service on or after July 1, 2015, the payment reduction specified in paragraph (13),
set forth on page 3.3, does not apply to dental services and applicable ancillary services provided
to beneficiaries of all ages.

(23) For dates of service on or after July1, 2022, the payment reductions specified in paragraph (13),
at page 3.3, do not apply to Community Health Worker Services, as described on page 3N of this
Attachment.

(24) For dates of service on or after July 1, 2022, the payment reductions specified in paragraph (13),
at page 3.3, do not apply to Asthma Preventive Services, as described on page 3O of this
Attachment.

(25) For dates of service on or after January 1, 2025, the payment reductions specified in paragraph
(13), at page 3.3, do not apply to Enhanced Community Health Worker Services, as described on
page 3N.1 of this Attachment.
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 
State: California 

REIMBURSEMENT METHODOLOGY FOR ESTABLISHING REIMBURSEMENT 
RATES FOR DURABLE MEDICAL EQUIPMENT, ORTHOTIC AND PROSTHETIC 
APPLIANCES, AND LABORATORY SERVICES 

1. The methodology utilized by the State Agency in establishing Medi-Cal fee-for-service
reimbursement rates for durable medical equipment as described in State Plan Attachment
3.1-A, paragraph 2a, entitled "Hospital Outpatient Department Services and Organized
Outpatient Clinic Services", and Paragraph 7c.2, entitled "Home Health Services Durable
Medical Equipment", will be calculated by the Department of Health Care Services (DHCS)
using the following methodology:

(a) Reimbursement for the rental or purchase of durable medical equipment with a
specified maximum allowable rate established by Medicare, except wheelchairs,
wheelchair accessories, wheelchair replacement parts, and speech-generating
devices and related accessories, shall be the lesser of the following:

(1) The amount billed in accordance with California Code of Regulations, Title
22, section 51008.1, entitled "Upper Billing Limit", that states that bills
submitted shall not exceed an amount that is the lesser of the usual
charges made to the general public or the net purchase price of the item
(as documented in the provider's books and records), plus no more than
a 100 percent mark-up. (Refer to Reimbursement Methodology table at
page 3e.)

(2) For dates of service on or after January 1, 2023, the rate in effect on the
Medi-Cal Fee Schedule for the current calendar year, shall be the lowest
of the following:

i. The rate in effect on the Medi-Cal Fee Schedule as of December
31 of the preceding calendar year;

ii. 80 percent of the allowable rate for California established by the
federal Medicare program for the same or similar item or service,
as provided under the Medicare rural fee schedule for Durable
Medical Equipment, Prosthetics, Orthotics, and Supplies in the
current calendar year. (Refer to Reimbursement Methodology
Table at page 3e.)

iii. If a Medicare rural rate is not available, 80 percent of the allowable
rate for California established by the federal Medicare program for
the same or similar service, as provided under the Medicare non-
rural fee schedule for Durable Medical Equipment, Prosthetics,
Orthotics, and supplies in the current calendar year will be used.

(3) Effective January 1, 2023, and on January 1 of each year thereafter,
DHCS will adjust rates exceeding 80 percent of the corresponding rate on
the Medicare rural fee schedule for Durable Medical Equipment,
Prosthetics, Orthotics, and Supplies down to 80 percent of the
corresponding rate on the Medicare fee schedule. Any rate that does not
exceed 80 percent of the Medicare rate will not be adjusted.

TN: 23-0003 
Supersedes   Approval Date:   Effective Date: January 1, 2023 
TN: 20-0005 

June 12, 2023

The rate in effect on the Medi-Cal Fee Schedule as of December 31 of the preceding calendar year; ii. 80 percent 
of the allowable rate for California established by the

80 percent of the allowable rate for California established by the federal Medicare program 
for the same or similar item or service, as provided under the Medicare rural fee schedule 
for Durable Medical Equipment, Prosthetics, Orthotics, and Supplies in the current 
calendar year. (Refer to Reimbursement Methodology Table at page 3e.) iii. If a Medicare 
rural rate is not available, 80 percent of the allowable

If a Medicare rate is not available, 80 percent of the allowable rate for California established 
by the federal Medicare program for the same or similar service, as provided under 
the Medicare non- rural fee schedule for Durable Medical Equipment, Prosthetics, Orthotics, 
and supplies in the current calendar year will be used.
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 
State: California 

(b) Reimbursement for the rental or purchase of a wheelchair, wheelchair accessories,
wheelchair replacement parts, and speech-generating devices and related
accessories, with a specified maximum allowable rate established by Medicare
shall be the lowest of the following:

(1) The amount billed in accordance with California Code of Regulations, Title
22, Section 51008.1 entitled "Upper Billing Limit", that states that bills
submitted shall not exceed an amount that is the lesser of the usual
charges made to the general public, or the net purchase price of the item
(as documented in the provider's books and records), plus no more than
100 percent mark-up. (Refer to Reimbursement Methodology Table at
page 3e.)

(2) For dates of service on or after January 1, 2023, the rate in effect on the
Medi-Cal Fee Schedule for the current calendar year, shall be the lowest
of the following:

i. The rate in effect on the Medi-Cal Fee Schedule as of December
31 of the preceding calendar year;

ii. 100 percent of the allowable rate for California established by the
federal Medicare program for the same or similar item or service,
as provided under the Medicare rural fee schedule for wheelchairs,
wheelchair accessories, wheelchair replacement parts, and
speech-generating devices and related accessories in the current
calendar year. (Refer to Reimbursement Methodology Table at
page 3e.)

iii. If a Medicare rural rate is not available, 100 percent of the
allowable rate for California established by the federal Medicare
program for the same or similar service, as provided under the
Medicare non-rural fee schedule for Durable Medical Equipment,
Prosthetics, Orthotics, and Supplies in the current calendar year
will be used.

(3) Effective January 1, 2023, and on January 1 of each year thereafter,
DHCS will adjust rates exceeding 100 percent of the corresponding rate
on the Medicare rural fee schedule for wheelchairs, wheelchair
accessories, wheelchair replacement parts, and speech-generating
devices and related accessories down to 100 percent of the
corresponding rate on the Medicare fee schedule. Any rate that does not
exceed 100 percent of the Medicare rate will not be adjusted.

TN: 23-0003 
Supersedes    Approval Date:  Effective Date: January 1, 2023 
TN: NEW 

June 12, 2023

The rate in effect on the Medi-Cal Fee Schedule as of December 31 of the preceding calendar year; ii. 100 percent 
of the allowable rate for California established by the

100 percent of the allowable rate for California established by the federal Medicare program 
for the same or similar item or service, as provided under the Medicare rural fee schedule 
for wheelchairs, wheelchair accessories, wheelchair replacement parts, and speech-generating 
devices and related accessories in the current calendar year. (Refer to 
Reimbursement Methodology Table at page 3e.) iii. If a Medicare rural rate is not available, 
100 percent of the

If a Medicare rural rate is not available, 100 percent of the allowable rate for California 
established by the federal Medicare program for the same or similar 
service, as provided under the Medicare non-rural fee schedule for Durable 
Medical Equipment, Prosthetics, Orthotics, and Supplies in the current 
calendar year will be used.

For dates of service on or after January 1, 2023, the rate in effect on the Medi-Cal Fee 
Schedule for the current calendar year, shall be the lowest of the following: i. The 
rate in effect on the Medi-Cal Fee Schedule as of December 31 of the preceding 
calendar year; ii. 100 percent of the allowable rate for California established 
by the federal Medicare program for the same or similar item or service, 
as provided under the Medicare rural fee schedule for wheelchairs, wheelchair 
accessories, wheelchair replacement parts, and speech-generating devices 
and related accessories in the current calendar year. (Refer to Reimbursement 
Methodology Table at page 3e.) iii. If a Medicare rural rate is not available, 
100 percent of the allowable rate for California established by the federal 
Medicare program for the same or similar service, as provided under the Medicare 
non-rural fee schedule for Durable Medical Equipment, Prosthetics, Orthotics, 
and Supplies in the current calendar year will be used.
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(c) Reimbursement for the rental or purchase of all durable medical equipment billed
to the Medi-Cal program utilizing HCPCS codes with no specified maximum
allowable rate (either non-covered by Medicare or Medicare did not establish a
reimbursement rate), except wheelchairs, wheelchair accessories, and wheelchair
replacement parts, shall be the lowest of the following:

(1) The amount billed in accordance with California Code of Regulations, Title
22, section 51008.1 entitled "Upper Billing Limit", that states that bills
submitted shall not exceed an amount that is the lesser of the usual
charges made to the general public, or the net purchase price of the item,
(as documented in the provider's books and records) plus no more than
100 percent mark-up. (Refer to Reimbursement Methodology Table at
page 3e.)

(2) The actual acquisition cost plus a markup to be established by the State
Agency based on rate studies and periodic reviews to provide a
reasonable reimbursement and maintain adequate access to care. (Refer
to Reimbursement Methodology Table at page 3e.)

(3) The manufacturer's suggested retail purchase price, documented by a
printed catalog or hard copy of an electronic catalog page published on a
date defined by Welfare and Institution Code section 14105.48, reduced
by a percentage discount of 20 percent. (Refer to Reimbursement
Methodology Table at page 3e.)

(d) Reimbursement for the rental or purchase of wheelchairs, wheelchair accessories,
and wheelchair replacement parts billed to the Medi-Cal program utilizing codes
with no specified maximum allowable rate (either non-covered by Medicare or
Medicare did not establish a reimbursement rate) shall be the lowest of the
following:

(1) The amount billed in accordance with California Code of Regulations, Title
22, section 51008.1 entitled "Upper Billing Limit", that states that bills
submitted shall not exceed an amount that is the lesser of the usual
charges made to the general public, or the net purchase price of the item,
(as documented in the provider’s books and records) plus no more than
100 percent mark-up. (Refer to Reimbursement Methodology Table at
page 3e.)

(2) The actual acquisition cost plus a markup to be established by the State
Agency based on rate studies and periodic review to assure adequate
reimbursement and access to care. (Refer to Reimbursement
Methodology Table at page 3e.)

TN 23-0003 
Supersedes   Approval Date:  Effective Date: January 1, 2023 
TN: 20-0005 

June 12, 2023
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(3) The manufacturer's suggested retail purchase price, documented by a
printed catalog or a hard copy of an electronic catalog page published
on a date defined by Welfare and Institutions Code section 14105.48,
reduced by a percentage discount of 20 percent, or by 15 percent if the
provider employs or contracts with a qualified rehabilitation professional.
(Refer to Reimbursement Methodology at page 3f.)

(e) Reimbursement for the purchase of all durable medical equipment supplies and
accessories without a specified maximum allowable rate (either non-covered by
Medicare or Medicare did not establish a reimbursement rate), and which are not
described in subparagraphs (a)-(d) above, shall be the lesser of the following;

(1) The amount billed in accordance with California Code of Regulations,
Title 22, section 51008.1 entitled (“Upper Billing Limit", that states that
bills submitted shall not exceed an amount that is the lesser of the usual
charges made to the general public, or the net purchase price of the item
(as documented in the provider's books and records) plus no more than
100 percent mark-up. (Refer to Reimbursement Methodology Table at
page 3e.)

(2) The acquisition cost for the item, plus a 23 percent markup. (Refer to
Reimbursement Methodology Table at page 3f.)

(f) Reimbursement for DME considered to be Oxygen and Respiratory equipment,
with a specified maximum allowable rate established by Medicare, shall be the
lowest of the following:

(1) The amount billed in accordance with California Code of Regulations,
Title 22, Section 51008.1 entitled “Upper Billing Limit,” that states that
bills submitted shall not exceed an amount that is the lesser of the usual
charges made to the general public, or the net purchase price of the item
(as documented in the provider’s books and records), plus no more than
100 percent mark-up.

(2) The reimbursement rates in effect, as follows:
i. Effective for the dates of service on or after January 1, 2023,

reimbursement rates will be established based upon the rates in
effect and approved in the State Plan as of December 31, 2022.

ii. Effective dates of service on or after January 1, 2024, the
reimbursement rates will be the rates in effect on the Medi-Cal Fee
schedule for the current calendar year, which shall be the lowest of
the following:

1. The rate in effect of the Medi-Cal Fee schedule as of
December 31 of the preceding calendar year; or

2. 100 percent of the allowable rate for California established
by the federal Medicare program for the same or similar item
or service, as provided under the Medicare rural fee
schedule for Durable Medical Equipment, Prosthetics,
Orthotics, and Supplies in the current calendar year

TN 23-0003 
Supersedes   Approval Date:  Effective Date: January 1, 2023 
TN: 22-0073 

June 12, 2023

Reimbursement for DME considered 
to be Oxygen and Respiratory 
equipment, with a specified 
maximum allowable rate 
established by Medicare, shall 
be the lowest of the following:



Attachment 4.19-B 
Page 3c.1 

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 
State: California 

3. If a Medicare rural rate is not available, 100 percent of the
allowable rate for California established by the federal
Medicare program for the same or similar item or service,
as provided under the Medicare non-rural fee schedule for
Durable Medical Equipment, Prosthetics, Orthotics, and
Supplies in the current calendar year will be used.

2. Except as otherwise noted in the State Plan, state-developed fee schedule rates
established in accordance with Attachment 4.19-B, beginning on page 3a, are the same
for both governmental and private providers of DME and the fee schedule.

3. Except as otherwise noted in the State Plan, state-developed fee schedules are the
same for both governmental and private providers of prosthetic and orthotic appliances
as described in State Plan Attachment 3.1-A, paragraph 12c, entitled "Prosthetic and
Orthotic Appliances."

TN 23-0003 
Supersedes   Approval Date:  Effective Date: January 1, 2023 
TN: 22-0073 

June 12, 2023
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TN: 23-0019 
Supersedes  
TN: 22-0053  Approval Date: __________  Effective Date: July 1, 2023 

4. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2023, reimbursement rates for
clinical laboratory or laboratory services as described in State Plan Attachment 3.1-
A, page 1, paragraph 3, entitled “Other Laboratory and X-ray services,” will be
established using the following methodology:

a) The reimbursement rate for clinical laboratory or laboratory services shall
be the lowest of the following:

(1) The amount billed;
(2) The charge to the general public;
(3) The rate in effect on the Medi-Cal fee schedule for the current state

fiscal year, which shall be the lowest of the following:
i. The rate in effect on the Medi-Cal fee schedule as of June 30 of

the previous state fiscal year; or
ii. 100 percent of the lowest maximum allowance established by the

federal Medicare Clinical Laboratory fee schedule and Medicare
Physician fee schedule effective January 1 of the previous state
fiscal year for the same or similar service.

(4) Beginning on July 1, 2023, and every three years thereafter, the
weighted average of the lowest amount that third-party payers are
paying for the same or similar services, but no less than 70 percent
of the Medicare Clinical Laboratory rate and Medicare Physician rate
effective January 1 of the previous state fiscal year for the same or
similar service.

b) The ten percent payment reductions included in Attachment 4.19-B, page
3.3, paragraph (13), shall apply to the new rates established using the
methodology described  paragraph (a).

(1) For dates of services on or after July 1, 2022, clinical laboratory
services that are 2019 novel coronavirus disease (COVID-19)
diagnostic testing or specimen collection services are exempt from the
ten percent payment reductions described in paragraph (13) on page
3.3 of this Attachment.

c) Except as otherwise noted in the State Plan, state-developed fee schedules
are the same for both governmental and private providers of clinical
laboratory or laboratory services.  All Medi-Cal Fee-for-Service rates are
published at:
https://mcweb.apps.prd.cammis.medi-cal.ca.gov/rates

November 8, 2023

https://mcweb.apps.prd.cammis.medi-cal.ca.gov/rates

Approval Date: November &, 2023Approval Date: November, 2023

The reimbursement rate for clinical laboratory or laboratory services shall be the lowest of the following: 
(1) The amount billed; (2) The charge to the general public; (3) The rate in effect on the Medi-Cal 
fee schedule for the current state fiscal year, which shall be the lowest of the following: i. The 
rate in effect on the Medi-Cal fee schedule as of June 30 of the previous state fiscal year; or ii. 
100 percent of the lowest maximum allowance established by the federal Medicare Clinical Laboratory 
fee schedule and Medicare Physician fee schedule effective January 1 of the previous state 
fiscal year for the same or similar service. (4) Beginning on July 1, 2023, and every three years 
thereafter, the weighted average of the lowest amount that third-party payers are paying for the 
same or similar services, but no less than 70 percent of the Medicare Clinical Laboratory rate and 
Medicare Physician rate effective January 1 of the previous state fiscal year for the same or similar 
service. b) The ten percent payment reductions included in Attachment 4.19-B, page

The amount billed;

The ten percent payment reductions included in Attachment 
4.19-B page 3.3, paragraph (13), shall apply 
to the new rates established using the methodology 
described paragraph (a).
Except as otherwise noted in the State Plan, state-developed fee schedules are the same for both governmental 
and private providers of clinical laboratory or laboratory services. All Medi-Cal Fee-for-Service 
rates are published at: https://mcweb.apps.prd.cammis.medi-cal.ca.gov/rates https://mcweb.apps.prd.cammis.medi-cal.ca.gov/rates

The charge to the general public;

For the dates of on or after July 1, 2022, clinical laboratory services that are 2019 novel 
coronavirus disease (COVID-19) diagnostic testing or specimen collection services 
are exempt from the ten percent payment reductions described in paragraph 
(13) on page 3.3 of this Attachment.

The rate in effect on the Medi-Cal fee schedule 
for the current state fiscal year, which 
shall be the lowest of the following:

Beginning on July 1, 2023, and every three years thereafter, the weighted average 
of the lowest amount that third-party payers are paying for the same or similar 
services, but no less than 70 percent of the Medicare Clinical Laboratory rate 
and Medicare Physician rate effective January 1 of the previous state fiscal year 
for the same or similar service.
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Reimbursement Methodology Table 

Paragraph Effective Date Percentage/Methodology Authority 
1(a)(1), 
(b)(1), (c)(1), 
(d)(1), (e)(1) 

August 28, 2013 No more than 100 percent markup California Code of 
Regulations, title 22, 
section 51008.1 

1(a)(2), (a)(3) January 1, 2023, 
and on January 1 
of each year 
thereafter 

Does not exceed 80% of the 
allowable rate for California 
established by the federal 
Medicare program for the same 
or similar item or service, as 
provided under the Medicare rural 
fee schedule for Durable Medical 
Equipment, Prosthetics, 
Orthotics, and Supplies 
Any rate that does not exceed 80 
percent of the Medicare rate will 
not be adjusted. 

California Welfare 
and Institutions Code 
section 14105.48 

1(b)(2), (b)(3) January 1, 2023, 
and on January 1 
of each year 
thereafter 

Does not exceed 100% of the 
allowable rate for California 
established by the federal 
Medicare program for the same or 
similar item or service, as provided 
under the Medicare rural fee 
schedule for wheelchairs, 
wheelchair accessories, 
wheelchair replacement parts, and 
speech-generating devices and 
related accessories. 
Any rate that does not exceed 100 
percent of the Medicare rate will 
not be adjusted. 

California Welfare 
and Institutions Code 
section 14105.48 

1(c)(2) November 1, 
2003 

The acquisition cost plus a 
67% markup 

Rate Study 

1(c)(3) November 1, 
2003 

The manufacturer’s suggested 
retail purchase price reduced by 
percentage discount of 
20% 

California Welfare 
and Institutions Code 
section 14105.48 

1(d)(2) January 1, 2004 The acquisition cost plus a 67% 
markup 

Rate Study 

TN: 23-0003 
Supersedes   Approval Date: Effective Date: January 1, 2023 
TN: 20-0005 

June 12, 2023
Effective Date: January 1, 2023Approval Date: June 12, 2023 Effective Date: January 1, 2023 
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Supersedes 
TN: 20-0010  Approval Date: _________  Effective Date: July 1, 2021 

Paragraph Effective Date Percentage/Methodology Authority 
1(d)(3) January 1, 2004 The manufacturer’s suggested retail 

purchase price reduced by a 
percentage discount of 20%, or by 
15% if the provider employs or 
contracts with a qualified 
rehabilitation professional 

California 
Welfare and 
Institutions Code 
section 14105.48 

1(e)(2) October 1, 2003 The acquisition cost plus a 23% 
markup 

California 
Welfare and 
Institutions Code 
section 14105.48 

3 July 1, 2015 As referenced in Attachment 4.19-
B, Page 3c, Paragraph Number 3 

California Welfare 
and Institutions 
Code section 
14105.21 

December 14, 2022Approval Date: December 14, 2022Approval Date: December 14, 2017
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TN No: 22-0073 Approval Date: __________ Effective Date:  July 1, 2023 

Reimbursement Methodology Table 

Paragraph Effective Date Percentage/Methodology Authority 

4  July 1, 2023 The reimbursement rates shall be the 
lowest of the following: (1) The amount 
billed; (2) The charge to the general 
public; (3) The rate in effect on the Medi-
Cal fee schedule for the current state 
fiscal year, which shall be the lowest of 
the following: (i) The rate in effect on the 
Medi-Cal fee schedule as of June 30 of 
the previous state fiscal year. (ii) 100% of 
the lowest maximum allowance 
established by the federal Medicare 
Clinical Laboratory fee schedule and 
Medicare Physician fee schedule effective 
January 1 of the previous state fiscal year 
for the same or similar service; (4) 
Beginning on July 1, 2023, and every 
three years thereafter, the weighted 
average of the lowest amount that third-
party payers are paying for the same or 
similar services, but no less than 70 
percent of the Medicare Clinical 
Laboratory rate and Medicare Physician 
rate effective January 1 of the previous 
state fiscal year for the same or similar 
service. 

California 
Welfare and 
Institutions 
Code sections 
14105.22 and 
14105.222  

1(f)(2) January 1, 
2023 

Reimbursement rates will be established 
based upon the rates in effect and 
approved in the State Plan as of 
December 31, 2022. 

California 
Welfare and 
Institutions 
Code section 
14105.48 

1(f)(2) January 1, 
2024 

Reimbursement rates will be the rates in 
effect on the Medi-Cal Fee schedule for 
the current calendar year, which shall be 
the lowest of the following:  

i) The rate in effect on the Medi-

California 
Welfare and 
Institutions 
Code section 
14105.48 

November 8, 2023Approval Date: November 8, 2023Approval Date: November 8, 2023 Effective Date: July 1, 2023
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Paragraph Effective Date Percentage/Methodology Authority 

Cal Fee Schedule as of 
December 31 of the preceding 
calendar year; or 

ii) 100 percent of the allowable
rate for California established
by the federal Medicare
program for the same or
similar item or service, as
provided under the Medicare
rural fee schedule for Durable
Medical Equipment,
Prosthetics, Orthotics, and
Supplies in the current
calendar year

November 8, 2023Approval Date: November 8, 2023
Approval Date: November 8, 2023
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REIMBURSEMENT METHODOLOGY FOR ESTABLISHING REIMBURSMENT RATES FOR EVALUATION 
AND MANAGEMENT CODES USED FOR COMPREHENSIVE FAMILY PLANNING 
SERVICES

99201 99211 99202 | 99203 
'  R LR S e ���� 
. � - - - e T  99204 
[ 99214

Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state developed fee schedule 
rates are the same for both governmental and private providers 
of services.

http://files.medi-cal.ca.qov/pubsdoco/rates/rateshome.asp

The following are Evaluation and Management 
codes used for comprehensive family 
planning services:99201

TN No 08-006  Supersedes 
TN No. 
NONE

99211

Approval Dat￩l UN

The agency�s rates for the Evaluation and Management codes specified 
in #2 that are used for comprehensive family planning services 
were set as of January 1, 2008, and are effective for services 
on or after that date. The basic rate for Evaluation and Management 
codes is posted on the Medi-Cal Rates website at:

As 
of January 1, 2008, reimbursement for Evaluation and Management 
codes used for comprehensive family planning services 
as specified in #2 above is based on the Evaluation and Management 
codes base rate plus 99.9 percent.

99202

Effective Date Jan 1, 2008

99212
99203 99213

99204 99214

The agency�s rates for the Evaluation and Management codes specified in 
#2 that are used for comprehensive family planning services were set as 
of January 1, 2008 and are effective for services on or after that date. The 
basic rate for Evaluation and Management codes is posted on the Medi-Cal 
Rates web site at:  http://ffiles.medi-cal.ca.gov/pubsdoco/rates/rateshome.asp 
 As of January 1, 
2008, reimbursement for Evaluation and Management codes used for comprehensive 
family planning services as specified in #2 above is based 
on the Evaluation and Management codes base rate plus 90.9 percent,

99201 99211
99202 99212
99203 99213
99204 99214

Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state developed fee
schedule rates 
are the same for both governmental and private
providers of services.

Approval Date: June 17 2009

The following are Evaluation and Management codes used for
comprehensive 
family planning services:
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STATE: CALIFORNIA

REIMBURSEMENT FOR CLINICAL LABORATORY OR LABORATORY SERVICES

1) For dates of service on and after July 1, 2012, payments for clinical laboratory or
laboratory services will be reduced by ten percent. This payment reduction is in

addition to the ten percent payment reductions included in 4. 19B, page 3. 3, 

paragraph ( 13). 

2) The payment reduction specified in paragraph ( 1) set forth on this page 3h does

not apply to the following: 

Family planning services and supplies, as described in Attachment
3. 1 - A, item 4c, provided by the Family Planning, Access, Care, and
Treatment ( Family PACT) Program. 

Outpatient Hospital Services, as described in Attachment 3. 1 - A, item 2a

further defined in California Code of Regulations, Title 22, section

51112.) 

TN No 12 -028

Supersedes Approval Date Effective Date July 1, 2012
TN No None

REIMBURSEMENT FOR CLINICAL LABORATORY OR LABORATORY SERVICES 

Approval Date April 3, 2015
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

STATE: California

REIMBURSEMENT METHODOLOGY FOR HEARING AID SERVICES

1) Definitions: 

a) Billed Amount: Includes actual product cost and related provider costs that

include, but are not limited to, shipping, handling storage, and delivery. 

b) Retail Price: The usual and customary price charged to consumers for a
particular product or service. 

c) Wholesale Cost: The unit price, or " the single unit" price as identified in the

manufacturer's wholesale catalog, not including taxes, rebates and
discounts. 

2) Reimbursement for hearing aid services as specified in the State Plan, 
Attachment 3. 1 - A entitled, " Amount, Duration, and Scope of Medical and

Remedial Care and Services Provided to the Categorically Needy" and in
Attachment 3. 1 - B entitled, " Amount, Duration and Scope of Services Provided to

Medically Needy Groups," item 12c., entitled, " Prosthetic devices and hearing
aids," will be subject to the following limitations: 

a) The reimbursement rate for hearing aids shall be the lowest of the
following: 

1) The maximum allowable amount established by the Department of
Health Care Services ( Department). 

2) The one -unit wholesale cost, plus a markup determined by the
Department. 

3) The billed amount. 

b) The reimbursement rate for hearing aid supplies and
accessories shall be the lowest of the following: 

1) The retail price. 

2) The wholesale cost, plus a markup determined by the Department. 
3) The billed amount. 

TN No. 11 - 030

Supersedes Approval Date Effective Date: November 1, 2011

TN No. None

The reimbursement rate for hearing 
aids shall be the lowest of 
the following:

Reimbursement for hearing aid services as specified 
in the State Plan, Attachment 3.1-A entitled, 
�Amount, Duration, and Scope of Medical 
and Remedial Care and Services Provided 
to the Categorically Needy� and in Attachment 
3.1-B entitled, �Amount, Duration and 
Scope of Services Provided to Medically Needy 
Groups,� item 12c., entitled, �Prosthetic devices 
and hearing aids,� will be subject to the following 
limitations

The reimbursement rate for hearing aid supplies 
and accessories shall be the lowest 
of the following:

The billed amount.
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

STATE: California

c) The reimbursement rate for molds or inserts shall be the lower of the

following: 

1) The maximum amount allowable established by the Department. 
2) The billed amount. 

d) The reimbursement for repairs, subsequent to the

guarantee period, shall be the lower of the following: 

1) The invoice cost plus a markup determined by the Department. 
2) The billed amount. 

3) Hearing aid services, as specified in the State Plan, Attachment 3. 1 - A entitled, 
Amount, Duration, and Scope of Medical and Remedial Care and Services

Provided to the Categorically Needy" and Attachment 3. 1 - B entitled, "Amount, 

Duration and Scope of Services Provided to Medically Needy Groups," item 12c., 

entitled " Prosthetic devices and hearing aids," are subject to a " benefit cap
amount" of $ 1, 510. The "benefit cap amount" is the maximum amount of
Medi -Cal coverage for hearing aid services for each beneficiary, for each fiscal
year, as specified in California Welfare and Institutions Code section 14131. 05

as in effect on November 1, 2011). 

Among the exceptions set forth in California law, the hearing aid " benefit cap
amount" does not apply to the following: 

a) Replacement of hearing aids that are lost, stolen, or irreparably
damaged due to circumstances beyond the beneficiary's control. 

b) Pregnancy - related benefits and benefits for the treatment of other
conditions that might complicate the pregnancy. 

c) Beneficiaries under the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and
Treatment Program. 

TN No. 11 - 030

Supersedes Approval Date Effective Date: November 1, 2011

TN No. None

Hearing aid services, as specified in the State Plan, Attachment 3.1-A 
entitled, �Amount, Duration, and Scope of Medical and Remedial 
Care and Services Provided to the Categorically Needy� and 
Attachment 3.1-B entitled, �Amount, Duration and Scope of Services 
Provided to Medically Needy Groups,� item 12c., entitled �Prosthetic 
devices and hearing aids,� are subject to a �benefit cap 
amount� of $1,510. The �benefit cap amount� is the maximum 
amount of Medi-Cal coverage for hearing aid services for each 
beneficiary, for each fiscal year, as specified in California Welfare 
and Institutions Code section 14131.05 (as in effect on November 
1, 2011).  Among the exceptions set forth in California law, 
the hearing aid �benefit cap amount� does not apply to the following:
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

STATE: California

4) The State Agency's rates for the services, as discussed on pages 3i and 3i. 1, 
were posted as of May 15, 2013, and are effective for dates of service on or after
that date. The rates for these services are posted on the Medi -Cal Rates website

at: http: / /files.medi- cal. ca. gov /pubsdoco /rates /rateshome.asp

TN No. 11 - 030

Supersedes Approval Date Effective Date: November 1, 2011

TN No. None

http://files.medi-cal.ca.gov/pubsdoco/rates/rateshome.asp

The State Agency's rates for the services, as discussed on pages 3i and 3i.1, were posted 
as of May 15, 2013, and are effective for dates of service on or after that date. The 
rates for these services are posted on the Medi-Cal Rates website at:  http:/files.medi-cal.ca.gov/pubsdoco/rates/rateshome.asp
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

STATE: California

REIMBURSEMENT METHODOLOGY FOR ENTERAL FORMULAE

1) Reimbursement for enteral formulae, in accordance with California Welfare

and Institutions Code section 14105. 85, and as described in the State Plan

Limitations in Attachment 3. 1 - A entitled, " Amount, Duration, and Scope of

Medical and Remedial Care and Services Provided to the Categorically
Needy," and Attachment 3. 1 - B entitled, " Amount, Duration and Scope of

Services Provided to Medically Needy Groups," will be based on the

estimated acquisition cost for that product plus a percentage markup
determined by the department. 

2) The State Agency' s rates for the services listed in this section were posted as
of May 15, 2013, and are effective for dates of service on or after that date. 
The rates for these services are posted on the Medi -Cal Rates website at: 

http: // files. medi - cal. ca. gov /pubsdoco / rates /rateshome. asp. 

TN No. 11 - 030

Supersedes Approval Date Effective Date: November 1, 2011

TN No. None

http://files.medi-cal.ca.gov/pubsdoco/rates/rateshome.asp.



TN: 22-0006 
Supersedes 
TN: 21-0009  Approval Date: ___________ Effective Date: January 1, 2022 
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 
STATE:  California 

REIMBURSEMENT METHODOLOGY FOR RADIOLOGY SERVICES 
__________________________________________________________________ 

1) Except as otherwise noted in the State Plan, state-developed fee schedules are
the same for both governmental and private providers of radiological services.
Effective January 1, 2022, the department’s fee schedule rates for radiology
services will be adjusted. All Medi-Cal Fee for Service rates are published at:
https://files.medi-cal.ca.gov/rates/rateshome.aspx

2) Effective January 1, 2022, the reimbursement rates for radiology services will
continue to be set at no more than 80 percent of the corresponding Medicare
2022 Physician Fee Schedule rates. Any rate at or below 80 percent of the
applicable Medicare rate will not be decreased.

April 29, 2022

https://files.medi-cal.ca.gov/rates/rateshome.aspx

Approval Date: April 29, 2022Approval Date: April 29, 2022
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 
STATE: California 

REIMBURSEMENT METHODOLOGY FOR TELEHEALTH SERVICES DELIVERED 
VIA REMOTE PATIENT MONITORING 

1. The reimbursement rates for physician services and services by other licensed practitioners
described in Sections 1905(a)(5)(A), 1905(a)(6), 1905(a)(17), and 1905(a)(21) of the Act,
and as described in State Plan Attachments 3.1-A and 3.1-B, delivered via remote patient
monitoring will be calculated by the Department of Health Care Services (DHCS) using the
following methodology:

a. For dates of service on or after July 1, 2021, the reimbursement rates for services
delivered via remote patient monitoring are established at the lowest of the following:

i. the amount billed,
ii. the charge to the general public, or
iii. 80 percent of the corresponding Medicare 2021 Physician Fee Schedule rates

for the same or similar service.
b. The payment reductions, described in paragraphs (6) through (13), set forth on pages

3.1 through 3.4 of this Attachment, shall apply to reimbursement for services delivered via
remote patient monitoring as described in this section. For dates of service on or after
July 1, 2022, the payment reductions described in paragraphs (6) through (13), set
forth on pages 3.1 through 3.4 of this Attachment shall no longer apply to services
delivered via remote patient monitoring as described in this section.

c. The DHCS fee schedule rates are set as of July 1, 2021 and are effective for services
provided on or after that date. All Medi-Cal Fee-For-Service rates for services
delivered via remote patient monitoring are published at: https://files.medi-
cal.ca.gov/rates/rateshome.aspx.

 TN No. 22-0039 
      Supersedes 

 TN No. 21-0048  Approval Date:  Effective Date: July 1, 2022 December 16, 2022

https:/files.medi-cal.ca.gov/rates/rateshome.aspx.
https:/files.medi-cal.ca.gov/rates/rateshome.aspx.
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TN: 22-0010 
Supersedes 
TN: 22-0013 Approval Date:  ____________ Effective Date: January 1, 2022 

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 
STATE: California 

REIMBURSEMENT METHODOLOGY FOR BIO-ENGINEERED SUBSTITUTE 
(SKIN GRAFT) CODES 

______________________________________________________________ 
1. Notwithstanding any other provision of this Attachment, the methodology utilized

by the State Agency in establishing reimbursement rates for bio-engineered
substitutes (skin graft), as described in State Plan Attachment 3.1-A and 3.1-B, will
be calculated by the Department of Health Care Services (DHCS) using the
following methodology:

a. For dates of service on or after January 1, 2022, the reimbursement rates
shall be the lowest of the following:

i. the amount billed
ii. the charge to the general public
iii. the rate in effect on the Medi-Cal Fee schedule for the current rate

year, which shall be the lowest of the following:
1. the rate in effect on the Medi-Cal Fee schedule as of

December 31 of the preceding rate year.
2. 100 percent of the corresponding lowest maximum Medicare

Average Sales Price (ASP) rate, for the same or similar
service provided in the current rate year.

a. The rate described in paragraph 1.a.iii.2 may be
adjusted to keep the Medi-Cal rate below 100 percent
of the lowest maximum allowance established by the
federal Medicare program, if in calculating the Medi-Cal
rate, the conversion indicator or conversion factor used
to calculate a unit value results in a rate greater than
100 percent.

b. The ten percent payment reduction included in paragraph (13) on page 3.3
of this Attachment, shall apply to the services described in this section.

February 1, 2023Approval Date: February 1. 2023Approval Date: February 1.2023
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TN: 22-0001 
Supersedes 
TN: 22-0013           Approval Date: July 26, 2022    Effective Date: July 1, 2022 

 
STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 

STATE: California 
 

REIMBURSEMENT METHODOLOGY FOR  
COMMUNITY HEALTH WORKER SERVICES 

______________________________________________________________ 
 

1. Notwithstanding any other provision of this Attachment, the methodology utilized 
by the State Agency in establishing reimbursement rates for Community Health 
Worker (CHW) services, as described on pages 18e-18g of the Limitations on 
Attachment 3.1-A, will be calculated by the Department of Health Care Services 
(DHCS) using the following methodology: 

a. For dates of service on or after July 1, 2022, the reimbursement rates shall 
be the lowest of the following:  

i. the amount billed, 
ii. the charge to the general public, or 
iii. 80 percent of the lowest maximum allowance established no earlier 

than July 1, 2022 by the federal Medicare program for the same or 
similar item or service.  

1. The rate described in paragraph 1.a.iii may be adjusted to 
keep the Medi-Cal rate below 80 percent of the lowest 
maximum allowance as established on July 1, 2022 by the 
federal Medicare program, if in calculating the Medi-Cal rate, 
the conversion indicator or conversion factor used to calculate 
a unit value results in a rate greater than 80 percent. 

b. The services described in this section is exempt from the ten percent 
payment reduction described in paragraph (13) on page 3.3 of this 
Attachment. 

c. All Medi-Cal Fee-For-Service rates for CHW services established using this 
methodology can be found at: https://files.medi-
cal.ca.gov/rates/rateshome.aspx 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

the amount billed.
ii. the charae to the aeneral public. or

iii. 80 perce;n( of the lowest maximum allowance 
established no earlier
than July 1, 2022 
by the federal Medicare program for the same 
or
similar item or sarvice

Approval Date: July 26, 2022

1.

The rate described in paragraph 1.a.iii may be adjusted to
keep the 
Medi-Cal rate below 80 percent of the lowest
maximum allowance as established 
on July 1, 2022 by the
federal Medicare program, if in calculating 
the Medi-Cal rate,
the conversion indicator or conversion factor 
used to calculate
a unit value results in a rate greater than 80 percent.

The rate described in paragraph 1.a.iii may be adjusted to keep the Medi-Cal rate below 
80 percent of the lowest maximum allowance as established on July 1, 2022 by 
the federal Medicare program, if in calculating the Medi-Cal rate, the conversion indicator 
or conversion factor used to calculate a unit value results in a rate greater than 
80 percent.

The services described in this section is exempt from the ten percent payment reduction described 
in paragraph (13) on page 3.3 of this Attachment.

80 percent of the lowest maximum allowance established 
no earlier than July 1, 2022 by the federal 
Medicare program for the same or similar 
item or service.

https:/files.medi-cal.ca.gov/rates/rateshome.aspx.
https:/files.medi-cal.ca.gov/rates/rateshome.aspx.
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 
STATE: California 

TN No. CA-24-0052 
Supersedes           Approval Date: December 13, 2024  Effective Date: January 1, 2025 
TN No. NEW           

PAYMENT METHODOLOGY FOR ENHANCED COMMUNITY HEALTH WORKERS SERVICES  

A. GENERAL APPLICABILITY
Payment for enhanced community health worker services provided by Eligible Providers will be
limited to the fee schedule developed by the State.

B. DEFINITIONS
“Enhanced Community Health Worker Services” means services as defined in Attachment 3.1-A of this
state plan, delivered to a population with enhanced clinical risk factors or high-acuity health needs.
These services support members with behavioral health needs and are available only to members that
meet State’s criteria for access to the specialty mental health services and/or specialty substance use
disorder delivery systems.

“Eligible Provider” means a public or private provider enrolled in the Medi-Cal program and certified 
to provide Enhanced Community Health Worker Services as those services are defined in Attachment 
3.1-A of this state plan.  

“Home Health Agency Market Basket Index” means the IHS Global Inc. CMS Market Basket Index 
Levels for Home Health Agencies.  

C. ENHANCED COMMUNITY HEALTH WORKER SERVICES PAYMENT METHODOLOGY
1. The State pays Eligible Providers of Enhanced Community Health Worker Services on a fee for

service basis pursuant to a fee schedule established by the State.  Eligible providers submit
claims for enhanced community health worker services using appropriate Current Procedure
Terminology (CPT®) codes.  The fee schedule contains a rate for each County where the
eligible provider is located.

2. The fee schedules that are effective for services provided on or after January 1, 2025, July 1,
2025, and annually thereafter, are posted to the following
webpage: https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/services/MH/Pages/medi-cal-behavioral-health-fee-
schedules-main.aspx

3. The July 1, 2025 fee schedule will be equal to the January 1, 2025 fee schedule increased by the
percentage change in the Home Health Agency Market Basket Index from 2025 Quarter 1 to
2025 Quarter 3.

4. The State will annually increase the per-unit rates for Enhanced Community Health Worker
Services effective July 1, 2025, by the percentage change in the four-quarter average Home
Health Agency Market Basket Index.  The updated rates will be posted to the following
webpage annually.  https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/services/MH/Pages/medi-cal-behavioral-health-
fee-schedules-main.aspx
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Attachment 4.19-B Page 
30

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT STATE: CALIFORNIA

REIMBURSEMENT METHODOLOGY FOR ASTHMA 
PREVENTIVE SERVICES

1. Notwithstanding any other provision of this 
Attachment, the methodology
utilized 
by the State Agency 
in establishing reimbursement rates 
for
Asthma Preventive Services, as 
described in State Plan Attachment 3.1-A,
section 
13c, will be calculated by the 
Department of Health Care Services
(DHCS) 
using the following methodology:

https://files.medi-cal.ca.gov/rates/rateshome.aspx

TN: 22-0003 Supersedes 
TN: 22-0013 Approval Date: August 10, 2022

a. For dates of service on or after July 1, 2022, the reimbursement
rates 
shall be the lowest of the following;

Effective Date: July 1, 2022

b. The services described in this section are exempt from the ten per-
cent payment reduction described 
in paragraph (13) on page 3.3 of
this Attachment.

c. All Medi-Cal Fee-For-Service rates for Asthma Preventive Services
established 
using this methodology can be found at:
https://files.medi-cal.ca.gov/rates/rateshome.aspx

the amount billed.
the charae to the aeneral public. or

. 80 perce;nt of the lowest maximum allowance as 
established
on July 1, 2022 by the federal Medical 
program for the same
or similar item or 
service.

1.

The rate described in paragraph 1.a.iii may be ad-
justed to keep the Medi-Cal 
rate below 80 percent of
the lowest maximum allowance as established 
on July
1, 2022 by the federal Medicare program, if in calculat-
ing 
the Medi-Cal rate, the conversion indicator or con-
version factor 
used to calculate a unit value results in a
rate greater than 80 percent.

REIMBURSEMENT METHODOLOGY FOR ASTHMA PREVENTIVE 
SERVICES

https://ffiles.medi-cal.ca.gov/rates/rateshome.aspx

For dates of service on or after July 1, 2022, 
the reimbursement rates shall be the lowest 
of the following;

TN: 22-0003  Supersedes 
TN: 
22-0013

the amount billed,

Approval Date: August 10, 2022 Effective Date: July 1, 2022

The services described in this section are exempt from the ten per- cent payment reduction described 
in paragraph (13) on page 3.3 of this Attachment.

the charge to the general public. or

All Medi-Cal Fee-For-Service rates for Asthma Preventative Services established using this methodology can be found at:

80 percent of the lowest maximum allowance 
as established on July 1, 2022 by 
the federal Medical program for the same 
or similar item or service.

The rate describes in paragraph 1.a.iii may be adjusted to keep the Medi-Cal 
rate below 80 percent of the lowest maximum allowance as established 
on July 1, 2022 by the federal Medicare program, if in calculating 
the Medi-Cal rate, the conversion indicator or conversion factor used 
to calculate a unit value results in a rate greater than 80 percent.
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 
STATE:  CALIFORNIA 

REIMBURSEMENT METHODOLOGY FOR 
LICENSED PHARMACISTS SERVICES  

TN: 22-0013 
Supersedes 
TN: NONE      Approval Date:   Effective Date: January 1, 2022 

______________________________________________________________ 

1. Notwithstanding any other provision in this Attachment, the methodology
utilized by the State Agency in establishing reimbursement rates for Li-
censed Pharmacists Services, as described in Limitations on State Plan At-
tachment 3.1-A pages 12a.7 through 12a.7a and Limitations on State Plan
Attachment 3.1-B pages 12a.7 through 12a.7a, will be calculated by the
Department of Health Care Services (DHCS) using the following methodol-
ogy:

a. Licensed Pharmacists Services, other than Medication Therapy
Management (MTM) Services, are reimbursed at 85 percent of the
current Medicare fee schedule. Payment for Licensed Pharmacist
Services, including Pharmacist delivered MTM, does not include dis-
pensing services outlined in Supplement 2 to Attachment 4.19-B.

i. Reimbursement rates for MTM Services are set as of July 1,
2021 and are effective for services provided on or after that
date. All rates for MTM Services with the associated Current
Procedural Terminology (CPT) billing codes are shown in the
table below:

CPT Code CPT Code Description Reimbursement 
Rate 

99605 Medication therapy management service(s) pro-
vided by pharmacist, individual, face-to-face with 
patient, with assessment and intervention if pro-
vided; new patient visit, initial 15 minutes 

$ 43.00 

99606 Medication therapy management service(s) pro-
vided by pharmacist, individual, face-to-face with 
patient, with assessment and intervention if pro-
vided; established patient visit, initial 15 minutes 

$43.00 

99607 Add-on code for each additional 15-minute incre-
ment 

$32.00 

June 23, 2022

CPT Code

99605 Medication therapy management service(s) pro- vided by pharmacist, 
individual, face-to-face with patient, with assessment and 
intervention if pro- vided; new patient visit, initial 15 minutes

$ 43.00

99607 Medication therapy management services(s) provided by pharmacist, 
individual, face-to-face with patient, with assessment and 
intervention if pro- vided; established patient visit, initial 15 minutes

$43.00

99607 Add-on code for each additional 15-minute incre- ment $32.00 

Notwithstanding any other provision in this Attachment, 
the methodology utilized by the State Agency 
in establishing reimbursement rates for Li- censed 
Pharmacists Services, as described in Limitations 
on State Plan Attachment 3.1-A pages 12a.7 
through 12a.7a and Limitations on State Plan Attachment 
3.1-B pages 12a.7 through 12a.7a, will be calculated 
by the Department of Health Care Services (DHCS) 
using the following methodology:

Licensed Pharmacists Services, other than Medication Therapy Management 
(MTM) Services, are reimbursed at 85 percent of the 
current Medicare fee schedule. Payment for Licensed Pharmacist 
Services, including Pharmacist delivered MTM, does not 
include dispensing services outlined in Supplement 2 to Attachment 
4.19-B.

CPT Code CPT Code Description Reimbursement Rate  

99605 Medication therapy management service(s) pro- vided by pharmacist, 
individual, face-to-face with patient, with assessment and 
intervention if pro- vided; new patient visit, initial 15 minutes

$43.00  

99606 Medication therapy management service(s) pro- vided by pharmacist, 
individual, face-to-face with patient, with assessment and 
intervention if pro- vided: established patient visit, initial 15 minutes

$43.00  

99607 Add-on code for ea￩h additional 15-minute incre- ment $32.00  

    

Reimbursement rates for MTM Services are set as of July 1, 2021 and are 
effective for services provided on or after that date. All rates for MTM Services 
with the associated Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) billing 
codes are shown in the table below:
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 
STATE:  California 

TN: 22-0064 
Supersedes 
TN: 22-0063  Approval Date: Effective Date: October 1, 2022 

REIMBURSEMENT METHODOLOGY FOR GENETIC DISEASE SCREENING 
PROGRAM SERVICES 

1. Newborn Screening (NBS) Program: Notwithstanding any other provision
in this Attachment, effective July 1, 2022, the Department of Health Care
Services (DHCS) will establish the reimbursement rates for the NBS
Program’s Newborn Metabolic Screening Panel (code S3620), as
described in Attachment 3.1-A, section 13c, in accordance with the rate
table below.  The rate for the Newborn Metabolic Screening Panel is
established based on the participation fees providers are charged by the
California Department of Public Health (CDPH) as of July 1, 2022.

Rate Table:
Procedure Code Rate Effective Date 

Newborn Metabolic Screening 
Panel, code S3620 

$211.00 July 1, 2022 

2. Prenatal Screening (PNS) Program: Notwithstanding any other provision in
this Attachment, effective September 19, 2022, the reimbursement rate for
the PNS Program’s Maternal Serum Alpha-Fetoprotein (MSAFP)
Screening (code 82105) and the cell-free DNA (cfDNA) Screening (code
81420) as described in Attachment 3.1-A, section 13c, will be in
accordance with the rate table below. The rate for the MSAFP and cfDNA
Screening is based on the participation fees providers are charged by
CDPH as of September 19, 2022.

Rate Table:
Procedure Code Rate Effective Date 

Maternal Serum Alpha-Fetoprotein 
(MSAFP) Screening Program, code 82105 

$85.00 September 19, 2022 

Cell-Free DNA (cfDNA) Screening 
Program, code 81420 

$232.00 October 1, 2022 

3. The ten percent payment reduction, described in paragraph (13) on page
3.3 of this Attachment, shall apply to reimbursement for this GDSP
services if billed by a non-exempt provider as described on pages 3.4 and
3.5.

4. All Medi-Cal Fee-For-Service rates, including the rate for the Newborn
Metabolic Screening Panel, are published at: https://files.medi-
cal.ca.gov/rates/rateshome.aspx.

_______February 24, 2023___ 

I 

Approval Date: February 24, 2023

Procedure Code Rate Effective Date �

Newborn Metabolic Screening Panel, code S620 $211.00 July 1, 2022

Rate Table:
Procedure Code Rate Effective Date �

Maternal Serum Alpha-Fetoprotein (MSAFP) Screening Program, 
code 82105

$85.00 September 19, 2022

Cell-Free DNA (cfDNA) Screening Program, code 81420 $232.00 October 1, 2022

Approval Date: February 24, 2023

The ten percent payment reduction, described in paragraph (13) on page
3.3 of this Attachment, shall apply to reimbursement for this GDSP services 
if billed by a non-exempt provider as described on pages 3.4 and 3.5.

All Medi-Cal Fee-For-Service rates, including the rate for the 
Newborn Metabolic Screening Panel, are published at:

https:/files.medi-cal.ca.gov/rates/rateshome.aspx
https:/files.medi-cal.ca.gov/rates/rateshome.aspx.
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 
STATE:  California 

REIMBURSEMENT METHODOLOGY FOR NON-EMERGENCY MEDICAL 
TRANSPORTATION 

1. Notwithstanding any other provision in this Attachment, the Department of Health Care
Services (DHCS) will establish the following reimbursement rates for the below Non-
Emergency Medical Transportation (NEMT) services, for dates of service on or after July 1,
2022:

NEMT Service Rate 
Non-emergency transportation: 
wheelchair van $20.30 

Basic Life Support (BLS) mileage 
(per mile) (use for wheelchair and 
litter van transports only) 

$1.50 

a. All Medi-Cal Fee-For-Service rates for NEMT services are published at:
https://files.medi-cal.ca.gov/rates/rateshome.aspx.

TN: 22-0039   Approval Date:  Effective Date: July 1, 2022 
Supersedes 
TN: N/A 

December 16, 2022Approval Date: pecember 16, 2022 Effective Date: July 1, 2022

NEMT Service Rate

Non-emergency transportati wheelchair van $20.30 �

Basic Life Support (BLS) mileage (per mile) (use for wheelchair 
and  litter van transports only,

$1.50

Notwithstanding any other provision in this Attachment, the Department of Health Care Services (DHCS) will establish 
the following reimbursement rates for the below Non- Emergency Medical Transportation (NEMT) services, 
for dates of service on or after July 1, 2022:

https:/files.medi-cal.ca.gov/rates/rateshome.aspx


TN: 22-0062 
Supersedes 
TN: N/A      Approval Date: __________  Effective Date: August 17, 2022 
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 
STATE:  California 

REIMBURSEMENT METHODOLOGY FOR VACCINE ADMINISTRATION TO 
RESPOND TO THE MONKEYPOX PUBLIC HEALTH EMERGENCY 

1. Notwithstanding any other provision in this Attachment, the reimbursement rates
for administration of the Monkeypox (Mpox) vaccine will be established at 100
percent of the corresponding Medicare rate in effect on July 26, 2022 for the
same or similar service, and will be effective beginning August 17, 2022 through
the end of the State public health emergency that was declared on August 1,
2022 as a result of the Mpox outbreak.

a. The services described in this section are exempt from the ten percent
payment reduction described in paragraph (13) on page 3.3 of this
Attachment.

b. All Medi-Cal Fee-For-Service rates for Mpox vaccine services are
published at: https://files.medi-cal.ca.gov/rates/rateshome.aspx.

c. At the conclusion of the State public health emergency, the
reimbursement rates for Mpox vaccine administration will return to the
Medi-Cal Fee-For-Service rates in effect as of July 31, 2022.

February 22, 2023

The services described in this section are exempt from the ten percent payment reduction 
described in paragraph (13) on page 3.3 of this Attachment.

All Medi-Cal Fee-For-Service rates for Mpox vaccine services are published 
at:

At the conclusion of the State public health emergency, the 
reimbursement rates for Mpox vaccine administration will 
return to the Medi-Cal Fee-For-Service rates in effect as 
of July 31, 2022.

https:/files.medi-cal.ca.gov/rates/rateshome.aspx
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TN: 22-0046 
Supersedes 
TN: None     Approval Date: __________   Effective Date: July 1, 2022 

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 
STATE:  CALIFORNIA 

REIMBURSEMENT METHODOLOGY FOR COGNITIVE HEALTH ASSESSMENT 
UNDER THE DEMENTIA CARE AWARE INITIATIVE 

_____________________________________________________________________________________ 

1. Notwithstanding any other provision in this Attachment, the reimbursement rate
for the annual cognitive health assessment for the Dementia Care Aware
initiative, as authorized in Attachment 3.1-A, section 13c, is established as
follows:

a. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2022, the Medi-Cal
reimbursement rate for the annual cognitive health assessment is $29.00.

2. A Medi-Cal provider will only be eligible to receive the reimbursement for the
cognitive health assessment specified in paragraph (1) if the provider completes
the Department of Health Care Services (DHCS) Dementia Care Aware cognitive
health assessment training prior to conducting the assessment.

3. The reimbursement described in paragraph 1(a) is limited to one payment per
calendar year, for a cognitive health assessment provided to an eligible
beneficiary.

4. The ten percent payment reduction, described in paragraph (13) on page 3.3 of
this Attachment, shall apply to these services if billed by a non-exempt provider,
as described on pages 3.4 and 3.5 of this Attachment.

5. Medi-Cal Fee-For-Service rates for the annual cognitive health assessment are
published at https://files.medi-cal.ca.gov/rates/rateshome.aspx.

February 22, 2023Approval Date: February 22,2023Approval Date: February 22, 2023

https:/files.medi-cal.ca.gov/rates/rateshome.aspx
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

STATE: CALIFORNIA

REIMBURSEMENT METHODOLOGY FOR DOULA SERVICES

1. Notwithstanding any other provision of this Attachment, the method- 
ology utilized by the State Agency in establishing Medi- Cal fee -for - 
service reimbursement rates for Doula services, as described in par- 
agraph 13( c) and paragraph 29. b of the Limitations on Attachment
3. 1- A, as well as paragraph 13( c), and paragraph 28. b of the Limita- 
tions on Attachment 3. 1- B, will be calculated by the Department of
Health Care Services ( DHCS) using the following methodology: 

a. For dates of service on or after January 1, 2023, the reim- 
bursement rates for doula services will be established based

on the Medi- Cal Fee - For -Service fee schedule rates in effect

on December 31, 2022, for the same or similar services. 

b. The services described in this section are exempt from the

ten percent payment reduction described in paragraph ( 16) 
on page 3. 4 of this Attachment. 

c. Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state -developed fee
schedule rates are the same for both governmental and pri- 
vate providers of doula services. Medi- Cal Fee -For -Service
rates for Doula services were set as of January 1, 2023, and
are effective for services provided on or after that date. All

rates are published at: https:// files. medi- 

cal. ca. aov/ rates/ rateshome. asax

TN: 22- 0002

Supersedes

TN: None Approval Date: January 26, 2023 Effective Date: January 1, 2023

Attachment 4. 19- B Page 3u 

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 

STATE: CALIFORNIA 

REIMBURSEMENT METHODOLOGY FOR DOULA SERVICES 

Approval Date: January 26, 2023 Effective Date: January 1, 2023

Notwithstanding any other provision of this Attachment, the method- 
ology utilized by the State Agency in establishing Medi- 
Cal fee -for - service reimbursement rates for Doula services, 
as described in paragraph 13( c) and paragraph 29. 
b of the Limitations on Attachment 3. 1- A, as well as paragraph 
13( c), and paragraph 28. b of the Limitations on Attachment 
3. 1- B, will be calculated by the Department of Health 
Care Services ( DHCS) using the following methodology:

Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state -developed fee c. schedule 
rates are the same for both governmental and private providers 
of doula services. Medi- Cal Fee -For -Service rates for 
Doula services were set as of January 1, 2023, and are effective 
for services provided on or after that date. All rates are published 
at:



TN: 22-0066 
Supersedes  
TN: NEW       Approval Date:   Effective Date: January 1, 2023 
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 
STATE:  California 

REIMBURSEMENT METHODOLOGY FOR ACUPUNCTURE SERVICES 

1. Notwithstanding any other provision in this Attachment, effective for dates on or after
January 1, 2023, reimbursement rates for Acupuncture Services, as described in the
Limitations on Attachment 3.1-A, Page 12, will be established as follows:

Rate Table:
Procedure Code Rate Effective Date 
97810 $20.00 January 1, 2023 
97811 $20.00 January 1, 2023 
97813 $20.00 January 1, 2023 
97814 $20.00 January 1, 2023 

a. Except otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are
the same for both governmental and private providers of acupuncture 
services. All Medi-Cal Fee-For-Service rates, including the rates for 
Acupuncture Services, are published at: 
https://files.medi-cal.ca.gov/rates/rateshome.aspx

January 13, 2023

https:/files.medi-cal.ca.gov/rates/rateshome.aspx
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL 
SECURITY ACT  State/Terrirory California

POLICY AND METHODS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT 
RATES (OlhkX 1HAN INPATIENT HOSPITAL, 
AND LONG TERM CARE FACILITIES).  
[SELECTED] 
Case Management Services  See Case Management 
Rates (Attached).

TN No. 20-19 Supercedes 
TN 
No. 38-12

Approval Date MAY 16 1991 Effective Date October 1, 1990

POLICY AND METHODS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT 
RATES (OTHER THAN INPATIENT HOSPITAL, 
AND LONG TERM CARE FACILITIES).
 

[SELECTED] Case Management Services 

See Case Management Rates (Attached).



.. 

Reimbursement Unit of Services 

Attachment 4.19-B 
Page 5 

For client data purposes and research, a case management unit of 
service is defined by OMH as a face-to-face or telephone contact 
with a client, regardless of the length of time. That contact is 
documented in the client ca·se management record and, ul ti.mately, 
reported to the State as part of the Client Data System. For 
purposes of cost analysis, rate development, and reimbursement, 
the case management unit of service is defined as a service 

_ period (accumulated contacts with the client, the client's 
family, significant others, and care provider~: of fifteen 
minutes; partial units of time are rounded to the nearest 
quarter-hour increment. The unit of time serves as the basis for 
reimbursement for both S~ort-Ooyle (State funds only) and SD/MC 
(State funds and FFP). • 

TN No. 88-12 
Supersedes 
TN No. None 

Approval Date "B {z,i l ~ Eff. Date January 1. 1988 

Attachment 4.19-B Page 5

Reimbursement Unit of Services

For client data purposes and research, a case manage￩ment unit of service is defined by DMH as 
a face-to-face or telephone contact with a client, regardless of the length of time. That contact 
is documented in the client case management record and, ultimately, reported to the State 
as part of the Client Data System. For purposes of cost analysis, rate development, and reimbursement, 
the case management unit of service is defined as a service period (accumulated 
contacts with the client, the client's family, significant others, and care providers! of 
fifteen minutes; partial units of time are rounded to the nearest quarter-hour increment. The unit 
of time serves as the basis for reimbursement for both Short-Doyle (State funds only) and SD/MC 
(State funds and FFP).

TN No. 88-12 Supersedes 
TN No. 
None

Approval Date 3/21/89 Eff. Date January 1. 1988 
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