
YOUR HEARING RIGHTS

You only have 120 days to ask for a State fair hearing. The 120 days

starts the date of the County appeal decision notice.

Expedited State Hearings

It usually takes about 90 days from the date of your request to make

a hearing decision. If you think this timing will cause serious

problems with your substance use disorder, including problems with

your ability to gain, maintain or regain important life functions, you

may request an expedited state hearing. To request an expedited

hearing, please check the 1
st

box in the right hand column of this 

page under HEARING REQUEST and include the reason why

you are requesting an expedited hearing. If your expedited

hearing request is approved, a hearing decision will be issued within 

three working days of the date your request is received by the State 

Hearings Division.

To Keep Your Same Services While You Wait for a Hearing

 You must ask for a hearing within 10 days from the date the

County appeal decision notice was mailed.

 Your services will stay the same until a final hearing decision is 

made which is adverse to you, you withdraw your request for a 

hearing, or the time period or service limits for your current 

services expire, whichever happens first.

 You may be held liable for the cost of those benefits if the 

hearing decision upholds the County’s adverse benefit 

determination.

State Regulations Available

State regulations, including those covering state hearings, are 

available at your local county welfare office.

To Get Help

You may get free legal help at your local legal aid office or other 

groups.  You can ask about your hearing rights or free legal aid from 

the Public Inquiry and Response Unit:

Call toll free: 1-800-952-5253

If you are deaf and use TDD, call: 1-800-952-8349

Authorized Representative

You can represent yourself at the state hearing.  You can also be 

represented by a friend, an attorney or anyone else you choose. You 

must arrange for this representative yourself.

Information Practices Act Notice (California Civil Code Section 

1798, et. seq.) The information you are asked to write in on this 

form is needed to process your hearing request.  Processing may be 

delayed if the information is not complete.  A case file will be set up 

by the State Hearings Division of the Department of Social Services.  

You have the right to examine the materials that make up the record 

for decision and may locate this record by contacting the Public 

Inquiry and Response Unit (phone number shown above).

Any information you provide may be shared with the State 

Departments of Health Services and with the U.S. Department of 

Health and Human Services (Authority: Welfare and Institutions 

Code, Section 14100.2)

HOW TO ASK FOR A STATE FAIR HEARING

The best way to ask for a hearing is to fill out this page. Make a 

copy of the front and back for your records.  Then send this page 

to:

State Hearings Division

California Department of Social Services

744 P Street, Mail Station 9-17-37 Sacramento, CA 95814

Another way to ask for a hearing is to call 1-800-952-5253.  If you 

are hearing impaired and use TDD, call 1-800-952-8349.

HEARING REQUEST

I want a hearing because of a Medi-Cal related action by the Drug 

Medi-Cal Organized Delivery System of County.

Check here if you want an expedited state hearing and include 

the reason below.

Here’s why: 

Check here and add a page if you need more space.

My name: (print) 

My Social Security Number: 

My Address: (print)  

My phone number:  

My signature:

Date: 

)(

I need an interpreter at no cost to me. My language or dialect is:

I want the person named below to represent me at this hearing. I

give my permission for this person to see my records and to come

to the hearing for me.

Name

Address 

Phone number:
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