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National Provider Identifier (NPI)

Before getting started in PAVE you must obtain an NPI. The type of NPI 
depends on your business structure:

» Type-1 NPIs are for individuals and sole proprietors. A sole 
proprietorship is a business owned and operated by one person and the 
business and the person are one and the same for income tax reporting.

» Type-2 NPIs are for business entities such as a corporations, LLCs, and 
partnerships, even if you are the only owner of the entity.

If you do not have an NPI, you can obtain one online by visiting the NPPES 
website.

https://nppes.cms.hhs.gov/#/


List of Documents Required Before Starting An 
Application

» Midwives (licensed by the Medical Board of California) are required to 
submit their individual and/or group applications via PAVE under the 
Licensed Midwife Application Information page. 

» If you are submitting a group application, please ensure you also submit 
at least two rendering applications in PAVE in order to form your group. 

» Prior to applying to Me​di-Cal, first check the Medical Board of 
California to ensure you meet all the licensing requirements.

» Next, gather the required documents, as applicable, in order to upload 
them into the PAVE portal.

https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/provgovpart/Pages/MidwifeApplicationInformation.aspx
http://www.mbc.ca.gov/
https://pave.dhcs.ca.gov/sso/login.do?


Other Required Documents 

» Articles of Incorporation (only for corporations)

» State-Issued Identification

» Verification of TIN/EIN with one of the accepted documents: IRS 
Form 8109-C, Form 941, Letter 147-C, or Form SS-4 (confirmation 
notification)

» Business License/Tax Certificate (if required by local government)

» Fictitious Business Name statement (if using a fictitious name)

» Workers’ Compensation Insurance (if required by law)



Exempted Requirements 

» Certain established place of business requirements (CCR, Title 22, 
Section 51000.60(c)(9)):
» Regular and permanently posted business hours
» Is identifiable as a medical/healthcare provider or business, by permanently 

attached signage that identifies the name of the provider or business as 
shown on the application.

» Obtains and maintains Liability insurance coverage, that covers premises 
and operation, in an amount not less than $100,000 per claim, with a 
minimum annual aggregate of not less than $300,000, from an authorized 
insurer pursuant to Section 700 of the Insurance Code.

» Comprehensive (general) liability insurance requirement (CCR, Title 
22, Section 51000.30(f)(2))



Getting Set Up in PAVE for First Time Users

» The following slides are a guide for getting set up in PAVE. For 
additional resources and training, please visit our PAVE 101 
training slides.

https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/provgovpart/Pages/PAVE-101-Training-Slides.aspx


Access PAVE
»Access PAVE by going to https://pave.dhcs.ca.gov/sso/login.do?.

https://pave.dhcs.ca.gov/sso/login.do


PAVE User Sign Up Process

» To begin, click on “Sign Up.”



PAVE User Sign Up Process

» Complete the required information and click, “Next.”



PAVE User Sign Up Process

» You will be prompted to select how you wish to receive the six-digit 
verification code. After selecting the preferred option, click “Next.”



PAVE User Sign Up Process

» Each of the three options provides a verification code that is valid for 
only 15 minutes.



PAVE User Sign Up Process

» Enter the six-digit verification code and click, “Verify.”



PAVE User Sign Up Process

» Once PAVE confirms successful verification, click “Log In.”



PAVE User Sign Up Process

» Now enter your email and password, then click “Log In.”



PAVE Sign Up

» Now that you are set up as a PAVE user, you will need to create your 
PAVE profile which is a workspace where groups or individual 
providers create applications and manage accounts.



PAVE Profile Set Up

» Make sure that you are logged in with your user email and 
password.

» Enter your NPI and click, “Verify.” 
» Once the NPI is verified, you will enter the PAVE Profile name that 

represents your organization and click, “Create my PAVE Profile.”



PAVE Profile 

»Click the PAVE section you wish to access.



Starting a Licensed Midwife Group Application

» In your PAVE profile, click on My 
Applications, then “New 
Application.”

» You will complete a 
questionnaire to start the 
correct application.

» The following slides are a guide 
for how to move through the 
questionnaire to start a Licensed 
Midwife Group application.



Starting a New Application 

»Start the application questionnaire by selecting, “New Application.”



Application Type 

»Select your 
application type as 
a group.



    Group Billing Provider
  

»Be sure to go to the 
bottom of this section 
and mark “Group 
Practice.”



    National Provider Identifier (NPI)

» Here you will add your NPI and then click, “Verify.”



    NPI/Taxonomy

» Check to ensure this information matches 
your business structure and taxonomy.

» To find your taxonomy code, please visit the 
NPPES NPI Registry.

https://npiregistry.cms.hhs.gov/search


Provider Type

»Select your provider type as “Licensed Midwife.”



Languages

»Select your preferred language.



     Verify Information

»Verify you have 
selected the correct 
business structure prior 
to launching the 
application.



Who May Apply and Sign Applications

» DHCS will enroll Licensed Midwives who are sole proprietors or 
professional corporations. 

» Limited Liability Company (LLC), non-profit corporations, or general 
corporations with lay ownership are not eligible for enrollment as 
individuals or groups.

» Rendering applications and individual billing (sole proprietor) 
applications must be signed by the provider themselves.

» Professional corporation applications must be signed by a 
corporate officer.



Signatures on Your Application
Signatures cannot be delegated. CCR, Title 22, Section 
51000.30(a)(2)(B) states:

»Applications shall… “Be signed under penalty of perjury by 
an individual who is the sole proprietor, partner, corporate 
officer, or by an official representative of a governmental 
entity or non-profit organization, who has the authority to 
legally bind the applicant seeking enrollment, or the 
provider seeking continued enrollment, or the provider 
seeking enrollment at a new, additional, or change in 
location, as a Medi-Cal provider.”



Licensed Midwife Group Application

»When the application is 
created, your 
Application ID will be 
generated and 
displayed at the top of 
screen.



Business Profile

»In this section, you will be 
required to provide the  
following information:

• Business/Legal Name
• Entity Type
• Fictitious Business Name 

Permit (if required)
• Tax Identification Number
• Business License/Permits



Business License Requirements

» Business licenses are sometimes called business registration certificates 
or business tax registration certificates.

» Issued by cities and counties.
» Most cities require licenses from all businesses, including:

• Sole proprietor businesses.
• Businesses with no employees.
• Home-based businesses.

» Please check with your city (or with your county if an unincorporated 
area) to confirm their requirements.

» Applications submitted without required business licenses will be 
returned.



Fictitious Business Name Statement (FBNS)

» Also known as a “doing business as” or “DBA” name.
» Only counties issue FBNS.
» For an individual, a FBNS is required when the name of the business 

(dba) does not include the last name (surname) of the owner OR the 
dba implies additional owners. (Such as "Company" or "Associates“).

» For a corporation or limited partnership, a FBNS is required when the 
DBA does not match exactly what is registered with Secretary or 
State.

» Applications submitted without required FBNS will be returned.



Contact Person
»Please ensure the Contact 

Person information is accurate.
»This is the name, email address 

and phone number that will be 
used to contact you during the 
application process if needed.



Delegated Officials
»Review Lucy text for 

information on delegated 
officials.

»You can choose to report one 
or indicate on the application 
that you do not have any.



Report Addresses
»In the address section, you 

must report your service 
address, pay-to address 
and mailing address.

»The service address 
cannot be a PO Box, 
virtual office or mailbox, 
or any other address that 
is used for mail delivery 
only and will be reported 
to the Open Data Portal.



NPI/Taxonomy

»The Taxonomy Code 
associated with your NPI 
will generally pre-
populate. 

»However, you can add or 
remove any Taxonomy 
Codes that are associated 
with your NPI.



Disclosure Section 

»The Disclosure Section 
is where you will report 
all federally required 
information including 
past participation in 
Medicare and/or 
Medicaid, any past 
license discipline, and 
ownership control.



Rendering Providers
»You must have two 

rendering providers to 
meet the requirement to 
enroll as a Medi-Cal 
provider group.

»You must click, “Add 
Rendering” and enter the 
NPI of each individual 
rendering provider.



Rendering Providers 

» If the rendering provider is already enrolled in Medi-Cal, PAVE will 
generate a Rendering Affiliation Form to affiliate the enrolled 
individual with the group.

» If the rendering provider is not enrolled in Medi-Cal, PAVE will 
generate a rendering provider application. This application must be 
completed in addition to the group application and can only be 
signed by the individual rendering provider.

» For more information on the Rendering Application please review 
the Licensed Midwife Rendering Provider Application Training.



New Rendering Application
» A rendering provider is the individual whose services are billable 

through a group.
» Rendering applications can be started in the applications tab by 

clicking on the “New Application” button.
» Rendering applications can also be started while completing a 

group application or individual billing application. 
» In the rendering section of the group Application or individual 

billing application, you can start a new rendering application.
» The Licensed Midwife Rendering Provider Application Training will 

demonstrate a rendering provider application started 
independent of a group or individual billing application.



Claim Payment

»Here you will indicate 
how you would like to 
receive payment for 
claims submitted.

»If you choose EFT, you 
will be required to enter 
your banking information.



Provider Agreement
»You must review the 

Medi-Cal provider 
agreement and agree 
with related Declarations 
prior to electronically 
signing the Medi-Cal 
application. 



Electronic Signature
»In order to electronically 

sign, you must verify the 
last four digits of your 
SSN, birth year and enter 
your PAVE profile 
password.

»Once your application is 
signed, you can submit it.



Messages

»If you have questions related 
to enrollment and/or 
application requirements, 
you can submit messages 
before, during and after the 
application process by 
selecting, “New Message.”



    Incomplete Applications
  

» If your application is incomplete, PED will return it to you 
for corrections. 

» You will be notified via email to log into the PAVE system 
to fix the noted deficiencies in your application.

» Please ensure your information is accurate, complete and 
current.

» Questions related to your application can be submitted 
by selecting the, “New Message” tab. 

» Resubmit your application to PED within 60 days.



    The Enrollment Process
  

» Complete your application in the PAVE portal. 
» DHCS reviews in order of date received.
» The legal allowance for the initial review period is 180 days, but 

DHCS strives to complete initial reviews in a timely manner.



Wrong NPI Type or Number
» Provider has formed a corporation, but submits application with Type 1 NPI.
» Provider is a sole proprietor and submits application with Type 2 NPI.

Failure to Fix All Deficiencies 
» Expired supporting documents.
» Not providing required documentation.
» Application is not signed by an authorized person.

Failure to submit at least two renderings
» “Provider Group” means two or more rendering providers doing business. 

together under a provider number at the same business location.

    Common Denial Reasons
  



» If your application is approved, you will be notified via email to 
log into the PAVE system to receive your Approval Letter.

» If your application is denied, you will be notified via email to log 
into the PAVE system to receive your Denial Letter with Appeal 
Rights.

» For additional help in PAVE, click on the link below to take you to 
the PAVE homepage where you can access Provider Training 
videos and other PAVE Training Slides.

    Status Notification
  

https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/provgovpart/Pages/PAVE.aspx


» For technical assistance with the PAVE system, please direct 
questions to the PAVE Help Desk at (866) 252-1949.

» For Medi-Cal enrollment questions, you can send an email 
inquiry by following this link Provider Enrollment Division (PED) 
(ca.gov) and click on “Inquiry Form.”

» Or, you may contact us at (916) 323-1945.
» For additional help in PAVE, click on the link below to take you 

to the PAVE homepage where you can access Provider Training 
videos and other tutorials.

    Additional Resources
  

https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/provgovpart/Pages/PED.aspx
https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/provgovpart/Pages/PAVE.aspx.


Thank You!
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