Hearing Aid Coverage for
Children Program (HACCP)
Webinar for Families

November 15, 2022



Accessibility

» This presentation will be recorded and posted on DHCS’
HACCP Resources for Families webpage:
https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/services/HACCP/Pages/Families/R
esources.aspx.

» American Sign Language (ASL) interpretation available within
Webex.

» Live captions for today’s webinar are available in English and
Spanish at the link in the chat.



HACCP Overview

» Authority: Budget Act of 2020 and Budget Act of 2022

» State-only benefit
» Expanded eligibility will be effective on January 1, 2023

» Phase | Implementation:

» July 1, 2021, launch
» English and Spanish application materials
» Application available in print and online as a fillable PDF

» Documents incorporate initial feedback from California Children’s
Services (CCS) and pediatric audiology stakeholders



HACCP Overview (Continued)

» Phase |l Implementation — continuing:
» DHCS incorporating stakeholder feedback to optimize documents and
resources
» Materials expanding to threshold languages
» Online application portal (https://haccp.dhcs.ca.qov)
» Additional covered benefits
» Strategic outreach




HACCP Eligibility

» Children 0-17 years of age
» As of January 1, 2023, will include 0-20 years of age

» Must reside in California
» Not otherwise eligible for Medi-Cal
» Not currently enrolled in CCS

» Enrollment requires a valid hearing aid prescription or provider
referral



HACCP Eligibility (Continued)

» Household income under 600% of the federal poverty level (FPL)

2022 Annual
Federal Poverty Level Values
(Rounded up to next higher dollar)

Family 6% 322% ( 600%;
Size

1 $36,150 $43,760 $81,540

2 $48,705 $58,959 $109,860

3 $61,260 $74,157 $138,180

Z $73,815 $89,355 $166,500

Ea Add’l $12,556 $15,199 $28,320




HACCP Eligibility (Continued)

» Does not have other health coverage for hearing aids and

related services
OR

» Has other health coverage that limits annual benefit for hearing
aids to $1,500 or less (effective January 1, 2023)

» Documentation options:

» Denial of coverage notice from other health insurance/coverage
» Explanation of coverage from other health insurance/coverage
» Attestation of no other health insurance/coverage (see application)



Application and Enrollment Process

» Apply online at https://haccp.dhcs.ca.qgov

» Complete the application form on the HACCP webpage:

» https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/services/Pages/HACCP.aspx
» Available in English and Spanish

» Mail or fax your application to HACCP. Please be sure to include all

required documentation:
d Household income
 Existing health coverage (if any)
d Hearing aid prescription or provider referral

» Eligibility will be determined within 10 days from receipt of complete
application. HACCP will confirm your enrollment status by mail.




HACCP Providers

» Once enrolled, find a participating provider:
https://providerca.maximus.com/
or

» If your child is already established with a pediatric hearing aid
provider, you can ask your current provider whether they are

enrolled as a Medi-Cal or CCS provider.

» Enrolled Fee-For-Service (FFS) Medi-Cal providers may submit claims for
covered benefits provided to HACCP clients through the same process they
already use for FFS Medi-Cal and CCS.

» If your provider is not already enrolled in Medi-Cal, they can learn more and
apply online: https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/provgovpart/Pages/PAVE.aspx




HACCP Providers (Continued)

» What to bring to your child’s first appointment:

d HACCP ID card
 Health insurance card(s) if your child has other health coverage

 Documents from earlier appointments (if any), which may include:
* Hearing aid prescription signed by your child’s otolaryngologist or physician

« Medical history and examination notes from your child’s otolaryngologist,
Including medical clearance for hearing aids

* Hearing aid recommendation(s) and audiologic report from your child’s previous
audiologist

d  Any other documents requested by your child’s enrolled provider



HACCP Covered Benefits

» Hearing aids, including assistive listening devices (ALDs) and
surface-worn bone conduction hearing devices (BCHDs)

» Supplies, including ear molds and hearing aid batteries
» Medically necessary hearing aid accessories

» Hearing aid-related audiology and post-evaluation services

» Note: Coverage determinations are based on medical necessity.
There i1s no cap on medically necessary, HACCP-covered benefits.



HACCP Covered Benefits (Continued)

» Specific examples include:

» Hearing aid assessment

» Hearing aid (monaural, binaural)
» Assistive listening device (ALDS)
» Electroacoustic analysis (EAA)

» Real ear measurements

» Ear molds

» Minor hearing aid repairs

» Hearing aid batteries

» For a more comprehensive list, check on DHCS’ HACCP webpage at:
https://www.dhcs.ca.qgov/services/HACCP/Pages/Providers/Guide.aspx.




Treatment Authorization Request
(TAR) Process

» Medi-Cal and HACCP use TARSs to support appropriate use of
covered benefits.

» Some benefits always require a TAR for medical necessity, while

others only require a TAR after a certain quantity.
» Hearing aids always require an approved TAR.

» Ear molds only require a TAR if your child needs more than two ear molds at
a time, or more than four ear molds per year.

» DHCS anticipates responding to most TARs within 30 days of
receipt.



TAR Supporting Documentation

» For new hearing aids, your child’s audiologist needs to include
these documents when they submit the TAR:

J Hearing aid prescription from an otolaryngologist (or the attending
physician when no otolaryngologist is available in the community)

 Signed medical history and physical examination by an
otolaryngologist

J Signed audiologic report and hearing aid evaluation

d Specification of ear to be fitted



Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

* My child qualifies for CCS. Should we switch to HACCP?
No. CCS provides a robust set of hearing aid-related benefits, as well as broader
coverage for related services. If your child is enrolled in CCS, they do not qualify for
HACCP.

« My child has partial insurance coverage for hearing aids. Do they qualify for
HACCP?
No, HACCP currently only covers children who are uninsured, or who have health
insurance with no coverage for hearing aids. Effective January 1, 2023, HACCP wiill
begin enrolling children with up to $1,500 of other health coverage for hearing aids.

« How do | find my insurance plan’s explanation of coverage?
You should have received an explanation of coverage document when you first
enrolled in your plan. You can also call your health plan’s member services to request
they send you a copy.

* My child needs a bone conduction hearing device (BCHD). Are these covered?
Yes, surface-worn BCHDs are covered when medically necessary. BCHDs require
TAR approval.



FAQs (Continued)

* Do parents need to pay out of pocket for HACCP-covered services?
No, providers bill HACCP directly for covered benefits, just like they do for
Medi-Cal/CCS.

* |s authorization needed to see my HACCP-participating audiologist?
While certain audiology services do require a TAR, providers may generally
submit the TAR either before or after the appointment. As a result, the answer
to this question depends on a particular audiologist’s billing policies.

- What happens if my child’s application for HACCP enroliment is denied?
If your child does not qualify for HACCP, you will receive a letter explaining
which eligibility criteria were not met, how to request reconsideration of your
application if you feel there was a misunderstanding or if your circumstances
have changed, and other programs that may help.



FAQs: HACCP Application

 Where on the application should I list myself as the parent/caregiver?
If you are the primary contact for the application, please list yourself in Section 1.

Section 1. Primary Contact

We need one adult in the family to contact if we need more information.
First Name Middle Name Last Name Suffix

 Who do I list in Section 2? How many of my kids should I list if only one needs hearing aid
coverage? For Section 2, please list only the child(ren) needing hearing aid coverage.

 Who do I list in Section 3 (Household)? Please list all family members who live in the home,
including all children under age 21, parent/stepparent, or the spouse of any teenager or pregnant
individual who lives in the home. Do not list aunts, uncles, nieces, nephews, or grandparents.

= Do I list myself? If you live in the home with the child(ren) applying for HACCP and you are one
of the family members listed, yes.

= How many of my kids should | list if only one needs coverage? For Section 3, please list all
children under age 21 who reside in your household. (This is different than Section 2.)

= Where do | list additional family members? If your household includes more than four of the
family members described for Section 3, please add their names and details on a separate
sheet of paper. If you'd like, you can even type and print a second copy of pages 5-6 of the
application form for your additional family members.




Additional Resources

»HACCP webpage: www.dhcs.ca.gov/haccp
»Application
»FInd A Provider
»BIlling Codes
»FAQS

»HACCP Help Center: For questions, please call
1(833) 774-2227 or emaill HACCP@maximus.com







Thank you for joining us today,
and for your interest in HACCP.

Questions?
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