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Accessibility

» This presentation will be recorded and available online, along with
slides from today’s presentation, at:

https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/services/HACCP/Pages/HACCP-Events.aspx.

» To show automated closed captions during today's presentation, click

Show closed captions in the lower-left corner of the Webex
webinar window.

» Today's webinar includes a Question & Answer (Q&8A) session. Kindly let
us know if you have any questions, using the Q&A panel in Webex.


https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/services/HACCP/Pages/HACCP-Events.aspx

HACCP
Provider Manual

»

»

Available online at:
https://mcweb.apps.prd.cammis.
medi-
cal.ca.gov/file/manual?fn=hearac

cp.pdf

February 2025 Update:

The Department of Health Care
Services (DHCS), after
consultation with stakeholders,
has clarified portions of the

coverage and reimbursement
policies for HACCP.
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1

Hearing Aid Coverage for Children Program

_F’age updated February 2025

«(This section contains information about hearing aids and program coverage for the Hearing
Aid Coverage for Children Program (HACCP). For additional information about billing, refer
to the Audiological Services: Billing Codes and Reimbursement Rates, Audiological Services
Billing Example: CMS-1500, Hearing Aids: Billing, Hearing Aids: Billing Example and Other
Health Coverage (OHC) sections of this manual.»

Program Coverage and Criteria

«HACCP is a state-only funded program for children and youth who do not qualify for full
scope Medi-Cal or hearing aid coverage through California Children’s Services (CCS)
Program. Children ages zero to 20 who are not eligible for Medi-Cal may qualify for state-
only coverage of hearing aids and related services through HACCP. Providers may refer to
the Hearing Aid Coverage for Children Program web page for additional information about
eligibility, benefits, and claim authorization.»

Eligibility Requirements

Provider

Only enrolled Medi-Cal providers may submit claims for HACCP-covered benefits. For a
provider to receive reimbursement, the recipient must be enrolled in HACCP on the date of
service. Providers may verify a recipient's HACCP enrollment status in the DHCS
Automated Eligibility Verification System (AEVS) using their HACCP identification number.
For additional information regarding Medi-Cal provider enroliment, refer to the Provider
Guidelines section, in Part 1 of the Medi-Cal Provider Manual.



HACCP Overview

» Authority: Budget Act of 2020 and Budget Act of 2022
- State-only benefit launched July 1, 2021
+ Expanded eligibility effective January 1, 2023

» Program Implementation:

 Based on Medi-Cal Fee-For-Service (FFS) coverage of hearing aid-related benefits for
the same age group (under 21 years old)

» Policies and documents incorporate extensive feedback from California Children’s
Services (CCS) and pediatric audiology stakeholders

* Dedicated support team, provider locator, and online application portal
(https://haccp.dhcs.ca.gov)



https://haccp.dhcs.ca.gov/
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HACCP Eligibility

Children 0-20 years of age
California resident
Household income under 600% of Federal Poverty Level (FPL)

Does not have health coverage for hearing aids:
* Not eligible for Medi-Cal
* Not enrolled in California Children’s Services (CCS) for a hearing-related condition
* If enrolled in a health plan, the plan does not include hearing aids or limits annual
benefits for hearing aids to $1,500 or less

Enrollment requires a referral from a medical provider or hearing professional or
a valid hearing aid prescription
 Resource: Provider Referral for Patient Enroliment (DHCS 8482)



https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/services/HACCP/Documents/Provider-Referral-for-Patient-Enrollment.pdf

HACCP Eligibility (Continued)

Income Eligibility Comparison Chart for 2025

Household Size, Medi-Cal for Kids C-CHIP* HACCP
Including Parents (266% FPL) (322% FPL) (600% FPL)
T $41,629/year $50,393/year $93,900/year
2 $56,259/year $68,103/year $126,900/year
3 $70,889/year $85,813/year $159,900/year
4 $85,519/year $103,523/year $192,900/year

Each Additional

Add $14,630/year

Add $17,710/year

Add $33,000/year

*County Children’s Health Initiative Program (C-CHIP) serves eligible children 18 years of age or
younger in San Mateo, San Francisco, and Santa Clara Counties.

Note: Based on U.S. Department of Health and Human Services’ FPL guidelines. Additional resources

available at: https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/services/HACCP/Pages/Families/Eligibility.aspx.



https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/services/HACCP/Pages/Families/Eligibility.aspx

Provider Manual
Navigation

» HACCP Provider Manual
lists recipient eligibility
requirements, but also
cross-references another
relevant section of the
Medi-Cal Provider
Manual.

 Other Health Coverage
(OHQ)

Recipient
«‘To enroll in HACCP, the following criteria must be met:»

Recipient is under 21 years of age.

Recipient resides in California.

Recipient is not eligible for Medi-Cal.

Recipient is not enrolled in CCS for a hearing-related condition.

tAnnual household income is under 600 percent of the federal poverty level (FPL).

Enrollment requires a referral from a medical provider or hearing professional or a
hearing aid prescription.»

Part 2 — Hearing Aid Coverage for Children Program
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Recipient does not have other health coverage for hearing aids or has other health

coverage with a coverage limit of $1500 or less for hearing aids.

Note: «Refer to the Billing Medi-Cal After OHC section in the Other Health Coverage (OHC)

manual section for information on requesting supplemental HACCP.»


https://mcweb.apps.prd.cammis.medi-cal.ca.gov/assets/9BFF53F7-4808-49EF-8D0C-330CCD652FE9/othhlth.pdf?access_token=6UyVkRRfByXTZEWIh8j8QaYylPyP5ULO

Finding a
Provider Manual

» Provider Manuals are
published on DHCS' Medi-
Cal Providers website,
available at:
https://mcweb.apps.prd.ca
mmis.medi-
cal.ca.gov/publications/man

MHCS | Medi-Cal Providers

ual

» To search for a manual,
select “Manuals” and enter
the title, locator key, or a
keyword in the search bar.

Publications

All Publications <2 News 4© Bulletins ¥ Manuals iR

All Manual Search Results for "ohc"
o ohe

Other Health Coverage (OHC) Guidelines for Billing - Medi-Cal

mcweb.apps.prd.cammis.medi-cal.ca.gov - file » manual
File Format: PDF/Adobe Acrobat
Cost-Avoided OHC and HMO Coverage Codes. If a recipient's OHC code is one of the following and the service

rendered falls within the.

mecweb.apps.prd.cammis.medi-cal.ca.gov - file » manual
File Format: PDF{Adobe Acrobat
Other Health Coverage (OHC) or Medicare. Refer to the Other Health Coverage (OHC). Guidelines for Billing

P -


https://mcweb.apps.prd.cammis.medi-cal.ca.gov/publications/manual
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HACCP Covered Benefits

HACCP covers a full range of hearing aid-related benefits, from evaluation to follow-up:

* Hearing aids, including assistive listening devices (ALD) and surface-worn bone
conduction hearing devices (BCHD)

* Medically necessary hearing aid accessories
» Supplies, including ear molds and hearing aid batteries
* Hearing aid-related audiology and physician services

For a comprehensive list, see the Department of Health Care Services' HACCP Provider
Manual at: https://mcweb.apps.prd.cammis.medi-cal.ca.gov/file/manual?fn=hearaccp.pdf

Coverage determinations are based on medical necessity. There is no cap on HACCP-
covered benefits if medically necessary.


https://mcweb.apps.prd.cammis.medi-cal.ca.gov/file/manual?fn=hearaccp.pdf

HACCP Covered Benefits (Continued)

Covered Benefits

«HACCP covers hearing aids when supplied by a hearing aid dispenser on the prescription
of an otolaryngelogist, or the attending physician (in consultation with the evaluating
otolaryngologist, if possible) when no otolaryngologist is available in the community. An
audioclogical evaluation, including a hearing aid evaluation performed by, or under the
supervision of, the prescribing physician or by a licensed audiologist is required.

Note: In accordance with California Business and Professions Code Chapter 7.5, Article 3,
Section 3365.6, a recipient 16 years old or younger requires the recommendation of a
hearing aid by both a board-certified ololaryngologist and a state-licensed audiologist
within six months of the sale of the hearing aid.

HACCP hearing aid benefits, including sales tax, are limited to $1,510 per recipient per fiscal
year, which can be exceeded based upon medical necessity (documented with an approved
Treatment Authorization Request [TAR]).»

HACCP includes the following benefits:
» Hearing aids, including:
- ttAssistive listening devices (ALDs)
- Surface-worn bone conduction hearing devices (BCHDs)

» «Medically necessary hearing aid supplies and accessories, including ear molds and
hearing aid batteries (both single-use and rechargeable )

» Hearing aid-related audiology and post-evaluation services



HACCP Covered Benefits (Continued)

Procedure Codes

«HACCP covers the following benefits, consistent with Medi-Cal policy, applicable to the
same age group and subject to medical necessity. In addition, the following guidelines apply
when billing HACCP for these procedure codes:

# Supplies needed beyond these limits may be authorized by a TAR. Frequency will be
controlled by the TAR.

» Frequency limitations for BCHDs and related supplies and accessories are per
unilateral BCHD (per esar/side) as such, if requesting binaural/bilateral BCHDs, a TAR
must specify requested quantity as two.»

«BCHDs, Supplies and Accessories Procedure Codes»

Code Description «Authorization and Frequency
Restriction::
L&621" | Zinc air battery for use with cochlear | 96 batteries allowed in each 12 month
implant device and auditory period, per device (192 total per year if

osseointegrated sound processors, | binaural/bilateral BCHDs)».
replacement, each

L8691 | Auditory ossecintegrated device, «TAR required. One replacement allowed
external sound processor, excludes every five years.»
transducerfactuator, replacement

anly, each
L8692 | Auditory ossecintegrated device, «TAR required. One device allowed per
external sound processor, used earlside, every five years.»

without ossecintegration, body
worn, includes headband or other
means of external attachment
L8694 | Auditory osseointegrated device, #TAR required. One replacement allowed
transducerfactuator, replacement every five yearsy

only, each




HACCP Enrollment Process

» Apply online at https://haccp.dhcs.ca.gov

» Required documentation:

1 Household income
1 Existing health coverage (if any)
1 Hearing aid prescription or provider referral

» Eligibility will be determined within 10 days from receipt of a
complete application. HACCP will confirm your enrollment
status by mail.



https://haccp.dhcs.ca.gov/

HACCP Providers

» Once enrolled, find a participating provider:
https.//providerca.maximus.com/
or

» |f an enrolled child is already established with a pediatric hearing aid
provider, is their current provider enrolled as a Medi-Cal provider?
* Enrolled Medi-Cal FFS providers may submit claims for covered benefits

provided to HACCP clients through the same process they already use for
Medi-Cal FFS and CCS.

* If the provider is not already enrolled in Medi-Cal, they can learn more and
apply online: https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/provgovpart/Pages/PAVE.aspx



https://providerca.maximus.com/
https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/provgovpart/Pages/PAVE.aspx

Treatment Authorization Request (TAR)
Process

» Medi-Cal and HACCP use TARs to support appropriate use of
covered benefits.

» Some benefits always require a TAR for medical necessity, while
others only require a TAR after a certain quantity.

 Hearing aids always require an approved TAR.

* Ear molds only require a TAR if your child needs more than two ear molds at a
time, or more than four ear molds per year.

» DHCS anticipates responding to most TARs within 30 days of receipt.



TAR Process (Continued)

» When a TAR is required, it can be submitted for review either before or
after rendering the service, but must be approved prior to submitting the
claim for reimbursement. The claim must include the approved TAR
number.

» Additionally, specific documentation must be included with TARs for the
following categories of benefits:
* New hearing aids
 Replacement of lost, stolen, or damaged hearing aids
 Replacement of old hearing aids that no longer meet the needs of the recipient
 Hearing aid repairs



TAR Process (Continue
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Authorization Required

Authorization is required for the purchase or trial period rental of hearing aids and for repairs
that cost more than $25 per repair service. Claims for individual repair services are not
cumulative when determining the need for authorization.

Note: Refer to the “Programmable or Digital Hearing Aid Systems” section in the Hearing
Aids: Bifling manual section for authorization information on programmable or digital
hearing aid systems.

Refer to the “Hearing Aid Supplies and Accessories for Specific Needs” section in the
Hearing Aids: Billing manual section for authorization infermation on hearing aid
supplies and accessories necessary to meet the specific needs of individual
recipients.

HACCP covers new and replacement hearing aids and accessories as outlined in the
“Covered Benefits™ section above for enrolled participants subject to medical necessity.

#HACCP benefits thal require authorization must use a 50-1 TAR form or an electronic TAR
(eTAR). The TAR shall include documentation that demonstrates the recipient meets the
criteria listed below for the requested item or service.n

To expedite TAR processing, select the special handling code *Hearing Aid Coverage for
Children Program (HACCP)" in the eTAR system. If submitting a 50-1 form, indicate
“HACCP" in the special instructions section to ensure proper routing.

Criteria

#HACCP follows Medi-Cal policy for the same services being provided for the same age
group, including the medical necessity standard for recipients under 21 years of age.»

The pediatric audiologist and otolaryngologist are considered the experts on the medical
needs of the recipient and the technology best suited for the condition. It is the responsibility
of the audiclogist and otolaryngologist to provide justification for medical necessity to
support the request for a hearing aid and accessories.

The determination of whether a service is medically necessary for an individual must be
made on a case-by-case basis, considering the specific hearing needs of the recipient within
the scope of HACCP benefits.



Medical Necessity

» HACCP uses the same standard of medical necessity that applies to Medi-Cal
children the same age:

 Does the requested benefit correct or ameliorate a defect or physical and mental
iliness or condition discovered through screening?
» What is the hearing loss threshold to approve a hearing aid TAR for children?

+ Measurable improvement of your patient’s hearing — with articulated documentation
of the improvement and your clinical reasoning.

+ Traditional standard: booth testing (pure tone average)

* Alternate, non-booth testing may also be clinically appropriate: otoacoustic emissions,
electroacoustic testing



Explanation of Medical Necessity

» If you have test results measuring comparable hearing or
speech perception with and without the hearing aid, or similar,
please share those with us.

» If you are relying on non-testing measures of improved hearing
or speech perception, please articulate your observations and
clinical reasoning to document how this helps your patient.



Explanation of Medical Necessity:
Examples

» Describe the benefits — “The child appears to benefit.

* Insufficient (too vague)

» Solution: Show us why you believe the child benefits from the device. Even a simple
explanation can help us justify the expenditure as a responsible use of taxpayer

dollars.

» Trial and error — “Let’s try it and see if it works.”

* Insufficient (too uncertain)

» Solution: Explain your clinical reasoning why your recommended approach will
successfully benefit the child.

* If truly uncertain, additional testing and evaluation may be needed.



Submitting an eTAR

» TARs may be submitted online (eTAR) on the Medi-Cal Provider website (www.medi-cal.ca.gov).
From the Provider Portal drop-down menu, select Login to Transaction Services. For eTAR
assistance contact: Telephone Service Center (TSC) at (800) 541-5555.

» The most important thing you can do when submitting an eTAR for HACCP is select the "Hearing
Aid Coverage for Children Program (HACCP)" Special Handling code on the Patient Information

page. If the provider does not use this special handling, their TAR will be routed incorrectly and
may result in a denial.

wwnwmedi-cal cagav farteTarteisapt dll = 3 1 {3 s l:‘I‘E]

Patient Infornution

Fienss Enter Patient nformation



https://mcweb.apps.prd.cammis.medi-cal.ca.gov/
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Submitting a Paper TAR

Submitting an eTAR and supporting documentation online is the quickest, most efficient,
cost-effective, and secure way of submitting a TAR.

However, you do have the option of mailing in a paper TAR (50-1 form) and supporting
documentation. Paper TARs should be mailed to:

TAR Processing Center
PO. Box 13029
Sacramento, CA 95813-4029
For paper 50-1 TARs, providers MUST clearly write “HACCP" in the Medical

Justification section of the form. If the provider does not, their TAR will be routed
incorrectly and may result in a denial.

For TAR assistance contact: Telephone Service Center (TSC) at 1 (800) 541-5555



TAR Supporting Documentation

» For new hearing aids, your child’s audiologist needs to include
these documents when they submit the TAR:

1 Hearing aid prescription from an otolaryngologist (or the attending
physician when no otolaryngologist is available in the community)

1 Signed medical history and physical examination by an
otolaryngologist

1 Signed audiologic report and hearing aid evaluation

1 Specification of ear to be fitted



Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) for
Authorization Process & Reimbursement

Does enrollment in HACCP and receipt of the HACCP ID Card identification give implied
authorization for hearing aids and services?
No, enrollment and ID card reflect program acceptance; TAR approval is still required.

Is the authorization tied to a particular center for all services or can a patient/family seek
different services at different centers? If so, can families change providers?

The provider who submits the TAR and receives the TAR authorization must also be the provider
to submit the claim. If the client changes providers, the new provider must submit a new TAR
for any further hearing aid(s) and supplies.

How should providers confirm benefits are active or that hearing aids have not been
provided by another vendor rendering the patient ineligible for new hearing aids until
current hearing aids reach their useful lifetime?

Providers may check AEVS to confirm a patient’s HACCP eligibility. Duplicate hearing aid
requests will be eliminated by the TAR process. If a patient has an HACCP ID card but is not yet
showing up in AEVS, please call the HACCP Help Center to confirm current enrollment.

Will authorizations be issued as a group (similar to CCS’ SCG 04)?
No. However, multiple requests for the same patient and billing provider may be included as
separate line items within the same eTAR submittal.



Reimbursement

» HACCP reimburses providers for covered benefits in accordance with
Medi-Cal FFS rates and reimbursement policies. More information
can be found online:
https://files.medi-cal.ca.gov/Rates/RatesHome.aspx

» For services rendered by audiologists, the Budget Act of 2022
restored full reimbursement rates following prior budget cuts from
Assembly Bill 97 (Chapter 3, Statutes of 2011) which previously
reduced payments by ten percent. Implementation is effective
retroactively to July 1, 2022.


https://mcweb.apps.prd.cammis.medi-cal.ca.gov/rates?tab=rates

Reimbursement
(Continued)

» When an HACCP
member has OHC, such
as through a
commercial health plan,
providers must bill the
member’'s OHC before

submitting a claim to
HACCP,

» See:; OHC Provider
Manual (oth hlth)

oth hith
2
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Medical Supply Claims: OHC Documentation

OHC documentation requirements for providers billing for medical supplies are simplified.
Refer to the Medical Supplies section of the appropriate Part 2 manual for information.

Billing Medi-Cal After OHC

These principles must be followed when billing Medi-Cal after billing OHC:

1.

h

Medi-Cal may be billed for the balance, including OHC copayments, OHC
coinsurance and OHC deductibles. Medi-Cal will pay up to the limitations of the
Medi-Cal program, less the OHC payment amount, if any.

Medi-Cal will not pay the balance of a provider’s bill when the provider has an
agreement with the OHC carrier/plan to accept the carrier's contracted rate as
payment in full.

3. «An EOB or denial letter from the OHC must accompany the Medi-Cal claim.»

4. The amount, if any, paid by the OHC carrier for all items listed on the Medi-Cal claim

form must be indicated in the appropriate field on the claim. Providers should not
reduce the charge amount or total amount billed because of any OHC payment.
Refer to claim form completion instructions in this manual for more information.

5. Medi-Cal approved HCPCS codes, CPT® codes and modifiers should be billed.

>

Do not bill with HCPCS codes, CPT codes or modifiers where OHC paid, but which
Medi-Cal does not recognize or allow.

If services normally require a Treatment Authorization Request (TAR), the related
procedures must be followed. Refer to the TAR Overview section of the Part 1
provider manual for additional information.


https://www.google.com/url?client=internal-element-cse&cx=010484178001567990884:ugksegsbaeo&q=https://mcweb.apps.prd.cammis.medi-cal.ca.gov/file/manual%3Ffn%3Dothhlth.pdf&sa=U&ved=2ahUKEwj_msqj9KqMAxVfHUQIHWc1MukQFnoECAYQAQ&usg=AOvVaw0Q727yKHSIQisx_pQJ1DWf

Claims Submission/Billing Example
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Supporting Guidance to Families

» What we're asking families to bring to their child’s first appointment:

d
d
d

HACCP ID card

Health insurance card(s) if your child has other health coverage

Documents from earlier appointments (if any), which may include:

* Hearing aid prescription signed by your child’s otolaryngologist or physician

* Medical history and examination notes from your child’s otolaryngologist,
including medical clearance for hearing aids

* Hearing aid recommendation(s) and audiologic report from your child’s previous
audiologist

Any other documents requested by your child’s enrolled provider



FAQs from Members & Families

My child is enrolled in CCS. Should we switch to HACCP?

No. CCS provides a robust set of hearing aid-related benefits, as well as
broader coverage for related services. If your child is enrolled in CCS coverage
for a hearing-related condition, they do not qualify for HACCP.

My child has partial insurance coverage for hearing aids. Do they qualify
for HACCP?

Families may apply for supplemental hearing aid-related coverage through
HACCP. Your provider will bill your insurance first.

How do | find my insurance plan’s explanation of coverage?

You should have received an explanation of coverage document when you
first enrolled in your plan. You can also call your health plan’s member
services to request they send you a copy.

My child needs a bone conduction hearing device (BCHD). Are these
covered?

Surface-worn BCHDs are covered when medically necessary. BCHDs require
TAR approval.



FAQs from Members & Families (Continued)

Do parents need to pay out of pocket for HACCP-covered services?
No, providers bill HACCP directly for covered benefits, just like they do for
Medi-Cal/CCS. Please note: If you have partial coverage through a health
insurance plan, your provider must bill your insurance first.

Is authorization needed to see my HACCP-participating audiologist?
While certain audiology services do require a TAR, providers may generally
submit the TAR either before or after the appointment. As a result, the answer
to this question depends on a particular audiologist’s billing policies.

What happens if my child’s application for HACCP enroliment is denied?
If your child does not qualify for HACCP, you will receive a letter explaining
which eligibility criteria were not met, how to request reconsideration of your
application if you feel there was a misunderstanding or if your circumstances
have changed, and other programs that may help.



Additional Resources

» HACCP Help Center
« Call (833) 774-2227

* Translators available
- Video relay, TTY/TTD

 Chat with us online at www.dhcs.ca.gov/HACCP

 English and Spanish

EHCS Chat with us...

+ Can upload documents

* Email HACCP@maximus.com

» HACCP Webpage

* Visit www.dhcs.ca.gov/HACCP to learn more or find a provider.

 Apply online for coverage at https://haccp.dhcs.ca.gov.



http://www.dhcs.ca.gov/haccp
mailto:HACCP@maximus.com
http://www.dhcs.ca.gov/HACCP
https://haccp.dhcs.ca.gov/

Thank you for
joining us!

——

LHCS
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