

State of California—Health and Human Services Agency Department of Health Care Services



Important news about increases to Medi-Cal asset limits

Dear Medi-Cal Applicant:

A new California law raises the total amount of assets (property and money) a person or family can have and still qualify for Medi-Cal. Assets that we count include bank accounts, cash, secondary vehicles and homes, and other financial resources.

Asset limits for Medi-Cal will go up on July 1, 2022

The limits for assets we count when we decide if you qualify for Medi-Cal will go up on **July 1, 2022**. The amounts depend on the number of people in your household:

Number of people in household	Old asset limits	New asset limits
1 person	\$2,000	\$130,000
2 people (formerly "couple")	\$3,000	\$195,000
Each extra person (up to 10 people)	\$150	\$65,000

If you applied for Medi-Cal in the month of June, before June 30, 2022, and your assets were above the old asset limit, your county will decide your eligibility for July 2022 on. If we approved your Medi-Cal on or after July 1, 2022, we will mail you a letter to tell you our decision.

If your assets were above the limit to qualify for Medi-Cal from January 1, 2022 to June 30, 2022 but are below the new asset limit, you may now qualify for Medi-Cal. If you think this is true for you, you can re-apply for Medi-Cal:

- In person or by phone. Go to or call your local county office.
- **By mail or online.** Find the application on the Covered California website at https://www.coveredca.com. Submit the application online or print and mail it to your local county office.

A list of local county offices came with this letter. Or go to the DHCS website at dhcs.ca.gov/col.

Questions?

If you have questions about this change or need help, contact your local county office. For general questions about Medi-Cal, call the Medi-Cal Helpline at **1-800-541-5555**. The call is free.

Thank you,

Department of Health Care Services State of California