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SUBJECT: ERRATA TO ALL COUNTY WELFARE DIRECTORS LETTER 21-14  
 (Reference: All County Welfare Directors Letter 21-14, Emergency 

Message 20014 REV 4) 
 
The purpose of this All County Welfare Directors Letter (ACWDL) erratum is to provide 
counties with updated guidance regarding the income and resource disregards for 
Golden State Stimulus and Golden State Grant payments for Non-Modified Adjusted 
Gross Income (Non-MAGI) Medi-Cal programs. 
 
The Social Security Administration has published Emergency Message-20014 REV 4 
which identifies the Golden State Stimulus I payments, Golden State Stimulus II 
payments, and Golden State Grant Program payments as pandemic related disaster 
assistance and are excluded as income and resources. 
 
Corrections to ACWDL 21-14 are recorded using the following: 

• strike-through for deleted language 
• underline and bolding for adding new language 

 
Below is the language from ACWDL 21-14, with the revisions located on page one, two, 
and three. 
 
Background 
Assembly Bill (AB) 88 (Chapter 12, Statutes of 2021) and Senate Bill (SB) 88 (Chapter 
8, Statutes of 2021) were signed into law, which authorized the Golden State Stimulus 
and the Golden State Grant payments. 
 
Golden State Stimulus I and II 
To qualify for a Golden State Stimulus I payment, recipients must meet all of the 
following five requirements: 

1. Have filed their 2020 taxes 
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2. Is either: 
o A California Earned Income Tax Credit (CalEITC) recipient, or 
o An Individual Tax Identification Number (ITIN) filer who made $75,000 or 

less 
3. Be a California resident on the date payment is issued 
4. Live in California for more than half of the 2020 tax year 
5. Not be eligible to be claimed as a dependent for tax filing purposes 

 
To qualify for the Golden State Stimulus II payment, recipients must meet all of 
the following six requirements: 

1. Have filed their 2020 taxes by October 15, 2021 
2. Had a California Adjusted Gross Income (CA AGI) of $1 to $75,000 for the 

2020 tax year 
3. Had wages of $0 to $75,000 for the 2020 tax year 
4. Been a California resident for more than half of the 2020 tax year 
5. Been a California resident on the date the payment is issued 
6. Not been claimed as a dependent by another taxpayer 

 
For the Golden State Stimulus I payment, depending on the recipient’s qualifications, 
families may receive a one-time payment of $600 or a one-time payment of $1,200. 
These payments will be provided to eligible households shortly after they file their 2020 
tax returns. Payments are anticipated to begin mid-April 2021.  
 
For the Golden State Stimulus II payment, depending on the recipient’s 
qualifications, the amount of the payment received will be a:  

1. $500 payment to qualified recipients who file with a Social Security 
Number, qualified for Golden State Stimulus I, and claimed a credit for one 
or more dependents; or 

2. $600 payment to qualified recipients who file with a Social Security 
Number, did not qualify for Golden State Stimulus I, and did not claim a 
credit for one or more dependents; or 

3. $1,000 payment to qualified ITIN filers who qualified for Golden State 
Stimulus I and claimed a credit for one or more dependents; or 

4. $1,100 payment to qualified recipients who file with a Social Security 
Number, did not qualify for Golden State Stimulus I, and claimed a credit 
for one or more dependents 
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Any questions regarding the qualifications to receive the Golden State Stimulus I and II 
payment should be directed to the State of California Franchise Tax Board. Additional 
information and contact information can be found on the Franchise Tax Board website. 
 
Golden State Grant 
To qualify for a Golden State Grant payment, qualifying groups include the following: 

• A California Work Opportunity and Responsibility to Kids (CalWORKs) 
assistance unit. The CalWORKs assistance unit is the CalWORKs case, not per 
person. 

• A recipient of benefits provided under the Cash Assistance Program for Aged, 
Blind, and Disabled Legal Immigrants (CAPI). 

• A recipient of benefits under the Supplemental Security Income/State 
Supplemental Program (SSI/SSP). 

 
The Golden State Grant will provide qualified recipients with a one-time payment of 
$600. Payments made to CalWORKs assistance units will be issued in the same way as 
the recipient receives their monthly payment – by direct deposit, Electronic Benefit 
Transfer, or by check. The Statewide Automated Welfare Systems (SAWS) will disburse 
the payments to CalWORKs assistance units by mid-April 2021. Additional information 
regarding these payments can be found in California Department of Social Services All 
County Letter No. 21-23. 
 
Information on the timing and method of these payments for SSI/SSP and CAPI 
beneficiaries will be made available on their respective California Department of Social 
Services websites.  
 
Note: It is possible for an individual to qualify for the Golden State Stimulus and the 
Golden State Grant payments. 
 
Policy 
Golden State Stimulus I, Golden State Stimulus II, and Golden State Grant Program 
payments are not federal taxable income and therefore are not counted as income for 
MAGI Medi-Cal eligibility determinations. The CalHEERS application includes existing 
language to alert consumers not to report this payment as income. Additional 
information can be found on the Covered California website. 
 
Effective February 23, 2021, counties must disregard from income and resources 
payments received for either the Golden State Stimulus I, Golden State Stimulus II, or 
the Golden State Grant Program for all Non-MAGI Medi-Cal programs. Retained 
income from these payments shall be disregarded as resources for 12 months following 

Effective February 23, 2021, counties must disregard from income and resources payments received for either the Golden 
State Stimulus I, Golden State Stimulus II, or the Golden State Grant Program for all Non-MAGI Medi-Cal programs. 
[begin strikethrough]Retained income from these payments shall be disregarded as resources for 12 months 
following [end strikethrough]

https://www.ftb.ca.gov/about-ftb/newsroom/golden-state-stimulus/index.html
https://cdss.ca.gov/Portals/9/Additional-Resources/Letters-and-Notices/ACLs/2021/21-23.pdf?ver=2021-03-25-153550-623
https://www.cdss.ca.gov/inforesources/ssi-ssp
https://www.cdss.ca.gov/capi
https://www.coveredca.com/
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receipt. The month the payment is available for use by the recipient is considered the 
month of receipt. 
 
Counties should follow applicable SAWS functional directions on how to record this 
income and track resources retained longer than 12 months. 
 
If you have any questions about this letter or require additional information, please 
contact Derek Soiu Sara McDonald by phone at (916) 345-8061 345-8193 or by email 
at Derek.Soiu@dhcs.ca.gov Sara.McDonald@dhcs.ca.gov. 
 
 
Original Signed By 
 
Sandra Williams, Chief 
Medi-Cal Eligibility Division 

[begin strikethrough] receipt. The month the payment is available for use by the recipient is considered the month of receipt. 
[end strikethrough]

Counties should follow applicable SAWS functional directions on how to record this income [begin strikethrough] and 
track resources retained longer than 12 months. [end strikethrough]
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