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MEDI-CAL ELIGIBILITY FOR THE WORKING DISABLED (250 PERCENT WORKING 
DISABLED PROGRAM) 

Effective April 1, 2000, the 250 Percent Working Disabled program expands Medi-Cal 
eligibility to working disabled individuals who meet certain eligibility conditions such as 
having family countable income less than 250 percent of the federal poverty level (FPL). 

This letter provides information and draft Procedures for implementing the new 
250 Percent Working Disabled (WD) program, effective April 1, 2000.  New forms have 
been developed for this program and are currently in process within the Department of 
Health Services (DHS). While these forms are under development, we have developed 
similar forms that are included as part of the draft Procedures and which counties may 
copy and use until the new forms are available from the DHS warehouse. We will let 
counties know when these new forms are stocked in the warehouse and are ready for 
ordering. 

BACKGROUND 

To promote self-sufficiency and encourage the disabled to seek employment 
opportunities without fear of losing essential health care, Section 4733 of the federal 
Balanced Budget Act of 1997, Public Law 105-33, established a new optional 
categorically needy group known as the working disabled, which allows states to 
provide Medicaid coverage to certain working disabled individuals. 

California recently enacted legislation to adopt this federal option (Assembly Bill 155, 
Chapter 820, Statutes of 1999, Migden.) The State elected to impose a monthly 
sliding-scale premium for eligibles, with a minimum payment of $20 and a maximum 
payment of $250 per month per individual. Combined monthly sliding-scale premiums 
ranging from $30 to $375 are imposed for eligible couples. DHS, not the counties, will 
be responsible for collection of such premiums. Share of cost Medi-Cal provisions are 
not applicable to the 250 Percent WD program. 
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The 250 Percent WD Program establishes Medi-Cal eligibility for certain working 
disabled individuals such as those whose family’s net nonexempt income is less than 
250 percent of the FPL and whose unearned income and resources meet Supplemental 
Security Income and State Supplementary Payment Program (SSI/SSP) requirements. 
Under federal law, states were given the option of adopting more liberal income and 
resource methodologies than used in determining eligibility for SSI/SSP. California 
chose to adopt liberal provisions such as exempting all the disabled individual’s 
disability income and all resources in the form of employer or individual retirement 
arrangements authorized under the Internal Revenue Code. These disregards are 
reflected on the 250 Percent WD income and property eligibility forms included in the 
draft Procedures. 

ELIGIBILTY REQUIREMENTS: 

1. Except for earnings, all applicants must continue to meet the federal definition of 
disability, as defined in federal law, and meet the nonfinancial requirements of 
the Medi-Cal program. Substantial gainful activity is not a consideration in 
determining whether disability exists. 

2. Except for earnings, all applicants must meet the eligibility requirements of the 
SSI/SSP program, though neither prior nor current receipt of SSI/SSP is 
required. 

3. Applicant’s family’s net nonexempt countable income must be less than 
250 percent of the FPL.  Income eligibility will primarily be based on methodology 
used in the SSI program, except that disability income of the applicant is exempt. 
In counting income, “family income” means using the following income: 

- The applicant’s or beneficiary’s own income, except for disability income; 
- The spouse’s income, if the spouse has income above a certain SSI threshold;

 and
 - The parent(s)’ income, if the applicant or beneficiary is a child. 

4. FPLs based on 250 percent FPL 

Effective April 1, 2000, 250 Percent of the FPL for a single individual is $1,740 
per month and $2,344 per month for two persons. (The FPLs generally increase 
each April 1.  Counties are notified by DHS when these FPLs increase.) 
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If the applicant is a single individual or is married but spousal deeming does not 
apply, 250 percent of the FPL for one person is used. If a couple is applying or 
the applicant is married and spousal deeming applies, 250 percent of the FPL for 
two persons is used. 

The FPL limit is not increased by children living in the home. Instructions about 
how to determine whether spousal deeming applies are in Section VI B 4 of the 
Procedures relating to determining whether net nonexempt family income is less 
than 250 percent of the FPL.

 5. All beneficiaries must pay a monthly premium, based on countable income, 
ranging from $20 to $250 for an eligible individual or from $30 to $375 for an 
eligible couple. Note:  If the otherwise eligible individual or couple fails to pay full 
premiums for two consecutive months, he or she will be discontinued by DHS 
with a timely notice of action from the 250 Percent WD program. 

AID CODE: 

Eligibles for the 250 Percent WD program are identified under Aid Code 6G. This is a 
full-scope aid code. There is no other aid codes for this program. 

ALIENS: 

Aliens who are or would be limited to restricted services under a regular Medi-Cal 
program (such as the Medically Needy program) are ineligible under federal 
requirements for the SSI/SSP program. Restricted-scope aliens therefore are ineligible 
for the 250 Percent WD program since one of the 250 Percent WD program’s eligibility 
requirements is that except for earnings, the individual must be eligible for SSI/SSP. 

Aliens listed below who are or could be receiving full-scope services under regular 
Medi-Cal are not eligible for the 250 Percent WD program unless they are lawfully 
residing in the United States and were receiving SSI on August 22, 1996. These aliens 
who were on SSI on August 22, 1996, meet the SSI alien status requirement and must 
continue to be evaluated for the 250 Percent WD program: 
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•  Voluntary Departure (INS Section 242(b)) 
•  Order of Supervision (INA Section 242) 
•  Registry Alien (INA Section 249) 
•  Indefinite Stay of Deportation 
•  Suspension of Deportation (INA Section 244) 
•  In United States with Permission of INS 
•  Deferred Action Status 
•  Indefinite Voluntary Departure 
•  Extended Voluntary Departure 
•  Stay of Deportation (INA Section 106) 
•  Immediate Relative Petition 
•  Application for Adjustment Status 
•  Lawful Temporary Resident 

OVERVIEW: 

County Responsibilities: 

Counties will determine eligibility and the amount of the premium and report this 
information to the Medi-Cal Eligibility Data System (MEDS). The amount of the 
premium is reported in the share of cost field. 

DHS will notify the county by a worker alert whenever an individual in that county is 
discontinued by DHS for failure to pay full premiums for two consecutive months. The 
county must conduct an immediate redetermination as to whether the individual is 
eligible for any other Medi-Cal program and if eligible, report that information to MEDS. 
Neither Ramos nor Edwards will apply. 

DHS Responsibilities: 

DHS is automating to the maximum extent possible the premium payment system. 

Third Party Liability Branch (TPLB): 

TPLB will be responsible for collecting the required premium payments and 
reporting this information to MEDS. 
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Information Technology Services Division (ITSD): 

ITSD will ensure that data changes are made to MEDS so that MEDS tracks the 
premium payments; sends invoices to those reported eligible by the county; 
discontinues (with timely notice) those eligibles who have failed to pay full 
premiums for two consecutive months and informs the county by a worker alert 
when this occurs. 

Medi-Cal Eligibility Branch (MEB): 

MEB will develop and submit the State Plan Amendment to the Health Care 
Financing Administration, prepare regulations, ensure that procedures are 
maintained, and revise forms as necessary. 

INTERIM PROCEDURES: 

Aid Code 6G will be effective mid-March 2000, after MEDS Renewal is run. The 
automated premium payment collection system is not expected to be effective until 
summer 2000. Until such time as that system is implemented, counties will need to 
assist DHS by providing 6G eligibles with the following: 

1. The 250 Percent Working Disabled Program Interim Premium Payment 
Information Notice (See Enclosure 1) which explains about the premiums and 
related requirements; how the interim premium collection process will operate; 
and the interim instructions about making these payment payments. 

2. At least four of the following envelopes that have preprinted invoices with blank 
fields, so beneficiaries can return their payments to DHS. (DHS will be sending 
counties a supply of preaddressed, postage-paid envelopes, with each envelope 
having an invoice preprinted on it.) Each invoice is to cover one month of 
eligibility. Counties must complete one invoice with the following information for 
each month through July 2000, beginning with the month of approval: the month 
for which a premium is due, the amount of the premium, and whether the month 
is one of the three retroactive months of eligibility as provided under Title 22, 
California Code of Regulations, Section 50710. Neither retroactive nor ongoing 
eligibility can begin earlier than April 2000. 
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We have developed an interim notice of action for approvals. (See Enclosure 2.) 
Counties may copy and use this notice until full implementation, when counties will be 
given a different notice of action to use for approvals. All counties must be sure to 
reproduce the notice with the NA BACK 9 on the back. 

WORKING DISABLED PROGRAM COUNTY COORDINATOR: 

Each county needs to provide MEB in DHS with the name, phone number, and address 
of the individual who can be contacted when issues arise about this program or to 
whom information can be sent. This county coordinator information can be e-mailed to 
Mr. Terry Durham, MEB, at Tdurham@dhs.ca.gov or faxed to him at (916) 657-3224. 
The county coordinator is also responsible for ensuring that any premium payments 
misdirected to the county are expeditiously mailed to DHS at: 

Department of Health Services 
Recovery Section 
P.O. Box 225 
Dept 155 
Sacramento, CA 95812-0225 

All eligibility questions regarding the 250 Percent WD program should be directed to 
Mr. Terry Durham (916) 657-2701.  Beginning April 1, 2000, questions relating to the 
collection of premiums should be directed to the DHS Premium Collection Unit at 
(916) 322-0019. 

Sincerely, 

ORIGINAL SIGNED BY 

Angeline Mrva, Chief 
Medi-Cal Eligibility Branch 

Enclosures 

mailto:Tdurham@dhs.ca.gov


Enclosure 1

County Stamp

250 PERCENT WORKING DISABLED PROGRAM 
INTERIM PREMIUM PAYMENT INFORMATION

There are two steps for coverage under the 250 Percent Working Disabled program. First, you must meet the 
eligibility requirements, such as California residency and the income and property tests. Second, once you are 
determined eligible, you must pay a monthly premium to be enrolled so that this program can cover services. 
This program requires that the monthly premium payment amount be paid even if there are no services received 
in that month, just like an insurance program does.

Eligible couples pay a combined monthly premium to be enrolled.

Your County Department of Social Services (CDSS) determines whether you are eligible and the amount of 
your premium. If you are eligible, your CDSS reports your eligibility and premium payment amount to the 
California Department of Health Services (DHS).

Your CDSS will provide you with four preaddressed postage-paid envelopes, with each envelope having an 
invoice preprinted on it, for you to use to make your payments. These payments are to be sent to DHS, NOT to 
your CDSS. If you need additional invoices, please contact your county eligibility worker.

It is very important that you:
- Put your name, address, and Social Security Number on your payment (on your check or money 

order) so DHS can immediately credit it to your account and
- Return your payment to DHS in the preaddressed envelope provided by your county. This will 

ensure expedited processing of the premium payment. Please do not send your payment in cash.

In a few months, the invoices and envelopes will be sent to you by DHS. Please follow the above instructions 
for returning your payments to DHS.

Your coverage will start within two days from the time DHS is notified of your eligibility. The plastic 
Beneficiary Identification Card (BIC) will be used for this program. If you do not have a BIC already, one will 
be issued to you shortly. Take the BIC to your doctor or other Medi-Cal provider when you request medical 
services.

If you have any questions about your eligibility or the amount of your premium, call your CDSS eligibility 
worker at . If you have any questions about the payments you have made or your______________________
account, please call the DHS Premium Collection Unit at (916) 322-0019.
MC 338.Temp 250 percent WD program Interim informing notice 3/8/00
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Enclosure 2

County Stamp

State of California - Health and Human Services Agency

MEDI-CAL
(Interim) NOTICE OF ACTION 
Approval For Benefits as a 250 Percent 
Working Disabled Individual or Couple

Date:

Case No

Worker No:

This affects:

We have reviewed your application/case to see if you are eligible for the 250 Percent Working Disabled 
program. This program allows eligible individuals and couples to pay premiums for full coverage under 
Medi-Cal.

We have determined that beginning / / /, you meet the basic eligibility 
requirements for the 250 Percent Working Disabled program. You are responsible for making premium 
payments for coverage.

_____ ____ ___

The amount of your monthly premium is $ . This is based on your net nonexempt 
income of $  . We have not counted your disability income in making this determination.____________
Payments are due by the 10th of the month.

Pre-addressed, postage-paid envelopes with preprinted invoices for the first few months of your coverage 
are included with this notice. Use these envelopes to return your payments to the California Department 
of Health Services.

TO EXPEDITE PROCESSING OF YOUR PAYMENT, ALSO INCLUDE YOUR NAME AND 
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER ON YOUR PAYMENT WHEN YOU RETURN IT IN THE 
SPECIAL ENVELOPE.

In the next few months, you will be receiving different pre-addressed, color-coded postage paid 
envelopes and invoices directly from DHS, not the county. When you receive them, please begin to 
use them for returning your payments to DHS.

This action is required by Welfare and Institutions Code Section 14007.9.

MC 338.interim NOA 250 Percent Approval Notice of Action - Interim 2/25 7:00
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DRAFT
PROCEDURES

250 PERCENT WORKING DISABLED (WD) PROGRAM

I. BACKGROUND

II. SUMMARY

III. AID CODE/MANAGED CARE INFORMATION

IV. OVERVIEW OF ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS

V. MFBU COMPOSITION

VI. COUNTY RESPONSIBILITY

VII. INKIND SUPPORT AND MAINTENANCE (ISM)
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IX. NOTICE OF ACTION

X. BENEFITS IDENTIFICATION CARD
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ATTACHMENT. INKIND SUPPORT AND MAINTENANCE PAGES 
FROM SECTION 14 OF THE PICKLE HANDBOOK
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250 PERCENT WORKING DISABLED PROGRAM

I. BACKGROUND

Section 4733 of the federal Balanced Budget Act of 1997, Public Law 105-33, created a new 
optional categorically needy group for employed disabled individuals who meet specified 
eligibility requirements as outlined in Part IV below. State law (Assembly Bill 155, 
Chapter 820, Statutes of 1999) directs California to adopt this federal option that expands Medi-
Cal eligibility to certain disabled employed persons.

II. SUMMARY

This new option provides an opportunity for working disabled persons to buy into the Medi-Cal 
Program by paying monthly premiums on a sliding-scale based on nonexempt countable income. 
Premiums will range from a minimum of $20 to a maximum of $250 per month for an eligible 
individual or from $30 to $375 for an eligible couple. The Department of Health Services (DHS) 
Third Party Liability Branch has the responsibility for the collection of such premiums.

An individual who is eligible for this program must meet the premium payment requirements to 
be enrolled for coverage under this program.

III. AID CODES

The aid code for the 250 Percent WD program is 6G. This is a full scope aid code. As explained 
in Section VI below, undocumented aliens are ineligible for the Supplemental Security 
Income/State Supplementary Payment program (SSI/SSP) and therefore are unable to meet the 
250 Percent WD program’s eligibility requirement that except for earnings, the individual must 
be eligible for SSI/SSP. Therefore, undocumented aliens are ineligible for the 250 Percent WD 
program and there are no other aid codes for this program. (Also see Section VI for a description 
of other ineligible aliens.)

The point of service message for Aid Code 6G is: “Recipient Medi-Cal Eligible with No Share 
of Cost.”

Managed Care: Those in aid code 6G will not be allowed to enroll in managed care in counties 
where the Two-Plan, Geographic Managed Care, County Organized Health Systems, or 
Fee-For-Service Managed Care health plan models operate, until the Medi-Cal Managed Care 
Division develops new program rates for this aid code and processes the required contract 
amendments and internal system changes.

Counties will be notified when managed care enrollment for these beneficiaries can begin.

IV OVERVIEW OF ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS

Under the federal option for determining eligibility for the 250 percent program, States were 
given the option of adopting more liberal income and resource methodologies than used in the 
SSI/SSP program. California chose to adopt provisions to exempt the entire working disabled 
individual’s state, federal and private disability income. Also, resources in the form of employer 
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or individual retirement arrangements authorized under the Internal Revenue Code are exempted 
for the disabled person. These disregards are reflected on newly-developed income and property 
eligibility forms.

To be eligible for the 250 Percent WD program, an individual must:

• Without regard to ability to perform Substantial Gainful Activity (SGA) (i.e., even if the 
disabled individual has earnings over $700 per month), continue to meet the federal 
definition of disability as defined in federal law for Social Security disability programs.

• Be otherwise eligible to receive SSI/SSP benefits if earnings are disregarded.

• Have net nonexempt family income less than 250 percent of the FPL.

• Pay a monthly premium based on net countable income.

• Meet all other nonfinancial Medi-Cal eligibility program requirements.

V. MFBU COMPOSITION :

A. An eligible 250 Percent working disabled individual will be in his/her own MFBU. An 
eligible couple will be together in their own MFBU.

B. If there are other family members of the 250 percent working disabled individual/couple
applying for or eligible for Medi-Cal, income from the 250 percent working disabled is 
available to those family members as follows:

TO BE COMPLETED AT A LATER DATE

VI. COUNTY RESPONSIBILITIES:

A. 250 Percent WD Program Coordinator: All County Welfare Departments (CWD) are 
responsible for designating a coordinator, who will oversee program implementation in 
their respective counties. The county coordinator is also responsible for ensuring that any 
premium payments misdirected to the county are expeditiously mailed to DHS at:

Department of Health Services
Recovery Section
P.O. Box 225
Department 155
Sacramento, CA 95812-0225

B. Determine Program Eligibility for Children and Adults:

Note: The term applicant also includes a beneficiary whose eligibility is being 
redetermined or reevaluated.
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The CWD shall determine whether an applicant meets nonfinancial requirements 
(including California residency) for the Medi-Cal program and, in addition, meets all 
program requirements for the 250 Percent WD program.
Definition of a Child: A child must be unmarried and not the head of a household and 
either (i) under age 18 or (ii) under age 22 and a student regularly attending school, 
college, or training that is designed to prepare him/her for a paying job.

1. Determine whether disability exist:

Disability exists if the conditions of the California Code of Regulations, (CCR), 
Title 22, Section 50223 are met. If the applicant has not had a disability 
determination, the CWD shall prepare a disability packet in the same manner used 
for any applicant applying for Medi-Cal under the disability category, except the 
applicant cannot be denied Medi-Cal by the CWD or the State Disability and 
Adult Programs Division (DAPD) for performing SGA (i.e., for having his/her 
earnings exceed $700 per month). The CWD shall send the completed disability 
packet to DAPD in accordance with the provisions outlined in Section 22-C-6 of 
the Medi-Cal Eligibility Procedures Manual. When completing the MC 221, the 
county shall check the box identified as “Other” in Section No. 8 and annotate 
the following in Section No. 10, “250 Percent Working Disabled Program- No 
SGA Determination Required.”

2. Determine net nonexempt income: Income is determined in accordance with the 
provisions outlined in CCR, Title 22, Article 5, except as follows:

(i) The inkind income provisions in Article 5 are not applied. Instead, SSI’s 
requirements for treating inkind support and maintenance (ISM) as 
unearned income are used. See Section VII below. Also, Section 14 of the 
Pickle Handbook which provides detailed instructions about ISM is 
included as an Attachment to these Procedures.

(ii) All disability income, including workman’s compensation, of the working 
disabled individual is disregarded (e g., federal, state, or private disability 
income).

(iii) Impairment related work expenses (IRWE) are a deduction from income, 
based on SSI methodology. Section 50045.1 defines IRWE as, “...those 
expenses of a working QMB or SLMB program applicant/beneficiary 
which are necessary to become or remain employed....” Examples of 
IRWEs are attendant care services, transportation costs and medical 
devices.

This section will also apply to applicants/beneficiaries of 250 Percent 
Working Disabled program.

(iv) Spousal/parental deeming based on SSI methodology applies.
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(v) One-third of child support received by an applicant who is a child is
disregarded before the remainder is treated as unearned income.

Note: The methodology for determining income including the above exceptions 
is contained in the new income test worksheet forms.

3. Determine net nonexempt property: Property is determined in accordance with the 
provisions outlined in Article 9, except as follows:

(i) Resources of the working disabled individual in the form of retirement 
arrangements authorized under the Internal Revenue Code shall be 
exempt. These include Individual Retirement Accounts (IRAs); work 
related pension funds for income when employment ends which are 
administered by an employer or union including such plans as Deferred 
Compensation Plans and Thrift Plans; and plans for self-employed 
individuals such as KEOGH Plans.

(ii) . Section 50491 (dealing with the Section 1931(b) program) is not 
applicable.

4. Determine whether the net nonexempt family income of the disabled working 
applicant is less than 250 percent of the FPL.

Essentially, SSI/SSP methodology is used. Only the income of the working 
disabled individual and his/her spouse (or parent(s), if a child) are considered. 
New Medi-Cal forms with instructions have been developed for this 
determination. For adults, this form is the MC 338 entitled, “ 250 Percent Income 
Test Worksheet for the 250 Percent Working Disabled program -ADULTS.” The 
instructions are in form, MC 338.Instr. For a child, this form is the MC338B 
entitled “250 Percent and the SSI/SSP Income Tests Worksheet for the 250 
Percent Working Disabled program - CHILD.”

Note: . If: A child is applying; an individual without a spouse is applying; or an 
individual with an ineligible spouse is applying, but spousal deeming does not 
apply (as determined when the MC 338 is completed), net nonexempt family 
income must be less than 250 percent of the FPL for one person.

If: The applicant has a spouse and spousal deeming applies, the net nonexempt 
countable income must be less than 250 percent of the FPL for two persons.

5. Determine whether the working disabled applicant would be eligible for SSI/SSP 
in the absence of his or her earnings:

(i) Review alien status:
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Aliens:

- Aliens who are or would be limited to restricted services under a 
regular Medi-Cal program (such as the Medically Needy program) 
are ineligible under federal requirements for SSI/SSP. Restricted- 
scope aliens therefore are ineligible for the 250 Percent WD 
program since one of the 250 Percent WD program’s eligibility 
requirements is that except for earnings, the individual must be 
eligible for SSI/SSP.

- Aliens listed below who are or could be receiving full-scope 
services under regular Medi-Cal are not eligible for the 
250 Percent WD program unless they are lawfully residing in the 
United States and were receiving SSI on August 22, 1996. These 
aliens who were on SSI on August 22, 1996, meet the SSI alien 
status requirement and must continue to be evaluated for the 
250 Percent WD program.

. Voluntary Departure (INS Section 242(b))

. Order of Supervision (INA Section 242)

. Registry Alien (INA section 249)

. Indefinite Stay of Deportation
• Suspension of Deportation (INA Section 244)
. In United States with Permission of INS
. Deferred Action Status
. Indefinite Voluntary Departure
. Extended Voluntary Departure
. Stay of Deportation (INA Section 106)
. Immediate Relative Petition
. Application for Adjustment Status
. Lawful Temporary Resident

(ii ) SSI/SSP income determination:

Determine whether net nonexempt income is less than the SSI/SSP 
payment standard. (Disability income and earnings of the applicant are 
exempt in this determination.)

This determination is based on SSI/SSP methodology. For adults, use 
form MC 338A entitled, “SSI/SSP Income Test Worksheet for the 
250 Percent Working Disabled Program -ADULTS.” For a child, this 
methodology is on the form (MC 338B) used for the child’s 250 percent 
income test above.

To determine whether the applicant(s) meet the SSI/SSP income test, net 
nonexempt income must be equal to or less than the SSI/SSP payment 
level for:
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- one person if: A child is applying, an adult without a spouse is 
applying, or if an applicant has an ineligible spouse and spousal deeming 
does not apply or

- two persons if: A couple is applying or if an individual with an 
ineligible spouse is applying and spousal deeming applies.

(ii) SSI/SSP property determination:

Determine whether net nonexempt property meets the SSI/SSP property test:

A new combined form for adults and children has been developed for this 
determination. This form is the MC 338C entitled, “ SSI/SSP Property 
Test Worksheet for the 250 Percent Working Disabled Program Adult and 
Child Applicants.”

To meet the SSI/SSP property test, the net nonexempt property of an 
applicant with a spouse must be less than or equal to the property level for 
two ($3,000). If the applicant is a child or is an individual with no spouse, 
net nonexempt property must be less than or equal to the property level for 
one ($2000).

6. Ensure that the MC 338G entitled “ Premium Payment Information for the 
250 Percent Working Disabled program is provided to eligibles at initial 
approval and at redeterminations.

This form describes various requirements relating to the premium 
payment system. Although no face-to-face interview is required, if a 
request for an explanation of this form is made, the county must review 
the content of this form with the applicant.

7. Determine Premium Amounts:

Based on nonexempt net countable income as determined under the 
250 Percent Income test for either a single child/adult applicant or a 
couple applicant, the CWD will determine the amount of the monthly 
premium for an eligible individual or eligible couple according to the 
following chart.

9



Net Countable Income 

Premium Amount 
For One Eligible 
Individual* 

 Premium Amount 
For An Eligible  
Couple**

From To
$ 1 The maintenance need 

income level (MNL) for 
one under the Medically 
Needy (MN) program. 
(Currently $600)

$20 $30

$601 (MNL for one + $1 ) $ 700 $ 25 $ 40
$701 $ 900 $ 50 $ 75
$901 $1,100 $ 75 $100
$1,101 $1,300 $100 $150
$1,301 $1,500 $125 $200
$1,501 $1,700 $150 $225
$1,701 $1,900 $175 $275
$1,901 $2,100 $200 $300
$2,101 250 Percent of the federal 

poverty level (FPL) for 
two
(for year 2000 - $2,344)

$250 $375

* This column is for an eligible child, an eligible unmarried adult or a married 
individual with a spouse where the spouse is not eligible for the 250 Percent Working 
Disabled program. In the case of an eligible married individual where there is an 
ineligible spouse and spousal deeming applies, eligibility is based on the federal poverty 
level (FPL) for two so that countable income for premium purposes can be as high as the 
FPL for two.

* *  This column is for eligible couples. Eligibility is based on countable income of both 
and tested against the FPL for two.

8. Reporting to MEDS:

If the CWD determines that the applicant is eligible for the 250 Percent 
WD program, the county must report his/her eligibility under aid code 6G 
via a transaction to MEDS through standard operating procedures. The 
county shall report the amount of the premium in the share of cost field.

The premium amount will show in the SOC amount field on 
the INQM screen. This screen will show 6G with an eligibility 
status code (ESC) reflecting whether the month: is a month in 
which full premiums have been paid; is an unpaid retroactive 
month; is one of the “history” months (eligibility was reported 
for a month or months prior to the current MEDS month); is 
one of the two months of exception eligibility where the 
recipient has not paid full premiums but is still eligible; or is a 
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month of ineligibility because the recipient has been terminated 
from the 250 percent WD program.

For details about how this county-reported information is used, 
see Section VIII where the premium payment processing 
system is described.

9. Redetermination for other programs:

If a beneficiary is discontinued from the 250 Percent WD program for failure to 
pay premiums, DHS will send the beneficiary the MC 338F Notice of Action, 
with appeal rights, discontinuing him/her from the 250 percent WD program. (See 
Section VIII for additional details.)

DHS will update the MEDS record to show ineligibility and will notify the county 
of the discontinuance via a worker alert. The CWD shall conduct an expedited 
redetermination as to whether the individual is eligible for any other Medi-Cal 
program.

VII. INKIND SUPPORT AND MAINTENANCE (ISM):

ISM is defined as any food, clothing or shelter that is either given to a 250 Percent WD 
applicant/beneficiary or received by him/her because it was paid for by another person.

Shelter includes room, rent, gas, electricity, water, sewer, and garbage collection services.

There are two ways to value the dollar amount of the ISM given to or received by the 
applicant/beneficiary.

1. The value of the one-third reduction (VTR). This value is one-third of the SSI (but not
the combined SSI/SSP) payment rate.

2. The presumed maximum vaIue (PMV). This value is one-third of the SSI (but not the 
combined SSI/SSP) payment rate + $20. This value may be rebutted if the actual values 
for the item are less than the PMV.

Unless VTR applies, PMV applies when the applicant receives partial or full support 
from someone who is not a legally responsible relative. PMV can apply if given by a 
person outside the applicant’s home/household.

An applicant/beneficiary is not charged both VTR and PMV in the same month. If VTR 
is charged, PMV may not be. These values are unearned income and used to determine 
income eligibility.

The following chart describes the most common situations involving ISM. If additional 
situations or questions arise, such as when members of a couple live apart or there is 
institutional care involved, please review the Attachment which reprints the ISM pages 
from the Pickle Handbook.
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Living Arrangement VTR: Count 1/3 of the 
applicable SSI (but not SSP) 
payment level as unearned 

income

PMV: Count 1/3 of the SSI 
(but not SSP) payment level + 

$20 as unearned income

Applicant/beneficiary lives in 
own home, i.e., 
- he/she and spouse living in 

home have ownership or life 
estate interest or rental 
liability,

- he/she pays pro rata share, or
- all members of the household 

are receiving public assistance 
income payments.

VTR does not apply. Count PMV to the applicant if 
any combination of food, 
shelter, or clothing given by a 
person who is not a responsible 
relative.

Applicant and his/her
- spouse
- minor child or
- ineligible spouse (or ineligible 

parent if applicant is a child) 
whose income may be deemed 
to the applicant

live in the household of another 
person who is not one of these 
above persons.

Count VTR as unearned 
income to the applicant if the 
other person gives/pays for the 
applicant’s food and shelter.

If VTR does not apply, count 
PMV as unearned income to the 
applicant if the other person 
gives/pays for any other 
combination of the applicant’s 
food, shelter, or clothing.

Applicant lives throughout the 
whole month in the household of 
another person who is not his/her 
spouse, child, or ineligible 
spouse/parent.

Count VTR if the other person 
is giving/paying the 
applicant’s/beneficiary’s full 
food AND shelter.

If no VTR, count PMV if the 
other person gives any other 
combination of food, shelter, or 
clothing, e.g., the applicant 
shares in expenses but does not 
pay pro rata share.

Applicant lives throughout the 
whole month in the household of 
another person who is not his/her 
spouse, child, or ineligible 
spouse/parent.

Count VTR if the other person 
is giving/paying the 
applicant’s/beneficiary’s full 
food AND shelter.

If no VTR, count PMV if the 
other person gives any other 
combination of food, shelter, or 
clothing, e.g., the applicant 
shares in expenses but does not 
pay pro rata share.
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VII. PREMIUM COLLECTION SYSTEM DESCRIPTION:

A. Determining Eligibility and Amount of Premium

Counties will determine eligibility and amount of the premium for 
individuals in the 250 Percent WD program. This information will be 
reported to MEDS.

B. Mailing of Invoices

When the county reports initial eligibility and the amount of premium, 
DHS will send an invoice and postage-paid envelope to the beneficiary as 
soon as initial eligibility is reported. The invoice will be for the current 
month of eligibility. DHS will also send a second invoice with the amount 
of the premiums due for all history months of eligibility (months in which 
eligibility is established prior to the current month of eligibility and 
reported to MEDS by the county).

Once initial 250 Percent WD eligibility is reported and for as long as the 
beneficiary is not terminated from the program, DHS will generate and 
send monthly invoices and pre-addressed postage paid envelopes to 
program eligibles based on the monthly premium amount reported to 
MEDS by the counties. Invoices will be mailed approximately on the 23rd 
of each month after (MEDS renewal) and will inform the beneficiary that 
premiums are due by the 10th of the following month.

C. Collection of Premiums

Premium payments will be returned to the Department of Health Services 
Third Party Liability (TPL) Branch. TPLB will process premiums as they 
are received. Premiums returned in the pre-addressed, color-coded 
envelope with the system-generated invoice will be posted within 24 hours 
of receipt. Premiums returned in any other envelope or without the 
system-generated invoice must be researched and will be posted as soon as 
possible. If a partial premium for a month is received, it will be deposited 
and reported to MEDS. MEDS’ program logic will be able to recognize 
both full and partial premiums allowing for multiple premium payments to 
be made for each month.

D. Discontinuance for Failure to Pay Premiums

If full premiums have not been paid for two consecutive months, DHS 
will send a timely Notice of Action (NOA), with appeal rights, to the 
beneficiary informing him/her of discontinuance from the 250 Percent 
WD program for failure to pay required premiums. The NOA will also 
inform the beneficiary that the county automatically will redetermine 
eligibility under other Medi-Cal programs. DHS will update the MEDS
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record to show ineligibility and will notify the county via a worker alert of 
the discontinuance.

During this two month period, beneficiaries will continue to be eligible 
under the 250 Percent WD program even though full premiums for these 
months have not been paid. MEDS will have an eligibility status code 
showing exception eligibility.

If a beneficiary is discontinued from the 250 Percent WD program for 
failure to pay full premiums for two consecutive months, there will be a 
six-month penalty period. Should an otherwise eligible person wish to 
reenroll during the six-month penalty period, he/she may be reenrolled if 
the premium is paid for the current month and any months where 
premiums are owed for the two transition months in which he/she was 
eligible for covered services, but failed to pay full premiums. If an 
otherwise eligible person wants to reenroll after the end of the penalty 
period, he/she is a new applicant and must prepay the premium for the 
first month of current eligibility.

E. Discontinuance for Reasons Other Than Nonpayment of Premiums

If a beneficiary is discontinued from the program for reasons other than 
nonpayment of premiums and does not appeal the decision, he/she is again 
treated as a new applicant and will not receive covered services under the 
250 Percent WD program until eligibility is re-established and a new 
initial premium for one month is paid.

F. Eligibility for History and Retroactive Months

History Months:

History months are the months of eligibility beginning with the month of 
application and ending with the month prior to the month of current 
eligibility. These months are not a factor in determining whether a 
beneficiary has or has not paid premiums for two consecutive months. 
That is, even if the county reports eligibility for one or more history 
months, this coverage does not establish two months of exception 
eligibility nor are the nonpayment of premiums tracked to see whether the 
beneficiary is to be discontinued due to nonpayment of premiums.

Retroactive Months

Retroactive months are the months prior to the month of application.

An individual may be eligible for three months of retroactive Medi-Cal 
benefits if otherwise eligible and if the applicable premium is paid for 
each month for which retroactive coverage is requested.
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The payment or nonpayment of premiums in one or more of the three 
retroactive months are not a factor in determining whether the beneficiary 
has failed to pay premiums for two consecutive months. Each retroactive 
month is a closed period on MEDS. For example, assume a beneficiary 
requests retroactive coverage for one or more months in the retroactive 
period. If the county establishes eligibility and reports this information to 
MEDS, DHS will generate and send invoices to the beneficiary for these 
retroactive months. If the beneficiary then fails to pay premiums for any 
of these months, there is no discontinuance or penalty period.

IX. NOTICE OF ACTION:

Notification: The CWD shall send notification in writing of the applicant’s Medi-Cal 
eligibility status and notify beneficiaries of any changes in eligibility. The Notice of Action 
shall be issued for approvals, denials, changes in premium amounts, or discontinuance of 
eligibility for reasons other than nonpayment of the required premiums. There are two 
Notices of Action included in these Procedures which counties may copy and use until these 
forms have been processed through DHS and are available to be ordered from the DHS 
Warehouse. Counties must include the NA BACK 9 with each form sent to a benefciary. The 
MC 338D is the notice of action for approvals and the MC 338E is the notice of action when 
there is a change in the premium amount.

X. BENEFITS IDENTIFICATION CARD: (BIC)

Beneficiaries covered under the 250 Percent WD program, will be issued a BIC 
for medical services authorized by Medi-Cal. The message is defined above 
under Aid Codes.

XI. FORMS:

MC 338 250 PECENT INCOME TEST WORKSHEET FOR THE 250 
PERCENT WORKING DISABLED PROGRAM - ADULTS

MC 338.INSTR INSTRUCTIONS 250 PERCENT INCOME TEST WORKSHEET 
FOR THE 250 PERCENT WORKING DISABLED PROGRAM - 
ADULTS

MC 338A SSI/SSP INCOME TEST WORKSHEET FOR THE 250 PERCENT 
WORKING DISABLED PROGRAM - ADULTS

MC 338B 250 PERCENT AND SSI/SSP INCOME TESTS WORKSHEET FOR 
THE 250 PERCENT WORKING DISABLED PROGRAM -
CHILD APPLYING WITH OR WITHOUT INELIGIBLE PARENT(S)

MC 338C SSI/SSP PROPERTY TEST WORKSHEET FOR THE 250 PERCENT 
WORKING DISABLED PROGRAM - ADULT AND CHILD 
APPLICANTS
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MC 338D MEDI-CAL NOTICE OF ACTION
APPROVAL FOR BENEFITS AS A 250 PERCENT WORKING
DISABLED INDIVIDUAL OR COUPLE

MC 338E MEDI-CAL NOTICE OF ACTION
CHANGE IN PREMIUM PAYMENT IN THE 250 PERCENT
WORKING DISABLED PROGRAM

MC 338F DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH SERVICES GENERATED
MEDI-CAL NOTICE OF ACTION
DISCONTINUANCE FOR FAILURE TO PAY FULL PREMIUMS 
FOR TWO MONTHS IN THE 250 PERCENT WORKING 
DISABLED PROGRAM

MC 338G PREMIUM PAYMENT INFORMATION FOR THOSE ELIGIBLE 
FOR THE 250 PERCENT WORKING DISABLED PROGRAM

MC 338H APPLICATION FOR RETROACTIVE ELIGIBILITY - 
250 PERCENT WORKING DISABLED PROGRAM
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County Stamp

MEDI-CAL
NOTICE OF ACTION  

Approval For Benefits as a 250 Percent 
Working Disabled Individual or Couple

Date:
Case No:
Worker No:
This affects:

Disabled program. This program allows eligible individuals and couples to pay 
premiums for full coverage under Medi-Cal.

We have determined that beginning / / /, you________
meet the basic eligibility requirements for the 250 Percent Working Disabled 
program. However, before Medi-Cal can begin to cover your medical expenses 
under this program, you must pay the first month’s premium.

If you already have a plastic Benefits Identification Card (BIC), this card will be used for 
this program. If you do not already have a BIC card, you will receive one soon. Do not 
throw this card away. This card is good as long as you are eligible for Medi-Cal. Take 
this plastic card to your doctor or other Medi-Cal provider when you request medical 
services.

The amount of your monthly premium is $. This is 
based on your net nonexempt income of $. We have not 
counted your disability income in making this determination.

You will receive an invoice from the California Department of Health Services 
(DHS) with a preaddressed, postage-paid envelope for you to use in making this 
payment. DO NOT SEND TO OR DROP OFF ANY PAYMENTS AT YOUR 
COUNTY DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES.

PLEASE ATTACH THE INVOICE TO YOUR PAYMENT. TO EXPEDITE 
PROCESSING, ALSO INCLUDE YOUR NAME, SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER 
AND CLIENT INDEX NUMBER (WHICH IS FOUND ON YOUR INVOICE) ON 
YOUR PAYMENT.

To continue your enrollment under this program, you must pay the monthly 
premium that is due. Each month, DHS will send you a monthly invoice 
with a preaddressed postage-paid envelope. Your premium payment is due 
by the 10th of the following month.

This action is required by Welfare and Institutions Code Section 14007.9.
MC 338D 250 Percent WD program Approval Notice of Action 2/28
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State of California Health and Human Services Agency Department of Health Services

County Stamp

MEDI-CAL
NOTICE OF ACTION  

Change of Premium Payment Amount 
In the 250 Percent Working Disabled Program

Date:

Case No:

Worker No:

Change in Premium for:

Your premium for enrollment in the 250 Percent working disabled program has been changed 
to $per month beginning . The______
Department of Health Services will put this new amount on your invoice.

The amount of your monthly premium is based on your net nonexempt income of 
$. We have not counted your disability income in making this 
determination.

PLEASE BE SURE TO ATTACH YOUR INVOICE TO YOUR PAYMENT. TO EXPEDITE 
PROCESSING, ALSO INCLUDE YOUR NAME, SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER, AND YOUR 
CLIENT INDEX NUMBER (WHICH IS FOUND ON YOUR INVOICE) ON YOUR PAYMENT.

To continue your enrollment under this program, you must pay the monthly premium 
that is due. Each month, DHS will send you a monthly invoice with a preaddressed 
postage-paid envelope. Your premium payment is due by the 10th of the following 
month.

This action is required by Welfare and Institutions Code Section 14007.9.

MC 338E 250 Percent WD program Premium Change Notice of Action 2/22
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State of California Health and Human Services Agency Department of Health Services

County StampMEDI-CAL 
NOTICE OF ACTION 

DISCONTINUANCE FOR FAILURE TO PAY 
FULL PREMIUMS IN THE 250 PERCENT WORKING 

DISABLED PROGRAM

State number:

District:

Discontinuance from the 250 Percent 
Working Disabled program for:

(names)

We have reviewed all information about your payment of premiums in the 250 Percent 
Working Disabled program and have determined that you have not paid the required 
premiums for 

(month) 
and 

(month)
.

Your enrollment in the 250 Percent Working Disabled program will be discontinued, effective 
the last day of.

If you have any questions about your premium payments, you may call Mr. Doug Abbes at the 
Department of Health Services Third Party Liability Branch at (916) 324- 4162.

If you are eligible for Medicare, this means that 
(month)

 is the last month the State

will pay your premium for Part B Medicare supplementary insurance coverage. You will receive 
a written notice from the Social Security Administration, or you many call your Social Security 
district office if you have questions about your Medicare Status.

This discontinuance action does not affect your eligibility for any other Medi-Cal program. You 
will receive another notice from your County Department of Social Services concerning any 
other Medi-Cal coverage for which you may be eligible. If you have any questions about such 
eligibility, please write or telephone your county eligibility worker.

DO NOT THROW YOUR PLASTIC ID CARD AWAY. You can use it again if you become 
eligible for Medi-Cal.

This action is required by Welfare and Institutions Code Section 14007.9.

MC 338F 250 Percent WD program Discontinuance- Failure to Pay Premiums 2/28
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State of California Health and Human Services Agency Department of Health Services

County Stamp

250 PERCENT WORKING DISABLED PROGRAM 
PREMIUM PAYMENT INFORMATION

There are two steps for coverage under the 250 Percent Working Disabled program. 
First, you must meet the eligibility requirements, such as California residency and the 
income and property tests. Second, after you are determined eligible, you must pay a 
monthly premium payment amount to be enrolled so that this program can cover 
services. This program requires the payment of premiums even if there are no services 
expected to be received in a month, just like an insurance program.

Eligible couples pay a combined monthly premium to be enrolled.

The county department of social services (CDSS) determines eligibility and the amount 
of the premium. If you are eligible, the CDSS reports this information to the California 
Department of Health Services (DHS). DHS will be the agency that sends the invoices 
(bills) to you.

Here are the rules for enrolling and for staying enrolled.

1. A new eligible applicant must pay his/her premium for the first month in which 
he/she wants coverage before he/she is enrolled. Eligible couples will have a 
combined premium which must be met before they are enrolled. DHS will send 
the invoice (bill) with the amount owed and due date with a preaddressed 
postage paid envelope for you to return the premium and invoice to DHS.

2. If a new eligible applicant has applied and been found eligible for any of the three 
retroactive months prior to the month of application and wants coverage in those 
months, he/she must pay the premiums for each of these months before he/she 
can be covered. These premium amounts will be included in the first invoice the 
new eligible receives from DHS.

3. Each month eligible beneficiaries will receive a monthly invoice and 
preaddressed color-coded postage-paid envelope.

4. Payments will be due by the 10th of the next month.
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5. It is very important that you:
- Put your name, address, Social Security Number and Client Index Number 

(which is found on the invoice) on your payment (on your check or money 
order) so DHS can immediately credit it to your account: and

- Attach the invoice to the payment and return BOTH the payment and 
the invoice in the color-coded envelope to DHS .

This will ensure expedited processing of your premium payment.
Please do not send your payment in cash.

6. There will be a $25 charge if a check is returned for such reasons as Insufficient 
funds in the account.

7. A beneficiary will be discontinued from this program for failure to pay full 
premiums for two consecutive months. If you are discontinued, your CDSS will 
evaluate you for other Medi-Cal programs.

8. A beneficiary will have a six-month penalty period as follows if he/she is 
discontinued for failure to pay full premiums for two consecutive months. The 
individual will be treated as a new applicant again if he or she wants to reenroll. 
The CDSS will have to redetermine eligibility and report it to DHS. Then,

- If the individual wants to reenroll during the six-month penalty period, 
he/she will have to pay the premium for the first month of coverage AND 
the past due premiums for the two months when full premiums were not 
paid

- If the beneficiary wants to reenroll after the six-month penalty period, 
he/she will have to pay the premium for the first month of coverage.

If you have any questions about your eligibility or the amount of your premium, 
call your CDSS eligibility worker at . If you have any---
questions about the payments you have made or your account, you may call the 
DHS Premium Collection Unit at (916) 322-0019.

MC 338G Informing Notice 3/8/00
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State of California - Health and Human Services Agency Department of Health Services

MEDI-CAL
NOTICE OF ACTION
APPLICATION FOR RETROACTIVE 
ELIGIBILITY FOR THE 250 PERCENT 
WORKING DISABLED PROGRAM

Date:

Case No:

Worker No.

This affects:

We have reviewed all information available to us about your circumstances and find that 
effective for the month(s) of________________________________________________ , you
meet the basic eligibility requirements for retroactive coverage under the 250 Percent Working 
Disabled program. You are responsible for making premium payments for each month in 
which you want to be enrolled for retroactive coverage.

The amount of your monthly premium for is $ .______
The amount of your monthly premium for is $ .____________
The amount of your monthly premium for is $ .

This is based on your net nonexempt income of. We 
have not counted your disability income in making this determination.

You will receive invoices for these months from the Department of Health Services with 
pre-addressed color-coded, postage-paid envelopes for you to use in returning your premiums 
to the California Department of Health Services.

PLEASE ATTACH AN INVOICE TO EACH OF YOUR PAYMENTS. TO EXPEDITE 
PROCESSING, ALSO INCLUDE YOUR NAME, CLIENT INDEX NUMBER AND SOCIAL 
SECURITY NUMBER ON YOUR PAYMENT.

Take your plastic card to each medical provider where you received service in the 
above months. If you have paid your premium(s) for these retroactive months, your 
plastic card will show your provider that you are enrolled.

This action does not affect your application for current and ongoing Medi-Cal. If you 
have any questions about this action or if there are more facts about your conditions 
which you have not reported to us, please write or telephone us at

This action is required by Welfare and Institutions Code Section 14007.9.

MC 338H 250 Percent Notice of Action for Retroactive Benefits 2/28
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P I C K L E  H A N D B O K

SECTION 14--IN-KIND SUPPORT AND MAINTENANCE

Introduction

Pickle eligibility determinations are based on the Social Security Act. For 
purposes of determining eligibility under the Pickle Amendment, the Act requires 
that in-kind support and maintenance (ISM), along with other forms of unearned 
income, be considered. ISM is defined an any food, clothing, or shelter that is 
either given to or received by a Pickle applicant/beneficiary and is paid for by 
someone having no legal responsibility to provide same. Shelter includes room, 
rent, gas, electricity, water, sewer, and garbage collection services. (Complete 
DHS 7044 if ISM exists.)

There are two rules used to determine the dollar amount of ISM that an 
applicant/beneficiary receives:

1. The value of the one-third reduction (VTR).

2. The presumed maximum value (PMV).

These two rules are mutually exclusive. When the VTR rule applies in any one 
month, the PMV rule cannot.

Additional ISM is never charged when an applicant/beneficiary:

1. Received ISM already valued at the one-third reduction and receives 
additional ISM subject to the PMV, e.g., a rental subsidy.

2. Receives ISM and is already being charged the PMV.

Applying the VTR

This is a flat one-third reduction of the Federal Benefit Rate (FBR) . It applies 
either in full or not at all. If the VTR applies, do not count any other ISM.

Do not apply the VTR if:

1. An applicant/beneficiary lives alone, since there are no household members 
from whom he/she can receive ISM. The PMV is applied in this situation.

2. An applicant/beneficiary lives with a minor child or a responsible 
relative. The PMV is applied in this situation.

3. The applicant/beneficiary is separately consuming or separately purchasing 
food. The PMV is applied in this situation.
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P I C K L E H A N D B O O K

When to Apply the VTR

Instead of determining the actual dollar value of ISM, reduce the FBR by 
one-third (DHS 7021, Part F, line 1) if the Pickle applicant/beneficiary 
(and/or potentially eligible spouse):

1. Lives in another person's household for one full calendar month and

2. Receives both food and shelter from the person in whose household 
he/she lives and

3. Lives with a person other than a spouse, child, or an ineligible 
person whose income may be deemed to the individual.

Applying the PMV
This is used whenever ISM is counted as unearned income and the VTR does 
not apply.

Instead of determining the actual dollar amount of any food, clothing, or 
shelter received by the Pickle applicant/beneficiary, these items are 
presumed to be worth a maximum value. This maximum value is one-third of 
the FBR plus the $20 any income deduction. (See chart for current 
values.) This value is counted as unearned income.

When the PMV is applied, an applicant/beneficiary is always allowed to 
attempt to prove his/her ISM is less than the PMV. This process is called 
rebutting. The PMV is not to be used if it can be documented by rebuttal 
that either of the following is less than the PMV:

1. The current market value (CMV) of any food, clothing, or shelter 
countable as ISM minus any payment the applicant/beneficiary makes 
for those items; or

2. The actual amount contributed by someone else for the applicant's/ 
beneficiary's food, clothing, or shelter.

In these instances apply the actual value, instead of the PMV, as unearned 
income.

If the applicant/beneficiary fails to rebut the PMV, the entire amount of 
the PMV is counted as unearned income. In no case will the amount of ISM 
ever exceed the PMV.

When to Apply the PMV

The PMV is always applied if the applicant/beneficiary or eligible couple 
receives partial or full support from someone Who is not a legally 
responsible relative and the applicant/beneficiary:
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P I C K L E H A N D B O O K

1. Has ownership interest in his/her place of residence,
2. Has rental liability for his/her place of residence,
3. Is sharing food or shelter, or
4. Does not receive both food and shelter.

In addition, the PMV applies when an applicant/beneficiary is living:
1. In another person's household but not receiving both food and shelter from 

that person,

2. In his/her own household except in a public assistance household 1/ or a 
noninstitutional care situation 2/.

3 . In a nonmedical institution and someone else pays for his/her support and 
maintenance. The nonmedical institutions include:
a. A public nonmedical institution.

b. A public or private nonprofit educational or vocational training 
institution.

c. A private nonprofit retirement home or similar institution where 
there is an express obligation to provide the applicant’s/ 
beneficiary's full support and maintenance.

d. A for-profit institution.

1/ A public assistance household is one in which every member receives some 
kind of public income maintenance payments (Aid to Families with Dependent 
Children, Supplemental Security Income/State Supplementary Payment, 
Refugee, General Assistance, Veterans'  Administration). In this 
situation, the PMV is applied  only if food, clothing, or shelter are 
received from someone outside the household.

--

2/ Noninstitutional care means all of the following must exist: (1) placement 
under foster or family care program; (2) placing agency is responsible for 
the care; (3) placement is in a private, licensed home(e.g., a relative's 
home can be licensed by the county using SSA form number SSP 22.) and; 
(4) a public agency pays for the care. In this situation, the PMV only 
applies if the applicant/beneficiary pays less than the established rate 
(CMV) for the type of care received and someone else is paving the 
difference.
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Rebutting the PMV

The applicant/beneficiary has the right to prove that the actual value of 
the ISM received is less than the PMV. However, until such time as 
evidence is submitted which proves the actual value is less than the 
applicable PMV, the amount of ISM received is considered to be equal to or 
greater than the PMV. Do not charge more than the PMV even if actual 
value is greater.

The applicant/beneficiary must be allowed ten calendar days to notify the 
county welfare department (CWD) of his/her intent to rebut the PMV.

The applicant/beneficiary must be furnished any information necessary for 
him/her to decide whether to rebut (e.g., how the amount of ISM was 
computed, the necessary types of verification). After expressing his/her 
intent to rebut, the CTO must allow the applicant/beneficiary five days to 
provide documentation for rebuttal.

The following is suggested language to be used when assigning the PMV and 
informing an applicant/beneficiary of his/her right to rebut the amount of
ISM
BASED ON THE INFORMATION THAT YOU GAVE US, WE FIND THAT YOU ARE RECEIVING 
IN-KIND SUPPORT AND MAINTENANCE IN THE FORM OF (1). UNLESS 
YOU HAVE EVIDENCE TO PROVE THAT THE VALUE OF THIS SUPPORT AND MAINTENANCE 
IS LESS THAN (2)   WE WILL COUNT THIS AMOUNT AS INCOME TO YOU
BEGINNING WITH (3).

YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO SUBMIT EVIDENCE TO SHOW THAT THE SUPPORT YOU RECEIVE 
IS WORTH LESS THAN (4). IF YOU HAVE EVIDENCE, YOU MUST GET IN 
TOUCH WITH ME WITHIN TEN DAYS OF THE DATE OF THIS LETTER.

IF I DO NOT HEAR FROM YOU BY (5), I WILL COUNT (6) 
AS INCOME TO YOU. IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS, OR IF YOU NEED HELP IN 
GETTING EVIDENCE OF THE VALUE OF SUPPORT AND MAINTENANCE YOU RECEIVE, 
PLEASE CALL ME AT (7).

Fill-ins

1. Show type and source of ISM being received (e.g., 'shelter because 
your brother pays your mortgage payment each month').

2. Show the applicable PMV of the ISM.

3. Show the month in which ISM will be counted. NOTE: ISM is counted 
in the month following the month of receipt.

4. Same as (2).
5. Show ten days after the date of the letter.
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6. Same as (2).
7. Eligibility worker's telephone number.

An applicant/beneficiary who disagrees with the PMV established in 
accordance with the instructions in this section has the right to appeal 
the determination. For example, if a person elects to rebut but does not 
successfully prove that the actual value is less than the PMV, the 
individual still has the right to appeal the existence or the amount of 
the PMV.

Whenever PMV is charged, all of the following must be documented in the 
case:

1. The reasons for or the source of the ISM.

2. The value placed on the ISM.

3. That the individual/couple has been advised of his/her right to rebut 
the PMV.

4. That the individual/couple elected not to rebut the PMV or if he/she 
elected to rebut that adequate documentation was not presented.

Determining the CMV of ISM

This section describes procedures necessary to establish the CMV of an 
item of ISM. This is the first step to be used in computing the actual 
value of ISM that is subject to the PMV.

1. Determining the amount of household operating expenses requires a 
signed statement from the household member who owns or rents the 
dwelling. When the applicant/beneficiary has the ownership interest 
or rental liability, his/her signed statement estimating household 
expenses is acceptable verification. If no one living in the 
household owns or rents the dwelling, obtain a signed statement from 
the person who normally pays the bills.

2. If an applicant/beneficiary who owns or rents the dwelling alleges 
that he/she separately consumes or purchases all of his/her own food 
apart from other household members, obtain a corroborative statement 
from another adult member of the household. If separate consumption 
or purchase is thus verified, only count ISM for shelter.

3. If the applicant/beneficiary owns or rents the dwelling and receives 
ISM as the result of the contributions of other household members, 
determine the total amount of those contributions. If the amount 
exceeds the total household operation expenses, count the extra as 
unearned income.
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Institutionalization (Couples)
When one member of an eligible couple is in a nonmedical institution and 
receiving ISM, the PMV of the ISM is one-third of his/her half (i.e., 
one-sixth) of the couple's FBR plus $10.

If the noninstitutionalized member of an eligible couple lives in the 
household of another and receives both food and shelter from someone 
living in that household, the value of ISM is one-sixth of the couple's 
FBR. If the noninstitutionalized member of a couple is in any other 
living arrangement, the PMV of the ISM is one-sixth of the couple's FBR 
plus $10.

If one member of a couple is in long-term care for 30 days or more and is 
receiving Medi-Cal, the couple is treated as 2 individuals. Any countable 
ISM that a Pickle applicant/beneficiary receives is treated as if he/she 
vas an eligible individual without a spouse.

Receipt of Both Deemed Income
If the applicant/beneficiary lives in the household of a responsible 
relative, the VTR does not apply. However, if he/she lives with a 
responsible relative in another person's household, the VTR and the 
deeming rules apply.

If the applicant/beneficiary lives in the same household with someone 
whose income can be deemed to him/her any food, clothing, or shelter, that 
person provides is not ISM. However, if the applicant/beneficiary 
receives any food, clothing, or shelter from another source, it is ISM and 
it is valued using the PMV. Deeming also applies in this situation.

Sharing
When an applicant/beneficiary cannot establish ownership interest or 
rental liability and he/she is living and eating meals in a household with 
someone other than a spouse and/or children, consider the possibility of 
sharing.

An applicant/beneficiary who is sharing, presumed or otherwise, is not 
considered as receiving any food or shelter from inside the household. 
Any additional ISM is valued using the PMV.

If the pro rata share is paid, the applicant is "sharing". If householder 
refuses to provide verification of household expenses, then "sharing" does 
not exist.
Sharing is established by using the Statement of Living Arrangements 
(DHS 7044) and averaging the household expenses and contributions for the 
month prior to the month of application or redetermination. Evidence must 
be submitted to the CTO and must include bills and receipts (e.g.,
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cancelled checks) which establish the household expenses and verify the 
applicant’s/beneficiary’s financial contribution to the household. When 
such evidence is unavailable, signed statements from both the 
applicant/beneficiary and the householder will be accepted. (For purposes 
of this section, a householder is the person having ownership interest or 
rental liability.)

To determine the average monthly amount of these expenses:

1. Ask the householder to provide bills and receipts for the last 12 
months for each of the countable expenses. Average these amounts by 
dividing the total of all countable expenses by 12.

2. If there are no bills or receipts available for the previous 12 
months, have the householder provide the current month's bills and 
use that total as the countable monthly expenses. If the householder 
disagrees that the current bills represent the average, accept a 
sworn statement as to the correct amount.

3. If neither bills and/or receipts are available and the householder is 
unable to estimate the average monthly amount, contact the 
appropriate source (e.g., the utility company) and obtain the average 
monthly amount.

When determining the amount of household operating expenses, it is 
immaterial whether the members of the household have pooled their funds 
and collectively paid for food and shelter items or whether individual 
members assume responsibility for specific expenses and pay the bills 
directly.

Determining the Pro Rate Share Amount

Total the monthly averages for each of the household expenses to arrive at 
the total average monthly household expenses. Divide this total by the 
number of persons living in the household. The resulting amount is the 
applicant's/beneficiary's pro rata share.

Determining the Share Status
Compare the applicant’s/beneficiary’s monthly contribution to the pro rata 
share amount. If the amount of his/her contribution is within $5 of the 
pro rata share amount, a sharing arrangement is found to exist. If the 
amount of the applicant' s/beneficiary's contribution is not within $5 of 
the pro rata share amount, sharing does not exist. 
Applicants/beneficiaries found to be sharing are not receiving ISM, 
although ISM from other sources outside the household (e.g., adult son 
pays the pro rata share) must still be pursued and counted using the PMV 
if applicable.
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Rental Subsidies

A rental subsidy is considered unearned income which represents ISM 
provided from someone Who resides outside the household of the Pickle 
applicant/beneficiary. Whenever any member of an applicant's/bene­
ficiary's household has rental liability and any household member is the 
parent or child of the landlord or the landlord’s spouse, the CVD must 
explore the possibility that a rental subsidy is being provided.

If the rent required under the terms of the rental agreement is less than 
the current market rental value (CMRV) of the shelter being rented, all 
members of the household are receiving ISM in the form of a rental 
subsidy. This is true regardless of their individual rental liability. 
Therefore, the value of such subsidy is allocated equally among, and is 
chargeable to, all members of the household, including those who are 
ineligible or temporarily absent. The rental subsidy is counted using the 
PMV.

Required Verification to Determine Rental Subsidy

The following information must be obtained whenever there is an indication 
that rental subsidy income exists:

1. The amount of rent required under the terms of the rental agreement.

A rental subsidy is the difference between the CMRV and the required 
rent and not the difference between the CMRV and the rent paid.

2. The CMRV of the shelter being rented.

When the CMRV provided by the landlord or other knowledgeable source 
is a range (e.g., between $250 and $350), average the range and use 
the average as the CMRV (e.g., $300).

3. The reason for requiring a rental payment Which is less than the 
CMRV.

When the reason for requiring a lesser rental payment is because the 
shelter is rent-controlled, note in the case the maximum allowable 
rent and consider that no rental subsidy has been provided. When the 
reason is because the applicant/beneficiary provides services to the 
landlord, determine the type of services and, if applicable, count 
rental subsidy as earned or unearned income.

If the landlord is either unwilling or unable to provide the reason for 
accepting reduced rental payments, presume the difference between the CMRV 
and the required rent is a rental subsidy. Always attempt to obtain the 
rental information through contact with the landlord prior to contacting a 
knowledgeable source. Contact may be made by telephone or in writing.
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When contacting the landlord in writing, the following language should be 
used:
_____ _____

_____ _____ _____ _____
_____ _____

_____

(1)  indicates you are the landlord of the dwelling in which 
(2) lives, located at (3).

(4)  states the required rent is (5) . Is this correct? 
 (yes/no). If not, what is the correct required rental amount?  

(dollars). Do you consider the required rent to be less than the rent you 
could receive for the property on the local open market?  (yes/no).
If you do, how much would you rent it for in the local open market?  
(dollars).

Why do you charge a lesser or reduced rent?  
(reason).

Fill-ins:

1. Show name of applicant/beneficiary.

2. He/she/they as appropriate.

3. Show residence address.

4. Same as (1) above.

5. Show amount of alleged required rent.

Contact a knowledgeable source other than the landlord when the landlord 
is unable or unwilling to provide a CMRV for the dwelling and ten calendar 
days have elapsed since the initial date of the request to the landlord. 
Knowledgeable sources include real estate firms or rental management 
agencies located in the same or a similarly situated neighborhood.

EXCLUDED — TYPES OF ISM

The following ISM is not counted for the Pickle person.

1. ISM specifically excluded by federal law (see Income Exclusions
Chart)

2. ISM which meets the criteria for infrequent or irregular unearned 
income (see Unearned Income Chart).

3. ISM which has no CMV.

4. ISM received under a governmental medical or social service program.

5. ISM which is assistance based on need from a state or political 
subdivision (see Unearned Income Chart).
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6. ISM provided by other members of a public assistance household.
7. ISM from a responsible relative (e.g., spouse, parent).
8. Temporary shelter provided while waiting for completion of repairs or for 

replacement of an exempt principal residence.
9. ISM which is excluded under a Social Security Act approved plan for self 

support.
10. ISM resulting from payments made under the terms of a credit life 

insurance or credit disability insurance policy.
11. The receipt of the use of land without a dwelling does not constitute ISM. 

Similarly, third-party payments of property tax, rent, or mortgage on land 
alone are not counted as ISM.

12. One-third of the amount of child support received as ISM is excluded from 
income. The remaining two-thirds is subject to the PMV.

13. Exclude ISM food and/or shelter provided transients by non-profit 
community organizations supported by any State or local assistance agency; 
for example, subsidized meal programs or Food Stamp assistance. ISM of “no 
value" is excluded. “"Food of no value" includes discarded or surplus food. 
“Shelter of no value” means the transient is sleeping in an abandoned 
building or in an automobile. Reminder: food/shelter not otherwise 
excluded even if provided to transients is PMV, e.g., food provided free 
for a week from a relative is PMV. Also, PMV may be rebutted (see page 
14-4, Pickle Handbook).
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1998 ISM VALUES FOR 
COMPUTING PICKLE ELIGIBILITY

Individual Couple
VTR (not rebuttable)** $164.66 $247.00
PMV (rebuttable)*** $184.66 $267.00

The VTR is the payment level to be used in situations 1, 2, and 3 below. The PMV 
is the unearned income amount to be added in other situations. The following 
chart provides the method that must be used for determining Pickle eligibility 
for individuals and couples in various living arrangements.

HOUSEHOLD SITUATION 
(LIVING ARRANGEMENT) PRINCIPLE

1. Living in household of another 
throughout a month and 
receiving both food and shelter 
from someone in the household.

Reduce the applicable payment level 
by one-third the Federal Benefit Rate 
(FBR). Use the VTR.

2. Living in household of another 
who is providing both food and 
shelter and also receiving ISM 
from a third party.

Reduce the FBR payment level by 
one-third (VTR). Exclude third party 
ISM.

3. Living with a responsible 
relative (deemor) who lives in 
the household of another and 
the householder is not a 
responsible relative but is 
supplying both food and  shelter.

Add VTR from the householder to 
deemed income from the responsible 
relative and add to other unearned 
income.

4. Living in own household 
(ownership or rental liability) 
and receiving ISM from someone 
outside the household.

Add PMV to other unearned income.

5. Living in noninstitutional 
care* situation or group home 
and receiving ISM from someone 
outside the household.

Add PMV to other unearned income.

6. Living with a responsible 
relative (deemor) who lives in 
the household of another and 
the householder is not a 
responsible relative but is 
supplying food or shelter.

Add PMV from the householder to 
deemed income from the responsible 
relative and add to other unearned 
income.

7. Living in household of another 
and sharing partial or total 
household expenses.

If pro rata share is contributed, we 
use the SSI/SSP payment level for a 
person in an “independent living 
arrangement.” If pro rata share is 
not contributed, add PMV.

(Continued on next page.)
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8. One member of an eligible 
couple lives in the household 
of another and receives both 
food and shelter from the 
householder while the second 
member lives in his/her home or 
a nonmedical institution.

One-sixth of the FBR for a couple for 
the person living in the household of 
another. (VTR-not rebuttable.)
One-sixth of the FBR for a couple for 
the person living in his/her own 
household.(VTR-not rebuttable.)

9. If the noninstitutionalized 
spouse lives in any other 
situation.

One-sixth of the FBR for a couple 
plus $10.

10. Paying less than Current Market 
Rental Value (CMRV) for 
shelter, (see page 1-2.)

Add PMV unless criteria for 
earned/unearned income is met (see 
ISM) .

* All nonmedical institutions including those for education or vocational 
training.
Also, see page 14-3 of ISM section.

* * VTR= Value of One-Third Reduction.
* **  PMV= Presumed Maximum Value.
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