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REFERENCE: FAMILY FIRST PREVENTION SERVICES ACT, 
FEDERAL BIPARTISAN BUDGET ACT OF 2018 
(PUBLIC LAW 115-123); INDIAN CHILD WELFARE ACT OF 
1978 (25 U.S.C. § 1901, ET SEQ.); HEALTH INSURANCE 
PORTABILITY AND ACCOUNTABILITY ACT OF 1996 
(HIPAA); TITLE 45 C.F.R. SECTION 164.512; 42 U.S. Code § 
1320d–6. 42 U.S.C. §§ 671(a)(8); 42 U.S.C. §§  
5106a(b)(2)(B)(viii); 42 U.S.C. § 675A(C)(2); 45 CFR §§ 160 & 
164; 45 CFR § 164.512  ASSEMBLY BILL (AB) 153 
(CHAPTER 86, STATUTES OF 2021); CIV.CODE § 56 ET 
SEQ.; CODE OF CIVIL PROCEDURE SECTION 372; 
PROBATE CODE SECTIONS 810-813; CAL. RULES OF 
COURT, RULE 5.618; WELFARE AND INSTITUTIONS CODE 
(W&I CODE) SECTION 361.22; W&I CODE SECTION 727.12; 
W&I CODE SECTION 827; W&I CODE SECTION 4096; W&I 
CODE SECTION 16501; W&I CODE SECTION 10850.1; CAL. 
RULES OF COURT, RULE 5.618; BEHAVIORAL HEALTH 
INFORMATION NOTICE (BHIN) 20-069; ALL COUNTY 
INFORMATION NOTICE (ACIN) I-73-21 BHIN 21-055; ACIN I-
21-18/MENTAL HEALTH SUBSTANCE USE DISORDER
SERVICES INFORMATION NOTICE (MHSUDS IN) 18-022; 
ALL COUNTY LETTER (ACL) 21-113/BHIN 21-060; BHIN 21-
062; and BHIN 23-068.  

PURPOSE: 

The purpose of this California Department of Social Services (CDSS) All County 
Letter (ACL) and Department of Health Care Services (DHCS) Behavioral Health 
Information Notice (BHIN) is to provide county child welfare agencies, juvenile 
probation departments, all Tribes, including Tribes with a California Title IV-E 
Agreement in California, and county behavioral health departments with additional 
guidance regarding: Qualified Individual (QI); QI Referral, Assessment and Report; 
Updating the Child and Adolescent Needs and Strengths (CANS); Privacy and 
Confidentiality for QI assessment activities and the QI Assessment Report; Revised 
QI Referral template and QI Assessment Report template; Tribally Designated QI; 
QI Training and Certification Process; and Monitoring and Oversight County 
Designated and Certified QIs. This ACL/BHIN provides additional guidance to ACL 
21-113/BHIN 21-060, and is intended to clarify1 the requirements for a QI
Assessment Report for each Short-Term Residential Therapeutic Program (STRTP)
or Community Treatment Facility (CTF) level of care placement. Upon Tribal
consultation and engagement, guidance is forthcoming regarding Tribes with a

1  This ACL/BHIN and ACL 21-113/BHIN 21-060 are intended to apply together; however, if 
there are any provisions that conflict, this ACL/BHIN shall control. 

https://www.congress.gov/bill/115th-congress/house-bill/1892/text?q=%7B%22search%22%3A%5B%22hr1892%22%5D%7D&r=1
https://www.congress.gov/bill/115th-congress/house-bill/1892/text?q=%7B%22search%22%3A%5B%22hr1892%22%5D%7D&r=1
https://www.congress.gov/bill/115th-congress/house-bill/1892/text?q=%7B%22search%22%3A%5B%22hr1892%22%5D%7D&r=1
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/25/1901
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/25/1901
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-45/subtitle-A/subchapter-C/part-164
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-45/subtitle-A/subchapter-C/part-164
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-45/subtitle-A/subchapter-C/part-164
https://www.law.cornell.edu/cfr/text/45/164.512#:%7E:text=A%20covered%20entity%20may%20disclose%20protected%20health%20information%20as%20authorized,illness%20without%20regard%20to%20fault.
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/42/1320d-6
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/42/1320d-6
https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/USCODE-2010-title42/html/USCODE-2010-title42-chap7-subchapIV-partE-sec671.htm
https://uscode.house.gov/view.xhtml?req=(title:42%20section:5106a%20edition:prelim)
https://uscode.house.gov/view.xhtml?req=(title:42%20section:5106a%20edition:prelim)
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/42/675a
https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2024/04/26/2024-08503/hipaa-privacy-rule-to-support-reproductive-health-care-privacy
https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2024/04/26/2024-08503/hipaa-privacy-rule-to-support-reproductive-health-care-privacy
https://www.govinfo.gov/app/details/CFR-2017-title45-vol1/CFR-2017-title45-vol1-sec164-512
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=202120220AB153
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=202120220AB153
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayText.xhtml?lawCode=CIV&division=1.&title=&part=2.6.&chapter=2.&article=
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayText.xhtml?lawCode=CIV&division=1.&title=&part=2.6.&chapter=2.&article=
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayText.xhtml?lawCode=CCP&division=&title=3.&part=2.&chapter=3.&article=
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayText.xhtml?lawCode=PROB&division=2.&title=&part=17.&chapter=&article=
https://www.courts.ca.gov/cms/rules/index.cfm?title=five&linkid=rule5_618
https://www.courts.ca.gov/cms/rules/index.cfm?title=five&linkid=rule5_618
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=WIC&sectionNum=366.22.
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=WIC&sectionNum=366.22.
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayText.xhtml?lawCode=WIC&division=2.&title=&part=1.&chapter=2.&article=18.
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=827.&lawCode=WIC
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4096.&lawCode=WIC
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=16501.&lawCode=WIC
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=16501.&lawCode=WIC
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayText.xhtml?lawCode=WIC&division=9.&title=&part=2.&chapter=5.&article=
https://www.courts.ca.gov/cms/rules/index.cfm?title=five&linkid=rule5_618
https://www.courts.ca.gov/cms/rules/index.cfm?title=five&linkid=rule5_618
https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/Documents/BHIN-20-069-Mental-Health-Professional-Licensure-Waiver.pdf
https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/Documents/BHIN-20-069-Mental-Health-Professional-Licensure-Waiver.pdf
http://www.cdss.ca.gov/Portals/9/Additional-Resources/Letters-and-Notices/ACINs/2021/I_73-21.pdf?ver=2021-09-09-152546-450
http://www.cdss.ca.gov/Portals/9/Additional-Resources/Letters-and-Notices/ACINs/2021/I_73-21.pdf?ver=2021-09-09-152546-450
https://www.cdss.ca.gov/Portals/9/ACIN/2018/I-21_18.pdf?ver=2018-05-18-143357-423
https://www.cdss.ca.gov/Portals/9/ACIN/2018/I-21_18.pdf?ver=2018-05-18-143357-423
https://www.cdss.ca.gov/Portals/9/ACIN/2018/I-21_18.pdf?ver=2018-05-18-143357-423
https://cdss.ca.gov/Portals/9/Additional-Resources/Letters-and-Notices/ACLs/2021/21-113.pdf?ver=2021-10-06-134855-840
http://www.dhcs.ca.gov/Documents/BHIN-21-062-Claiming-for-Family-First-Prevention-Services-Act-Qualified-Individual.pdf
http://www.dhcs.ca.gov/Documents/BHIN-21-062-Claiming-for-Family-First-Prevention-Services-Act-Qualified-Individual.pdf
http://www.dhcs.ca.gov/Documents/BHIN-22-019-Documentation-Requirements-for-all-SMHS-DMC-and-DMC-ODS-Services.pdf
https://cdss.ca.gov/Portals/9/Additional-Resources/Letters-and-Notices/ACLs/2021/21-113.pdf?ver=2021-10-06-134855-840
https://cdss.ca.gov/Portals/9/Additional-Resources/Letters-and-Notices/ACLs/2021/21-113.pdf?ver=2021-10-06-134855-840
https://cdss.ca.gov/Portals/9/Additional-Resources/Letters-and-Notices/ACLs/2021/21-113.pdf?ver=2021-10-06-134855-840
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California IV-E Agreement and other federally recognized Tribes. 

Key Terms  

The following are key terms related to the Family First Prevention Services Act (FFPSA) 
for the purposes of this ACL/BHIN:  

• QI – means “qualified individual” as defined in ACL 21-113/BHIN 21-060, must
be a licensed mental health professional (LMHP), or be a registered, waivered, or
a trained professional who is working under the clinical supervision of an LMHP.
In the case of an Indian child, as defined in WIC Section 224.1, a person may be
designated by the child’s tribe as the QI.

• QI Certification - is an annual process designed to ensure county placing
agencies’ designated QIs meet all minimum requirements identified in ACL 21-
113/BHIN 21-060, including training requirements, and affiliation objectivity
requirements with regard to placement setting or county placing agency.

• QI Referral – A county placing agency must submit a referral to a QI for each
STRTP or CTF placement including a change or disruption in placement to or
from an STRTP or a CTF. The QI Referral is required by law and there are
specific criteria that require the use of the QI Referral as described below and in
ACL 21-113/BHIN 21-060.

• QI Assessment Report - The QI Assessment Report is required under Welfare
and Institutions Code (W&I Code) section 4096(g)(4) and includes a summary of
the QI Assessment2 findings, determinations and recommendations based on an
evaluation of the youth's strengths and needs. The QI Assessment Report
includes the QI’s recommendation for the appropriate level of care.

• County Placing Agency – The county child welfare or juvenile probation agency
responsible for the care and placement of a youth. Also referred to as the Title
IV-E agency.

• County Placing Agency Caseworker – The social worker or probation officer
assigned to the youth’s case.

• Tribal Placing Agency - Tribes with a Title IV-E Intergovernmental Agreement
with the State of California.

• Placement Disruption – A transfer away from an existing placement setting,

2  The minimum requirements for the QI assessment and activities are described in W&I Code 
Section 4096(g)(3). Further guidance on the QI assessment, activities, and the report are 
provided in ACL 21-113/BHIN 21-060. 

https://cdss.ca.gov/Portals/9/Additional-Resources/Letters-and-Notices/ACLs/2021/21-113.pdf?ver=2021-10-06-134855-840
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=224.1&lawCode=WIC
https://cdss.ca.gov/Portals/9/Additional-Resources/Letters-and-Notices/ACLs/2021/21-113.pdf?ver=2021-10-06-134855-840
https://cdss.ca.gov/Portals/9/Additional-Resources/Letters-and-Notices/ACLs/2021/21-113.pdf?ver=2021-10-06-134855-840
https://www.cdss.ca.gov/Portals/9/Additional-Resources/Letters-and-Notices/ACLs/2021/21-113.pdf?ver=2021-10-06-134855-840
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=WIC&sectionNum=4096.
https://cdss.ca.gov/Portals/9/Additional-Resources/Letters-and-Notices/ACLs/2021/21-113.pdf?ver=2021-10-06-134855-840
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4096.&lawCode=WIC
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4096.&lawCode=WIC
https://cdss.ca.gov/Portals/9/Additional-Resources/Letters-and-Notices/ACLs/2021/21-113.pdf?ver=2021-10-06-134855-840
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absence from the placement setting for over 14 days, or other experiences 
related to the youth’s placement setting that have the potential to negatively 
impact the youth, including trauma, safety, and interpersonal factors. 

• Placement Setting – An STRTP or a CTF.

• Youth - Children, youth, and nonminor dependents (NMDs).

QI Referral, Assessment, and Report when a placement disruption occurs 

A QI referral is required for each STRTP or CTF placement. This includes situations 
when a youth experiences a placement disruption and a subsequent STRTP or CTF 
placement is being considered by the Child and Family Team (CFT). The requirements 
for a QI Referral are found in ACL 21-113/BHIN 21-060. The federal Department of 
Health and Human Services, Administration for Children and Families’ (ACF) guidance 
clarifies that the language “each placement”3 includes events such as a youth’s change 
of address that has an impact on their care and treatment. However, a change in facility 
license number or address does not automatically require an additional QI referral. In 
these circumstances, an additional QI referral is only required if the youth’s condition 
has changed because of the changed license number or address. 

When a youth experiences a placement disruption, the county placing agency shall 
confer with the CFT, and in the case of an Indian child, consult with the child’s Tribe, 
who is also a member of the CFT, and make a QI referral.   

The following are examples of placement disruptions: 
a) A change in facility organization that negatively impacts the youth (distress

experienced by the youth).
b) An environment that negatively impacts the youth or causes incompatibility

between youth within the facility (safety, trauma, interpersonal factors, etc.).
c) An STRTP or CTF program change where the new STRTP/CTF is not a good fit

with the youth’s identified needs.
d) The youth is away from the placement for more than 14 days and returns within

the first 30 days of placement.
e) The youth is away from the placement for less than 14 days and is then placed in

a different STRTP or CTF within the first 30 days of the previous placement.
f) The youth is relocated to another STRTP or CTF.

When a QI assessment is already in progress, a subsequent QI referral should be 
assigned to the same QI ensuring the youth is not over assessed and there is no 
duplication in recommended services. 

3  ACYF-CB-PI-1807 Public Law 115-123, the Family First Prevention Services Act: 
Implementation of Title IV-E Plan Requirements. 

https://cdss.ca.gov/Portals/9/Additional-Resources/Letters-and-Notices/ACLs/2021/21-113.pdf?ver=2021-10-06-134855-840
https://acf.gov/sites/default/files/documents/cb/pi1807.pdf
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As required under W&I Code Section 4096(g) and ACL 21-113/BHIN 21-060, upon 
receipt of the QI Referral, the QI shall confer with the CFT, and in the case of an Indian 
child, consult with the Tribe, and include a determination of the social and cultural 
standards of the Tribe, assess the youth’s strengths and needs, and identify the youth-
specific short- and long-term behavioral health goals and treatment needs. The QI shall 
review the medical record, including any prior QI assessments, progress notes, and 
CFT notes, and the youth’s placement and service history; and make a clinical decision, 
as follows: 

(a) If the QI’s review of the medical record, indicates that a comprehensive
assessment is clinically indicated, then the QI will perform the assessment and
update the QI Assessment Report, including a level of care determination,
recommended services, and both short- and long-term goals.4

Or 

(b) If the QI’s review of the medical record, indicates to the QI that a medical
record review is sufficient to complete the QI Assessment Report and a
comprehensive assessment is not medically necessary, the QI shall not perform
a comprehensive assessment, but shall instead provide an addendum to add
relevant clinical information to the most current assessment, as clinically
indicated.5

Updating CANS 

All domains for the CANS are required for QI Assessment completion. If a CANS has 
been completed within the last two months of the referral for a QI assessment, the QI 
shall determine whether to perform a subsequent CANS or utilize the existing CANS 
results. If a CANS was completed more than two months before the QI referral, the QI 
shall perform a new CANS to update the CANS results.  

Privacy and Confidentiality for the QI Assessment Activities and the QI Assessment 
Report 

The QI Assessment Report is a confidential juvenile case record. Juvenile case records, 
including any QI Assessment Report, are subject to the full protection of numerous 
federal and State laws, including W&I Code Section 827, which protects juvenile case 

4  For Medi-Cal members, and to claim Medi-Cal funding, the QI assessment shall be completed 
in accordance with the requirements of the assessment component of the Mental Health 
Services category of SMHS (QI course of action “a”). 

5  For Medi-Cal members, and to claim Medi-Cal reimbursement, the QI’s review of the medical 
record shall be completed in accordance with the requirements of the assessment component 
of Intensive Care Coordination (ICC) (QI course of action “b”).   

https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4096.&lawCode=WIC
https://www.cdss.ca.gov/Portals/9/Additional-Resources/Letters-and-Notices/ACLs/2021/21-113.pdf?ver=2021-10-06-134855-840
https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/Documents/BHIN-21-062-Claiming-for-Family-First-Prevention-Services-Act-Qualified-Individual.pdf
https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/Documents/BHIN-21-062-Claiming-for-Family-First-Prevention-Services-Act-Qualified-Individual.pdf
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=827.&lawCode=WIC
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records as confidential information and prohibits the release of this confidential 
information to anyone other than those persons expressly allowed access.6 

The QI is a member of the multidisciplinary team pursuant to W&I Code Section 
4096(g)(8). Consistent with W&I Code Sections 827,  W&I Code Section 10850.1, and 
Civ. Code, § 56.10, members of the multidisciplinary team, which includes the QI  may 
inspect the case file documents and information. The county placing agency shall obtain 
a signed release of information (ROI) and provide it to the QI so that the QI has access 
to relevant medical record information.7 If the county placing agency is not able to 
obtain a signed ROI, the county placing agency shall request a court order to release 
medical records. 

Federal regulations under the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 
1996 (HIPAA) authorize a covered entity to disclose protected health information (PHI) 
without the consent of the individual when that disclosure is required by law (45 C.F.R. 
§ 164.512(a)). W&I Code Section 4096(g)(6) explicitly requires the QI to share the QI 
Assessment and Report, which contains PHI, with the county placing agency and 
STRTP where the youth is or will be placed.

The county placing agency caseworker must attach the QI Assessment Report to their 
report to the court. (W&I Code Section 361.22, subdivision.(c)(1) and W&I Code  
Section 727.12, subdivision.(c)(1).) The county placing agency caseworker shall serve a 
copy of the report with required attachments to all parties to the proceeding. Per 
(Cal.Rules.Ct., Rule 5.618(c) and (d)(2).) the parties include: 

(1) The youth’s parents and their attorneys of record, if parental rights have not been
terminated, or the parent is receiving family reunification services;

(2) The youth’s legal guardians, if applicable, and their attorneys of record, if the
legal guardian is receiving family reunification services;

(3) The attorney of record for the youth, or their Child Abuse Prevention and
Treatment Act (CAPTA) guardian ad litem as defined by rule 5.662, and the
youth if ten years of age or older;

(4) A youth’s guardian ad litem if one has been appointed under Code of Civil
Procedure section 372 and Probate Code sections 810-813;

(5) The youth’s Tribe and any Indian custodian, in the case of an Indian youth, and
their attorneys of record;

(6) The social worker or probation officer;
(7) The district attorney, if the youth is a ward of the juvenile court;
(8) The county counsel, if the youth is a dependent of the juvenile court; and
(9) The youth's Court Appointed Special Advocate volunteer, if applicable.

6  See also, 42 U.S.C. §§ 671(a)(8) & 5106a(b)(2)(B)(viii); 45 CFR §§ 160 & 164 [HIPAA Privacy 
Rule]; Civ.Code § 56 et seq. [CMIA]; WIC § 10850; CDSS Child Welfare Services Manual 31-
502.451. 

7  DHCS and CDSS are developing a universal ROI pursuant to subdivision (g)(2)(B) of W&I 
Code Section 4096. 

https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/USCODE-2010-title42/html/USCODE-2010-title42-chap7-subchapIV-partE-sec671.htm
https://uscode.house.gov/view.xhtml?req=(title:42%20section:5106a%20edition:prelim)
https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2024/04/26/2024-08503/hipaa-privacy-rule-to-support-reproductive-health-care-privacy
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayText.xhtml?lawCode=CIV&division=1.&title=&part=2.6.&chapter=2.&article=
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayText.xhtml?lawCode=WIC&division=9.&title=&part=2.&chapter=5.&article=
https://www.cdss.ca.gov/ord/entres/getinfo/pdf/cws4.PDF
https://www.cdss.ca.gov/ord/entres/getinfo/pdf/cws4.PDF
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4096.&lawCode=WIC
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4096.&lawCode=WIC
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=827.&lawCode=WIC
https://law.justia.com/codes/california/2021/code-wic/division-9/part-2/chapter-5/section-10850-1/
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=56.10&lawCode=CIV
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayText.xhtml?lawCode=WIC&division=4.&title=&part=1.&chapter=3.&article=5.
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayText.xhtml?lawCode=WIC&division=4.&title=&part=1.&chapter=3.&article=5.
https://www.law.cornell.edu/cfr/text/45/164.512#:%7E:text=A%20covered%20entity%20may%20disclose%20protected%20health%20information%20as%20authorized,illness%20without%20regard%20to%20fault.
https://www.law.cornell.edu/cfr/text/45/164.512#:%7E:text=A%20covered%20entity%20may%20disclose%20protected%20health%20information%20as%20authorized,illness%20without%20regard%20to%20fault.
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayText.xhtml?lawCode=WIC&division=4.&title=&part=1.&chapter=3.&article=5.
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayText.xhtml?lawCode=WIC&division=2.&title=&part=1.&chapter=2.&article=10.
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayText.xhtml?lawCode=WIC&division=2.&title=&part=1.&chapter=2.&article=18.
https://www.courts.ca.gov/cms/rules/index.cfm?title=five&linkid=rule5_618#:%7E:text=Rule%205.618.%20Placement%20in%20short-term%20residential%20therapeutic%20program%20or%20community
https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/USCODE-2017-title42/html/USCODE-2017-title42-chap67.htm
https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/USCODE-2017-title42/html/USCODE-2017-title42-chap67.htm
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayText.xhtml?lawCode=CCP&division=&title=3.&part=2.&chapter=3.&article=
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayText.xhtml?lawCode=CCP&division=&title=3.&part=2.&chapter=3.&article=
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayText.xhtml?lawCode=PROB&division=2.&title=&part=17.&chapter=&article=
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As part of the juvenile case file, the QI Assessment Report “may not be disseminated 
further to any person or agency, other than a person or agency authorized to receive 
documents, without approval of the juvenile court.” (W&I Code Section 827(a)(4)). 

The court must consider the QI Assessment Report and other evidence submitted by 
the county placing agency caseworker, make determinations and findings, approve or 
disapprove the placement, and provide a basis for its determinations.  (California 
Welfare and Institution Code (W&I Code) section  361.22(e) & 727.12(e); 42 U.S.C. § 
675a(c)(2).)  

Nothing in this ACL/BHIN shall be construed to limit a youth’s right to assert any 
applicable right to privacy or confidentiality, including the ability to seek legal advice and 
representation regarding QI Assessment Reports. Nothing in this ACL/BHIN shall be 
construed to limit the court’s authority to place further limitations on the dissemination of 
the QI Assessment Report to other parties to the case, consistent with the best interest 
of the youth.8  

Updated QI Referral and QI Assessment Report Templates 

The updated required QI Referral template (Enclosure A) and QI Assessment Report 
template (Enclosure B) are attached to this ACL/BHIN.  

Tribally Designated QI 

Pursuant to state law, in the case of an Indian child, the child’s Tribe(s) may designate  
a QI who meets all the requirements set forth in Welfare Institution Code (W&I Code) 
W&I Code section 16501(l) section 16501(l) and ACL 21-113/BHIN 21-060. Further 
guidance will be issued regarding Tribes designating the QI pursuant to W&I Code 
Section 16501(l)(1) in a forthcoming ACL/BHIN.  

QI Certification Process 

CDSS and DHCS; the State designee (UC Davis); and county Behavioral Health Plans 
(BHPs) (or county placing agencies with approved QI waiver programs)9 shall complete 
the following to certify QI candidates and monitor ongoing compliance of QIs:   

1. For initial certifications, County BHPs (or county placing agencies with approved
QI Waiver programs) shall:

a. Review the licensed, registered, or Licensed Professional Waiver (LPW)
status of the QI candidates to verify that the relevant professional license held
by the QI candidate is active and meets the minimum requirements specified

8  County departments performing the QI role and county placing agencies should confer with 
their respective legal counsel regarding their compliance with federal and State law. 

9  Further guidance is forthcoming.  

https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=827.&lawCode=WIC
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayText.xhtml?lawCode=WIC&division=2.&title=&part=1.&chapter=2.&article=10.
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayText.xhtml?lawCode=WIC&division=2.&title=&part=1.&chapter=2.&article=18.
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/42/675a
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/42/675a
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayText.xhtml?lawCode=WIC&division=9.&title=&part=4.&chapter=5.&article=
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayText.xhtml?lawCode=WIC&division=9.&title=&part=4.&chapter=5.&article=
https://www.cdss.ca.gov/Portals/9/Additional-Resources/Letters-and-Notices/ACLs/2021/21-113.pdf?ver=2021-10-06-134855-840
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayText.xhtml?lawCode=WIC&division=9.&title=&part=4.&chapter=5.&article=
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in ACL 21-113/BHIN 21-060.  
b. Verify that the QI candidate is CANS certified as specified in ACL 18-

81/MHSUDS IN 17-052 or any superseding ACL/BHIN.
c. Ensure that QI candidates register for the initial QI training required by CDSS

and DHCS.10

d. Verify that the QI candidates have completed the initial QI training.
e. Verify that QI candidates that perform QI activities11 for an Indian child have

specialized knowledge of, training on, or experience with, tribes and the
federal Indian Child Welfare Act of 1978 (25 U.S.C. §1901, et seq.)

All QIs are required to take the following initial trainings, which are available on the 
FFPSA Part IV Qualified Individual website.  

• Prerequisite Webinar: The Qualified Individual – Understanding the California
Children and Youth System of Care [pre-recorded]

• The Qualified Individual Fundamentals

If there are no Qualified Individual Fundamentals training courses scheduled within the 
timeframe by which a QI needs to start conducting QI assessments, the QI can 
complete the Qualified Individual: Getting Started recorded webinar, available on the 
FFPSA Part IV Qualified Individual trainings website, prior to initiating any QI 
assessments. The QI must register for and complete the next scheduled QI 
Fundamentals training within 6 months of completing the Qualified Individual: Getting 
Started recorded webinar (or 6 months from the date of this letter for QIs who 
completed the Qualified Individual: Getting Started recorded webinar prior to the date of 
this letter).12 

2. For ongoing re-certifications, County BHPs (or county placing agencies with an
approved QI Waiver programs) shall:

a. Review the licensed, registered or LPW status to ensure that the QI
continues to meet the minimum requirements specified in ACL 21-
113/BHIN 21-060.

b. Ensure that QI candidates register for annual QI training required by
CDSS and DHCS, via the State designee (UC Davis)13.

c. Verify that QIs have completed the annual QI training.
d. Verify that QI candidates that perform QI activities for an Indian child have

received specialized training14 on Tribes, and the federal Indian Child
Welfare Act of 1978 (25 U.S.C. §1901, et seq.)

10  County placing agencies operating under a QI Waiver must ensure the QI waiver application 
is approved by the State before registering the QI candidate for the required QI trainings. 

11  FFPSA Part IV Qualified Individual trainings. 
12  CDSS and DHCS previously provided guidance for QI training requirements in ACL 21-

113/BHIN 21-060). 
13  FFPSA Part IV Qualified Individual trainings. 
14  FFPSA Part IV Qualified Individual trainings. 

https://www.cdss.ca.gov/Portals/9/ACL/2018/18-81.pdf?ver=2018-07-02-142753-803
https://www.cdss.ca.gov/Portals/9/ACL/2018/18-81.pdf?ver=2018-07-02-142753-803
https://humanservices.ucdavis.edu/subject-areas/ffpsa-part-iv
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/25/1901
https://cdss.ca.gov/Portals/9/Additional-Resources/Letters-and-Notices/ACLs/2021/21-113.pdf?ver=2021-10-06-134855-840
https://humanservices.ucdavis.edu/subject-areas/ffpsa-part-iv
https://urldefense.com/v3/__https:/humanservices.ucdavis.edu/subject-areas/ffpsa-part-iv__;!!EuW5fDSpzeg!eSw88xGsCZ0wd96cRwl2Rp61aOIve_kC0S856mmNf2Io3nmirmkGM-uyEiOeW0R4PbMcUyjj4rmBvPo4G2wKtGDr6Su-xkY$
https://cdss.ca.gov/Portals/9/Additional-Resources/Letters-and-Notices/ACLs/2021/21-113.pdf?ver=2021-10-06-134855-840
https://cdss.ca.gov/Portals/9/Additional-Resources/Letters-and-Notices/ACLs/2021/21-113.pdf?ver=2021-10-06-134855-840
https://humanservices.ucdavis.edu/subject-areas/ffpsa-part-iv
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/25/1901
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/25/1901
https://humanservices.ucdavis.edu/subject-areas/ffpsa-part-iv
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QIs are required to complete a minimum of 8 hours of training annually. The 8-hour 
requirement is subject to change and may be updated, or specific courses may be 
required by CDSS and DHCS based on new or ongoing training needs. CDSS and 
DHCS in collaboration with UC Davis, will provide a list of trainings on the FFPSA Part 
IV Qualified Individual trainings webpage that meet the annual QI training requirements. 
The annual trainings are required to be completed each calendar year following the 
calendar year in which the QI completed the QI Fundamentals training (e.g., if the QI 
completed the QI Fundamentals training in calendar year 2025, the QI must complete 
the required annual training in calendar year 2026, and each calendar year thereafter).  

3. QI candidates shall:
a. Provide the following to the State designee (UC Davis) as components of the

QI training registration:
1) Name and contact information,
2) Employer name and contact information,
3) Affiliation with a county BHP or county placing agency, and whether

the county placing agency is operating under a waiver approved by the
State.15

4) Attestation that they meet minimum requirements to serve as a QI, as
specified in ACL 21-113/BHIN 21-060.

5) Verification that their employer has designated them as a QI
candidate.

6) Attestation that they will perform the QI assessment activities with
objectivity, avoiding biases during the assessment and interpretation of
results.

7) Attestation that they are not connected to or affiliated with any facility
or placement setting in which youth are placed, unless operating under
a waiver approved by the CDSS.

8) Attestation that they will not have responsibility as a caseworker, or in
the chain of command of a caseworker, for any youth for whom they
conduct a QI assessment.

b. Complete initial trainings and annual trainings as required and provide
evidence of completion to County BHPs or placing agencies, as applicable.

4. The State designee (UC Davis) shall:
a. Review all submitted information from County BHPs or placing agencies and

QI candidates to certify completion of all requirements.
b. Issue a certificate of completion and provide a true and correct copy to

designated QI candidates, their employers, and affiliated BHPs or county
placing agencies.

15  Upon Tribal consultation and engagement, guidance is forthcoming regarding Tribes with a 
California IV-E Agreement and other federally recognized Tribes. 

https://humanservices.ucdavis.edu/subject-areas/qualified-individual
https://humanservices.ucdavis.edu/subject-areas/qualified-individual
https://cdss.ca.gov/Portals/9/Additional-Resources/Letters-and-Notices/ACLs/2021/21-113.pdf?ver=2021-10-06-134855-840
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Ongoing QI Monitoring 

If at any time the QI does not meet minimum qualifications, the BHP (or the county 
placing agency with an approved QI Waiver program) shall suspend the QI. When a QI 
has been suspended, they shall not perform QI assessments. The BHP (or the county 
placing agency with an approved QI Waiver program) shall provide written notice of the 
QI’s suspension to CDSS, DHCS, and the State designee (UC Davis). At such time as 
the BHP (or the county placing agency with an approved QI Waiver) determines that the 
individual meets the minimum requirements, the individual may resume the role as a QI. 
The BHP (or the county placing agency with an approved QI Waiver) shall provide 
written notice to CDSS, DHCS, and the State designee (UC Davis), when the 
individual’s suspension has been lifted and they have resumed the role as a QI. 

If you have any questions concerning this letter, please contact the CDSS 
FFPSA inbox                at FFPSA@dss.ca.gov or the DHCS FFPSA inbox at 
FFPSA@dhcs.ca.gov. 

Sincerely, 

Original Document Signed By 

ANGIE SCHWARTZ 
Deputy Director, Children and Family Services Division 
California Department of Social Services 

PAULA WILHELM 
Deputy Director, Behavioral Health 
Department of Health Care Services 

Attachments  
Referral for QI Assessment (Enclosure A) 
QI Assessment Report (Enclosure B) 

mailto:FFPSA@dss.ca.gov
mailto:FFPSA@dhcs.ca.gov
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