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CalEVV Information Notice: 23-01 
 
TO:  All Department of Health Care Services (DHCS) California Electronic Visit 

Verification (EVV) impacted Medi-Cal providers 

 
SUBJECT:  California EVV Live-In Caregiver Exemption Guidelines  
 
I. PURPOSE 
 

The purpose of this California EVV (CalEVV) Information Notice (IN) is to define a 
Live-In Caregiver and to provide guidelines to Medi-Cal caregivers in determining 
whether they qualify as a Live-In Caregiver to be exempt from the EVV 
requirements. Welfare & Institutions Code (WIC) section 14043.51(f) provides 
DHCS authority to implement EVV through Information Notice.  

 
II. BACKGROUND 
 

Section 12006(a) of the 21st Century Cures Act, signed into law on December 
13, 2016, added section 1903(l) to the Social Security Act (the Act), mandating 
that states require EVV for Medicaid-funded Personal Care Services (PCS) and 
Home Health Care Services (HHCS) for in-home visits by a provider.1 EVV is 
required for PCS and HHCS under all Medicaid authorities provided under the 
State plan (or under a waiver), including services provided under section 
1905(a)(24), 1915(b), 1915(c), 1915(i), 1915(j), 1915(k), 1905(a)(7) of the Act or 
under a waiver under section 1115. 

 
State law also requires implementation of EVV in accordance with the WIC, 
section 14043.512 as follows, in part: 

 
• DHCS is authorized to implement an EVV solution as required by federal 

law, in collaboration with other governmental entities. 
• Providers rendering Medi-Cal services subject to EVV must comply with 

EVV requirements established by DHCS and partners or be subject to 
non-compliance actions. 

 
1 Section 12006(a) of the Cures Act is available at: 
https://www.medicaid.gov/sites/default/files/federal-policy-guidance/downloads/cib051618.pdf  
2 Welfare and Institutions Code section 14043.51 is available at: 
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/  

https://www.medicaid.gov/sites/default/files/federal-policy-guidance/downloads/cib051618.pdf
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/
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In California, EVV has been implemented separately for two populations: (1) 
agency providers of PCS and HHCS, and (2) individual providers following the 
self-directed model who provide In-Home Supportive Services (IHSS) and/or 
Waiver Personal Care Services (WPCS). This IN applies only to agency 
providers of PCS and HHCS. Individual WPCS and IHSS providers are not 
subject to this IN, but instead should see the policies and guidance published by 
the California Department of Social Services (CDSS)3. 
 
LIVE-IN CAREGIVER DEFINITION 

 
A caregiver is considered a “Live-In Caregiver” if the caregiver regularly remains 
in the member’s home for more than 24 hours at a time, during which they are 
available to provide any of the authorized PCS and HHCS. This includes but is 
not limited to Registered Nurses, Licensed Vocational Nurses, Home Health 
Aides, Personal Assistance Services, Respite Services and Supported Living 
Services.  

 
III. POLICY  
 

Caregivers who meet the definition are exempt from the EVV requirements only 
for the care they provide to the members with whom they live with and provide 
services more than 24 hours. If that same caregiver provides services to other or 
additional members with whom they do not live with and/or to whom they provide 
care for less than 24 hours, they are required to register with EVV and submit 
EVV visit information for those members. Please see the list of EVV Provider 
Types and Codes4 on the DHCS EVV website5 to determine which providers are 
impacted by EVV requirements.    

 
Live-In Caregivers who are exempt from CalEVV compliance must complete the 
Electronic Visit Verification (EVV) Exemption Form for Live-In Caregiver. By 
completing and submitting the Exemption Form, Live-In Caregivers are attesting 
they are exempt from EVV requirements and therefore do not need to register 
with CalEVV. Caregivers must inform DHCS by email EVV@dhcs.ca.gov when 
they are no longer a Live-In Caregiver.  

 
 
  

 
3 California Department of Social Services (CDSS) at https://www.cdss.ca.gov/inforesources/ihss/evv 
4 The EVV Provider Type, Procedure and Place of Service Codes is available at: 
https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/provgovpart/Documents/EVV-Provider-Types-and-Codes-November.pdf  
5 DHCS EVV webpage: https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/provgovpart/Pages/EVV.aspx  

https://cadhcs.workflowcloud.com/forms/4d411531-aa49-4df3-8886-7c967c73470c
mailto:EVV@dhcs.ca.gov
https://www.cdss.ca.gov/inforesources/ihss/evv
https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/provgovpart/Documents/EVV-Provider-Types-and-Codes-November.pdf
https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/provgovpart/Pages/EVV.aspx
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For any questions regarding this CalEVV Information Notice or EVV program, 
please email EVV@dhcs.ca.gov. 

 
Original Signed By, 

 
Joseph Billingsley   
Assistant Deputy Director 
Health Care Delivery Systems 
Department of Health Care Services 
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