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Updated Requirements and Procedures for the Enrollment of Medi-Cal Dental 
Providers 

 
The Department of Health Care Services (DHCS) is establishing new Medi-Cal provider 
enrollment requirements for dental providers. Effective October 31, 2022, dental 
providers may apply for enrollment in the Medi-Cal Fee-For-Service program as 
individuals, group providers, rendering providers, ordering/referring/prescribing 
providers, or crossover-only providers by submitting an electronic application through 
the Provider Application for Validation and Enrollment (PAVE) online enrollment portal, 
along with all supporting documentation. For the purposes of this bulletin, dental 
providers include licensed dentists, registered dental hygienists, registered dental 
hygienists in alternative practice, and registered dental hygienists in extended functions. 
This regulatory bulletin does not authorize dental assistants, registered dental 
assistants, or registered dental assistants in extended functions to enroll in or bill Medi- 
Cal directly. 

 
In accordance with Welfare & Institutions Code (W&I Code) Section 14043.75(b), DHCS 
is establishing specific application and enrollment requirements for dental providers who 
apply for enrollment in the Medi-Cal program to be reimbursed for the covered services 
they provide to Medi-Cal beneficiaries. These requirements implement and make 
specific W&I Code Sections 14043.26 and 14043.15, and as such have the full force 
and effect of law. This bulletin does not substitute for, or eliminate, all other enrollment 
requirements set forth in W&I Code Sections 14043.25 and 14043.26. 

 
Application Requirements 

 
All dental applicants requesting enrollment, changes to enrollment, or continued 
enrollment in the Medi-Cal Fee-For-Service program must submit an e-Form through 
the PAVE online system, available at https://pave.dhcs.ca.gov. The e-Form 
incorporates the appropriate application information, disclosure statements, provider 
agreement, and the procedure to use digital signatures to verify applications and 
enrollment modifications. 

 
Current state and federal regulatory and statutory enrollment requirements apply to the 
e-Form. Submission of a copy of the Articles of Incorporation is required for all 
incorporated applicants, pursuant to California Code of Regulations (CCR), Title 22, 
Section 51000.30(e). 

 
DHCS will no longer accept paper applications from dental providers as of 
October 31, 2022. 

 
Preferred Provisional Provider Eligibility 

 
Licensed dentists may request, and provide documentation and verification for, 
consideration for enrollment in the Medi-Cal program as a Preferred Provisional 
Provider. Preferred Provisional Provider status shortens the deadline for a DHCS 

https://pave.dhcs.ca.gov/sso/login.do
https://pave.dhcs.ca.gov/
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response from 180 days to 150 days. However, all program requirements still need to 
be met. Preferred status may be met if all of the following statements are true: 

• The applicant holds a current license as a dentist issued by the Dental Board of
California, which has not been revoked, whether stayed or not, suspended,
placed on probation, or subject to other limitation;

• The applicant is currently enrolled as a dental provider by a health care service
plan licensed under the Knox-Keene Health Care Service Plan Act of 1975;

• The applicant has never had revoked and/or suspended privileges through the
California Medicaid program Medi-Cal Dental; and

• The applicant does not have any adverse entries in the Healthcare Integrity and
Protection Data Bank/National Practitioner Data Bank (HIPDB/NPDB).

University Enrollment 

University providers are accredited University dental schools. These providers must 
indicate within the e-Form application that they are applying as a University provider 
and upload faculty permit(s) or a letter from the University appointing the dental 
director(s). 

Rendering Physician Enrollment 

Physicians rendering services to dental provider groups must submit an e-Form 
application as a rendering provider linking them to the dental provider group and are 
required to attach a valid physician/surgeon license as well as a valid Medical General 
Anesthesia permit. 

Specialized Enrollments 

The required use of the PAVE application process and e-Forms also applies to groups 
and provider types with specialized enrollments. Billing providers that meet the 
requirements of any of the following specialized enrollments are exempted from the 
established place of business requirements of CCR, Title 22, Section 51000.60. 

Facility-Based Dental Provider Enrollment 

A “facility-based provider” is defined as a natural person or professional 
corporation enrolled as a provider who renders services to Medi-Cal beneficiaries 
exclusively in one or more licensed health facilities or health-related facilities. 
Details on the requirements and procedures for this type of enrollment are 
outlined in the regulatory provider bulletin titled Updated Requirements and 
Procedures for Enrollment as a “Facility-Based Provider.” Facility-based 
providers must indicate within the e-Form application that they are applying for 
enrollment as a facility-based provider and submit the attestation letters outlined 
in the aforementioned provider bulletin. 

https://pave.dhcs.ca.gov/sso/login.do?
https://mcweb.apps.prd.cammis.medi-cal.ca.gov/assets/CD9AA64F-5900-44B0-A53C-A05CB81B9902/PED_Enrollment_for_Facility-Based_Providers_26377.pdf?access_token=6UyVkRRfByXTZEWIh8j8QaYylPyP5ULO
https://mcweb.apps.prd.cammis.medi-cal.ca.gov/assets/CD9AA64F-5900-44B0-A53C-A05CB81B9902/PED_Enrollment_for_Facility-Based_Providers_26377.pdf?access_token=6UyVkRRfByXTZEWIh8j8QaYylPyP5ULO
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School-Based Dental Provider Enrollment 
 

School-based providers offer dental services within their authorized scope of 
practice to elementary, middle, or high school students on school grounds. 
These providers must enroll using the school address as their service address, 
indicate within the e-Form application that they are applying as a school-based 
provider and upload a signed contract between the school and the provider. 

 
Mobile Dental Clinic Enrollment 

 
Mobile clinics are required to indicate that they are applying for enrollment as a 
mobile dental clinic within the e-Form application. These providers are also 
required to: 

• Enter their mobile dental clinic permit number issued by the Dental 
Board of California and attach a legible copy; 

• Attach their vehicle DMV registration, as required by law; and 
• Attach their vehicle insurance, as required by law. 

 
Registered Dental Hygienists in an Alternative Practice 
 
Registered Dental Hygienists in Alternative Practice (RDHAPs) who have an office where 
they see patients are required to meet established place of business requirements 
pursuant to CCR, Title 22, Section 51000.60.  Alternatively, RDHAPs who provide 
services solely at residential facilities, residences of the homebound, group homes, 
licensed health facilities, or as otherwise permitted by Business and Professions Code, 
Sections 1925 and 1926, are not required to maintain an established place of business to 
render services to patients. Therefore, RDHAPs who do not have an office where they 
see patients may use an “administrative location” for the purposes of reporting a business 
address in the e-Form application. This may be the same as their mailing address. This 
address will appear in directories and in the California Health and Human Services Open 
Data Portal. For the purposes of this provider bulletin, an “administrative location” is 
defined as the physical location associated with the RDHAP’s operations, which can 
include where RDHAPs are dispatched from or based. They are not required to provide 
services at the administrative location.  
 
The requirement set forth in CCR, Title 22, Section 51000.4 is modified to permit the use 
of a cellular telephone as the primary business phone for RDHAP providers. Additionally, 
the following established place of business requirements set forth in CCR, Title 22, 
Section 51000.60(c)(9) will be waived for RDHAP providers who attest that they provide 
services at residential facilities, residences of the homebound, group homes, and/or 
licensed health facilities. The waived requirements are: 

https://data.chhs.ca.gov/
https://data.chhs.ca.gov/
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• Regular and permanently posted business hours 

• Is identifiable as a medical/health care provider or business, by permanently 
attached signage that identifies the name of the provider or business as shown on 
the application  

• Obtains and maintains Liability insurance coverage, that covers premises and 
operation, in an amount not less than $100,00 per claim, with a minimum annual 
aggregate of not less than $300,000, from an authorized insurer pursuant to 
Section 700 of the Insurance Code  
 

RDHAP Attestation Procedures 
 

For the established place of business requirements outlined above to be waived, 
RDHAPs must sign and upload the following attestation in the general liability 
insurance field in lieu of a copy of a general liability insurance policy within the  
e-From application. The RDHAP attestation template language may only be modified in 
the blank fields as applicable, and the attestation must have been signed within the last 
60 days from the date the application is submitted. The attestation must be on the 
RDHAP’s letterhead using the language below and contain no confidential or protected 
health information. 
 

 

 
 

 
 
I, _____________________________, attest that the following is true and correct: 
 (Name of applicant or provider) 

1. I am licensed by the state of California as a Registered Dental Hygienist in Alternative 
Practice. 

2. Consistent with my scope of licensure, I provide dental hygiene services at residential 
facilities, residences of the homebound, group homes, and/or licensed health facilities. 

3. I do not have an established place of business where I see Medi-Cal beneficiaries. 
 
 
Attested to on ______________________ of ___________, ____________.  
    (Day)     (Month)  (Year)  
 
 
By: ________________________________________________________________ 
(Printed name and title of person authorized to legally bind the applicant or provider) 
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