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SUBJECT: CHANGES TO ASSET VERIFICATION REVIEW REQUIREMENTS DUE  

TO JULY 2022 ASSET LIMIT INCREASE 
(References: All County Welfare Directors Letter (ACWDL) 21-31, 21-24, 

17-37, and Medi-Cal Eligibility Division Informational Letter (MEDIL) 21-42 
and 17-05.) 

 
 
Purpose  
 
The purpose of this All County Welfare Directors Letter (ACWDL) is to utilize the July 
2022 asset limit increase to modify the conditions under which county eligibility workers 
(CEWs) can use the asset verification reports as verification at application, annual 
renewal, and change in circumstance (CIC) for non-MAGI Long Term Care (LTC) and 
non-LTC Aged, Blind and Disabled (ABD) individuals and their responsible relatives. 
With the exception of the new guidance provided in this ACWDL, CEWs must follow the 
case processing guidelines for asset verification reports as outlined in ACWDLs 17-37 
and 21-24. 
 
Overview  
 
Section 1940 of the federal Social Security Act requires California’s Medicaid program 
(Medi-Cal) to have an electronic asset verification program (AVP) in place to verify 
assets for ABD applicants and beneficiaries who do not receive Supplemental Security 
Income or State Supplementary Payment (SSI/SSP). California’s electronic AVP 
requirements are outlined in Welfare & Institutions Code (WIC) Section 14013.5. The 
Department of Health Care Services (DHCS) has previously published guidance on 
California’s electronic AVP during various stages of implementation. For background on 
the pilot program, including participating counties and procedures, please refer to 

Medi-Cal Eligibility Division 
1501 Capitol Avenue, MS 4607 

P.O. Box 997413, Sacramento, CA 95899-7413 
(916) 552-9200 phone • (916) 552-9477 fax 

Internet Address: www.dhcs.ca.gov  

https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/services/medi-cal/eligibility/letters/Documents/21-31.pdf
https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/services/medi-cal/eligibility/letters/Documents/21-24.pdf
https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/services/medi-cal/eligibility/letters/Documents/c17-37.pdf
https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/services/medi-cal/eligibility/letters/Documents/I21-42.pdf
https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/services/medi-cal/eligibility/letters/Documents/I17-05.pdf
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=14013.5.&lawCode=WIC
http://www.dhcs.ca.gov/
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MEDIL I 17-05. Information regarding California’s initial AVP rollout can be found in 
ACWDL 17-37. Details on the new weekly batch process, which went live on January 3, 
2022 and covers asset verification requests submitted by CEWs for applications, CICs, 
and responsible relative searches can be found in ACWDL 21-24.  
 
Changes to AVP Review Requirements at Application, Renewal, and Change in 
Circumstance 
 
Effective July 1, 2022, the asset limit will increase to $130,000 for one person and 
$65,000 for each additional person (up to ten maximum). When these forthcoming 
changes take effect, CEWs must follow the modified asset verification review 
requirements at application, renewal, and CIC as specified below.  
 
NOTE: These modified review requirements do not affect the Spousal Impoverishment 
(SI) provisions, nor do they affect existing policies and procedures regarding 
Application, CIC, Overpayment and Fraud. Please refer to existing DHCS guidance for 
additional information on these topics. 
 
I. Application 
CEWs must rely on self-attested asset information provided during the application 
process and subsequently verify that information using the AVP reports post Medi-Cal 
enrollment as stipulated in 42 CFR §435.945.  
 
Starting July 1, 2022, CEWs must grant Medi-Cal eligibility to ABD LTC and non-LTC 
applicants using self-attested information if the combined value of the self-attested 
asset(s) does not exceed $130,000 for one person and $65,000 for each additional 
person (up to ten maximum). As a reminder, CEWs must not deny or delay eligibility 
due to non-receipt of the asset reports. 
 
If the asset report is available before a CEW determines Medi-Cal eligibility based on 
self-attestation, then the CEW must grant eligibility if the combined value of all assets 
on the report, both disclosed and undisclosed, does not exceed $130,000 for one 
person and $65,000 for each additional person (up to ten maximum). In addition to 
utilizing asset report information, the current attested value of any asset(s) that were 
previously disclosed but not detected by the report must be used in determining an 
applicant’s property reserve, if applicable. To expedite the provision of medical 
assistance, the CEW must not request administrative verification such as banking 
statements and/or property valuation reports if the applicant’s sum of all reported and 
unreported assets is below the property reserve limit.  
 

https://www.law.cornell.edu/cfr/text/42/435.945
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If Medi-Cal eligibility was granted based on self-attestation prior to receipt of the asset 
report, but the report is later received and reveals previously undisclosed asset(s), then 
the CEW must not obtain administrative verification such as banking statements and/or 
property valuation reports if the combined value of all disclosed and undisclosed assets 
on the report is less than $130,000 for one person and $65,000 for each additional 
person (up to ten maximum). If applicable, the current attested value of any asset(s) 
that were previously disclosed but not detected by the report must also be used in 
determining a beneficiary’s property reserve. However, and in accordance with 42 CFR 
§ 435.916(d) and W&I Section 14005.37, if new information from the asset report post-
Medi-Cal enrollment indicates potential ineligibility, then the CEW must evaluate that 
information and redetermine eligibility as appropriate. Section II provides additional 
guidance regarding the modified conditions for when CEWs must obtain administrative 
verification such as banking statements and/or property valuation reports for annual 
renewals and CIC redeterminations. 
 
II. Renewal and Change in Circumstance 
To make the renewal process faster and less burdensome on both County Welfare 
Departments (CWDs) and beneficiaries, DHCS is modifying the conditions under which 
CEWs can use asset reports as verification at annual renewal and CIC. The modified  
renewal processing conditions outlined in this ACWDL supersede those provided in 
ACWDL 21-24.  
 
Under ACWDL 21-24, the pre-July 1, 2022 processing conditions for annual renewals 
and CICs were as follows: 
 
When the asset verification report identifies all assets included in the beneficiary’s case 
file, and the value of those assets fall under property reserve limits, then CEWs must 
not request administrative verification such as bank statements and/or property 
valuation reports. CEWs must request bank statements and/or property valuation 
reports only in the following scenarios: 
 

1) When the asset report reveals previously undisclosed assets; 
2) When the asset reports reveals a previously disclosed asset with a value 

exceeding the property reserve limit; or  
3) When the asset report does not detect an asset already disclosed by the 

beneficiary.  
 
Starting July 1, 2022, the modified conditions for annual renewals and CICs will be as 
follows:  
 

https://www.law.cornell.edu/cfr/text/42/435.916
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=14005.37&lawCode=WIC
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1) CEWs must not request administrative verification such as bank statements 
and/or property valuation reports when the asset report contains assets, whether 
disclosed or undisclosed, that when combined do not exceed the new property 
reserve limits of $130,000 for one person and $65,000 for each additional  
person (up to ten maximum). In addition to utilizing asset report information, the 
current attested value of any asset(s) that were previously disclosed but not 
detected by the report must be used in determining the total value of the property 
reserve.  

a. If a beneficiary is beneath property reserve limits, then CEWs must use 
the most recent combined value of all assets on the report and/or the 
current attested value of any asset(s) that were previously disclosed but 
not detected by the report. Previously undisclosed assets must be 
documented in the beneficiary’s case file.  

 
2) CEWs must request administrative verification such as bank statements and/or 

property valuation reports when the asset report contains assets, whether 
disclosed or undisclosed, that when combined exceed the new property reserve 
limits of $130,000 for one person and $65,000 for each additional person (up to 
ten maximum). 

b. If a beneficiary exceeds property reserve limits, then CEWs must use the 
most recent combined value of all assets provided on all administrative 
verification documents, including those previously disclosed but not 
returned by the asset report. Previously undisclosed assets must be 
documented in the beneficiary’s case file.  

 
If the asset report provides evidence of closure on a previously known asset, then the 
CEW should no longer include the asset in the case record. If the record is known in 
SAWS, then the case should be updated to reflect that the asset is no longer open. 
 
All supporting information and/or documentation used in eligibility determinations must 
be retained in the case notes/files to be compliant with audits and appeals 
requirements. This may include person(s) contacted, dates, times, and other applicable 
information or documentation to support the case file. To remain in compliance with 
FFCRA Section 6008(b)(3), CEWs must not terminate a beneficiary until after 
completing the beneficiary’s first ordinary annual renewal that occurs following the end 
of the month in which the public health emergency ends, even if eligibility was granted 
based on self-attested information at application.  
 
 

https://www.congress.gov/bill/116th-congress/house-bill/6201/text


All County Welfare Directors Letter No.: 22-13 
Page 5 
May 12, 2022 
 
 
 

  

If you have any questions, or if we can provide further information, please contact 
Corinne Marquez at (916) 345-8684 or by email at Corinne.Marquez@dhcs.ca.gov.  
 
Original signed by 
 
 
Yingjia Huang 
Assistant Deputy Director 
Health Care Benefits and Eligibility  
Department of Health Care Services 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

mailto:Corinne.Marquez@dhcs.ca.gov

