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Medi-Cal Eligibility Division Information Letter No.: | 14-60

TO: ALL COUNTY WELFARE DIRECTORS
ALL COUNTY MEDI-CAL PROGRAM SPECIALISTS/LIAISONS
ALL COUNTY ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICERS
MEDS COORDINATORS
(Reference: All County Welfare Directors Letters (ACWDLS) 14-11, 14-18,
14-31, 14-32,14-35,14-38; Medi-Cal Eligibility Division Information Letters
(MEDILS) 114-10; 114-33; 114-33E)

SUBJECT: Medi-Cal Renewal Process — The 90-Day Cure Period Job Aid

The purpose of this letter is to provide the attached job aid for counties outlining the
requirements of the new 90-day cure period of the Medi-Cal renewal process. Per
California Welfare and Institutions Code, Section 14005.37(i), the 90-day cure period
begins from the date of the Notice of Action for discontinuance.

If you have any comments, questions or for further information, please contact
Michelle Marean-Williams at (916) 341-3968 or by email at
michelle.marean-williams@dhcs.ca.gov.
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Tara Naisbitt, Chief
Medi-Cal Eligibility Division

Attachment

Medi-Cal Eligibility Division
1501 Capitol Avenue, MS 4607, P.O. Box 997417, Sacramento, CA 95899-7417
(916) 552-9430 phone, (916) 552-9477 fax
Internet Address: www.dhcs.ca.gov


mailto:michelle.marean-williams@dhcs.ca.gov
http://www.dhcs.ca.gov/

Attachment for MEDIL.: | 14-60: Medi-Cal Renewals Process — The 90-Day Cure Period
Desk Aid

e From the 61* day after requesting information for the Medi-Cal renewal and making at least one
documented attempt to contact the beneficiary, if the County has still not received the required
information, the beneficiary will be discontinued from Medi-Cal for not providing required information.
In accordance with due process requirements, counties shall send the beneficiary a timely and
adequate discontinuance Notice of Action (NOA) explaining the basis for discontinuance and
information about the 90-day cure period as described in Medi-Cal Eligibility Division Information
Letter 114-33E.

Please Note: If the beneficiary provides the requested information prior to the effective date of
discontinuance, the county shall rescind the discontinuance action and continue the redetermination
process.

e Under new rules of the Affordable Care Act (ACA), the beneficiary has an additional 90 days after
the discontinuance date specified on the NOA to provide the required paperwork (MC 0216) and
additional information needed for redetermination. This 90-day timeframe is referred to as the “cure
period”.

e Asof January 1, 2014, the new cure period is 90 days for both Modified Adjusted Gross Income
(MAGI) and non-MAGI beneficiaries.

e If the County receives the required information within the 90-day cure period after the discontinuance
date, the County must treat the information as being received timely.

e Once the additional information is received, the County shall immediately enter the information into
the Statewide Automated Welfare System, and if the household contains MAGI individuals, then run
the information through the California Healthcare Eligibility, Enrollment, and Retention System
Business Rules Engine to determine continued eligibility.

o |f the beneficiary is determined to be eligible during the 90-day cure period, the County shall grant
benefits back to the date of discontinuance, retain the annual redetermination date, and notify the
beneficiary that their Medi-Cal benefits will be restored back to the date of discontinuance so that
there is no break in Medi-Cal coverage.

o If the beneficiary is no longer eligible under a MAGI category, but is found eligible for a Covered CA
plan, the beneficiary will be determined eligible for the Covered CA plan. The county should contact
the beneficiary by any means available to the county, including by sending out the
Non-MAGI screening packet as prescribed in All County Welfare Directors Letter 14-18, to see if the
beneficiary wants to be evaluated for Non-MAGI Medi-Cal eligibility.

e Counties should ensure that the good cause regulations are followed so that if a beneficiary provides
the information outside of the 90-day cure period and there is good cause for not providing the
information timely, it shall be considered timely.

e If the beneficiary has not provided the additional information to the County within the
90-day cure period, then the beneficiary is discontinued from Medi-Cal.

e Once a beneficiary is discontinued from Medi-Cal, they need to re-apply for coverage.

Note: In accordance with Welfare & Institutions Code, Section 14005.37(i), the provision of the requested
information, does not constitute a finding of Medi-Cal eligibility. The discontinuance action shall not be
overturned until the information is processed and eligibility is found to exist. However, the County must act
promptly to process the information provided by the beneficiary.



