
STATE OF CALIFORNIA—HEALTH AND WELFARE AGENCY PETE WILSON, Governor 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH SERVICES 
714/744 P STREET   
P.O. BOX 942732  

SACRAMENTO, CA 94234-7320 

(916) 657-2941 
December 1, 1993 

Letter No.: 93-93 TO: All County Welfare Directors 
All County Administrative Officers 
All County Medi-Cal Program Specialists/Liaisons 

SUMMARY MEDI-CAL ELIGIBILITY -MC INFORMATION NOTICE 002 (9/93) 

The purpose of this letter is to notify counties of the availability of a revised Summary Medi-Cal Eligibility  
form (MC information Notice 002 (9/93)), and to transmit a copy of the new notice. The form has been  
revised to reflect changes to various limitations and need standards. 

MC Information Notice 002 forms prior to (9/93) should be destroyed and counties should Inform staff of  
the need to use the new MC Information Notice 002 (9/93). These forms may be ordered from the  
Department of Health Services warehouse at the address below: 

Department of Health Services  
1037 North Market Boulevard, Suite 9  
Sacramento, CA 95834 

Should you have any questions regarding the new MC Information Notice 002 (9/93) form, please contact  
Craig Yagi of my staff at (916) 657-1182. 

Sincerely, 

ORIGINAL SIGNED BY 

Frank S. Martucci, Chief  
Medi-Cal Eligibility Branch 

Enclosure 



State of California—Health and Welfare Agency 
Department of Health Services 

SUMMARY MEDI-CAL ELIGIBILITY* 

Description  
of Eligible  

Person 

Public Assistance Recipient** 
SSl/SSP 
Aged 
Blind 
Disabled 

Medically Needy Beneficiary*** 

Linked to public assistance program but  
not eligible or does not want cash grant 

Medically Indigent Person or Family
Not linked to a public assistance program but  
who otherwise qualifies as (1) person under  
21. (2) adults under 65 in either a skilled  
nursing facility or intermediate care facility. (3)  
women with a verified pregnancy. (4) noninked  
refugee ventrants in first 8 months of U.S.  
residency. 

AFDC
Aid to Families with Dependent Children 

SSI/SSP-MN  
AFDC-MN 

Age Limits 

SSl/SSP  
Aged 65 or older 
Blind No age limit 

Disabled No age limit 

SSI/SSP-MN  
Aged 65 or older 
Blind No age limit 
Disabled No age limit 

Under 21. 

Adult under 65 residing in either a skilled  
nursing facility or an intermediate care facility,  
pregnant woman with a verified pregnancy,  
and refugee entrants in the U.S. less than 8  
months. 

AFDC
Child under 18 and/or 19 if full-time student in high  
school or in a vocational program which can be  
completed before age 19. 
No age limit for parent. 

AFDC-MN Child under 21  
No age limit for parents 

Residence  
and  

Citizenship 

California Residence. 

Documentation is required for both citizens and aliens,  
in USA lawfully or under the color of law. 

California Residence. 

Documentation is required for both citizens and aliens, in USA lawfully or under  
the color of law 

Personal  
Property  
Limits  

(This does  
not include  
Business  
Property) 

SSl/SSP 
Aged 
Blind S2.000 1 person 
Disabled $3,000 couple 

Number of Persons Whose 
Property is Considered 

Property Limit 
1993 & ongoing 

1 person .............

..................

.................. 

..................

..................
  ....................

....................

....................

....................

....................

$2,000 
2 persons  3,000 
3 persons  3,150 
4 persons 3.300 
5 persons  3,450 

Number of Persons Whose 
Property is Considered 

Property Limit  
 1993 & ongoing 

6 persons  3,600 
7 persons  3.750 
8 persons  3.900 
9 persons  4,050 

10 persons  4,200 

Community spouse resource allowance when one spouse enters long term care on or after  
11/1/90 and applies in 1993 is: $70,740. 

AFDC 
The combined value of personal and real property that  
may be retained cannot exceed a net market value of  
$1,000 tor applicants and $2,000 for recipients  
(excluding allowable exemptions). A home, regardless  
of its value, occupied by the assistance unit is exempt  
from the property limit 

Motor  
Vehicle  
Limits 

SSI/SSP 
Aged, Blind, Disabled 
Car exempt if market value less than $4,500.  
Otherwise car may be exempt if needed for Medical  
transportation or employment. 1 car exempt- if used for transportation, no maximum value. 

AFDC 
Exempt if total net market value is under $1,500 for  
applicant and $4,500 for recipient. 

Real  
Property  
Limits 

SSl/SSP 
Aged, Blind, Disabled 
Home exempt. Other real property with net market  
value of $6,000 or less providing property is  
producing income consistent with its value. 

Principal residence (PR), including any appertaining buildings and land used as a home, is  
exempt if applicant/benefidary lives there, if he/she is in long-term care (LTC) and his/her  
sibling or adult child lived there for at least one year prior to LTC entry and sell lives there,  
if there is a bona fide effort to sell PR, or if there are legal obstacles to its sale. If  
beneficiary is in LTC and the former home is not otherwise exempt, it will remain exempt if  
it is listed for sale. It also will be exempt if the beneficiary has the intent io return and  
declares this to writing. 

Other Nonbusiness Heal Property with a net market value of $6,000 or less is exempt if  
utilization requirements are met. 

AFDC 
See comments under Personal Property Limit, above. 

Relative  
Responsibility

Spouse lor spouse. 
Parent tor child. 

Spouse for spouse 
Parent for child under 21 living in the home except child with verified need for medical  
services which do not require parental authorization. 

Need  
Standard 

SSl/SSP 
Aged or disabled $603.40 maximum living in own  

home  
$1109.22 couple 

Blind $670.40 maximum living in own 
homo  
$1297.01 couple 

AFDC 
Persons 

Maximum 
Per Month 

1. $ 299
2  490
3  607
4  723
5  824
6  926
7  1017
8  1108
9  1197

10 or more........................................... 1286 

Number of Persons Medi-Cal Monthly  
Maintenance Need 

1 person $ 600 
2 persons 750 
2 adults 934 
3 persons 934 
4 persons 1,100 
5 persons 1,259 
6 persons 1,417 
7 persons 1,550 
8 persons 1.692 
9 persons 1.825 

10 persons 1,959 
Each additional person 14 
Long-Term Care 35 

Beneficiary  
Responsible for  
List of Health Care 

No share of cost for health care.  
Copayment may be required. 

Net nonexempt income minus maintenance needs equals share of cost. Share of cost  
must be paid or obligated before certification for program benefits. 

* Please note that this is a general summary. For exceptions and details, refer to DSS regulations (EAS) and CCR Title 22 regulations. 
** This group also includes persons eligible under the Lynch v. Rank (Pickle) court order, persons who are receiving in-Home Supportive Services (IHSS) but not a cash  

grant, persons who are receiving Medi-Cal for tour months alter discontinuance from AFDC due to earnings or child support and persons who are not receiving a grant  
for administrative reasons. 
*** Does not include special programs such as OMB/QWDI, Pregnancy Programs, etc. 

MC Information Notice 002 (9/93) 


