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December 29, 1995

Letter No.: 95-85TO: All County Welfare Directors
All County Administrative Officers
All County Medi-Cal Program Specialists/Liaisons

TRANSITIONAL MEDI-CAL FOR PERSONS DISCONTINUED FROM AID TO FAMILIES  
WITH DEPENDENT CHILDREN (AFDC) DUE TO MARRIAGE OR THE REUNITING OF  
SPOUSES (WEDFARE)

This letter is to inform counties that effective October 1, 1995, Transitional Medi-Cal  
(TMC) is expanded to include families who are discontinued from AFDC due to marriage or the  
reuniting of spouses, and either their assets and/or income increased above the AFDC limits or  
they no longer meet the deprivation requirements.

BACKGROUND

The Department of Social Services (DSS) and the Department of Health Services (DHS)  
received federal waiver and legislative approval (Assemly Bill 836 and 1371) to allow families  
who are discontinued from AFDC due to marriage or the reuniting of separated spouses to  
receive Transitional Child Care (TCC) and TMC. DSS' regulations were effective  
October 1, 1995. In accordance with the waiver of federal law, the impact of this will be  
evaluated and will not apply to control cases who are designated as members of the California  
Work Pays Demonstration Project in Alameda, Los Angeles, San Joaquin, and San Bernardino  
Counties.

PROCEDURES

Counties should follow current procedures for regular TMC (All County Welfare  
Directors Letter Nos. 90-32, 90-37, 90-47, and 90-66). Families who meet the above  
requirements will be eligible for the first six months of TMC (aid code 39). Those families will  
also be eligible for the second six months of TMC (aid code 59) if they meet the reporting  
requirements and other conditions of that provision. Note: This program does not apply to  
unmarried parents who reunite.

RETROACTIVE ELIGIBILITY

If counties should become aware of a family who would have been eligible for the Welfare  
program, counties should grant zero share-of-cost (SOC) TMC retroactive to October 1, 1995  
and correct any overstated SOC following the normal procedures.
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NOTICES OF ACTION

The first paragraph of the MC 239 TMC - 1 and the Spanish version will be revised as  
follows:

"TMC is a program that provides continuing Medi-Cal benefits for a maximum of  
12 months for persons discontinued from AFDC as a result of employment, marriage, or returning  
to live with their husband or wife."

If you have any further questions, please contact Margie Buzdas of my staff at  
(916) 657-0726.

Sincerely,

ORIGINAL SIGNED BY
Frank S. Martucci, Chief 
Medi-Cal Eligibility Branch

Enclosure



State of California—Health and Welfare Agency

MEDI-CAL  
NOTICE OF ACTION  

TRANSITIONAL MEDI-CAL (TMC)  
APPROVAL FOR BENEFITS

Department of Health Services

(COUNTY STAMP)

CASE NAME:
CASE NO.:
DISTRICT:
THIS AFFECTS:

(Names)

TMC IS A PROGRAM THAT PROVIDES CONTINUING MEDI-CAL BENEFITS FOR A MAXIMUM OF  
12 MONTHS FOR PERSONS DISCONTINUED FROM AFDC AS A RESULT OF EMPLOYMENT,  
MARRIAGE, OR RETURNING TO LIVE WITH THEIR HUSBAND OR WIFE.

    You are eligible for initial TMC for the period    through  . .

You will continue to receive TMC during this period if you have an eligible child in the home.

You may be eligible for an additional 6 months of TMC at no cost if you:  
Return the status report which the county will send you by the 21st day of  
 and be within income limits. 
Attach to the status report proof of your family’s monthly gross earnings and actual child care  
costs paid by you. Save all your earnings statements and child care receipts.

Continue to be employed.
Have an eligible child in the home.

    You are eligible for an additional 6 months for the period    through 
.

 .

To remain eligible for the additional 6 months of TMC, you will be required to complete and  
return two status reports sent to you by the county during this period. The first report will be  
due by the 21st day of the first month and the second report will be due by the 21st day of the  
fourth month of this additional 6 month period.

Always present your Benefits Identification Card (BIC) to your medical provider whenever you need  
care. This card is good as long as you are eligible for Medi-Cal. DO NOT THROW AWAY YOUR BIC.
The regulation which requires this action is California Code of Regulations, Title 22, Section 50244.

Eligibility Worker Phone Date.
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