​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Program of All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly

The Program of All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly (PACE) model of care provides a comprehensive medical/social service delivery system using an interdisciplinary team approach in a PACE Center that provides and coordinates all needed preventive, primary, acute and long-term care services.  Services are​ provided to older adults who would otherwise reside in  nursing facilities.  The PACE model affords eligible individuals to remain independent and in their homes for as long as possible.  To be eligible, a person must be 55 years or older, reside in a PACE service area, be determined eligible at the nursing home level of care by the Department of Health Care Services, and be able to live safely in their home or community at the time of enrollment.​​​​​​​

COVID-19 Emergency Period PACE Guidance

Effective November 23, 2020, the Department of Health Care Services (DHCS) is implementing a temporary referral flexibility available during the COVID-19 Public Health Emergency (PHE) to provide Programs of All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly (PACE) health plan the opportunity to connect with more frail seniors at risk for COVID-19. Under this flexibility, if a discharge planner at a PACE referral source (including but not limited to hospitals, emergency rooms, and nursing homes) determines that a PACE health plan would be an appropriate program to facilitate the patient’s discharge and serve the patient’s needs in their home/community, the discharge planner may ask the patient or the patient’s authorized representative if they would like to be directly contacted by a PACE health plan.

Contact Us

California Department of Health Care Services
Integrated Systems of Care Division
PACE Unit, Mail Station 4502
PO Box 997413
Sacramento, CA 95899-7413

(916) 713- 8444​

Last modified date: 1/12/2023 2:10 PM