​​​​​ Medi-Cal Eligibility and Covered California - Frequently Asked Questions

Back to Medi-Cal FAQs 2014

Below you will find the most frequently asked questions for current and potential Medi-Cal coverage recipients. If you do not find an answer to your question, please contact your local county office from our County Listings page or email us at  Medi-Cal Contact Us.

Other Questions

1. Do I need health insurance now that health reform has started?

Starting in January 2014, most people over 18 years old will be required to have health insurance or pay a tax penalty. Coverage may include insurance through your job, coverage you buy on your own, Medicare, or Medi-Cal.

But, some people are exempt from having health insurance. Those people include, but are not limited to, people whose religious beliefs are opposed to accepting benefits from a health insurance plan, people who are incarcerated, people who are members of a federally recognized American Indian tribe, and those people who have to pay more than 8% of their income for health insurance, after taking into account any employer contributions or premium assistance.

In 2014, the penalty will be 1% of your yearly income or $95, whichever is higher. The penalty will go up each year. By 2016, the penalty will be 2.5% of your yearly income or $695, whichever is higher. After 2016, the tax penalty will increase each year based on a cost-of-living adjustment.

For more information about penalties, visit www.CoveredCA.com or call your local county social services office or Covered California.


2. What if I already have health insurance through my employer?

If you already have affordable health insurance from your employer, you do not need to do anything. But you can still apply anyway to find out if you or your family members qualify for free or low-cost free health insurance. If you apply, be sure to complete Attachment B and send it in with your application.


3. What does “self-employed” mean?

People who are self-employed earn a living directly from their own business or services. They do not earn money from a company that pays them.​​   

Last modified date: 10/16/2019 2:58 PM