Residential Care Facilities (RCF) and Adult Residential Care Facilities (ARF) Provider Enrollment

Assisted Living Waiver Program 

RCFs and ARFs are responsible for providing Assisted Living Waiver (ALW) services to participants, allowing them to maintain independence and continue to receive nursing level of care as needed.  The RCF/ARF providers work in conjunction with the Care Coordinator Agencies (CCA) to ensure participants receive individualized care in a home like environment.

 Basic Requirements

  • All facilities enrolling in the ALW program must meet licensure and certification requirements set forth by the Department
    of Social Services, Community Care Licensing (CCL). Participating facilities must be in substantial compliance and good
    standing with licensing regulations (Ref: Title 22, § 87101(s)(9)). Facilities on probation with and/or have pending
    accusation against the licensee are not in substantial compliance for the purpose of the ALW (Ref. H&S § 1569.33).

  • Participating ALW facilities are not regarded as healthcare facilities, but social-based facilities.  Although the RCF\ARF
    is a licensed facility, ALW residents are considered as living in their own home, not in a healthcare setting.

  • ALW facilities are required to have licensed nursing staff, either on call or employed, in order to provide
    skilled nursing services as needed to waiver participants. 

  • Facilities shall employ staff as necessary to ensure provision of care and supervision to meet client health
    and safety needs. 

  • Facilities are required to provide private or semi-private bathrooms, a dining room, or common activities room that
    may also serve as a dining room.

  • Facilities must be able to offer private or semi-private bedrooms. 

  • Facilities housing more than six participants are required to have an Individual Response System (IRS) enabling individuals
    to summon for assistance at any time.

Services that RCF/ARF providers are responsible for supplying include:

  • Provision and oversight of personal and supportive services
  • Assist with self-administration of medication
  • Provide three meals per day plus snacks
  • Housekeeping and laundry
  • Transportation or arrangement of transportation
  • Activities
  • Skilled nursing services as needed

RCF/ARF Enrollment Steps

  1. To be considered for enrollment as an RCF\ARF ALW provider, the following preliminary application package is required:
  2. Enrolling providers are required to have a National Provider Identifier (NPI).  The unique 10-digit number allows universal recognition of individual health care providers.  Once enrolled as a Medi-Cal provider in the ALW program, the NPI number is used in administrative and financial (billing) transactions.  For more information and to apply for your NPI number, visit the NPI Overview webpage.
  3. Upon review and approval of the initial ALW application, a site visit will be completed to verify applicants' qualifications.  Facilities will
    receive notification of their enrollment status.  Medi-Cal applications received prior to program approval will not be considered.
  4. Facilities that have met all program requirements will then be instructed to enroll as a Medi-Cal provider.  The complete Medi-Cal
    provider enrollment package consists of the following:

Application Submission

Send all application packets to:

Provider and Facility Site Review Unit
Integrated Systems of Care Division
Department of Health Care Services
1501 Capitol Avenue, MS 4502
P.O. Box 997437
Sacramento, CA 95899-7437

Important note: do not send applications to the Provider Enrollment Division


Last modified date: 2/15/2019 12:00 PM